Dormir moins bête

Discover the Top 10 most used names in the world!

It is much more difficult to make this type of classification than it seems. As much for the most used names in France each year or since 1946, it’s simple, but in the world it’s a different story. We know for sure that Mohamed and Marie are the most common names in the world. For the others, on the other hand, scholarly calculations are essential, based on ultra-complex algorithms and crosses stemming from exhausting research, with the nose in the books and registers of each country in the world. While taking into account all the derivatives of first names, the story will ultimately deliver a significant top. Yes, it’s work!

1. Mohamed
It is by far the most popular first name in the world. Especially if you take into account all the variations. The closest, like Mohammed, or the most distant, like Mamadou.

2. Mary
A name that is famous almost everywhere. So Marie, but also Maria, Mariah, Mary, etc. A classic that will never go out of style.

3. Santiago
It has always been a great success for this Hebrew name, derived from Jacques.

4. Sophie
Meaning wisdom in Greek, the first name Sophie is everywhere. Sophie, Sophia, Sofia and even, if we extrapolate a little more, Sonia, who comes from Sophie. Suddenly, that makes a package!

5. Emma
There are Emma in France, in all Europe, in the United States, in Latin America, in Asia, everywhere. Even at Topito! We can write it in different ways, like for example Ema or Imma and we can also take into account all Emmanuelle.

6. John
It is not really a surprise, because there again, it is a first name which has many derivatives, with Jonathan or Johnny at the top of the list. We must also take into account the Jean, Jan and of course the Juan, also very numerous on the surface of the globe.

7. Ali
The first name Ali quickly acquired a kind of universality through the ages, to the point of establishing itself as one of the most used in the world. Meaning “high, high” in its Arabic version, it is also common in Latin America or Europe, but also in the Scandinavian countries, where it finds its origins in mythology (Ali is the other name of the god Vali, son of ‘Odin).

8. Anna
Anna, but also Hannah, or Ana, Anastasia and of course Anne. Anna’s is said to be sweet and complex. In any case, they are present in numbers all over the world.

9. Lily
Very worn in China, where it occupies the fourth place in the general top of female names, Lily is a derivative of the English name Elizabeth (or Elisabeth). Lizzie, Elise, Betty and even Livia and Leslie are considered derivatives.

10. William
Super popular in Anglo-Saxon countries, in its complete form but also through its derivatives, like Will and Willy, William is a safe bet. It would find its origins in the Germanic given name Wilhelm (Guillaume). The Guillaume and William would therefore be in cahoots and therefore would not have usurped their place in this top.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Il est bien plus difficile de procéder à ce type de classement qu’il n’y paraît. Autant pour les prénoms les plus utilisés en France chaque année ou depuis 1946, c’est simple, mais dans le monde c’est une autre histoire. Nous savons avec certitude que Mohamed et Marie sont les prénoms les plus courants dans le monde. Pour les autres, en revanche, des calculs savants sont indispensables, basés sur des algorithmes ultra complexes et des croisements issus de recherches éprouvantes, avec le nez dans les livres et les registres de chaque pays du monde. Tout en tenant compte de tous les dérivés des prénoms, l’histoire pour livrer au final un top significatif. Oui, c’est du travail !

1. Mohamed
C’est de loin le prénom le plus populaire au monde. Surtout si l’on tient compte de toutes les variations. Les plus proches, comme Mohammed, ou les plus éloignées, comme Mamadou.

2. Mary
Un nom qui est célèbre presque partout. Donc Marie, mais aussi Maria, Mariah, Mary, etc. Un classique qui ne se démodera jamais.

3. Santiago
Il a toujours été un grand succès pour ce nom hébreu, dérivé de Jacques.

4. Sophie
Signifiant sagesse en grec, le prénom Sophie est partout. Sophie, Sophia, Sofia et même, si on extrapole un peu plus, Sonia, qui vient de Sophie. Soudain, ça fait un paquet !

5. Emma
Il y a des Emma en France, dans toute l’Europe, aux États-Unis, en Amérique latine, en Asie, partout. Même à Topito ! On peut l’écrire de différentes manières, comme par exemple Ema ou Imma et on peut aussi prendre en compte toutes les Emmanuelle.

6. John
Ce n’est pas vraiment une surprise, car là encore, c’est un prénom qui a de nombreux dérivés, avec Jonathan ou Johnny en tête de liste. Il faut aussi prendre en compte les Jean, Jan et bien sûr les Juan, eux aussi très nombreux à la surface du globe.

7. Ali
Le prénom Ali a rapidement acquis une sorte d’universalité à travers les âges, au point de s’imposer comme l’un des plus usés au monde. Signifiant “haut, haut” dans sa version arabe, il est également courant en Amérique latine ou en Europe, mais aussi dans les pays scandinaves, où il trouve ses origines dans la mythologie (Ali est l’autre nom du dieu Vali, fils d’Odin).

8. Anna
Anna, mais aussi Hannah, ou Ana, Anastasia et bien sûr Anne. On dit que celle d’Anna serait douce et complexe. En tout cas, elles sont présentes en nombre dans le monde entier.

9. Lily
Très porté en Chine, où il occupe la quatrième place dans le top général des noms féminins, Lily est un dérivé du nom anglais Elizabeth (ou Elisabeth). Lizzie, Elise, Betty et même Livia et Leslie sont considérées comme des dérivées.

10. William
Super populaire dans les pays anglo-saxons, sous sa forme complète mais aussi via ses dérivés, comme Will et Willy, William est un pari sûr. Il trouverait ses origines dans le prénom germanique Wilhelm (Guillaume). Les Guillaume et William seraient donc de mèche et n’auraient donc pas usurpé leur place dans ce top.