America scholarship

Postdoctoral Fellowship – CEDAR Brain Injury Lab – The University of British Columbia (UBC)

The candidate will work as a Postdoctoral Fellow on interdisciplinary projects led by Dr. Julia Schmidt at the CEDAR Brain Injury Lab. The position is based at the Rehabilitation Research Program at GF Strong Rehabilitation Centre, affiliated with the University of British Columbia (Vancouver).

Project and Responsibilities

The main role of the Postdoctoral Fellow is to contribute to a Canadian Institutes of Health Research grant-funded project on peer-support for people with traumatic brain injury: https://webapps.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/decisions/p/project_details.html?applId=460983&lang=en.

For this project, the successful candidate will:

  1. Lead project implementation
  2. Coordinate and communicate with the project team through sending email updates and leading project meetings
  3. Ensure data collection and recruitment proceed along the study timeline
  4. Oversee data entry, assist with data processing and analysis, maintain study databases
  5. Mentor graduate students and research assistants
  6. Lead knowledge dissemination activities for various stakeholder groups

The candidate will be supported to actively work on their publication record and present findings at conferences. They will have opportunities to expand their learning and networking through the Rehabilitation Research Program at GF Strong, the department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy, and the UBC Center for Hip Health and Mobility.

Qualifications and Experience

  • Completion of a PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences or related areas
  • Interest and expertise in health and rehabilitation after brain injury
  • Experience in quantitative data collection and analysis
  • Ability to work both collaboratively and independently
  • Excellent problem solving and communication skills
  • Strong academic writing skills
  • Experience publishing academic journal articles and presenting at conferences
  • Experience working with people with brain injury

Timeline and Hiring Process

The position is for one year, renewable for a second and third year. The preferred start date is November, 2022.

UBC hires on the basis of merit and is committed to employment equity. We encourage all qualified applicants to apply; however, Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Canada will be given priority.

To apply, please submit a cover letter and statement of research interest, curriculum vitae, contact details of two referees, and date of availability to cedar.braininjury@ubc.ca. Review of application will begin August 15 and will continue until the position is filled.

About the Rehabilitation Research Program

As British Columbia’s largest rehabilitation centre, GF Strong provides inpatient, outpatient, and outreach rehabilitation services for individuals who have suffered from an acquired brain injury, spinal cord injury, amputation, or chronic disease. The Rehabilitation Research Program within GF Strong conducts research to improve the lives of those with disabilities and their families. At the Rehabilitation Research Program lab, monthly Productivity Clubs and Lab Meetings are conducted to provide time for trainees and faculty to discuss lab member updates, publications, work environment committee topics, and any other pertinent information. The Productivity Club specifically aims to enhance the publication success rate of students focusing on wheelchair and rehabilitation-related research. The Rehabilitation Research Program hosts an Annual Research Day at GF Strong with presentations and posters from rehabilitation-based trainees, residents, faculty, staff, and a keynote speaker.

More about the Rehabilitation Research Program: http://www.rehabresearchprogram.com/about

About UBC

The University of British Columbia is a global centre for research and teaching, consistently ranked among the top 20 public universities in the world. Since 1915, UBC’s entrepreneurial spirit has embraced innovation and challenged the status quo. UBC encourages its students, staff and faculty to challenge convention, lead discovery and explore new ways of learning. At UBC, bold thinking is given a place to develop into ideas that can change the world.

About UBC’s Faculty of Medicine

The UBC Faculty of Medicine is a leader in both the science and healthcare. Across British Columbia, more than 11,000 faculty and staff are training the next generation of doctors, health care professionals and scientists, making remarkable discoveries, and helping to create the pathways to better health for our communities at home and around the world.

The Faculty of Medicine is comprised of approximately 2,200 administrative support, technical/research and management and professional staff, as well approximately 650 full-time academic and more than 9,000 clinical faculty. Together with its University and Health Authority partners, the Faculty delivers innovative programs and conducts research in the areas of health and life sciences. Faculty, staff, and trainees are located at university campuses, clinical academic campuses in hospital settings and other regionally based centres across the province.

