Research Assistant in manufacture, testing and validation of biomedical micro-devices

Irlande
Posted 3 years ago

An exciting research position is available in a very innovative, applied research initiative embedded in Dublin City University – Ireland’s University of Enterprise. The technology-led FPC@DCU engineers next-generation life-science technologies for the benefit of people and societies in partnership with the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology (IPT) in Germany. Common fields of application are in-vitro (“Point-of-Care”) diagnostics, pharma, life-science research, agrifood and environmental monitoring. FPC@DCU therefore operates at the challenging crossroads of microsystems engineering and the life sciences. The current project aims at demonstrating a microfluidic solution towards applications in Next Generation Sequencing. Based on its extensive expertise and background IP in microfluidics, the FPC@DCU will develop an affordable, automated system, which delivers reproducible, high-quality outputs while minimising reagent use.

Candidate Role

The role involves assisting in the development of microfluidics-based systems towards high technology readiness levels (TRLs) within FPC@DCU. In this role you will have access to competent technical, infrastructural and administrative assistance and the opportunity to evolve a multi-facetted skillset in an environment where you closely partner with world-class Irish and international companies and research organisations. Further career opportunities will arise with the success of the FPC. You will also assist the business development and project management teams of the FPC in their interactions with industry, academia and funding agencies.

Principal Duties and Responsibilities

Reporting to the project Principal Investigator, technical duties will include but will not be limited to:

  • Conduct a specified programme of research within the NGS PREP Enterprise Ireland Commercialisation Fund Project under the supervision of the project PI.
  • Microfabrication, assembly and testing of microfluidic prototypes.
  • Assist development and testing of the appropriate device and sample preparation protocols required to facilitate microfluidic technology application.
  • Assist development and testing of the appropriate sample preparation protocols required to facilitate microfluidic technology application.
  • Assist, quality control and testing of developed microfluidic products
  • Engage in the dissemination of the results of the research in which they are engaged, as directed by, with the Assistance of and under the supervision of the Principal Investigator.

Qualifications, Skills and Experience Required:

Applicants must hold a primary degree (NFQ Level 8 and above) in a relevant discipline and should have at least have 1 year of relevant job experience. Under overall guidance of a researcher, you should have a proven track record of working in a team as well as well-defined experience handling select aspects independently.

Familiarity with the operations of a scientific laboratory environment especially in the next generation sequencing and microfluidic areas would be highly desirable. A self-starting attitude, good interpersonal skills and high technical expertise are a prerequisite. The successful candidate can convincingly demonstrate the background, experience, willingness and capability to assist transfer of bioanalytical methods to microfluidics-based technologies, e.g. for manufacture and testing of devices that enable handling and decentralised sample-to-answer testing of biological sample.

Mandatory Training

The post holder will be required to undertake the following mandatory compliance training: Orientation, Health and Safety and Intellectual Property and Data Protection training. Other training may need to be undertaken when required.

Salary: €22,609 – 35,218 (IUA scale)

*Appointment will be commensurate with qualifications and experience will be made on the appropriate point of the salary scale, in line with current Government pay policy.

Closing date: 3rd March 2020

Application Procedure:

Informal enquiries to: Dr. Rohit Mishra – rohit.mishra@dcu.ie

Please do not send applications to this email address, instead apply as described below.

Application forms are available from the DCU Current Vacancies (open Competitions) website at http://www.dcu.ie/vacancies/current.shtml and also from the Human Resources Department, Dublin City University, Dublin 9. Tel:+353 (01) 7005149.

Applications should be submitted by e-mail with your completed application form to hr.applications@dcu.ie or by post to the Human Resources Department, Dublin City University, DCU Glasnevin Campus, Dublin 9, D09W6Y4.

Please clearly state the role that you are applying for in your application and email subject line: Job Ref #RF1333 Research Assistant in manufacture, testing and validation of biomedical micro-devices.

Dublin City University is an equal opportunities employer and is committed to promoting gender equality reflected in its attainment of the Athena SWAN Bronze Award. Information on a range of university policies aimed at creating a supportive and flexible work environment are available at www4.dcu.ie/policies/policy-starter-packs.shtml.

Job Features

Job CategoryAssistanat - Secrétariat - Accueil, Enseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Assistant de recherche en fabrication, test et validation de micro-dispositifs biomédicaux

Irlande
Publié il y a 2 ans

Un poste de recherche passionnant est disponible dans une initiative de recherche appliquée très innovante intégrée à la Dublin City University – Ireland’s Enterprise of Enterprise. Le FPC @ DCU , axé sur la technologie, conçoit des technologies des sciences de la vie de nouvelle génération au profit des personnes et des sociétés en partenariat avec l’Institut Fraunhofer pour la technologie de production (IPT) en Allemagne. Les domaines d’application communs sont le diagnostic in vitro («Point of Care»), la pharma, la recherche en sciences de la vie, l’agroalimentaire et la surveillance environnementale. FPC @ DCUopère donc au carrefour difficile de l’ingénierie des microsystèmes et des sciences de la vie. Le projet actuel vise à démontrer une solution microfluidique vers des applications de séquençage de nouvelle génération. Sur la base de sa vaste expertise et de sa PI en microfluidique, le FPC @ DCU développera un système automatisé abordable, qui fournit des sorties reproductibles et de haute qualité tout en minimisant l’utilisation des réactifs.

