Scholarship in Europe

PhD Fellowship in Economics – Stavanger, Norway

The University of Stavanger invites applicants for up to two PhD Fellowships in Economics at the UiS Business School, Department of Economics. The position is vacant from 1.9.2022.

This is trainee positions that will give promising researchers an opportunity for academic development through a PhD education leading to a doctoral degree.

The hired candidate will be admitted to the PhD program in economics. The education includes relevant courses to about six months of study, a dissertation based on independent research, participation in national and international research environments, relevant academic communication, a trial lecture and public defence. Read more about the PhD education at UiS on our website.

The appointment is for three years with research duties exclusively, or four years with both research and 25% compulsory duties. This will be clarified in the recruitment process.

The position is associated with large field experiments funded by the Research Council of Norway. These will provide access to experimental data from surveys and national registries.

Research topic

The position is part of Synapse Lab, a research group committed to develop and investigate interventions that can give people better opportunities to succeed in education and the workplace. Specifically, the group investigates measures that help increase effort, motivation and coping in education and work, using large-scale field experiments. It involves the Faculty of Social Science, UiS Business School, Faculty of Arts and Education, and Faculty of Health Sciences. The position is organizationally affiliated with the University of Stavanger Business School.

Qualification requirements

We are looking for applicants with a strong academic background who have completed a five-year master degree (3+2) within economics, preferably acquired recently; or possess corresponding qualifications that could provide a basis for successfully completing a doctorate.

To be eligible for admission to the doctoral programmes at the University of Stavanger both the grade for your master’s thesis and the weighted average grade of your master’s degree must individually be equivalent to or better than a B grade. If you finish your education (masters degree) in the spring of 2022 you are also welcome to apply.

Applicants with an education from an institution with a different grade scale than A-F, and/or with other types of credits than sp/ECTS, must attach a confirmed conversion scale that shows how the grades can be compared with the Norwegian A-F scale and a Diploma Supplement or similar that explains the scope of the subject that are included in the education. You can use these conversion scales  to calculate your points for admission.

Emphasis is also placed on your:

  • motivation and potential for research within the field
  • professional and personal skills for completing the doctoral degree within the timeframe
  • ability to work independently and in a team, be innovative and creative
  • ability to work structured and handle a heavy workload
  • having a good command of both oral and written English

Requirements for competence in English

A good proficiency in English is required for anyone attending the PhD program. International applicants must document this by taking one of the following tests with the following results:

  • TOEFL – Test of English as a Foreign Language, Internet-Based Test (IBT). Minimum result: 90
  • IELTS – International English Language Testing Service. Minimum result: 6.5
  • Certificate in Advanced English (CAE) or Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE) from the University of Cambridge
  • PTE Academic – Pearson Test of English Academic. Minimum result: 62

The following applicants are exempt from the above requirements:

  • Applicants with one year of completed university studies in Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, United Kingdom, USA
  • Applicants with an International Baccalaureate (IB) diploma
  • Applicants with a completed bachelor’s and / or master’s degrees taught in English in a EU/EEA country

We offer

  • a PhD education in a large, exciting and socially important organisation
  • an ambitious work community which is developing rapidly. We strive to include employees at all levels in strategic decisions and promote an informal atmosphere with a flat organisational structure.
  • colleague-based guidance programme (NyTi) if teaching is a part of your position
  • salary in accordance with the State Salary Scale, l.pl 17.515, code 1017, NOK 501 200 gross per year with salary development according to seniority in the position. From the salary, 2% is deducted as a contribution to the Norwegian Public Service Pension Fund. A higher salary may be considered in special cases.
  • automatic membership in the Norwegian Public Service Pension Fund, which provides favourable insurance- and retirement benefits
  • favourable membership terms at a gym and at the SIS sports club at campus
  • employment with an Inclusive Workplace organisation which is committed to reducing sick leave, increasing the proportion of employees with reduced working capacity, and increasing the number of professionally active seniors
  • “Hjem-jobb-hjem” discounted public transport to and from work
  • as an employee in Norway, you will have access to an optimal health service, as well as good pensions, generous maternity/paternity leave, and a competitive salary. Nursery places are guaranteed and reasonably priced
  • relocation programme
  • language courses: On this page you can see which language courses you may be entitled to (look up “language courses” under employment conditions)

Diversity

University of Stavanger values independence, involvement and innovation. Diversity is respected and considered a resource in our work and learning environment. Universal design characterises physical and digital learning environments, and we strive to provide reasonable adjustments for employees with disabilities.

