Scholarship in Europe

Five Postdoctoral Fellowships (2 years) in Distributed Systems

The Department of Computing Science is offering five postdoctoral scholarships for an ambitious series of projects within the Autonomous Distributed Systems lab. The fellowships are full-time for two years, starting 1st January 2023 or by agreement.

Department of Computing science

The Department of Computing Science, Umeå University conducts world-leading research in several scientific fields and is growing rapidly. We are offering up to five post doctoral scholarships to join the award-winning Autonomous Distributed Systems (ADS) Lab. The ADS lab is an internationally renowned research group focusing on autonomous management of Cloud & Edge resources and applications to best support our increasingly digitized and connected society. The lab has developed international partnerships with companies including Google, IBM, Red Hat, and Ericsson, as well as universities and institutes such as Princeton University, Imperial College London, Lawrence Berkeley Lab, etc.

The department and research group consists of a diverse group from different nationalities, backgrounds and fields. See more information at: www.umu.se/en/department-of-computing-science/ and

www.cloudresearch.org

The scholarship projects are financed by the Kempe foundation. Each scholarship is for two years with a starting date as agreed. The scholarship amounts to 350 000 SEK per year (around 34 000 euro) plus funding for travel and equipment. The scholarships are not subject to tax.

Is this interesting for you? We welcome applications before the end of 28th October 2022.

Project description

With funding from the Kempe Foundation, the ADS Lab aims to establish a de-facto Center of Excellence in Autonomous Distributed Systems, with a particular focus on management in next-generation Edge and Cloud systems. We are offering scholarships for five postdoctoral fellows to comduct in-depth studies alongside our existing faculty within the areas but not limited to:

– Energy-Efficient Cloud Technology (energy-aware scheduling in cloud-edge environments, intelligent SDNs for energy efficiency, etc.)

– Cloud-Edge Simulation (understanding cloud-edge system interactions and impacts, developing simulation-based approaches for experimentation, etc.)

– Efficient autonomous management systems (reducing data size needed to make accurate predictions, dynamic logging strategies, balancing accuracy with performance, etc.)

– Autonomic anomaly detection for microservices (root-cause identification and automated mitigation, service mesh circuit-breaking, deep learning, etc.)

The post docs are encouraged to bring their own expertise to contribute to the design of individual projects and develop new algorithms, models, techniques, software and tools, as well as publish papers at high-impact venues.

Qualifications

To qualify as a post doctoral scholarship holder, the postdoctoral fellow is required to have completed a doctoral degree or a foreign degree deemed equivalent to a doctoral degree. This qualification requirements must be fulfilled no later than at the time of the decision about scholarship recipient.

Priority should be given to candidates who completed their doctoral degree, according to what is stipulated in the paragraph above, no later than three years prior. If there are special reasons, candidates who completed their doctoral degree prior to that may also be eligible. Special reasons include absence due to illness, parental leave, appointments of trust in trade union organizations, military service, or similar circumstances, as well as clinical practice or other forms of appointment/assignment relevant to the subject area.

Other requirements are:

– A PhD (or equivalent) degree in the Distributed Systems domain

– Good ability to co-operate as well as independency and take initiative.

– Strong skills in written and spoken English.

Desired qualifications include:

– A strong background in Cloud-Edge systems research or development

– Ability to program (e.g. C, Java, Python, Rust, scripting, etc.)

– A strong track-record of academic peer-reviewed publications

– Experience in systems and DevOps tools (Kubernetes, Terraform, etc.)

Application

A full application should include:

– Personal letter

– Curriculum vitae (CV) with publication list,

– Certified copy of doctoral degree certificate,

– Certified copies of other diplomas, list of completed academic courses and grades,

– Copy of doctoral thesis and relevant articles,

– Contact information for at least two reference persons,

– Other documents that the applicant wishes to claim.

Submit your application as a PDF marked with the reference number FS 2.1.6-1783-22, both in the file name and in the subject field of the email, to medel@diarie.umu.se. The application can be written in English (preferably) or Swedish. Application deadline is 28 October 2022.

Further information

For more information, please contact Erik Elmroth (erik.elmroth@cs.umu.se).

We look forward to receiving your application.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bourse d'études en Europe

Cinq bourses postdoctorales (2 ans) en systèmes distribués, Suède

Le Département d’informatique offre cinq bourses postdoctorales pour une ambitieuse série de projets au sein du laboratoire Autonomous Distributed Systems. Les bourses sont à temps plein pendant deux ans, à compter du 1er janvier 2023 ou par accord.

Département d’informatique

Le Département des sciences informatiques de l’Université d’Umeå mène des recherches de pointe dans plusieurs domaines scientifiques et se développe rapidement. Nous offrons jusqu’à cinq bourses postdoctorales pour rejoindre le laboratoire primé Autonomous Distributed Systems (ADS). Le laboratoire ADS est un groupe de recherche de renommée internationale axé sur la gestion autonome des ressources et applications Cloud & Edge pour accompagner au mieux notre société de plus en plus numérisée et connectée. Le laboratoire a développé des partenariats internationaux avec des entreprises telles que Google, IBM, Red Hat et Ericsson, ainsi qu’avec des universités et des instituts tels que l’Université de Princeton, l’Imperial College de Londres, le Lawrence Berkeley Lab, etc.

Le département et le groupe de recherche se composent d’un groupe diversifié de nationalités, d’horizons et de domaines différents. Voir plus d’informations sur:  www.umu.se/en/department-of-computing-science/  et

www.cloudresearch.org

Les projets de bourses sont financés par la fondation Kempe. Chaque bourse est d’une durée de deux ans avec une date de début convenue. La bourse s’élève à 350 000 SEK par an (environ 34 000 euros) plus les frais de voyage et d’équipement. Les bourses ne sont pas imposables.

Est-ce intéressant pour vous ? Nous accueillons les candidatures avant la fin du 28 octobre 2022.

Description du projet

Grâce au financement de la Fondation Kempe, l’ADS Lab vise à établir un centre d’excellence de facto dans les systèmes distribués autonomes, avec un accent particulier sur la gestion des systèmes Edge et Cloud de nouvelle génération. Nous offrons des bourses à cinq boursiers postdoctoraux pour mener des études approfondies aux côtés de notre corps professoral existant dans les domaines, mais sans s’y limiter :

– Energy-Efficient Cloud Technology (ordonnancement écoénergétique dans les environnements cloud, SDN intelligents pour l’efficacité énergétique, etc.)

– Cloud-Edge Simulation (comprendre les interactions et les impacts des systèmes cloud-edge, développer des approches basées sur la simulation pour l’expérimentation, etc.)

– Systèmes de gestion autonomes efficaces (réduction de la taille des données nécessaires pour faire des prévisions précises, stratégies de journalisation dynamiques, équilibre entre précision et performances, etc.)

– Détection autonome d’anomalies pour les microservices (identification des causes profondes et atténuation automatisée, service mesh circuit-breaking, deep learning, etc.)

Les post-doctorants sont encouragés à apporter leur propre expertise pour contribuer à la conception de projets individuels et développer de nouveaux algorithmes, modèles, techniques, logiciels et outils, ainsi que publier des articles dans des lieux à fort impact.

Qualifications

Pour se qualifier comme boursier postdoctoral, le stagiaire postdoctoral doit avoir complété un doctorat ou un diplôme étranger jugé équivalent à un doctorat. Ces exigences de qualification doivent être remplies au plus tard au moment de la décision concernant le bénéficiaire de la bourse.

La priorité doit être donnée aux candidats qui ont obtenu leur diplôme de doctorat, conformément à ce qui est stipulé dans le paragraphe ci-dessus, au plus tard trois ans auparavant. S’il y a des raisons particulières, les candidats qui ont terminé leur doctorat avant cela peuvent également être éligibles. Les raisons particulières comprennent l’absence pour cause de maladie, le congé parental, les nominations de confiance dans les organisations syndicales, le service militaire ou des circonstances similaires, ainsi que la pratique clinique ou d’autres formes de nomination/affectation pertinentes pour le domaine.

Les autres exigences sont :

– Un doctorat (ou équivalent) dans le domaine des systèmes distribués

– Bonne capacité de coopération ainsi que d’autonomie et d’initiative.

– Solides compétences en anglais écrit et parlé.

Les qualifications souhaitées incluent :

– Une solide expérience dans la recherche ou le développement de systèmes Cloud-Edge

– Capacité à programmer (par exemple C, Java, Python, Rust, scripting, etc.)

– Un solide bilan de publications universitaires évaluées par des pairs

– Expérience des systèmes et des outils DevOps (Kubernetes, Terraform, etc.)

Application

Une demande complète doit inclure :

– Lettre personnelle

– Curriculum vitae (CV) avec liste de publications,

– Copie certifiée conforme du diplôme de doctorat,

– Copies certifiées conformes d’autres diplômes, liste des cours académiques suivis et des notes,

– Copie de la thèse de doctorat et des articles pertinents,

– Coordonnées d’au moins deux personnes de référence,

– Autres documents que le demandeur souhaite réclamer.

Soumettez votre candidature au format PDF marqué du numéro de référence  FS 2.1.6-1783-22 , à la fois dans le nom du fichier et dans le champ objet de l’e-mail, à  medel@diarie.umu.se . La candidature peut être rédigée en anglais (de préférence) ou en suédois. La date limite de candidature est  le 28 octobre 2022 .

Plus d’informations

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter  Erik Elmroth  ( erik.elmroth@cs.umu.se ).

Nous avons hâte de recevoir votre candidature.

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.