Rôle du candidat

Le rôle consiste à aider au développement de systèmes basés sur la microfluidique vers des niveaux de préparation de haute technologie (TRL) au sein de FPC @ DCU . Dans ce rôle, vous aurez accès à une assistance technique, infrastructurelle et administrative compétente et à la possibilité de développer un ensemble de compétences à multiples facettes dans un environnement où vous vous associez étroitement avec des entreprises irlandaises et internationales de classe mondiale et des organismes de recherche. De nouvelles opportunités de carrière se présenteront avec le succès du FPC. Vous aiderez également les équipes de développement commercial et de gestion de projet du FPC dans leurs interactions avec l’industrie, le monde universitaire et les agences de financement.

Fonctions et responsabilités principales

Relevant du chercheur principal du projet, les tâches techniques incluront mais ne seront pas limitées à:

  • Mener un programme de recherche spécifique dans le cadre du projet NGS PREP Enterprise Ireland Commercialization Fund sous la supervision du projet PI.
  • Microfabrication, assemblage et test de prototypes microfluidiques.
  • Aider au développement et à l’essai des dispositifs appropriés et des protocoles de préparation des échantillons requis pour faciliter l’application de la technologie microfluidique.
  • Aider au développement et à l’essai des protocoles de préparation d’échantillons appropriés requis pour faciliter l’application de la technologie microfluidique.
  • Assister, contrôler la qualité et tester les produits microfluidiques développés
  • S’engager dans la diffusion des résultats de la recherche dans laquelle ils sont engagés, selon les directives de, avec l’aide et sous la supervision du chercheur principal.

Qualifications, compétences et expérience requises:

Les candidats doivent détenir un diplôme primaire (NFQ niveau 8 et supérieur) dans une discipline pertinente et doivent avoir au moins 1 an d’expérience professionnelle pertinente. Sous la direction générale d’un chercheur, vous devez avoir une expérience éprouvée de travail en équipe ainsi qu’une expérience bien définie dans la gestion de certains aspects de manière indépendante.

Une connaissance des opérations d’un environnement de laboratoire scientifique, en particulier dans les domaines de séquençage et microfluidique de la prochaine génération, serait hautement souhaitable. Une attitude autonome, de bonnes relations interpersonnelles et une expertise technique élevée sont des conditions préalables. Le candidat retenu peut démontrer de manière convaincante les antécédents, l’expérience, la volonté et la capacité d’aider au transfert de méthodes bioanalytiques vers des technologies basées sur la microfluidique, par exemple pour la fabrication et le test de dispositifs qui permettent la manipulation et le test décentralisé de l’échantillon à la réponse de l’échantillon biologique.

Formation obligatoire

Le titulaire du poste devra suivre la formation obligatoire de conformité suivante: formation d’orientation, de santé et de sécurité et de propriété intellectuelle et de protection des données. Il peut être nécessaire de suivre une autre formation au besoin.

Salaire: 22609 € – 35218 (échelle IUA)

* La nomination sera proportionnelle aux qualifications et l’expérience sera faite au point approprié de l’échelle salariale, conformément à la politique de rémunération actuelle du gouvernement.

Date de fermeture: 3 mars 2020

Procédure de demande:

Demandes informelles à: Dr. Rohit Mishra – [email protected]

Veuillez ne pas envoyer de candidatures à cette adresse e-mail, mais appliquez-les comme décrit ci-dessous.

Les formulaires de candidature sont disponibles sur le site Web DCU Current Vacancies (concours ouverts) à http://www.dcu.ie/vacancies/current.shtml et également auprès du département des ressources humaines, Dublin City University, Dublin 9. Tél: +353 ( 01) 7005149.

Les candidatures doivent être soumises par e-mail avec votre formulaire de candidature rempli à [email protected] ou par courrier au Département des ressources humaines, Université de la ville de Dublin, DCU Glasnevin Campus, Dublin 9, D09W6Y4.

Veuillez indiquer clairement le rôle pour lequel vous postulez dans votre demande et dans la ligne d’objet de votre e-mail: Réf. De travail # RF1333 Assistant de recherche en fabrication, test et validation de micro-dispositifs biomédicaux.

L’Université de Dublin est un employeur garantissant l’égalité des chances et s’engage à promouvoir l’égalité des sexes, comme en témoigne l’obtention du prix Athena SWAN Bronze. Des informations sur une série de politiques universitaires visant à créer un environnement de travail favorable et flexible sont disponibles sur www4.dcu.ie/policies/policy-starter-packs.shtml .

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiAssistanat - Secrétariat - Accueil, Enseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss