Scholarship in Europe

Two postdoctoral fellowships at Umeå university to understand Polycomb repression and improve CAR T cells using pooled CRISPR screening technology

Two joint postdoctoral fellowships at Umeå university, with the focus on developing and applying new pooled CRISPR screening technology, are available immediately! The fellowships are located in the groups of Johan Henriksson and Yuri Schwartz, respectively. The postdocs will work together, each addressing one of the two synergistic projects.

Post-doctoral fellowship #1 is with the group Molecular Epigenetics at the Department of Molecular Biology, Umeå University, Sweden (PI: Dr. Yuri Schwartz, https://www.umu.se/en/research/groups/yuri-schwartz/).

Making an animal from a single cell requires epigenetic mechanisms that force cells to remember which genes not to use once they have “chosen” their developmental fate. Polycomb group proteins make up such a repressive mechanism and much evidence links their loss or overexpression to abnormal development and cancer. One of the key unanswered questions concerning the mechanism is how Polycomb group proteins find correct genes to repress. We have identified hundreds of DNA elements that tether Polycomb group proteins to human genes. These elements appear to employ yet unknown sequence specific DNA binding adapter proteins. You will use the pooled CRISPR/Cas9 screen and state-of-the-art reporter constructs to discover these sequence specific DNA binding adapter proteins.

Our expectations: You are a motivated scientist with a Ph.D. in genetics, molecular biology or biochemistry and strong interest in epigenetics. We are particularly interested in applicants with a track record in molecular cloning, mammalian cell culture and the expertise in computational analysis of genomic data. All applicants should be fluent in English.

We offer: A chance to learn and apply the cutting edge gene engineering technology to address one of the most coveted issues in developmental epigenetics. An appointment for two years with a possibility of extension based on performance. Midnight sun in summer, unlimited Nordic lights in winter and the Swedish trademark quality of life year around.

The birthplace of the CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing technology, the Department of Molecular Biology at Umeå University offers a vibrant international research environment that fosters scientific discovery and innovation.

How to apply: Please, send your complete application by e-mail to yuri.schwartz@umu.se with the phrase “postdoc in epigenetics” in the subject line. The position is open until 2022-11-01.

The application should include:

    1. Cover letter that lists three compelling reasons for why you apply
    2. Pdf files of your two best publications
    3. CV
    4. Contact details of two to three references.

Post-doctoral fellowship #2 is on improving CAR T cells in the group of Johan Henriksson (http://www.henlab.org/) at MIMS (https://www.mims.umu.se/), the Swedish Nordic EMBL partnership node.

CAR T cells are T cells with a synthetic receptor that enables them to attack cancer. Much work remains, however, to ensure the correct function – avoiding exhaustion, releasing the correct cytokines, acting in the right context, and surviving the hostile tumor microenvironment. While reprogramming genes is now easy, it is not obvious which genes to target.

In this project, we will use pooled CRISPR/Cas9 screens to find suitable CAR T “helper” genes. Because we use primary human cells, this requires overcoming challenges in lentiviral delivery and phenotyping. These will be your main tasks, and you will work alongside a team that already has experience in e.g. optimized sgRNA readout and single-cell characterization of candidate genes.

Key related paper: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30639098/.

Our expectations: You are a motivated scientist with a Ph.D. in genetics, molecular biology, biochemistry or immunology, and a strong interest in computational biology or technology development. We are particularly interested in applicants with a track record in molecular cloning, mammalian cell culture, immunological methods, and the expertise in computational analysis of genomic data. All applicants should be fluent in English.

We offer: A chance to learn and use the latest screening technology to come up with a new potential cure for cancer. There will be ample opportunities also to learn single-cell technology and computational biology. The appointment is for two years with a possibility of extension based on performance. Besides a ski slope 10 minutes from work and white nights in summer, exchange with our other EMBL partners is also a possibility. MIMS is based on the EMBL 5+4 year model and favors long-term thinking and groundbreaking research.

