Bader Curator of European Art

Canada
Posted 2 years ago
Competition number: J0719-1100
Position title: Bader Curator of European Art
Group of employees: Research, subsidy and contract
Job Category: Arts and Culture
Department or region: Agnes Etherington Art Center
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Quality: 09
Hours per week: 35
Job type: permanent (continuous)
Work shift: 7 from Monday to Friday
Number of positions: 1
Publication date: January 7, 2020
Closing date: April 12, 2020
Additional information:
Please note:  We will begin to review applications on March 03, 2020, but the position will remain posted until April 12, 2020.

About Queen’s University

Queen’s University is Canada’s research-intensive university that offers a transformative student learning experience. Here, the professional experience is as diverse as it is interesting. We have opportunities in several areas of globally recognized research, faculty administration, engineering and construction, athletics and recreation, power generation, shared business services and many others.

We are committed to employment equity and diversity in the workplace and welcome applications from people from equity-seeking groups such as women, racialized / visible minorities, Indigenous / Indigenous peoples, people with disabilities, people who identify with the LGBTQ + community and others who reflect the diversity of Canadian society.

Come work with us!

Summary of the work

About Agnes:
The Agnes Etherington Art Centeris a leading art museum that proudly serves as an active research and learning resource at Queen’s University and a public gallery for the community of Kingston, Ontario, and beyond. Its superb collection covers European, historical Canadian, contemporary, indigenous, African and decorative arts. A central force of this collection is the Bader Collection, composed of more than 200 European paintings focusing on the Dutch and Flemish Baroque, including four paintings by Rembrandt and others by his talented associates and students. The quality of these works has brought international fame to Agnes. By researching, collecting and preserving works of art,

About the opportunity:
The Agnes Etherington Art Center at Queen’s University is looking for an expert in European historical art with in-depth knowledge of 17th-century Dutch and Flemish painting to hold the position of curator of European art.

Reporting to the Chief Curator / Curator of Canadian Historical Art, the Bader Curator of European Art will develop a creative artistic vision for the collection, ensuring its vitality by researching and developing acquisitions, exhibitions, publications and events. related audiences that foster broad engagement and interest. in European historical art. In addition, the incumbent will promote global ties with others in the field and will communicate with a diverse clientele ranging from local and international visitors to students and university professors, donors and benefactors, creating a collaborative environment and inclusive.

This position offers the possibility of contributing effectively to the field of European historical art, while cultivating a high level of expertise in a favorable and flexible learning environment.

Job Description

KEY RESPONSIBILITIES:
• Research, develop, propose, implement and supervise all aspects of the European historic art program (exhibitions, conferences, performance events and, for certain projects: national and international tours, publications and symposia) for integration into Agnes’ overall program. Prepares and monitors budgets for related projects and helps the director obtain financing in a competitive environment.
• Research, negotiate and propose the purchase and acceptance of gifts of historic European art to Agnes’ internal and external acquisition committees; assists in obtaining funds to support this activity and prepares documentation for donor receipts and permanent files.
• Ensures the accuracy of the files and prepares reports and proposals as needed.
• Works creatively to ensure broad engagement and interest in the European art collection, including through in-person and digital access, written interpretative materials and scholarly publications.
• Manages the care of the permanent collection of Agnes of historic European art by exercising best practices, evaluating loan requests, and planning and directing the work of the director of collections, technicians and contractual restorers if necessary .
• Promotes the profile and stature of the Agnes by maintaining relationships with collectors, donors, a range of sectors of the artistic community, the research and academic environment of Queen’s University and at beyond, appropriate government agencies and peer institutions, donors and sponsors, and contribute to the field as a respected art professional.
• Works collaboratively and responsively as a staff member of Agnes in a team environment.
• Provides work direction and technical / functional advice to casual and contract employees, volunteers and interns and trainees associated with the European Historical Art program, as required. Plans and assigns work and supervises its completion. Coordinates and monitors the workflow.
• Reviews assignments and provides work feedback to employees. Provides job performance feedback to management staff.
• Undertakes additional responsibilities as required, in support of Agnes.

