Scholarship in Europe

Post doc scholarship in bioinformatics at Lund University, Sweden

The Molecular Pediatric Oncology lab, led by PI Daniel Bexell, is working with childhood cancer neuroblastoma. The overall aims are to unravel mechanisms leading to metastasis and treatment resistance of neuroblastoma, and to test compounds targeting aggressive neuroblastoma.

 

We have recently established and characterized multiple neuroblastoma orthotopic patient-derived xenografts (PDXs). These PDXs retain the genotype, phenotype, tumorigenic, and metastatic properties of the tumors from which they were derived, making them authentic models for studying and targeting neuroblastoma metastasis and resistance (Braekeveldt et al., Cancer Res, 2018). The lab recently used high-throughput drug screening, 3D tumor organoids and PDX models to demonstrate that KSP-inhibition is a promising strategy in neuroblastoma (Hansson et al., Science Transl Med, 2020).

 

We perform molecular and functional studies of primary and metastatic tumor cells, as well as in vitro and in vivo drug testing using 3D tumor organoids and PDXs as model systems. Methods include cell- and molecular biology techniques, 3D tumor cell culturing, RNA-sequencing, spatial transcriptomics, clonal evolution assays, in vitro and in vivo drug testing.

 

We are looking for a new post doc with bioinformatics experience to join our team. Focus will be on analysis of data generated in the different projects described above, with a special focus on bulk RNA-seq, scRNA seq analysis and spatial transcriptomics. The post-doc will lead and develop his/her own analyses and projects. The post-doc will also work in close collaboration with the rest of the team to apply various algorithms and bioinformatics tools to diverse types of bulk and single-cell generated data. The successful candidate will have the opportunity to use a computation-based approach to analyze omics data generated in the group as well as to use publicly available databases to generate testable hypothesis. Tasks also include scientific writing.

 

We offer an international research environment with the opportunity to develop as a researcher. We value a collaborative, curious, ambitious, and nonhierarchical culture with focus on improving the lives for children with cancer.

 

Qualifications required

1. The applicant should be able to conduct projects independently and critically

2. Broad experience of bioinformatics analyses

3. PhD in a relevant subject such as bioinformatics, computational biology, genomics or similar

4. Having demonstrated knowledge with data analyses on genomic and transcriptomic levels, with proficiency in scientific programming languages (eg. R)

5. Experience from single cell (sc)RNAseq and/or spatial transcriptomics is a strong merit

6. Experience with cancer research is also a merit

7. Excellent communication skills and be able to interact efficiently in a team

8. Personal suitability is very important

9. Excellent spoken and written English

 

The applicant should not have been employed by Lund University within the last two years in order to be able to receive a scholarship. PhD degree should not be more than three years old at the last day of applying,

 

Placement: Division of Translational Cancer Research, Medicon Village, Lund University, Lund, Sweden

Web: https://www.tcr.lu.se/research-groups/molecular-pediatric-oncology

Announcement: https://www.med.lu.se/intramed/stipendier_anslag_fraan_fakulteten/#item_150634

Ref No: V2022/1791

Duration: 24 months

Starting time: preliminary November 1st, 2022 (can be discussed)

Last day for applying: September 30th, 2022

 

For further information please contact:

Daniel Bexell

daniel.bexell@med.lu.se

 

Other

Lund University encourages both men and women to apply for the position.

 

Information regarding post doc scholarships at Lund University

The scholarship amounts to 29 000 SEK/month and is normally paid three months in advance.

The scholarship is a grant and therefore not subjected to tax deduction.

 

Application

Application stating the reference number V 2022/1791 and containing a CV, a personal letter, proof of dissertation and relevant documents should be addressed to: daniel.bexell@med.lu.se.

 

Last day of application is 2022-09-30

Laissez un commentaire

Bourse d'études en Europe

Bourse post-doctorale en bioinformatique à l’Université de Lund, Suède

Une bourse postdoctorale est disponible pour un candidat très motivé ayant une formation en bioinformatique et s’intéressant à la recherche sur le cancer.

Le laboratoire d’oncologie pédiatrique moléculaire, dirigé par le PI Daniel Bexell, travaille sur le neuroblastome du cancer infantile. Les objectifs généraux sont de démêler les mécanismes conduisant à la métastase et à la résistance au traitement du neuroblastome, et de tester des composés ciblant le neuroblastome agressif.

