A surprising proposal from infectious disease specialist Eric Caumes in Le Parisien: he suggests “allowing” young people to be contaminated among themselves by the coronavirus, on the strict condition that they are not in contact with their parents and adults. -parents. “We will not be able to force them to wear masks everywhere and forbid them to meet, especially in the middle of summer. Admittedly, this is not politically correct, but I believe more and more that we must allow them to infect each other ”, declares the head of the infectious diseases department at the Pitié-Salpêtrière hospital in Paris.

“Let’s not condemn them, let’s say we have to respect the elders. By letting them become contaminated, they will contribute to collective immunity and this will be more the case at the start of the school year, in schools and universities ”, specifies the specialist in infectious diseases. A situation which is of course controversial as the theory of collective immunity (when a sufficient number of people, around 70% of the population, have been infected, the epidemic ends up going away on its own). ‘has not yet been proven, even in Sweden, where the government has chosen not to confine the population as in France, Spain or Italy.

It must be recognized that young people are less exposed than older people, and that they are more often asymptomatic than others. But it is not without risk for them either: “Young people can also have serious forms…”, recognizes Eric Caumes.

Une proposition surprenante du spécialiste des maladies infectieuses Eric Caumes dans Le Parisien : il suggère de “laisser” les jeunes se contaminer entre eux par le coronavirus, à la stricte condition qu’ils ne soient pas en contact avec leurs parents et les grands. -parents. “Nous ne pourrons pas leur imposer le port du masque partout et leur interdire de se réunir, surtout en plein été. Certes, ce n’est pas correct politiquement, mais je crois de plus en plus que nous devons les autoriser à se contaminer entre eux”, déclare le chef du service des maladies infectieuses de l’hôpital de la Pitié-Salpêtrière à Paris.

“Ne les condamnons pas, disons qu’il faut respecter les anciens. En les laissant se contaminer, ils contribueront à l’immunité collective et ce sera davantage le cas à la rentrée scolaire, dans les écoles et les universités”, précise le spécialiste des maladies infectieuses. Une situation qui est bien sûr controversée alors que la théorie de l’immunité collective (quand un nombre suffisant de personnes, environ 70% de la population, a été contaminé, l’épidémie finit par s’éteindre d’elle-même) n’a pas encore été prouvée, même en Suède, où le gouvernement a choisi de ne pas confiner la population comme en France, en Espagne ou en Italie.

Il faut reconnaître que les jeunes sont moins exposés que les plus âgés, et qu’ils sont plus souvent asymptomatiques que les autres. Mais ce n’est pas non plus sans risque pour eux : “Les jeunes peuvent aussi avoir des formes graves…”, reconnaît Eric Caumes.