QUALIFICATIONS REQUIRED:
•  Graduate  diploma in art history, studies in conservation or in a related discipline (doctorate or equivalent), with a minimum of three to five years of experience in conservation.
• Sophisticated knowledge of European historical art, with in-depth expertise in 17th and Dutch Dutch painting.
• A proven record of developing innovative exhibitions and experience in developing multi-year programs.
• Effective knowledge and understanding of museum collection care practices and collection development processes.
• Record of excellence proven in research and publication in historical European art.
• Satisfactory criminal record check and vulnerable sector check required.
• An equivalent combination of education and experience can be considered.

SPECIAL SKILLS:
• Respects diversity and promotes inclusion in the workplace.
• Superior skills in written and oral communication.
• Proven skills in project management, budget creation and monitoring.
• Excellent visual acuity and capacity for aesthetic judgment.
• Demonstrated ability to work in a team.
• Exceptional interpersonal skills, combined with the ability to inspire others.
• Excellent time management skills with the ability to manage multiple tasks.
• Proficiency in languages ​​relevant to research areas is considered an asset.

DECISION:
• Determines the program of historical European art exhibitions and related events, and recommends their inclusion in the Agnes program.
• Determines the most effective means to design, deliver and present the programming.
• Makes recommendations for the acquisition of works of art to the director and to the internal and external acquisition committees.
• Identifies, researches and recommends potential sources of funding to the director.
• Develops research projects for undergraduate and graduate trainees.
• Determines priorities and makes decisions regarding contract specialists (eg designers or publishers) and the occasional occasional or short-term use of employees / students and the allocation of work to achieve optimal productivity.
• Makes daily decisions and resolves problems within the framework of political directives; determines when complex issues or sensitive issues need to be referred to senior management.
• Determines priorities and makes decisions regarding the use of personnel and the distribution of tasks to achieve optimal efficiencies and productivity.
• Monitors and assesses the performance and quality of employees’ work, and recommends the need for formal management training or development plans and identifies possible staff performance and / or disciplinary issues

Employment Equity and Accessibility Statement

The University invites applications from all qualified persons. Queen’s is committed to employment equity and diversity in the workplace and accepts applications from women, visible minorities, Aboriginal peoples, people with disabilities and people of all sexual orientations and gender identities. In accordance with Canadian immigration requirements, priority will be given to Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

The University offers support in its recruitment process for candidates with disabilities, including accommodation measures that take into account the accessibility needs of a candidate. Applicants requiring  measures of  adaptation during the recruitment process are asked to contact the human resources  hradmin@queensu.ca  .

Job Features

Job CategoryD'autre travail

Apply Online

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bader Conservateur d’art européen

Canada
Publié il y a 1 an
Numéro de concours:J0719-1100
Titre du poste:Bader Curator of European Art
Groupe d’employés:Recherche, subvention et contrat
Catégorie d’emploi:Arts et culture
Département ou région:Agnes Etherington Art Center
Lieu:Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Qualité:09
Heures par semaine:35
Type d’emploi:permanent (continu)
Quart de travail:7 du lundi au vendredi
Nombre de positions:1
Date de publication:7 janvier 2020
Date de clôture:12 avril 2020
Information additionnelle:
Veuillez noter: Nous commencerons à examiner les candidatures le 03 mars 2020, mais le poste restera publié jusqu’au 12 avril 2020.

À propos de l’Université Queen’s

L’Université Queen’s est l’université canadienne à forte intensité de recherche qui offre une expérience d’apprentissage étudiant transformatrice. Ici, l’expérience professionnelle est aussi diversifiée qu’intéressante. Nous avons des opportunités dans plusieurs domaines de la recherche mondialement reconnue, de l’administration des facultés, de l’ingénierie et de la construction, de l’athlétisme et des loisirs, de la production d’électricité, des services partagés d’entreprise et bien d’autres.

Nous nous engageons en faveur de l’équité en matière d’emploi et de la diversité en milieu de travail et nous accueillons favorablement les candidatures de personnes issues de groupes en quête d’équité tels que les femmes, les minorités racialisées / visibles, les peuples autochtones / autochtones, les personnes handicapées, les personnes qui s’identifient dans la communauté LGBTQ + et d’autres qui reflètent la diversité de la société canadienne.

Venez travailler avec nous!

Résumé du travail

À propos d’Agnes:
The Agnes Etherington Art Centerest un musée d’art de premier plan qui sert fièrement de ressource active de recherche et d’apprentissage à l’Université Queen’s et de galerie publique pour la communauté de Kingston, en Ontario, et au-delà. Sa superbe collection couvre les arts historiques européens, historiques canadiens, contemporains, indigènes, africains et décoratifs. Une force centrale de cette collection est la Collection Bader, composée de plus de 200 peintures européennes axées sur le baroque néerlandais et flamand, dont quatre peintures de Rembrandt et d’autres de ses talentueux associés et étudiants. La qualité de ces œuvres a apporté une renommée internationale à Agnès. En recherchant, en collectionnant et en préservant des œuvres d’art, et en exposant et en interprétant une culture visuelle couvrant les grandes traditions artistiques du passé et les innovations du présent,

À propos de l’opportunité:
Le Agnes Etherington Art Centre de l’Université Queen’s recherche un expert en art historique européen possédant une connaissance approfondie de la peinture hollandaise et flamande du XVIIe siècle, pour occuper le poste de conservateur de l’art européen.

Relevant du conservateur en chef / conservateur de l’art historique canadien, le conservateur Bader de l’art européen développera une vision artistique créative pour la collection, garantissant sa vitalité en recherchant et en développant des acquisitions, des expositions, des publications et des événements publics connexes qui favorisent un large engagement et intérêt. dans l’art historique européen. De plus, le titulaire favorisera les liens mondiaux avec les autres dans le domaine et communiquera avec une clientèle diversifiée allant des visiteurs locaux et internationaux aux étudiants et professeurs d’université en passant par les donateurs et les bienfaiteurs, créant un environnement à la fois collaboratif et inclusif.

Ce poste offre la possibilité de contribuer efficacement au domaine de l’art historique européen, tout en cultivant un haut niveau d’expertise dans un environnement d’apprentissage favorable et flexible.

Job Description

RESPONSABILITÉS CLÉS:
• Recherche, développe, propose, met en œuvre et supervise tous les aspects du programme d’art historique européen (expositions, conférences, événements d’interprétation et, pour certains projets: tournées nationales et internationales, publications et symposiums) pour intégration dans le programme global d’Agnes . Prépare et suit les budgets des projets connexes et aide le directeur à obtenir du financement dans un environnement concurrentiel.
• Recherche, négocie et propose l’achat et l’acceptation de cadeaux d’art européen historique aux comités d’acquisition internes et externes d’Agnes; aide à obtenir des fonds à l’appui de cette activité et prépare la documentation pour les reçus des donateurs et pour les dossiers permanents.
• Assure l’exactitude des dossiers et élabore des rapports et des propositions au besoin.
• Travaille de manière créative pour assurer un large engagement et intérêt pour la collection d’art européenne, y compris par un accès en personne et numérique, des documents d’interprétation écrits et des publications savantes.
• Gère le soin de la collection permanente d’Agnes d’art européen historique en exerçant les meilleures pratiques, en évaluant les demandes de prêt, et en planifiant et en dirigeant le travail du directeur des collections, des techniciens et des restaurateurs contractuels si nécessaire.
• Fait la promotion du profil et de la stature de l’Agnès en entretenant des relations avec les collectionneurs, les bailleurs de fonds, un éventail de secteurs de la communauté artistique, l’environnement de recherche et universitaire de l’Université Queen’s et au-delà, les organismes gouvernementaux appropriés et les établissements pairs, les donateurs et les commanditaires, et en contribuer au domaine en tant que professionnel de l’art respecté.
• Travaille en collaboration et de manière réactive en tant que membre du personnel d’Agnes dans un environnement d’équipe.
• Fournit une direction de travail et des conseils techniques / fonctionnels aux employés occasionnels et contractuels, aux bénévoles et aux stagiaires et stagiaires associés au programme d’art européen historique, au besoin. Planifie et attribue le travail et supervise son achèvement. Coordonne et surveille le flux de travail.
• Examine les affectations et fournit des commentaires sur le travail aux employés. Fournit des commentaires sur le rendement au travail au personnel de gestion.
• Entreprend des responsabilités supplémentaires au besoin, à l’appui d’Agnès.