About Vancouver

Vancouver is a dynamic, cosmopolitan and progressive city, consistently ranked as one of the top cities to live in the world. Canada’s third largest city has it all: sea, parks, mountains, beaches, and four seasons per year, including beautiful summers and mild, wet winters with snow in the mountains. It’s the perfect backdrop to academic research.

This posting is for the UBC Vancouver campus in British Columbia, Canada.

Please refer to reference number NC-56446 during correspondence about this position. Please visit the researcher profile of the supervisor for this position to learn more about their research.

Equity and diversity are essential to academic excellence. An open and diverse community fosters the inclusion of voices that have been underrepresented or discouraged. We encourage applications from members of groups that have been marginalized on any grounds enumerated under the B.C. Human Rights Code, including sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, racialization, disability, political belief, religion, marital or family status, age, and/or status as a First Nation, Metis, Inuit, or Indigenous person.

About UBC
The University of British Columbia is a global centre for research and teaching, consistently ranked among the top 20 public universities in the world. Since 1915, UBC’s entrepreneurial spirit has embraced innovation and challenged the status quo. UBC encourages its students, staff and faculty to challenge convention, lead discovery and explore new ways of learning. At UBC, bold thinking is given a place to develop into ideas that can change the world.

Postdoctoral Fellows at UBC Vancouver
UBC is home to over 900 postdocs spanning all faculties and units across two campuses and a variety of affiliated hospitals, research centres, and sites, providing unparalleled opportunities to learn, discover and contribute in one’s own way. UBC’s Postdoctoral Fellows Office (PDFO) is committed to supporting the lives and career aspirations of our Postdocs, with the goal of enriching their experience at UBC and preparing them for the future. In addition to providing support and advocacy for all postdocs, the PDFO is dedicated to providing professional development opportunities that foster the development of soft skills needed in today’s professional environments, helping them secure future careers in their chosen fields.

About UBC’s Faculty of Medicine
Every day across British Columbia, trainees and researchers at the UBC Faculty of Medicine are turning skills into jobs, investments into discoveries, and discoveries into solutions that are transforming health for everyone.

The UBC Faculty of Medicine offers a diverse array of training opportunities including cutting-edge research experiences in the biosciences, globally recognized population health education, quality health professional training, as well as several certificate and online training options. The Faculty of Medicine is home to more than 1,700 graduate students housed in 23 graduate programs (14 of which offer doctoral research options). Year after year, research excellence in the Faculty of Medicine is supported by investment from funding sources here at home and around the globe, receiving approximately $1.6B in total research funding in the last five years.

About Vancouver
Vancouver is a dynamic, cosmopolitan and progressive city, consistently ranked as one of the top cities to live in the world. Canada’s third largest city has it all: sea, parks, mountains, beaches, and four seasons per year, including beautiful summers and mild, wet winters with snow in the mountains. It’s the perfect backdrop to your academic research.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Bourse d'études en Amerique

Bourse postdoctorale – CEDAR Brain Injury Lab – Vancouver, Canada

Le candidat travaillera en tant que boursier postdoctoral sur des projets interdisciplinaires dirigés par la Dre Julia Schmidt au CEDAR Brain Injury Lab. Le poste est basé au programme de recherche en réadaptation du GF Strong Rehabilitation Centre, affilié à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (Vancouver).

Projet et Responsabilités

Le rôle principal du boursier postdoctoral est de contribuer à un projet financé par une subvention des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada sur le soutien par les pairs pour les personnes ayant subi un traumatisme crânien : https://webapps.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/decisions/p/ project_details.html?applId=460983&lang=en .

Pour ce projet, le candidat retenu devra :

  1. Piloter la mise en œuvre du projet
  2. Coordonner et communiquer avec l’équipe de projet en envoyant des mises à jour par e-mail et en dirigeant des réunions de projet
  3. Veiller à ce que la collecte de données et le recrutement se déroulent le long du calendrier de l’étude
  4. Superviser la saisie des données, aider au traitement et à l’analyse des données, maintenir les bases de données des études
  5. Encadrement d’étudiants diplômés et d’assistants de recherche
  6. Diriger des activités de diffusion des connaissances pour divers groupes d’intervenants

Le candidat sera soutenu pour travailler activement sur son dossier de publication et présenter ses conclusions lors de conférences. Ils auront l’occasion d’élargir leur apprentissage et leur réseautage grâce au programme de recherche en réadaptation de GF Strong, au département d’ergothérapie et d’ergothérapie et au UBC Centre for Hip Health and Mobility.