You are encouraged to apply regardless of gender, disability or cultural background.

The university aims to recruit more women within the subject area. If several applicants are considered to have equal qualifications, female applicants will be given priority.

Contact information

More information on the position can be obtained from Professor Mari Rege, tel:+47 51 83 37 21, e-mail: mari.rege@uis.no or Head of department Venke Furre Haaland, tel: + 47 51 83 37 52, e-mail: venke.f.haaland@uis.no.

Information about the appointment procedure can be obtained from HR-advisor Kaja Lillelien, tel: +47 51 83 13 10, e-mail: kaja.lillelien@uis.no.

Application

To apply for this position please follow the link “Apply for this job”. Your application letter, relevant education and work experience as well as language skills must be registered here. In your application letter, you must state your research interests and motivation for the position.

The following documents must be uploaded as attachments to your application:

  • CV with a full summary of your education and experience
  • references, certificates/diplomas and other documentation that you consider relevant
  • Diploma Supplement or similar and a confirmed conversion scale if this is required
  • documentation on competence in English if this is required
  • publications or other relevant research work

Applications are evaluated based on the information available in Jobbnorge at the application deadline. You should ensure that your application shows clearly how your skills and experience meet the criteria which are set out above and that you have attached the necessary documentation.

The documentation must be available in either a Scandinavian language or in English. If the total size of the attachments exceeds 30 MB, they must be compressed before upload.

Please note that information on applicants may be published even if the applicant has requested not to be included in the official list of applicants – see Section 25 of the Freedom of Information Act. If your request is not granted, you will be notified.

UiS only considers applications and attachments registered in Jobbnorge.

General information

The engagement is to be made in accordance with the regulations in force concerning State Employees and Civil Servants, and the acts relating to Control of the Export of Strategic Goods, Services and Technology. If your application is considered to be in conflict with the criteria in the latter legislation, it will be rejected without further assessment.

Employment as PhD Fellow is regulated in “Regulations concerning terms and conditions of employment for the posts of post-doctoral research fellow and research fellow, research assistant and resident“.

Your qualifications for the position, based on documentation registered in Jobbnorge, will be assessed by an internal expert committee. Based on the committee’s statement, relevant applicants will be invited to an interview before any recommendations are made. References will also be obtained for relevant candidates. More about the hiring process on our website.

The appointee will be based at the University of Stavanger, with the exception of a stay abroad at a relevant centre of research.

It is a prerequisite that you have a residence which enables you to be present at/available to the academic community during ordinary working hours.

The position has been announced in both Norwegian and English. In the case of differences of meaning between the texts, the Norwegian text takes precedence.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Bourse de doctorat en économie – Stavanger , Norvège

L’Université de Stavanger invite les candidats à un maximum de deux bourses de doctorat en économie à l’UiS Business School, Département d’économie. Le poste est vacant à partir du 1.9.2022.

Il s’agit de postes de stagiaires qui donneront aux chercheurs prometteurs une opportunité de développement académique grâce à une formation doctorale menant à un doctorat.

Le candidat embauché sera admis au programme de doctorat en économie. L’éducation comprend des cours pertinents à environ six mois d’études, une thèse basée sur une recherche indépendante, la participation à des environnements de recherche nationaux et internationaux, une communication académique pertinente, une conférence d’essai et une soutenance publique. En savoir plus sur la formation doctorale à l’UiS sur notre site Web.

La nomination est de trois ans avec des fonctions de recherche exclusivement, ou de quatre ans avec à la fois des fonctions de recherche et 25% de fonctions obligatoires. Cela sera précisé lors du processus de recrutement.

Le poste est associé à de grandes expériences sur le terrain financées par le Conseil norvégien de la recherche. Ceux-ci donneront accès à des données expérimentales issues d’enquêtes et de registres nationaux.

Sujet de recherche

Le poste fait partie de Synapse Lab , un groupe de recherche engagé à développer et à étudier des interventions qui peuvent donner aux gens de meilleures opportunités de réussir dans l’éducation et le travail. Plus précisément, le groupe étudie les mesures qui aident à augmenter l’effort, la motivation et l’adaptation dans l’éducation et le travail, à l’aide d’expériences de terrain à grande échelle. Il implique la Faculté des sciences sociales, l’École de commerce de l’UiS, la Faculté des arts et de l’éducation et la Faculté des sciences de la santé. Le poste est organisationnellement affilié à l’école de commerce de l’Université de Stavanger.