How to apply: Please, send your complete application by e-mail to johan.henriksson@umu.se with the phrase “postdoc in CAR T cells” in the subject line. The position is open until 2022-11-01.

The application should include:

  1. Cover letter that lists three compelling reasons for why you apply
  2. Pdf files of your two best publications
  3. CV
  4. Contact details of two to three references.

More about the employer:

At Umeå University, everything is nearby. Our cohesive campus environment makes it easy to meet, collaborate and exchange knowledge, which promotes a dynamic and open culture where we rejoice in each other’s successes. If you are interested in knowing about Umeå University as a workplace, read more at: https://www.umu.se/en/work-with-us/

Umeå University also offers a strong postdoc community with the Umeå Postdoc Society (UPS), which fosters networking amongst postdocs, organises social and career development events and works towards improving the postdoc experience at the Umeå campus. Check out their website: https://umeapostdocsociety.se/, and do not hesitate to get in contact with them early on!

Laissez un commentaire

Bourse d'études en Europe

Deux bourses postdoctorales à l’université d’Umeå pour comprendre la répression Polycomb et améliorer les cellules CAR T à l’aide de la technologie de dépistage CRISPR groupée

Deux bourses postdoctorales conjointes à l’université d’Umeå, axées sur le développement et l’application d’une nouvelle technologie de dépistage CRISPR regroupée, sont disponibles immédiatement ! Les bourses sont situées dans les groupes de Johan Henriksson et Yuri Schwartz, respectivement. Les postdocs travailleront ensemble, chacun abordant l’un des deux projets synergiques.

La bourse postdoctorale #1 est avec le groupe d’ épigénétique moléculaire du département de biologie moléculaire, Université d’Umeå, Suède (PI : Dr Yuri Schwartz, https://www.umu.se/en/research/groups/yuri-schwartz /) .

Fabriquer un animal à partir d’une seule cellule nécessite des mécanismes épigénétiques qui obligent les cellules à se souvenir des gènes à ne pas utiliser une fois qu’elles ont « choisi » leur destin de développement. Les protéines du groupe Polycomb constituent un tel mécanisme répressif et de nombreuses preuves associent leur perte ou leur surexpression à un développement anormal et au cancer. L’une des principales questions sans réponse concernant le mécanisme est de savoir comment les protéines du groupe Polycomb trouvent les bons gènes à réprimer. Nous avons identifié des centaines d’ éléments d’ ADN qui relient les protéines du groupe Polycomb aux gènes humains. Ces éléments semblent employer des protéines adaptatrices de liaison à l’ADN spécifiques à une séquence encore inconnue. Vous utiliserez l’ écran CRISPR / Cas9 regroupé et les constructions de rapporteurs de pointe pour découvrir ces ADN spécifiques à la séquenceprotéines adaptatrices de liaison.

Nos attentes : Vous êtes un scientifique motivé titulaire d’un doctorat. en génétique, biologie moléculaire ou biochimie et fort intérêt pour l’épigénétique. Nous sommes particulièrement intéressés par les candidats ayant une expérience en clonage moléculaire, en culture de cellules de mammifères et une expertise en analyse informatique des données génomiques. Tous les candidats doivent parler couramment l’anglais.

Nous offrons : Une chance d’apprendre et d’appliquer la technologie de génie génétique de pointe pour résoudre l’un des problèmes les plus convoités de l’épigénétique du développement. Un rendez-vous de deux ans avec possibilité de prolongation en fonction des performances. Soleil de minuit en été, lumières nordiques illimitées en hiver et la qualité de vie suédoise toute l’année.

Berceau de la technologie d’édition de gènes CRISPR /Cas9, le Département de biologie moléculaire de l’Université d’Umeå offre un environnement de recherche international dynamique qui favorise la découverte et l’innovation scientifiques.

Comment postuler: Veuillez envoyer votre candidature complète par e-mail à yuri.schwartz@umu.se avec la phrase «postdoc en épigénétique» dans la ligne d’objet. Le poste est ouvert jusqu’au 2022-11-01 .

