14 PhD positions in Quantum Science and Technologies (QUSTEC doctoral programme)

Allemagne
Posted 3 years ago

QUSTEC offers the interdisciplinary, intersectoral and international training in the field of quantum science and technologies (QST) to 39 early-stage researchers. Only 14 PhD positions listed below out of 39 are still open for applications.

The coordinator of the programme is the European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) Eucor – The European Campus, the alliance of five universities located in the cross-border research area of Upper Rhine.

For QUSTEC, the Eucor Members University of Basel, University of Freiburg, University of Strasbourg and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology are joined by IBM-Research in Zurich.

The QUSTEC training programme is in line with the European Charter for Researchers, the Code of Conduct for the Recruitment of Researchers and the EU Principles for Innovative Doctoral Training. At the application stage, candidates can choose up to three PhD projects and after the successful selection process will be enrolled in a doctoral programme of one of the partaking universities. Their applications will be evaluated in an open, transparent, merit-based procedure based on international peer review.

All fellows will be offered a 4-year employment contract with the corresponding social security provisions. An individual panel in a three-tier training programme will supervise them.

The scientific focus of the programme lies on the six scientific areas of quantum electronics, artificial quantum systems, quantum nano-devices, non-equilibrium quantum systems, quantum resources, and quantum simulation. The COFUND financial support serves as a nucleus for the early-stage research career training, create synergies among the partner institutions and contribute to Europe’s leadership role in the emerging field of QST.

The topics currently open for applications are the following:

– 1.A Multi-qubit gates for the efficient exploration of Hilbert space with superconducting qubit systems, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.B Charge noise and coherence of hole spins in group-IV QD devices, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.F Understanding and engineering microscopic sources of noise in solid-state quantum devices, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.G Quantum-coherent microwave-optical conversion, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.H Gate-based sensing of spin qubits, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.I Study of thermal transport in low-dimensional materials, University of Basel

– 2.A Casimir Forces in Superconducting Systems, University of Basel

– 2.E Wave packet interference experiments for the investigation of ultrafast dynamics and decoherence effects on the attosecond time scale, University of Freiburg

– 3.E Quantum critical Kondo lattices of molecular spins probed by scanning tunnelling microscopy, KIT

– 3.I Experimental studies of molecular qubits and implementation of optical read-out schemes based on single- and entangled photon sources, KIT

– 4.C Theory and simulation of nonequilibrium dynamics in many-body quantum systems, University of Freiburg

– 5.A Hybrid quantum networks with atomic memories and quantum dot single-photon sources, University of Basel

– 5.B Solid-state spins in an optical cavity, University of Basel

– 5.C Development of quantum technologies for molecular systems: quantum sensing of molecular and chemical properties, University of Basel

The QUSTEC programme has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement number 847471.

Eligibility and requirements

QUSTEC has two main eligibility criteria:

1) Required level of experience is ‘Early Stage Researcher’ according to the definition in the 2018-2020 work programme of the Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions: Applicants must, at the date of the respective call deadline of QUSTEC, be in the first four years (full-time equivalent research experience) of their research careers and have not yet been awarded a doctoral degree.

2) Mobility criterion: The ESR must not have resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies, etc.) in the country of the future host organisation for more than 12 months in the 3 years immediately before the call deadline of QUSTEC. Short stays such as holidays are not taken into account. For refugees under the Geneva Convention, the refugee procedure (i.e. before refugee status is conferred) will not be counted as a period of residence/activity in the country of the host organisation.

Excellent MSc degree or equivalent is required, with the grades falling within top 15% of respective national system.

Excellent skills and knowledge in quantum science and technology are expected, as shown by a Master & Bachelor degree in relevant scientific fields of physics, chemistry, materials or computation.

Application and selection process

The applications shall be submitted exclusively via an electronic platform https://www.eucor-uni.org/en/qustec/application-information/apply/.

The selection and evaluation process of QUSTEC follows the principles of the H2020 Grants Manual regarding Excellence, Transparency, Fairness and Impartiality, Efficiency, Speed, Ethics and Security.

The written evaluation of the applications will be carried out by two independent external evaluators.

Once a candidate has passed the 70% threshold of the written evaluation, an oral evaluation (interview) will be carried out by a panel of the future potential supervisor, one independent expert who previously assessed the CV, and one partner organisation representative. At least one member of the selection panel will be a woman. Interviews will be carried out either via the teleconferencing system.