Les exigences de qualification

Nous recherchons des candidats avec une solide formation académique qui ont terminé un master de cinq ans (3 + 2) en économie, de préférence acquis récemment; ou posséder des qualifications correspondantes qui pourraient fournir une base pour réussir un doctorat.

Pour être éligible à l’admission aux programmes de doctorat de l’Université de Stavanger, la note de votre mémoire de maîtrise et la note moyenne pondérée de votre maîtrise doivent être individuellement équivalentes ou supérieures à une note B. Si vous terminez vos études (maîtrise) au printemps 2022, vous pouvez également postuler.

Lire aussi  {:fr}Bourse de recherche Global Arts Management de DeVos Institute, USA{:}{:en}GLOBAL ARTS MANAGEMENT FELLOWSHIP, USA{:}

Les candidats ayant une formation dans un établissement avec une échelle de notes différente de l’AF et / ou avec d’autres types de crédits que sp / ECTS doivent joindre une échelle de conversion confirmée qui montre comment les notes peuvent être comparées à l’échelle AF norvégienne et un diplôme Supplément ou similaire qui explique la portée du sujet qui est inclus dans l’éducation. Vous pouvez utiliser ces échelles de conversion pour calculer vos points d’admission.

L’accent est également mis sur votre :

  • motivation et potentiel de recherche dans le domaine
  • compétences professionnelles et personnelles pour terminer le doctorat dans les délais
  • capacité à travailler de manière autonome et en équipe, être innovant et créatif
  • capacité à travailler de manière structurée et à gérer une lourde charge de travail
  • avoir une bonne maîtrise de l’anglais oral et écrit

Exigences de compétence en anglais

Une bonne maîtrise de l’anglais est requise pour toute personne participant au programme de doctorat. Les candidats internationaux doivent le documenter en passant l’un des tests suivants avec les résultats suivants :

  • TOEFL – Test d’anglais comme langue étrangère, test basé sur Internet (IBT). Résultat minimal : 90
  • IELTS – Service international de test de langue anglaise. Résultat minimal : 6,5
  • Certificate in Advanced English (CAE) ou Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE) de l’Université de Cambridge
  • PTE Academic – Test Pearson d’anglais académique. Résultat minimal : 62

Les candidats suivants sont exemptés des exigences ci-dessus :

  • Candidats ayant une année d’études universitaires terminées en Australie, au Canada, en Irlande, en Nouvelle-Zélande, au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis
  • Candidats titulaires d’un diplôme du Baccalauréat International (IB)
  • Candidats titulaires d’un baccalauréat et / ou d’une maîtrise enseignés en anglais dans un pays de l’UE / EEE

Nous offrons

  • une formation doctorale dans une grande organisation passionnante et socialement importante
  • une communauté de travail ambitieuse qui se développe rapidement. Nous nous efforçons d’inclure les employés à tous les niveaux dans les décisions stratégiques et de promouvoir une atmosphère informelle avec une structure organisationnelle plate.
  • programme d’orientation entre collègues ( NyTi ) si l’enseignement fait partie de votre poste
  • salaire selon l’échelle salariale de l’État, l.pl 17.515, code 1017, NOK 501 200 brut par an avec évolution salariale en fonction de l’ancienneté dans le poste. Sur le salaire, 2% sont déduits à titre de cotisation au fonds de pension de la fonction publique norvégienne. Un salaire plus élevé peut être envisagé dans des cas particuliers.
  • adhésion automatique au fonds de pension de la fonction publique norvégienne , qui offre des prestations d’assurance et de retraite avantageuses
  • conditions d’adhésion avantageuses dans un gymnase et au club de sport SIS sur le campus
  • un emploi au sein d’une organisation Inclusive Workplace qui s’engage à réduire les congés maladie, à augmenter la proportion d’employés à capacité de travail réduite et à augmenter le nombre de seniors professionnellement actifs
  • « Hjem-jobb-hjem » transport public à prix réduit vers et depuis le travail
  • en tant qu’employé en Norvège, vous aurez accès à un service de santé optimal, ainsi qu’à de bonnes pensions, à de généreux congés de maternité/paternité et à un salaire compétitif. Les places en crèche sont garanties et à des prix raisonnables
  • programme de relocalisation
  • cours de langue : Sur cette page, vous pouvez voir à quels cours de langue vous pouvez avoir droit (recherchez « cours de langue » sous conditions d’emploi)
Lire aussi  Bourses professorats Lichtenberg de longue durée (5 à 8 ans) de la fondation volkswagen, Allemagne

