A study from San Raffaele Hospital in Milan reveals this. According to the doctors behind this study, 42% of the patients followed suffer from some form of anxiety and 28% of them have developed post-traumatic syndromes.

The Covid-19 appears to have an impact on the mental health of a large portion of the people who have caught the virus. This is the result of an investigation carried out by doctors from the Italian hospital of San Raffaele, relayed by the Guardian.

“The Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (Covid-19) coronavirus pandemic could have psychiatric implications,” say the scientists. To perform their study, they observed 402 adult people who survived the coronavirus one month after their treatment.

The results are frightening. According to scientists, 28% of the patients examined suffer from post-traumatic stress, 31% from depression, 42% from anxiety or 40% from insomnia.

Women most affected
The Guardian points out that women, although less susceptible than men to the coronavirus, are more vulnerable to mental disorders after being infected with the virus.
And those examined who have already developed psychiatric disorders in the past suffered more than those without a history.

But how to explain these psychiatric consequences of the coronavirus? ”These disorders can be caused both by the immune response to the virus itself or by psychological stressors such as social isolation, the psychological impact of a new serious and potentially fatal disease, fear of infect others and stigma. “

The researchers suggest “to evaluate the psychopathology of Covid-19 survivors and to further research on inflammatory biomarkers, in order to diagnose and treat emerging psychiatric conditions”.

Une étude de l’hôpital San Raffaele de Milan le révèle. Conformément aux médecins à l’origine de cette étude, 42% des patients suivis souffrent d’une forme d’anxiété et 28% d’entre eux ont développé des syndromes post-traumatiques.

Le Covid-19 semble avoir un impact sur la santé mentale d’une grande partie des personnes qui ont attrapé le virus. C’est le résultat d’une enquête réalisée par des médecins de l’hôpital italien de San Raffaele , relayée par le Guardian .

“La pandémie de coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (Covid-19) pourrait avoir des implications psychiatriques”, affirment les scientifiques. Pour effectuer leur étude, ils ont observé 402 personnes adultes qui ont survécu au coronavirus un mois après leur traitement.

Les résultats sont effrayants. Selon les scientifiques, 28% des patients examinés souffriraient de stress post-traumatique, 31% de dépression, 42% d’anxiété ou 40% d’insomnie .

Les femmes sont les plus touchées
Le Guardian souligne que les femmes, bien que moins sensibles que les hommes au coronavirus, sont plus vulnérables aux troubles mentaux après avoir été infectées par le virus.
Et les personnes examinées qui ont déjà développé des troubles psychiatriques dans le passé ont plus souffert que celles qui n’ont pas d’antécédents.

Mais comment expliquer ces conséquences psychiatriques du coronavirus ? ” Ces troubles peuvent être causés à la fois par la réponse immunitaire au virus lui-même ou par des facteurs de stress psychologiques tels que l’isolement social, l’impact psychologique d’une nouvelle maladie grave et potentiellement mortelle, la peur d’infecter les autres et la stigmatisation. “

Les chercheurs suggèrent “d’évaluer la psychopathologie des survécus de Covid-19 et d’approfondir la recherche sur les biomarqueurs inflammatoires, afin de diagnostiquer et de traiter les conditions psychiatriques émergentes”.