Scholarship in Europe

Polymer Technology Postdoctoral Fellowship Royal Institute of Technology KTH

The KTH  Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm has become one of Europe’s leading technical and engineering universities, as well as a key center of intellectual talent and innovation. We are Sweden’s largest technical research and learning institution and welcome students, researchers and professors from all over the world. Our research and training cover a broad field including the natural sciences and all branches of engineering, as well as architecture, industrial management, town planning, history and philosophy.

Work place

Wallenberg Wood Science Center (  WWSC  ) is a research center that started in 2009 and is funded by the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation. WWSC  is a multidisciplinary collaboration between Chalmers,  KTH  and Linköping University that strives for scientific excellence, and the overall goal is to develop new materials from trees. The mission of the center is to create knowledge and skills as the basis for environmentally friendly materials for the future. For more information :  www.wwsc.se  and  www.kth.se/fpt

Description of the project

We are looking for someone interested in designing and synthesizing well-defined bio-based polymeric materials and understanding how their nanoscale to microscopic structure affects their properties. In this project we will be using the inherent chemical functionality of building blocksrenewable to combine immiscible chemical structures in various polymer architectures. Depending on the combination of the basic structure and the designed architecture, nano-scale assembly control and, therefore, macroscopic functionality will be created. The objective will be to obtain a thermoplastic elastomer behavior and to combine it with personalized interactions with natural fibers. The result of the knowledge is a new class of fully biobased materials with the desired material properties, predefined lifetimes and recycling possibilities.

Qualifications

A doctorate or an equivalent foreign diploma, obtained during the last three years preceding the application deadline . The candidate must have obtained a doctorate in chemistry, chemical engineering or materials science, preferably with an emphasis on organic chemistry, polymer chemistry or polymer science. The applicant must have demonstrated excellent previous research, for example in international scientific publications. Documented experience in some of the following areas: polymer synthesis, controlled polymerization, ring-opening polymerization, renewable materials, characterization of polymers (e.g.  SEC  ,  NMR , mechanical testing,  DSC  and  AFM ) or an understanding of their structure-property relationship is considered an advantage.

The applicant must also have:

• The ability to contribute their own ideas, independently manage their own work, and support and collaborate with others in their research.

• Good knowledge of spoken and written English to enable publication and presentation of research results in journals and at international conferences.

• A professional attitude and being ready and willing to contribute to our research and to work in an international research team.

• Well-developed analytical skills.

Application

Apply for this scholarship by emailing Erika Grehn,  egrehn@kth.se  . You are primarily responsible for ensuring that your application is complete as advertised. Your complete application must be received at  KTH by  November 24, 2020. Please mark your application with reference number C-2020-1787.

The application must include the following documents: • Curriculum vitae with a complete list of publications included • Letter of motivation (detailing both your previous scientific work experience in the field of research and your interest in this position) • Records of official notes of previous university studies with authorized English translations (if not published by the host institution) • A representative technical publication / report. If the document is long, attach an abstract and a web link to the full text. • Detailed contact details of two references.

Please note that you are applying for a scholarship and not for a job.

About the position (s) Period: 1 year (with possibility of extending by one year) Scope: Full time Amount of scholarship: As agreed Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Contact

Associate Professor Karin Odelius  KTH  Royal Institute of Technology School of Engineering Sciences in Chemistry, Biotechnology and Health (  CBH  ) E-post:  hoem@kth.se

We firmly refuse all contact with recruitment and recruitment agencies and job vacancies sellers.

Laissez un commentaire

Le KTH Royal Institute of Technology de Stockholm est devenu l’une des principales universités techniques et d’ingénierie d’Europe, ainsi qu’un centre clé de talent intellectuel et d’innovation. Nous sommes la plus grande institution de recherche et d’apprentissage technique de Suède et accueillons des étudiants, des chercheurs et des professeurs du monde entier. Notre recherche et notre formation couvrent un vaste domaine comprenant les sciences naturelles et toutes les branches de l’ingénierie, ainsi que l’architecture, la gestion industrielle, l’urbanisme, l’histoire et la philosophie.