Diversité

L’Université de Stavanger valorise l’indépendance, l’implication et l’innovation. La diversité est respectée et considérée comme une ressource dans notre environnement de travail et d’apprentissage. La conception universelle caractérise les environnements d’apprentissage physiques et numériques, et nous nous efforçons de fournir des ajustements raisonnables aux employés handicapés.

Vous êtes encouragé à postuler quel que soit votre sexe, votre handicap ou votre origine culturelle.

L’université vise à recruter plus de femmes dans le domaine. Si plusieurs candidatures sont considérées comme ayant des qualifications égales, les candidatures féminines seront prioritaires.

Informations de contact

Plus d’informations sur le poste peuvent être obtenues auprès du professeur Mari Rege, tél. e-mail : venke.f.haaland@uis.no.

Des informations sur la procédure de nomination peuvent être obtenues auprès de la conseillère RH Kaja Lillelien, tél. : +47 51 83 13 10, e-mail : kaja.lillelien@uis.no.

Application

Pour postuler à ce poste, veuillez suivre le lien « Postuler à ce poste ». Votre lettre de candidature, votre formation et votre expérience de travail pertinentes ainsi que vos compétences linguistiques doivent être enregistrées ici. Dans votre lettre de candidature, vous devez indiquer vos intérêts de recherche et votre motivation pour le poste.

Les documents suivants doivent être téléchargés en pièces jointes à votre candidature :

  • CV avec un résumé complet de votre formation et de votre expérience
  • références, certificats/diplômes et autres documents que vous jugez pertinents
  • Supplément au diplôme ou similaire et une échelle de conversion confirmée si nécessaire
  • documentation sur la compétence en anglais si nécessaire
  • publications ou autres travaux de recherche pertinents

Les candidatures sont évaluées sur la base des informations disponibles dans Jobbnorge à la date limite de candidature. Vous devez vous assurer que votre candidature montre clairement comment vos compétences et votre expérience répondent aux critères énoncés ci-dessus et que vous avez joint la documentation nécessaire.

Lire aussi  Bourse postdoctorale de l'ILRI pour le scientifique international au Kenya, 2017

La documentation doit être disponible dans une langue scandinave ou en anglais. Si la taille totale des pièces jointes dépasse 30 Mo, elles doivent être compressées avant le téléchargement.

Veuillez noter que les informations sur les candidats peuvent être publiées même si le candidat a demandé à ne pas être inclus dans la liste officielle des candidats – voir l’article 25 de la loi sur la liberté d’information . Si votre demande n’est pas acceptée, vous en serez informé.

UiS ne considère que les candidatures et les pièces jointes enregistrées dans Jobbnorge.

informations générales

L’engagement doit être effectué conformément à la réglementation en vigueur concernant les employés et fonctionnaires de l’État et aux lois relatives au contrôle de l’exportation des biens, services et technologies stratégiques. Si votre demande est considérée comme étant en conflit avec les critères de cette dernière législation, elle sera rejetée sans autre évaluation.

L’emploi en tant que doctorant est régi par le  » Règlement relatif aux conditions d’emploi des postes de chercheur post-doctoral et de chercheur, d’assistant de recherche et de résident « .

Vos qualifications pour le poste, basées sur la documentation enregistrée dans Jobbnorge, seront évaluées par un comité d’experts interne. Sur la base de la déclaration du comité, les candidats concernés seront invités à un entretien avant toute recommandation. Des références seront également obtenues pour les candidats concernés. Plus d’informations sur le processus d’embauche sur notre site Web.

La personne nommée sera basée à l’Université de Stavanger, à l’exception d’un séjour à l’étranger dans un centre de recherche pertinent.

Il est indispensable que vous disposiez d’une résidence vous permettant d’être présent/disponible pour la communauté universitaire pendant les heures normales de travail.

Le poste a été annoncé en norvégien et en anglais. En cas de différences de sens entre les textes, le texte norvégien prévaut.

Add Comment

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.