Scholarship in Europe

PhD scholarship: Load monitoring, failure prediction and design optimization for mechatronic systems – Brussels, Belgium

1 – Working at the VUB

For already 50 years, the Vrije Universiteit Brussel has stood for freedom, equality and connectedness. These values are strongly present on our campuses, in our students as well as our staff. At the VUB, you’ll find a diverse collection of personalities: pure innovators and especially people who are 100% their authentic selves. With about 3.500 employees, we are the largest Dutch-speaking employer in Brussels, an international city with which we are all too happy to be connected, and around which our four campuses are located.

Our education and research are grounded in the principles of free research with an eye on human progress. We disapprove of every purely authoritative argument and guarantee the free formation of judgement that is necessary for this basic principle to be incorporated in the community.

The VUB is autonomous and managed democratically. As such, we guarantee fundamental freedoms within our university, as well as the right of the university community to be involved in making and checking university policy.

The mission of the university includes:

  • the development, the transfer and the application of high-standing academic education and scientific research, free from any prejudice;
  • community integration of this in a spirit of social compassion;
  • critical development of everyone in light of the responsibilities borne in the community.

2 – Position description

The Faculty of Engineering, Department Toegepaste natuurkunde en fotonica, is looking for a PhD-student with a doctoral grant.

More concretely your work package, for the preparation of a doctorate, contains:

  • You will join the Brussels Photonics (B-PHOT) research group of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) in Belgium.
  • You will instrument mechatronics systems such as drive trains and electric motors with new optical sensors.
  • You will have access to the state-of-the-art laboratories at VUB B-PHOT’s facilities for prototyping, characterising and testing novel optical sensors that enable distributed measurements of mechanical strain and temperature .
  • You will deploy and demonstrate the operation of these sensors using selected test rigs in collaboration with other research groups and universities within Flanders Make, the strategic research centre for the manufacturing industry in Flanders.
  • The open position is part of the Flanders Make strategic research project “FIBERMECH” – Fiber optics & predictable physical models towards load analysis in mechatronic systems.

PhD project context – For the validation of machine prototypes, mechanical stress and temperature measurements with a known small uncertainty are required to provide feedback to the designers and engineers in view of supporting prototyping and design process. This applies for example to the thermal evaluation of electric motors, for which operating at high power density may lead to excessive temperatures, or to the monitoring of high mechanical stress levels within mechanical structures (system housing & rotating components) during extended mechanical load cycles, which may lead to fatigue issues and eventually to machine failure. Inaccurate knowledge of both quantities (mechanical stress and temperature) is typically dealt with by introducing excessive safety factors, leading to over-dimensioned and hence expensive systems. If the system is under-dimensioned instead, one typically face hte failing of the prototypes during operation. The FIBERMECH project aims to unlock the potential of distributed mechanical strain and temperature estimation in mechatronic systems, at lower cost and with improved accuracy compared to conventional mechanical strain gauges and thermal sensors. A more time/cost-efficient, but elaborate measurement campaign will decrease the number of design iterations and save expensive prototyping and design cycles. To reach this objective, FIBERMECH takes advantage of new optical sensors based on glass optical fibers. More specifically, FIBERMECH will deliver tools and methods for reducint the fiber optic sensor measurement uncertainty in view of accurately identifying strain and temperature in mechatronic systems.
These tools and methods cover various mechatronic products and applications: (1) estimation of mechanical inputs for multiple force components; (2) improved temperature estimation in electric motors; (3) estimation of torsional loads and bending moments for electro-mechanical rotary drivetrains. Industrial and realistic validation cases will also be defined with industrial partners to evaluate the feasibility and the reusability of the research and development results.

For this function, our Brussels Photonics Campus (Gooik) will serve as your home base.

3 – Profile

What do we expect from you?

Master’s degree in Photonics Engineering, Physics, Electromechanical Engineering, Applied Mathematics or a diploma recognized as equivalent by competent university authorities.

