Scholarship in Europe

PhD fellowship “Evaluation and improvement of air pollution measurement techniques using an atmospheric simulation chamber”

The Institute of Chemical Engineering Sciences, Foundation of Research and Technology – Hellas, (FORTH/ICE-HT) is seeking applicants for one PhD candidate position in the context of the research project “Research Infrastructures Services Reinforcing Air Quality Monitoring Capacities in European Urban & Industrial AreaS (RI-URBANS) GA- 101036245 — RI-URBANS — H2020-LC-GD-2020 / H2020-LC-GD-2020-6” which is implemented under the EU-Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Action.

Job Description

To conduct research as a PhD Candidate in the framework of the aforementioned project “RI URBANS”. The main objective of RI URBANS is to develop Service Tools (STs) that will provide novel insights into spatio-temporal variability of air quality parameters, population exposure and air quality health interactions. This will enable to reduce air pollution effects in European cities and industrial hotspots. The project takes on board advanced research-driven Air Quality (AQ) observations at selected European pilot cities. By combining Air Quality Monitoring Networks (AQMNs) and RIs advanced science knowledge and innovative technologies, RI-URBANS deploys tools and information systems in the hands of citizens and communities to support decision-making by AQ managers and regulators. These will enhance the Air Quality Monitoring Networks (AQMNs) capacity to evaluate, predict and mitigate the impact of air quality AQ on human health.

The objective of this job is to evaluate and improve atmospheric measurement techniques for urban air pollution characterization using the FORTH atmospheric simulation chamber.

Location: FORTH/ICE-HT, Patras, Greece

Duration: up to 12 months, with the potential of renewal or extension according to the needs of the project

Fellowship: up to 850 € per month (graduate fellowship) depending on qualifications

Envisaged starting date: 1/10/2022

Requirements and Qualifications

Candidates are required to hold a Diploma in Chemical Engineering. Candidate should have been registered as a PhD Candidate in Chemical Engineering. Moreover, candidates must have good knowledge of the Greek and English (level B1) language.

The evaluation of the candidacies will be based on the following criteria and qualifications:

 

Qualifications

Points

Evaluation criteria

Diploma grade

60

Diploma grade X 6 points
Relevance of diploma thesis to the operation of atmospheric simulation chambers

40

Strong relevance: 40 points, good relevance: 30, medium relevance: 20 points, weak relevance: 10 points

Overall

100

 

Application Submission

Interested candidates who meet the aforementioned requirements should submit their applications, no later than 25/8/2022, 16:00, by email to Kleanthi Zacharopoulou: kleanthi@iceht.forth.gr.

In order to be considered, the application must include:

  • Application letter
  • CV
  • Scanned copies of academic titles & English language certificate
  • Certificate of registration as a PhD candidate
  • Copy of diploma thesis

Any application received after the deadline will not be considered for the selection.

 

 

Selection Procedure

Applications that are received on time will be evaluated by a scientific committee using the criteria mentioned above. If necessary, certain candidates will be invited to a personal interview with the committee.

Interview Criteria:

(a) Background in the objective of the assignment (5 points). (b) Organizational and communication skills (5 points). (c) Team-spirit and self-motivation (5 points). (d) Commitment to achieving the goals (5 points)

The outcome of the selection will be announced on the website of FORTH/ICE-HT as well as on the website of “DIAVGEIA”.

 

 

Selection Announcement

The result of the selection will be announced on the website of: FORTH/ICE-HT.

Candidates have the right to appeal the selection decision, by addressing their written objection to the FORTH/ICE-HT Research Secretariat, e-mail: kleanthi@iceht.forth.gr, within five (5) days after the results announcement on the web.

 

Contact

For information and questions regarding the application and selection procedure, candidates are asked to contact the FORTH/ICE-HT Research Secretariat, e-mail: kleanthi@iceht.forth.gr, tel.: +30 2610 965278.

For information and questions about the advertised position and the research activity of the group or the Institute, candidates are asked to contact Professor Spyros Pandis: tel: 30 2610 969510, email: spyros@chemeng.upatras.gr.

 Attachments

ri_urbans_invitation.pdf  (574.69 KB)

More Information

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Bourse d'études en Europe

Bourse doctorale « Evaluation et amélioration des techniques de mesure de la pollution de l’air à l’aide d’une chambre de simulation atmosphérique »

L’Institut des sciences du génie chimique, Fondation de la recherche et de la technologie – Hellas, (FORTH/ICE-HT) recherche des candidats pour un poste de doctorant dans le cadre du projet de recherche « Research Infrastructures Services Reinforcing Air Quality Monitoring Capacities in European Urban & Industrial AreaS (RI-URBANS) GA- 101036245 — RI-URBANS — H2020-LC-GD-2020 / H2020-LC-GD-2020-6 », mis en œuvre dans le cadre de l’action de recherche et d’innovation EU-Horizon 2020.

