America scholarship

Smithsonian Fellowships Focus on Climate Change and Environmental Justice, United States

Our planet faces unprecedented and interrelated crises of climate change, biodiversity loss, and a global pandemic. Nationally, the United States is also confronting our complicated history and legacy of race and racism. As the largest museum, education, and research complex — with 23 museums, numerous research centers, and the National Zoological Park — the Smithsonian’s vast collections, exhibits, current and historical data sets, and in-house expertise provide a unique opportunity to inform interdisciplinary approaches and solutions to many of these challenges.

Through a new initiative, Our Shared Future: Life on a Sustainable Planet, the Smithsonian aims to advance solutions that fill us with optimism for our planet and all species that call our planet home. As part of this initiative, the Smithsonian is launching two new fellowship programs: Smithsonian Climate Change Fellowship and Smithsonian Environmental Justice Fellowship. Each program will support a cohort of 2-5 fellows for a period of two years. Fellows will receive a stipend to conduct independent research that utilizes Smithsonian resources (e.g., data, facilities, expertise). Fellows with research projects that have the potential to produce rapid results and impact are especially encouraged to apply.

Application deadline: August 31, 2022.

Eligibility: Applicants for Postdoctoral Fellowships must have or will have received the Ph.D. by the time the fellowship begins. Applicants must propose to conduct research in-residence for a period of no less than 12 months and no more than 24 months. Preference given to applicants with start dates before March 1, 2023.

Eligible Locations: Washington D.C. (NMNHNZCBIACM); Front Royal, VA (NZCBI); Edgewater, MD (SERC); Panama (STRI); Cambridge, MA (SAO)

Term: 24 months.

Stipend: Candidates will receive a stipend of $62,000 per year for Postdoctoral Fellows. Stipends are prorated for periods of less than 24 months. A maximum research allowance up to $5,000 is available.

Please help us spread the word. More information about the various research opportunities and eligibility guidelines can be found here: Our Shared Future: Life on a Sustainable Planet | Office of Academic Appointments and Internships (si.edu)

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Bourse d'études en Amerique

Bourses du Smithsonian sur le changement climatique et la justice environnementale, États-Unis

Notre planète est confrontée à des crises sans précédent et interdépendantes du changement climatique, de la perte de biodiversité et d’une pandémie mondiale. Au niveau national, les États-Unis sont également confrontés à notre histoire compliquée et à notre héritage de race et de racisme. En tant que plus grand complexe de musées, d’éducation et de recherche – avec 23 musées, de nombreux centres de recherche et le parc zoologique national – les vastes collections, les expositions, les ensembles de données actuelles et historiques et l’expertise interne du Smithsonian offrent une occasion unique d’informer interdisciplinaire approches et solutions à bon nombre de ces défis.

Grâce à une nouvelle initiative, Our Shared Future: Life on a Sustainable Planet, le Smithsonian vise à proposer des solutions qui nous remplissent d’optimisme pour notre planète et toutes les espèces qui habitent notre planète. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, le Smithsonian lance deux nouveaux programmes de bourses :  la bourse Smithsonian Climate Change  et  la bourse Smithsonian Environmental Justice . Chaque programme soutiendra une cohorte de 2 à 5 boursiers pendant une période de deux ans. Les boursiers recevront une allocation pour mener des recherches indépendantes utilisant les ressources du Smithsonian (par exemple, données, installations, expertise). Les boursiers dont les projets de recherche ont le potentiel de produire des résultats et un impact rapides sont particulièrement encouragés à postuler.

Date limite de candidature : 31 août 2022.

Admissibilité:  Les candidats aux bourses postdoctorales doivent avoir ou auront reçu le doctorat. au moment où la bourse commence. Les candidats doivent proposer de mener des recherches en résidence pendant une période d’au moins 12 mois et d’au plus 24 mois. Préférence accordée aux candidats dont les dates de début sont antérieures au 1er mars 2023.

Emplacements éligibles : Washington DC ( NMNH , NZCBI , ACM ) ; Front Royal, Virginie ( NZCBI ) ; Edgewater, MD ( SERC ); Panamá ( STRI ); Cambridge, MA ( SAO )

Durée :  24 mois.

Allocation:  Les candidats recevront une allocation de 62 000 $ par an pour les boursiers postdoctoraux. Les allocations sont calculées au prorata pour les périodes de moins de 24 mois. Une allocation de recherche maximale de 5 000 $ est disponible.

S’il vous plaît, aidez-nous à passer le mot. Pour plus d’informations sur les différentes opportunités de recherche et les critères d’éligibilité, cliquez ici : Notre avenir commun : la vie sur une planète durable | Bureau des nominations académiques et des stages (si.edu)

Veuillez postuler via le site Web du recruteur

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page