•    You have a keen interest to conduct ground-breaking research and create innovation in the fields of applied Photonics and Mechatronics and the ambition to obtain a PhD diploma in Engineering.
•    Excellent experimental and computational skills are required. Experience with optical fiber-based sensors is a plus.
•    Proficiency in both spoken and written English (typically CEFR level C1 or equivalent) is required. You will have the opportunity to take evening classes in English to improve your language skills if needed.
•    You look forward to transfer your knowledge and insights to students at Master level with great enthusiasm.
•    You are expected to be able to carry out your research activities independently and in a critical manner, whilst having excellent communication skills and a positive attitude towards collaboration.
•    You should be prepared to travel within Flanders in the frame of research collaborations and potentially worldwide for participation to conferences.
•    Knowledge about photonics and mechatronics is a plus.
Candidates that have not yet acquired their Master’s degree can apply and participate in the selection procedure, but need to offer proof of registration in their Master’s programme and need to have complied with all diploma requirements before starting their position at VUB.

You are expected to endorse the values and vision of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (full text available on the university website).

  • You have not performed any works in the execution of a mandate as an assistant, paid from operating resources, over a total (cumulated) period of more than 12 months.

4 – Offer

Are you going to be our new colleague?

You’ll be offered a full-time PhD-scholarship, for 12 months (extendable up to max. 48 months, on condition of the positive evaluation of the PhD activities), with planned starting date 01/06/2023.

You’ll receive a grant linked to one of the scales set by the government.

IMPORTANT: The effective result of the doctorate scholarship is subject to the condition precedent of your enrolment as a doctorate student at the university.

At the VUB, you’re guaranteed an open, involved and diverse workplace where you are offered opportunities to (further) build on your career.

As well as this, you’ll enjoy various benefits:

  • Full reimbursement for your home-work commute with public transport according to VUB-policy, or compensation if you come by bike;
  • Cost-free hospitalisation insurance;
  • The space to form your job content and continuously learn via VUB LRN;
  • Excellent facilities for sport and exercise;
  • Ecocheques;
  • Delicious meals at attractive prices in our campus restaurants;
  • An open, family-friendly work environment where attention is paid to work-life balance, and exceptional holiday arrangements with 35 days of leave (based on a fulltime contract).

5 – Interested?

Is this the job you’ve been dreaming of?

Send us ONLINE and at the latest on 01/03/2023 your CV, letter of motivation and the highest degree you’ve attained (not applicable for VUB alumni).

Do you have questions about the job content? Contact Dr. Sidney Goossens at sidney.goossens@vub.be or on +32 2 629 36 58.

Would you like to know what it’s like to work at the VUB? Go to www.vub.ac.be/vacatures and find all there is to know about our campuses, benefits, strategic goals and your future colleagues.

Bourse d'études en Europe

Bourse de doctorat : surveillance de la charge, prédiction des défaillances et optimisation de la conception des systèmes mécatroniques – Bruxelles , Belgique

1 – Travailler à la VUB

Depuis déjà 50 ans, la Vrije Universiteit Brussel est synonyme de liberté, d’égalité et de connectivité. Ces valeurs sont fortement présentes sur nos campus, chez nos étudiants comme chez nos collaborateurs. A la VUB, vous trouverez une collection diversifiée de personnalités : de purs innovateurs et surtout des personnes authentiques à 100 % . Avec environ 3.500 employés , nous sommes le plus grand employeur néerlandophone de Bruxelles , une ville internationale avec laquelle nous sommes tous trop heureux d’être connectés, et autour de laquelle nos quatre campus sont situés.

Notre éducation et notre recherche sont fondées sur les principes de la recherche libre avec un œil sur le progrès humain. Nous désapprouvons tout argument purement autoritaire et garantissons la libre formation du jugement nécessaire à l’incorporation de ce principe de base dans la communauté.

La VUB est autonome et gérée démocratiquement . A ce titre, nous garantissons les libertés fondamentales au sein de notre université, ainsi que le droit de la communauté universitaire à participer à l’élaboration et au contrôle de la politique universitaire.

