Scholarship in Europe

Fully funded PhD studentship: Modelling high-frequency vibrations of complex built-up structures using transport theory

This project will develop a new high-frequency vibroacoustic simulation tool inspired by mathematical modelling techniques that have been developed in the context of optical tomography and climate science. Working in collaboration with industrial partner, Far UK, you will develop a new approach for simulating high-frequency vibrations in complex built-up structures, such as cars, trains or aircraft. Predicting the vibrational energy throughout these structures is important for minimising noise pollution, structural fatigue, and for passenger comfort.

Developing simulation tools capable of modelling complex three-dimensional structures is highly challenging. For low frequencies, manufacturers typically perform vibroacoustic simulations using commercial software based on numerical solutions of the corresponding equations of motion. The finite element method is widely used here and typically provides reliable estimates of the lower natural frequencies. For higher frequencies, finite element simulations require larger computational models to retain their accuracy, which can easily tip the balance and make the simulations unviable. In addition, uncertainties introduced during manufacturing mean that apparently identical structures from the same production line may have very different vibroacoustic responses at high frequencies. Consequently, finite elements are often abandoned for a highly efficient statistical approach called Statistical Energy Analysis. However, Statistical Energy Analysis is only a coarse tool based on a very limiting set of simplifying assumptions.

The development of improved high-frequency vibroacoustic simulation methods has been an active area of research during the last twenty years. One approach that has been pioneered in Nottingham is Dynamical Energy Analysis, which improves on Statistical Energy Analysis by incorporating wave directionality and local spatial variability of the vibration levels, but with greater computational overheads. Our new high-frequency vibroacoustic simulation tool will contain all the functionality of Dynamical Energy Analysis, but at reduced computational costs. The method will include Statistical Energy Analysis as a coarse mesh implementation, allowing for improvement of the spatial resolution through using finite volume meshes and capturing directionality through Monte-Carlo simulations.

What is funded

The studentship will cover:

  • Tuition fees for Years 1-3 of PhD study at Nottingham Trent University and the thesis-pending fee (a reduced fee for candidates in completing their thesis) in Year 4.
  • A stipend to be paid in monthly arrears in Years 1-3 of PhD study at Nottingham Trent University in line with UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) minimum rates. You can find further information on UKRI rates on the UK Research and Innovation website.

Duration

Three years stipend funding and four years of student fees – see above.

Eligibility

The 2023 Nottingham Trent University PhD Studentship Scheme is open to all UK, EU, and Overseas students who meet the academic and scheme eligibility criteria: to check that you are eligible to apply, please consult the criteria below. You must meet the standard qualifications entry criteria for PhD study at Nottingham Trent University which can be found in paragraphs 4.4 and 4.5 of the Quality Handbook Section 11- Research Degrees.

  1. You must be available to begin study at Nottingham Trent University either on our October 2023 entry date or on our January 2024 entry date.
  2. You are only allowed to submit one application relating to one proposal to the 2023 Nottingham Trent University PhD Studentship Scheme.
  3. You must submit a full and complete application by 12 noon (GMT) on Thursday 12 January 2023.

Please note that this Scheme is not available to existing doctoral level candidates who are based at Nottingham Trent University or applicants who already hold a doctoral degree.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bourse d'études en Europe

Bourse de doctorat entièrement financée : Modélisation des vibrations à haute fréquence de structures construites complexes à l’aide de la théorie des transports, Royaume-Uni

Ce projet développera un nouvel outil de simulation vibroacoustique à haute fréquence inspiré des techniques de modélisation mathématique qui ont été développées dans le contexte de la tomographie optique et des sciences du climat. En collaboration avec un partenaire industriel, Far UK, vous développerez une nouvelle approche pour simuler les vibrations à haute fréquence dans des structures construites complexes, telles que des voitures, des trains ou des avions. La prévision de l’énergie vibratoire dans ces structures est importante pour minimiser la pollution sonore, la fatigue structurelle et le confort des passagers.