Qualifications et expérience

  • Avoir obtenu un doctorat en sciences de la réadaptation ou dans un domaine connexe
  • Intérêt et expertise pour la santé et la réadaptation après une lésion cérébrale
  • Expérience dans la collecte et l’analyse de données quantitatives
  • Capacité à travailler à la fois en collaboration et de manière indépendante
  • Excellentes compétences en résolution de problèmes et en communication
  • Solides compétences en rédaction académique
  • Expérience dans la publication d’articles de revues universitaires et la présentation lors de conférences
  • Expérience de travail avec des personnes atteintes de lésions cérébrales

Calendrier et processus d’embauche

Le poste est d’une durée d’un an, renouvelable une deuxième et une troisième année. La date de début préférée est novembre 2022.

L’ UBC embauche sur la base du mérite et s’engage à respecter l’équité en matière d’emploi. Nous encourageons tous les candidats qualifiés à postuler ; cependant, les citoyens canadiens et les résidents permanents du Canada auront la priorité.

Pour postuler, veuillez soumettre une lettre d’accompagnement et une déclaration d’intérêt de recherche, un curriculum vitae, les coordonnées de deux arbitres et la date de disponibilité à cedar.braininjury@ubc.ca . L’examen des candidatures commencera le 15 août et se poursuivra jusqu’à ce que le poste soit pourvu.

À propos du programme de recherche en réadaptation

En tant que plus grand centre de réadaptation de la Colombie-Britannique, GF Strong offre des services de réadaptation en milieu hospitalier, ambulatoire et de proximité aux personnes qui ont souffert d’une lésion cérébrale acquise, d’une lésion de la moelle épinière, d’une amputation ou d’une maladie chronique. Le programme de recherche sur la réadaptation au sein de GF Strong mène des recherches pour améliorer la vie des personnes handicapées et de leurs familles. Au laboratoire du programme de recherche en réadaptation, des clubs de productivité et des réunions de laboratoire mensuels sont organisés pour donner aux stagiaires et aux professeurs le temps de discuter des mises à jour des membres du laboratoire, des publications, des sujets du comité sur l’environnement de travail et de toute autre information pertinente. Le Productivity Club vise spécifiquement à améliorer le taux de réussite des publications des étudiants se concentrant sur la recherche liée au fauteuil roulant et à la réadaptation.

En savoir plus sur le programme de recherche en réadaptation : http://www.rehabresearchprogram.com/about

À propos de l’UBC

L’Université de la Colombie-Britannique est un centre mondial de recherche et d’enseignement, régulièrement classée parmi les 20 meilleures universités publiques au monde. Depuis 1915, l’esprit d’entreprise de l’UBC a embrassé l’innovation et défié le statu quo. L’UBC encourage ses étudiants, son personnel et ses professeurs à défier les conventions, à mener la découverte et à explorer de nouvelles façons d’apprendre. À l’ UBC , la pensée audacieuse a la possibilité de se développer en idées qui peuvent changer le monde.

À propos de la Faculté de médecine de l’UBC

La Faculté de médecine de l’ UBC est un chef de file dans le domaine des sciences et des soins de santé. Partout en Colombie-Britannique, plus de 11 000 professeurs et membres du personnel forment la prochaine génération de médecins, de professionnels de la santé et de scientifiques, font des découvertes remarquables et aident à créer les voies vers une meilleure santé pour nos communautés au pays et dans le monde.

La Faculté de médecine compte environ 2 200 membres du personnel de soutien administratif, technique/de recherche et de gestion et professionnels, ainsi qu’environ 650 universitaires à temps plein et plus de 9 000 professeurs cliniques. En collaboration avec ses partenaires universitaires et régies de la santé, la Faculté propose des programmes innovants et mène des recherches dans les domaines de la santé et des sciences de la vie. Les professeurs, le personnel et les stagiaires sont situés sur des campus universitaires, des campus universitaires cliniques en milieu hospitalier et d’autres centres régionaux à travers la province.