La mission de l’université comprend:

  • le développement, le transfert et l’application d’une formation universitaire et d’une recherche scientifique de haut niveau, exemptes de tout préjugé ;
  • l’intégration communautaire de celle-ci dans un esprit de compassion sociale ;
  • développement critique de chacun à la lumière des responsabilités assumées dans la communauté.

2 – Description du poste

La  Faculté de génie , Département Toegepaste natuurkunde en fotonica , recherche un doctorant avec une bourse de doctorat .

Plus concrètement votre lot de travail, pour la préparation d’un doctorat , contient :

  • Vous rejoindrez le groupe de recherche Brussels Photonics (B-PHOT) de la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) en Belgique.
  • Vous instrumenterez des systèmes mécatroniques tels que des transmissions et des moteurs électriques avec de nouveaux capteurs optiques.
  • Vous aurez accès aux laboratoires de pointe des installations de VUB B-PHOT  pour le prototypage, la caractérisation et le test de nouveaux capteurs optiques permettant des mesures distribuées des contraintes mécaniques et de la température.
  • Vous déploierez et démontrerez le fonctionnement de ces capteurs à l’aide de bancs d’essai sélectionnés en collaboration avec d’autres groupes de recherche et universités au sein de Flanders Make, le centre de recherche stratégique pour l’industrie manufacturière en Flandre.
  • Le poste vacant fait partie du projet de recherche stratégique Flanders Make « FIBERMECH » – Fibre optique et modèles physiques prévisibles vers l’analyse de charge dans les systèmes mécatroniques.

Contexte du projet de thèse – Pour la validation de prototypes de machines, les mesures de contraintes mécaniques et de températureavec une petite incertitude connue sont nécessaires pour fournir des commentaires aux concepteurs et aux ingénieurs en vue de soutenir le prototypage et le processus de conception. Cela s’applique par exemple à l’évaluation thermique des moteurs électriques, pour lesquels un fonctionnement à haute densité de puissance peut entraîner des températures excessives, ou à la surveillance de niveaux de contraintes mécaniques élevés au sein de structures mécaniques (boîtier de système et composants rotatifs) lors de cycles de charge mécaniques prolongés, ce qui peut entraîner des problèmes de fatigue et éventuellement une panne de la machine. Une connaissance imprécise des deux grandeurs (contrainte mécanique et température) est généralement traitée en introduisant des facteurs de sécurité excessifs, conduisant à des systèmes surdimensionnés et donc coûteux. Si le système est plutôt sous-dimensionné, on est généralement confronté à la défaillance des prototypes pendant le fonctionnement. libérer le potentiel de l’estimation distribuée des déformations mécaniques et de la température dans les systèmes mécatroniques, à moindre coût et avec une précision améliorée par rapport aux jauges de contrainte mécaniques et aux capteurs thermiques conventionnels. Une campagne de mesure plus efficace en termes de temps/coût, mais élaborée, réduira le nombre d’itérations de conception et économisera des cycles de prototypage et de conception coûteux. Pour atteindre cet objectif, FIBERMECH s’appuie sur de nouveaux capteurs optiques à base de fibres optiques de verre. Plus précisément, FIBERMECH fournira des outils et des méthodes pour réduire l’incertitude de mesure des capteurs à fibre optique en vue d’identifier avec précision la contrainte et la température dans les systèmes mécatroniques.
Ces outils et méthodes couvrent divers produits et applications mécatroniques : (1) estimation des entrées mécaniques pour plusieurs composantes de force ; (2) amélioration de l’estimation de la température dans les moteurs électriques ; (3) estimation des charges de torsion et des moments de flexion pour les transmissions rotatives électromécaniques. Des cas de validation industriels et réalistes seront également définis avec des partenaires industriels pour évaluer la faisabilité et la réutilisabilité des résultats de recherche et développement.

Pour cette fonction, notre  Brussels Photonics Campus (Gooik)  vous servira de port d’attache.