Développer des outils de simulation capables de modéliser des structures tridimensionnelles complexes est un défi de taille. Pour les basses fréquences, les fabricants effectuent généralement des simulations vibroacoustiques à l’aide de logiciels commerciaux basés sur des solutions numériques des équations de mouvement correspondantes. La méthode des éléments finis est largement utilisée ici et fournit généralement des estimations fiables des fréquences naturelles inférieures. Pour les fréquences plus élevées, les simulations par éléments finis nécessitent des modèles de calcul plus grands pour conserver leur précision, ce qui peut facilement faire pencher la balance et rendre les simulations non viables. De plus, les incertitudes introduites lors de la fabrication font que des structures apparemment identiques issues d’une même chaîne de production peuvent avoir des réponses vibroacoustiques très différentes aux hautes fréquences. Par conséquent, les éléments finis sont souvent abandonnés au profit d’une approche statistique très efficace appelée analyse statistique de l’énergie. Cependant, l’analyse énergétique statistique n’est qu’un outil grossier basé sur un ensemble très limité d’hypothèses simplificatrices.

Le développement de méthodes améliorées de simulation vibroacoustique à haute fréquence a été un domaine de recherche actif au cours des vingt dernières années. Une approche qui a été mise au point à Nottingham est l’analyse dynamique de l’énergie, qui améliore l’analyse statistique de l’énergie en incorporant la directionnalité des vagues et la variabilité spatiale locale des niveaux de vibration, mais avec des frais généraux de calcul plus importants. Notre nouvel outil de simulation vibroacoustique haute fréquence contiendra toutes les fonctionnalités de l’analyse énergétique dynamique, mais à des coûts de calcul réduits. La méthode inclura l’analyse statistique de l’énergie en tant qu’implémentation de maillage grossier, permettant d’améliorer la résolution spatiale en utilisant des maillages de volume fini et en capturant la directionnalité via des simulations de Monte-Carlo.

Ce qui est financé

La bourse couvrira:

  • Frais de scolarité pour les années 1 à 3 des études de doctorat à l’Université de Nottingham Trent et les frais de thèse en attente (des frais réduits pour les candidats qui terminent leur thèse) en année 4.
  • Une allocation à payer en arriérés mensuels au cours des années 1 à 3 du doctorat à l’Université de Nottingham Trent, conformément aux taux minimaux de recherche et d’innovation du Royaume-Uni (UKRI). Vous pouvez trouver  de plus amples informations sur les tarifs UKRI  sur le site Web UK Research and Innovation.

Durée

Trois ans de bourses et quatre ans de frais de scolarité – voir ci-dessus.

Admissibilité

Le programme de bourses de doctorat de l’Université de Nottingham Trent 2023 est ouvert à tous les étudiants britanniques, européens et étrangers qui répondent aux critères d’éligibilité académiques et du programme : pour vérifier que vous êtes éligible, veuillez consulter les critères ci-dessous. Vous devez répondre aux critères d’entrée standard pour les études de doctorat à l’Université de Nottingham Trent, qui se trouvent aux paragraphes 4.4 et 4.5 de la  section 11 du Manuel de qualité – Diplômes de recherche .

  1. Vous devez être disponible pour commencer vos études à la Nottingham Trent University soit à notre date d’entrée d’octobre 2023, soit à notre date d’entrée de janvier 2024.
  2. Vous n’êtes autorisé à soumettre  qu’une seule  candidature relative à  une  proposition dans le cadre du programme de bourses de doctorat de l’Université Nottingham Trent 2023.
  3. Vous devez  soumettre une candidature complète et complète  avant  12h00 (GMT) le jeudi 12 janvier 2023.

Veuillez noter que ce programme n’est pas disponible pour les candidats au doctorat existants basés à l’Université de Nottingham Trent ou pour les candidats déjà titulaires d’un doctorat.

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.