À propos de Vancouver

Vancouver est une ville dynamique, cosmopolite et progressiste, régulièrement classée parmi les meilleures villes où vivre au monde. La troisième plus grande ville du Canada a tout pour plaire : la mer, les parcs, les montagnes, les plages et quatre saisons par an, y compris de beaux étés et des hivers doux et humides avec de la neige dans les montagnes. C’est la toile de fond idéale pour la recherche universitaire.

Cette annonce est pour le campus UBC Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique, Canada.

Veuillez vous référer au numéro de référence NC-56446 lors de la correspondance concernant ce poste. Veuillez consulter le profil de chercheur du superviseur de ce poste pour en savoir plus sur sa recherche.

L’équité et la diversité sont essentielles à l’excellence académique. Une communauté ouverte et diversifiée favorise l’inclusion des voix qui ont été sous-représentées ou découragées. Nous encourageons les candidatures de membres de groupes qui ont été marginalisés pour tous les motifs énumérés dans le Code des droits de la personne de la Colombie-Britannique, y compris le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité ou l’expression de genre, la racialisation, le handicap, les convictions politiques, la religion, l’état matrimonial ou familial, l’âge et /ou statut de Première Nation, Métis, Inuit ou Autochtone.

À propos de l’ UBC
L’Université de la Colombie-Britannique est un centre mondial de recherche et d’enseignement, régulièrement classée parmi les 20 meilleures universités publiques au monde. Depuis 1915, l’esprit d’entreprise de l’UBC a embrassé l’innovation et défié le statu quo. L’UBC encourage ses étudiants, son personnel et ses professeurs à défier les conventions, à mener la découverte et à explorer de nouvelles façons d’apprendre. À l’ UBC , la pensée audacieuse a la possibilité de se développer en idées qui peuvent changer le monde.

Boursiers postdoctoraux à l’ UBC Vancouver L’
UBC abrite plus de 900 postdoctorants couvrant toutes les facultés et unités réparties sur deux campus et une variété d’hôpitaux affiliés, de centres de recherche et de sites, offrant des opportunités inégalées d’apprendre, de découvrir et de contribuer à sa manière. Le Bureau des boursiers postdoctoraux ( PDFO ) de l’UBC s’engage à soutenir la vie et les aspirations professionnelles de nos postdoctorants, dans le but d’enrichir leur expérience à l’ UBC et de les préparer pour l’avenir. En plus de fournir un soutien et un plaidoyer pour tous les postdoctorants, le PDFO se consacre à offrir des opportunités de développement professionnelqui favorisent le développement des compétences non techniques nécessaires dans les environnements professionnels d’aujourd’hui, les aidant à sécuriser leurs futures carrières dans les domaines de leur choix.

À propos de la Faculté de médecine de l’UBC
Chaque jour en Colombie-Britannique, les stagiaires et les chercheurs de la Faculté de médecine de l’ UBC transforment les compétences en emplois, les investissements en découvertes et les découvertes en solutions qui transforment la santé pour tous.

La Faculté de médecine de l’ UBC offre un large éventail de possibilités de formation, notamment des expériences de recherche de pointe dans les biosciences, une éducation à la santé de la population reconnue à l’échelle mondiale, une formation de qualité pour les professionnels de la santé, ainsi que plusieurs certificats et options de formation en ligne. La Faculté de médecine accueille plus de 1 700 étudiants diplômés répartis dans 23 programmes d’études supérieures (dont 14 offrent des options de recherche doctorale). Année après année, l’excellence de la recherche à la Faculté de médecine est soutenue par des investissements provenant de sources de financement ici au pays et dans le monde entier, recevant environ 1,6 milliard de dollars en financement total pour la recherche au cours des cinq dernières années.

À propos de Vancouver
Vancouver est une ville dynamique, cosmopolite et progressiste, régulièrement classée parmi les meilleures villes où vivre au monde. La troisième plus grande ville du Canada a tout pour plaire : la mer, les parcs, les montagnes, les plages et quatre saisons par an, y compris de beaux étés et des hivers doux et humides avec de la neige dans les montagnes. C’est la toile de fond idéale pour vos recherches universitaires.

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page