Nous avons récemment établi et caractérisé plusieurs xénogreffes dérivées de patients orthotopiques de neuroblastome (PDX). Ces PDX conservent les propriétés génotypiques, phénotypiques, tumorigènes et métastatiques des tumeurs dont ils sont issus, ce qui en fait des modèles authentiques pour étudier et cibler les métastases et la résistance des neuroblastomes (Braekeveldt et al., Cancer Res , 2018). Le laboratoire a récemment utilisé un criblage de médicaments à haut débit, des organoïdes tumoraux 3D et des modèles PDX pour démontrer que l’inhibition de la KSP est une stratégie prometteuse dans le neuroblastome (Hansson et al., Science Transl Med , 2020).

Nous effectuons des études moléculaires et fonctionnelles des cellules tumorales primaires et métastatiques, ainsi que des tests de médicaments in vitro et in vivo en utilisant des organoïdes tumoraux 3D et des PDX comme systèmes modèles. Les méthodes comprennent des techniques de biologie cellulaire et moléculaire, la culture de cellules tumorales 3D, le séquençage d’ ARN , la transcriptomique spatiale, les tests d’évolution clonale, les tests de médicaments in vitro et in vivo.

Nous recherchons un nouveau post doc avec une expérience en bioinformatique pour rejoindre notre équipe. L’accent sera mis sur l’analyse des données générées dans les différents projets décrits ci-dessus, avec un accent particulier sur l’ARN en masse -seq, l’analyse de scRNA seq et la transcriptomique spatiale. Le post-doc mènera et développera ses propres analyses et projets. Le post-doc travaillera également en étroite collaboration avec le reste de l’équipe pour appliquer divers algorithmes et outils bioinformatiques à divers types de données générées en masse et unicellulaires. Le candidat retenu aura l’opportunité d’utiliser une approche basée sur le calcul pour analyser les données omiques générées dans le groupe ainsi que d’utiliser des bases de données accessibles au public pour générer des hypothèses testables. Les tâches comprennent également la rédaction scientifique.

Nous offrons un environnement de recherche international avec la possibilité de se développer en tant que chercheur. Nous valorisons une culture collaborative, curieuse, ambitieuse et non hiérarchique axée sur l’amélioration de la vie des enfants atteints de cancer.

Qualifications requises

1. Le candidat doit être capable de mener des projets de manière indépendante et critique

2. Vaste expérience des analyses bioinformatiques

3. Doctorat dans un domaine pertinent tel que la bioinformatique, la biologie computationnelle, la génomique ou similaire

4. Avoir démontré des connaissances avec des analyses de données aux niveaux génomique et transcriptomique, avec une maîtrise des langages de programmation scientifiques (par exemple, R)

5. L’expérience de la cellule unique (sc) RNAseq et/ou de la transcriptomique spatiale est un atout majeur

6. L’expérience de la recherche sur le cancer est également un mérite

7. Excellentes compétences en communication et capacité à interagir efficacement au sein d’une équipe

8. Les qualités personnelles sont très importantes

9. Excellent anglais parlé et écrit

Le candidat ne doit pas avoir été employé par l’Université de Lund au cours des deux dernières années pour pouvoir recevoir une bourse. Le doctorat ne doit pas avoir plus de trois ans au dernier jour de la candidature,

 

Placement : Division de la recherche translationnelle sur le cancer, Medicon Village, Université de Lund, Lund, Suède

Web : https://www.tcr.lu.se/research-groups/molecular-pediatric-oncology

Annonce : https://www.med.lu.se/intramed/stipendier_anslag_fraan_fakulteten/#item_150634

N° de référence : V2022/1791

Durée : 24 mois

Heure de début : préliminaire 1er novembre 2022 (peut être discutée)

Date limite pour postuler : 30 septembre 2022

 

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter :

Daniel Bexell

daniel.bexell@med.lu.se

Autre

L’Université de Lund encourage les hommes et les femmes à postuler pour le poste.

 

Informations concernant les bourses post-doc à l’Université de Lund

La bourse s’élève à 29 000 SEK /mois et est normalement payée trois mois à l’avance.

La bourse est une subvention et n’est donc pas soumise à déduction fiscale.

Application

Les candidatures portant le numéro de référence V 2022/1791 et contenant un CV, une lettre personnelle, une attestation de thèse et les documents pertinents doivent être adressées à : daniel.bexell@med.lu.se .

Le dernier jour de candidature est le 2022-09-30

Laissez un commentaire