3 – Profil

Ce que nous attendons de vous?

Master en Génie Photonique, Physique, Génie Électromécanique, Mathématiques Appliquées ou diplôme reconnu équivalent par les autorités universitaires compétentes.

• Vous avez un vif intérêt à mener des recherches novatrices et à créer de l’innovation dans les domaines de la photonique appliquée et de la mécatronique et l’ambition d’obtenir un doctorat en ingénierie.
• D’excellentes compétences expérimentales et informatiques sont requises. Une expérience avec des capteurs à base de fibre optique est un plus.
• La maîtrise de l’anglais parlé et écrit (généralement niveau C1 du CECR ou équivalent) est requise. Vous aurez la possibilité de suivre des cours du soir en anglais pour améliorer vos compétences linguistiques si besoin.
• Vous avez hâte de transférer vos connaissances et vos idées aux étudiants de niveau Master avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme.
• Vous êtes censé être capable de mener vos activités de recherche de manière indépendante et critique, tout en ayant d’excellentes compétences en communication et une attitude positive envers la collaboration.
• Vous devez être prêt à voyager en Flandre dans le cadre de collaborations de recherche et éventuellement dans le monde entier pour participer à des conférences.
• Des connaissances en photonique et mécatronique sont un plus.
Les candidats qui n’ont pas encore obtenu leur diplôme de master peuvent postuler et participer à la procédure de sélection, mais doivent fournir une preuve d’inscription dans leur programme de master et doivent avoir satisfait à toutes les exigences du diplôme avant de commencer leur poste à la VUB.

On attend de vous que vous endossiez les valeurs et la vision de la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (texte complet disponible sur le site de l’université).

  • Vous n’avez effectué aucun travail dans le cadre de l’exécution d’un mandat d’assistant, rémunéré sur les ressources de fonctionnement, sur une durée totale (cumulée) supérieure à 12 mois.

4 – Offre

Serez-vous notre nouveau collègue ?

Une bourse de doctorat à temps plein vous sera proposée , pour  12  mois (prolongable jusqu’à max. 48 mois, sous réserve de l’évaluation positive des activités de doctorat), avec une date de début prévue le  01/06/2023 .

Vous recevrez une subvention liée à l’un des barèmes fixés par le gouvernement.

IMPORTANT : Le résultat effectif de la bourse doctorale est soumis à la condition suspensive de votre inscription en tant que doctorant à l’université.

À la VUB, vous avez la garantie d’un lieu de travail ouvert, impliqué et diversifié où l’on vous offre des opportunités de (plus) développer votre carrière.

En plus de cela, vous profiterez de divers avantages :

  • Remboursement intégral de votre trajet domicile-travail avec les transports en commun selon la politique de la VUB, ou indemnisation si vous venez à vélo ;
  • Assurance hospitalisation gratuite ;
  • L’espace pour former le contenu de votre travail et apprendre en continu via VUB LRN ;
  • Excellentes installations pour le sport et l’exercice ;
  • Les éco-chèques ;
  • De délicieux repas à des prix attractifs dans nos restaurants du campus ;
  • Un environnement de travail ouvert et familial où l’on veille à l’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et vie privée, et des congés exceptionnels avec 35 jours de congés (sur la base d’un contrat à temps plein).

5 – Intéressé ?

Est-ce le travail dont vous rêviez ?

Envoyez-nous EN LIGNE et au plus tard le 01/03/2023  votre CV, lettre de motivation et le diplôme le plus élevé que vous avez obtenu (non applicable pour les alumni VUB).

Vous avez des questions sur le contenu du poste ? Contactez le Dr Sidney Goossens à sidney.goossens@vub.be ou au +32 2 629 36 58.

Vous voulez savoir ce que c’est que de travailler à la VUB ? Rendez-vous sur www.vub.ac.be/vacatures et découvrez tout ce qu’il y a à savoir sur nos campus, nos avantages, nos objectifs stratégiques et vos futurs collègues.