Le lieu de travail

Wallenberg Wood Science Center ( WWSC ) est un centre de recherche qui a débuté en 2009 et est financé par la fondation Knut et Alice Wallenberg. Le WWSC est une collaboration multidisciplinaire entre Chalmers, KTH et l’Université de Linköping qui vise l’excellence scientifique, et l’objectif global est de développer de nouveaux matériaux à partir d’arbres. La mission du centre est de créer des connaissances et des compétences comme base pour des matériaux écologiques pour l’avenir. Pour plus d’informations: www.wwsc.se et www.kth.se/fpt

Description du projet

Nous recherchons une personne intéressée à concevoir et à synthétiser des matériaux polymères biosourcés bien définis et à comprendre comment leur structure nanométrique à microscopique affecte leurs propriétés. Dans ce projet, nous utiliserons la fonctionnalité chimique inhérente des blocs de construction renouvelables pour combiner des structures chimiques non miscibles dans diverses architectures polymères. En fonction de la combinaison de la structure de base et de l’architecture conçue, le contrôle de l’assemblage à l’échelle nanométrique et, par conséquent, la fonctionnalité macroscopique seront créés. L’objectif sera d’obtenir un comportement élastomère thermoplastique et de le combiner avec des interactions personnalisées avec des fibres naturelles. Le résultat de la connaissance est une nouvelle classe de matériaux entièrement biosourcés avec les propriétés de matériaux souhaitées, des durées de vie prédéfinies et des possibilités de recyclage.

Qualifications

Un doctorat ou un diplôme étranger équivalent, obtenu au cours des trois dernières années précédant la date limite de candidature. Le candidat doit avoir obtenu un doctorat en chimie, en génie chimique ou en science des matériaux, de préférence avec un accent sur la chimie organique, la chimie des polymères ou la science des polymères. Le demandeur doit avoir fait preuve d’excellentes recherches antérieures, par exemple dans des publications scientifiques internationales. Expérience documentée dans certains des domaines suivants: synthèse de polymères, polymérisation contrôlée, polymérisation par ouverture de cycle, matériaux renouvelables, caractérisation de polymères (par exemple SEC , RMN , essais mécaniques, DSC et AFM) ou une compréhension de leur relation structure-propriété est considérée comme un avantage.

Le demandeur doit également avoir:

• La capacité de contribuer avec leurs propres idées, de gérer indépendamment leur propre travail et de soutenir et de collaborer avec d’autres dans leurs recherches.

• Bonne connaissance de l’anglais parlé et écrit pour permettre la publication et la présentation des résultats de recherche dans des revues et lors de conférences internationales.

• Une attitude professionnelle et être prêt et disposé à contribuer à nos recherches et à travailler dans une équipe de recherche internationale.

• Compétences analytiques bien développées.

Application

Postulez à cette bourse par e-mail à Erika Grehn, egrehn@kth.se . Vous êtes le principal responsable de vous assurer que votre candidature est complète conformément à l’annonce. Votre demande complète doit être reçue à KTH au plus tard le 24 novembre 2020. Veuillez marquer votre demande avec le numéro de référence C-2020-1787.

La candidature doit inclure les documents suivants: • Curriculum vitae avec une liste de publications complète incluse • Lettre de motivation (détaillant à la fois votre expérience de travail scientifique antérieure dans le domaine de la recherche et votre intérêt pour ce poste) • Les relevés de notes officiels d’études universitaires antérieures avec traductions autorisées Anglais (s’ils n’ont pas été publiés par l’institution d’accueil) • Une publication / rapport technique représentatif. Si le document est long, joignez un résumé et un lien Web au texte complet. • Coordonnées détaillées de deux références.

Veuillez noter que vous postulez pour une bourse et non pour un emploi.

À propos du poste / des postes Période: 1 an (avec possibilité de prolonger d’un an) Etendue: Temps plein Montant de la bourse: Selon accord Lieu: Stockholm, Suède

Contact

Professeur associé Karin Odelius KTH Institut royal de technologie École des sciences de l’ingénieur en chimie, biotechnologie et santé ( CBH ) E-post: hoem@kth.se

Nous refusons fermement tout contact avec les agences de recrutement et de recrutement et les vendeurs d’offres d’emploi.