More information is in the Guide for applicants on the QUSTEC-website (https://www.eucor-uni.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/QUSTEC_Guide_for_applicants_v2.1.pdf)

The participating member universities of the EGTC Eucor and the partner institutions also adhere to Charter and Code for the recruitment and employment of researchers and have extensive experience in recruiting researchers.

Benefits of participation in the programme

The set-up of our programme is inherently international due to the cross-border setup of the EGTC Eucor. All involved partner organisations from both academia and industry and all individual researchers engaged in the QUSTEC programme have a wide international network which will be beneficial for the ESRs.

QUSTEC is essentially interdisciplinary through the wide range of the research topics. We further encourage ESRs and the supervision team to explore any upcoming interdisciplinary elements of their research topics. Quantum Science and Technologies as a research field is rooted in several disciplines and applies concepts from physics, chemistry, engineering and computer sciences.

All of our ESRs will be required to carry out a mandatory secondment at the indicated partner organisation. With this, we will train them to work and learn in another than their ‘home’ environment, and in many cases a non-academic research environment with the objective to improve ERSs post-graduate employability. This mandatory element of training enhances the intersectoral component of QUSTEC.

Job Features

Job CategoryStage et Formation

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Allemagne
Publié il y a 5 mois
DESCRIPTION DE L’EMPLOI

QUSTEC offre la formation interdisciplinaire, intersectorielle et internationale dans le domaine des sciences et technologies quantiques (QST) à 39 chercheurs en début de carrière . Seuls 14 postes de doctorants énumérés ci-dessous sur 39 sont encore ouverts aux candidatures.

Le coordinateur du programme est le groupement européen de coopération territoriale (GECT) Eucor – The European Campus, l’ alliance de cinq universités situées dans la zone de recherche transfrontalière du Rhin supérieur.

Pour QUSTEC, l’ Université des membres Eucor de Bâle, l’ Université de Fribourg , l’ Université de Strasbourg et l’ Institut de technologie de Karlsruhe sont rejoints par IBM-Research à Zurich .

Le programme de formation QUSTEC est conforme à la Charte européenne du chercheur, au code de conduite pour le recrutement des chercheurs et aux principes de l’UE pour une formation doctorale innovante. Au stade de la candidature, les candidats peuvent choisir jusqu’à trois projets de doctorat et, une fois le processus de sélection réussi, ils seront inscrits dans un programme de doctorat de l’une des universités participantes. Leurs candidatures seront évaluées selon une procédure ouverte, transparente et fondée sur le mérite, basée sur un examen international par les pairs.

Tous les boursiers se verront proposer un contrat de travail de 4 ans avec les dispositions de sécurité sociale correspondantes. Un panel individuel dans un programme de formation à trois niveaux les supervisera.

Le programme scientifique se concentre sur les six domaines scientifiques de l’électronique quantique, des systèmes quantiques artificiels, des nano-dispositifs quantiques, des systèmes quantiques hors équilibre, des ressources quantiques et de la simulation quantique . Le soutien financier du COFUND sert de noyau à la formation initiale en recherche, crée des synergies entre les institutions partenaires et contribue au rôle de leader de l’Europe dans le domaine émergent de la TVQ.

Les sujets actuellement ouverts aux candidatures sont les suivants:

– 1.A Portes multi-qubit pour l’exploration efficace de l’espace de Hilbert avec des systèmes de qubit supraconducteurs, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.B Bruit de charge et cohérence des spins de trous dans les dispositifs QD du groupe IV, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.F Compréhension et ingénierie des sources microscopiques de bruit dans les dispositifs quantiques à semi-conducteurs, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.G Conversion micro-onde optique cohérente quantique, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.H Gate-based sensing of spin qubits, IBM Research – Zurich

– 1.I Etude du transport thermique dans les matériaux de faible dimension, Université de Bâle

– 2.A Casimir Forces in Superconducting Systems, Université de Bâle

– 2.E Expériences d’interférence de paquets d’ondes pour l’étude de la dynamique ultrarapide et des effets de décohérence sur l’échelle de temps attoseconde, Université de Fribourg

– 3.E Réseaux Kondo critiques quantiques de spins moléculaires sondés par microscopie à effet tunnel, KIT

– 3.I Études expérimentales des qubits moléculaires et mise en œuvre de schémas de lecture optique basés sur des sources de photons simples et intriqués, KIT

– 4.C Théorie et simulation de la dynamique hors équilibre dans les systèmes quantiques à plusieurs corps, Université de Fribourg

– 5.A Réseaux quantiques hybrides avec mémoires atomiques et sources à photons uniques à points quantiques, Université de Bâle

– 5.B Tours à semi-conducteurs dans une cavité optique, Université de Bâle

– 5.C Développement de technologies quantiques pour les systèmes moléculaires: détection quantique des propriétés moléculaires et chimiques, Université de Bâle

Le programme QUSTEC a reçu un financement du programme de recherche et d’innovation Horizon 2020 de l’Union européenne dans le cadre de l’accord de subvention Marie Skłodowska-Curie numéro 847471.