Description de l’emploi

Mener des recherches en tant que doctorant dans le cadre du projet susmentionné « RI URBANS ». L’objectif principal de RI URBANS est de développer des outils de service (ST) qui fourniront de nouvelles informations sur la variabilité spatio-temporelle des paramètres de qualité de l’air, l’exposition de la population et les interactions entre la qualité de l’air et la santé. Cela permettra de réduire les effets de la pollution de l’air dans les villes européennes et les points chauds industriels. Le projet prend en compte des observations avancées de la qualité de l’air (AQ) axées sur la recherche dans des villes pilotes européennes sélectionnées. En combinant les réseaux de surveillance de la qualité de l’air (AQMN) et les connaissances scientifiques avancées et les technologies innovantes des IR, RI-URBANS déploie des outils et des systèmes d’information entre les mains des citoyens et des communautés pour soutenir la prise de décision par les gestionnaires et les régulateurs de l’AQ.

L’objectif de ce travail est d’évaluer et d’améliorer les techniques de mesures atmosphériques pour la caractérisation de la pollution atmosphérique urbaine à l’aide de la chambre de simulation atmosphérique FORTH.

Lieu : FORTH/ICE-HT, Patras, Grèce

Durée : jusqu’à 12 mois, avec un potentiel de renouvellement ou d’extension en fonction des besoins du projet

Bourse: jusqu’à 850 € par mois (bourse d’études supérieures) selon les qualifications

Date de démarrage envisagée : 1/10/2022

Exigences et qualifications

Les candidats doivent être titulaires d’un diplôme en génie chimique. Le candidat doit avoir été inscrit en tant que candidat au doctorat en génie chimique. De plus, les candidats doivent avoir une bonne connaissance de la langue grecque et anglaise (niveau B1).

L’évaluation des candidatures sera basée sur les critères et qualifications suivants :

Qualifications

Points

Critère d’évaluation

Grade de diplôme

60

Grade de diplôme X 6 points
Pertinence du mémoire de diplôme pour le fonctionnement des chambres de simulation atmosphérique

40

Forte pertinence : 40 points, bonne pertinence : 30, moyenne pertinence : 20 points, faible pertinence : 10 points

Globalement

100

Présentation de la demande

Les candidats intéressés qui remplissent les conditions susmentionnées doivent soumettre leur candidature, au plus tard le 25/8/2022, 16h00, par courrier électronique à Kleanthi Zacharopoulou : kleanthi@iceht.forth.gr .

Pour être prise en considération, la candidature doit comporter :

  • Lettre de candidature
  • CV
  • Copies numérisées des titres académiques et du certificat de langue anglaise
  • Certificat d’inscription en tant que doctorant
  • Copie du mémoire de diplôme

Toute candidature reçue après la date limite ne sera pas prise en compte pour la sélection.

Procédure de sélection

Les candidatures reçues dans les délais seront évaluées par un comité scientifique selon les critères mentionnés ci-dessus. Si nécessaire, certains candidats seront invités à un entretien personnel avec le comité.

Critères d’entrevue :

(a) Contexte de l’objectif de la mission (5 points). (b) Compétences organisationnelles et de communication (5 points). (c) Esprit d’équipe et motivation personnelle (5 points). (d) Engagement à atteindre les objectifs (5 points)

Le résultat de la sélection sera annoncé sur le site internet de FORTH/ICE-HT ainsi que sur le site internet de « DIAVGEIA ».

Annonce de sélection

Le résultat de la sélection sera annoncé sur le site internet de : FORTH/ICE-HT.

Les candidats ont le droit de faire appel de la décision de sélection, en adressant leur objection écrite au secrétariat de recherche FORTH/ICE-HT, e-mail : kleanthi@iceht.forth.gr , dans les cinq (5) jours suivant l’annonce des résultats sur le web. .

Contact

Pour toute information et question concernant la procédure de candidature et de sélection, les candidats sont priés de contacter le secrétariat de recherche FORTH/ICE-HT, e-mail : kleanthi@iceht.forth.gr , tél. : +30 2610 965278.

Pour toute information et question concernant le poste annoncé et l’activité de recherche du groupe ou de l’Institut, les candidats sont priés de contacter le professeur Spyros Pandis : tél. : 30 2610 969510, e-mail : spyros@chemeng.upatras.gr .

 Pièces jointes

ri_urbans_invitation.pdf  (574,69 Ko)

Plus d’information

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page