La demande doit comprendre :

    1. Lettre d’accompagnement qui énumère trois raisons impérieuses pour lesquelles vous postulez
    2. Fichiers pdf de vos deux meilleures publications
    3. CV
    4. Coordonnées de deux à trois références.

La bourse post-doctorale n ° 2 porte sur l’amélioration des cellules CAR T dans le groupe de Johan Henriksson ( http://www.henlab.org/ ) au MIMS ( https://www.mims.umu.se/ ), l’institut nordique suédois Noeud de partenariat EMBL .

Les cellules CAR T sont des cellules T dotées d’un récepteur synthétique qui leur permet d’attaquer le cancer. Il reste cependant beaucoup à faire pour assurer le bon fonctionnement – éviter l’épuisement, libérer les bonnes cytokines, agir dans le bon contexte et survivre au microenvironnement hostile de la tumeur. Alors que la reprogrammation des gènes est maintenant facile, il n’est pas évident de savoir quels gènes cibler.

Dans ce projet, nous utiliserons des cribles CRISPR /Cas9 regroupés pour trouver des gènes « helper » CAR T appropriés. Parce que nous utilisons des cellules humaines primaires, cela nécessite de surmonter les défis de la livraison lentivirale et du phénotypage. Ce seront vos tâches principales et vous travaillerez aux côtés d’une équipe qui a déjà de l’expérience, par exemple, dans la lecture optimisée de sgRNA et la caractérisation unicellulaire de gènes candidats.

Article connexe clé : https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30639098/ .

Nos attentes : Vous êtes un scientifique motivé titulaire d’un doctorat. en génétique, biologie moléculaire, biochimie ou immunologie, et un fort intérêt pour la biologie computationnelle ou le développement technologique. Nous sommes particulièrement intéressés par les candidats ayant une expérience dans le clonage moléculaire, la culture de cellules de mammifères, les méthodes immunologiques et l’expertise en analyse informatique des données génomiques. Tous les candidats doivent parler couramment l’anglais.

Nous offrons : Une chance d’apprendre et d’utiliser les dernières technologies de dépistage pour trouver un nouveau remède potentiel contre le cancer. Il y aura également de nombreuses opportunités d’apprendre la technologie unicellulaire et la biologie computationnelle. La nomination est de deux ans avec possibilité de prolongation en fonction des performances. Outre une piste de ski à 10 minutes du travail et des nuits blanches en été, l’échange avec nos autres partenaires EMBL est également une possibilité. MIMS est basé sur le modèle EMBL 5+4 ans et favorise la réflexion à long terme et la recherche novatrice.

Comment postuler: Veuillez envoyer votre candidature complète par e-mail à johan.henriksson@umu.se avec la phrase «postdoc in CAR T cells» dans la ligne d’objet. Le poste est ouvert jusqu’au 2022-11-01 .

La demande doit comprendre :

  1. Lettre d’accompagnement qui énumère trois raisons impérieuses pour lesquelles vous postulez
  2. Fichiers pdf de vos deux meilleures publications
  3. CV
  4. Coordonnées de deux à trois références.

En savoir plus sur l’employeur :

l’Université d’Umeå , tout est à proximité. Notre environnement de campus cohésif facilite les rencontres, la collaboration et l’échange de connaissances, ce qui favorise une culture dynamique et ouverte où nous nous réjouissons des succès de chacun. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur l’Université d’Umeå en tant que lieu de travail, lisez plus sur: https://www.umu.se/en/work-with-us/

L’Université d’Umeå offre également une solide communauté postdoctorale avec la Umeå Postdoc Society ( UPS ),  qui favorise le réseautage entre postdoctorants, organise des événements sociaux et de développement de carrière et s’efforce d’améliorer l’expérience postdoctorale sur le campus d’Umeå. Consultez leur site Web : https://umeapostdocsociety.se/ , et n’hésitez pas à les contacter rapidement !

Laissez un commentaire