Admissibilité et conditions

QUSTEC a deux principaux critères d’éligibilité:

1) Le niveau d’expérience requis est “ Chercheur en début de carrière ” selon la définition dans le programme de travail 2018-2020 des actions Marie Skłodowska-Curie: les candidats doivent, à la date de la date limite respective d’appel de QUSTEC, être dans les quatre premiers ans (expérience équivalente à temps plein en recherche) de leur carrière en recherche et n’ont pas encore obtenu de doctorat .

2) Critère de mobilité: L’ESR ne doit pas avoir résidé ou exercé son activité principale (travail, études, etc.) dans le pays de la future organisation d’accueil pendant plus de 12 mois au cours des 3 années précédant immédiatement la date limite d’appel de QUSTEC . Les courts séjours tels que les vacances ne sont pas pris en compte. Pour les réfugiés au titre de la Convention de Genève, la procédure de demande d’asile (c’est-à-dire avant l’octroi du statut de réfugié) ne sera pas considérée comme une période de résidence / d’activité dans le pays de l’organisation d’accueil.

Un excellent diplôme de maîtrise ou équivalent est requis, les notes se situant dans les 15% supérieurs du système national respectif.

D’excellentes compétences et connaissances en science et technologie quantiques sont attendues , comme en témoigne un diplôme de master et de licence dans les domaines scientifiques pertinents de la physique, de la chimie, des matériaux ou du calcul.

Processus de candidature et de sélection

Les candidatures doivent être soumises exclusivement via une plateforme électronique https://www.eucor-uni.org/en/qustec/application-information/apply/ .

Le processus de sélection et d’évaluation de QUSTEC suit les principes du manuel de subventions H2020 concernant l’excellence, la transparence, l’équité et l’impartialité, l’efficacité, la rapidité, l’éthique et la sécurité.

L’ évaluation écrite des candidatures sera effectuée par deux évaluateurs externes indépendants.

Une fois qu’un candidat a franchi le seuil de 70% de l’évaluation écrite, une évaluation orale (entretien) sera réalisée par un panel du futur superviseur potentiel, un expert indépendant ayant préalablement évalué le CV et un représentant de l’organisation partenaire. Au moins un membre du jury de sélection sera une femme. Les entretiens se feront soit via le système de téléconférence.

Plus d’informations sont disponibles dans le Guide du candidat sur le site Web de QUSTEC ( https://www.eucor-uni.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/QUSTEC_Guide_for_applicants_v2.1.pdf )

Les universités membres du GECT Eucor participantes et les institutions partenaires adhèrent également à la Charte et au Code pour le recrutement et l’emploi de chercheurs et ont une vaste expérience dans le recrutement de chercheurs.

Avantages de la participation au programme

La mise en place de notre programme est intrinsèquement internationale en raison de la configuration transfrontalière du GECT Eucor. Toutes les organisations partenaires impliquées du monde universitaire et de l’industrie et tous les chercheurs individuels engagés dans le programme QUSTEC disposent d’un vaste réseau international qui sera bénéfique pour les ESR.

QUSTEC est essentiellement interdisciplinaire à travers le large éventail de sujets de recherche. Nous encourageons également les ESR et l’équipe de supervision à explorer tous les éléments interdisciplinaires à venir de leurs sujets de recherche. La science et les technologies quantiques en tant que domaine de recherche sont enracinées dans plusieurs disciplines et appliquent des concepts de la physique, de la chimie, de l’ingénierie et des sciences informatiques.

Tous nos ESR devront effectuer un détachement obligatoire auprès de l’organisation partenaire indiquée. Grâce à cela, nous les formerons à travailler et à apprendre dans un environnement autre que leur environnement “ d’origine ” et, dans de nombreux cas, un environnement de recherche non universitaire dans le but d’améliorer l’employabilité des diplômés de l’ERS. Cet élément obligatoire de formation améliore la composante intersectorielle de QUSTEC.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiStage et Formation

Postuler en ligne