QUALIFICATIONS REQUISES:
• Diplôme d’ études supérieures en histoire de l’art, études en conservation ou dans une discipline connexe (doctorat ou équivalent), avec un minimum de trois à cinq ans d’expérience en conservation.
• Connaissance sophistiquée de l’art historique européen, avec une expertise approfondie de la peinture hollandaise et flamande du XVIIe siècle.
• Un dossier démontré de développement d’expositions innovantes et d’expérience dans le développement de programmes pluriannuels.
• Connaissance et compréhension efficaces des pratiques de soin des collections des musées et des processus de développement des collections.
• Record d’excellence éprouvé dans la recherche et la publication dans l’art européen historique.
• Vérification du casier judiciaire satisfaisante et vérification du secteur vulnérable requises.
• On peut envisager une combinaison équivalente d’études et d’expérience.

COMPÉTENCES SPÉCIALES:
• Respecte la diversité et favorise l’inclusion sur le lieu de travail.
• Compétences supérieures en communication écrite et orale.
• Compétences éprouvées en gestion de projet, en création de budget et en suivi.
• Excellente acuité visuelle et capacité de jugement esthétique.
• Capacité démontrée à travailler en équipe.
• Compétences interpersonnelles exceptionnelles, combinées avec la capacité d’inspirer les autres.
• Excellentes compétences en gestion du temps avec la capacité de gérer plusieurs tâches.
• La maîtrise des langues pertinentes aux domaines de recherche est considérée comme un atout.

DÉCISION:
• Détermine le programme d’expositions d’art européen historique et les événements connexes, et recommande leur inclusion dans le programme Agnes.
• Détermine les moyens les plus efficaces pour concevoir, livrer et présenter la programmation.
• Fait des recommandations pour les acquisitions d’œuvres d’art au directeur et aux comités d’acquisition internes et externes.
• Identifie, recherche et recommande les sources de financement potentielles au directeur.
• Élabore des projets de recherche pour les stagiaires de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs.
• Détermine les priorités et prend des décisions concernant les spécialistes contractuels (par exemple les concepteurs ou les éditeurs) et l’utilisation occasionnelle occasionnelle ou à court terme des employés / étudiants et l’affectation du travail pour atteindre une productivité optimale.
• Prend des décisions quotidiennes et résout les problèmes dans le cadre des directives politiques; détermine quand des problèmes complexes ou des questions sensibles doivent être référés aux cadres supérieurs.
• Détermine les priorités et prend des décisions concernant l’utilisation du personnel et la répartition des tâches pour atteindre des efficacités et une productivité optimales.
• Surveille et évalue les résultats et la qualité du travail des employés, et recommande la nécessité de plans formels de formation ou de perfectionnement à la direction et identifie les performances possibles du personnel et / ou les problèmes disciplinaires

Énoncé sur l’équité en matière d’emploi et l’accessibilité

L’Université invite les candidatures de toutes les personnes qualifiées. Queen’s est attachée à l’équité en matière d’emploi et à la diversité en milieu de travail et accepte les candidatures de femmes, de minorités visibles, de peuples autochtones, de personnes handicapées et de personnes de toute orientation sexuelle ou identité de genre. Conformément aux exigences en matière d’immigration canadienne, la priorité sera accordée aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents.

L’Université offre un soutien dans ses processus de recrutement aux candidats handicapés, y compris des mesures d’adaptation qui tiennent compte des besoins d’accessibilité d’un candidat. Les candidats nécessitant des mesures d’ adaptation pendant le processus de recrutement sont priés de communiquer avec les ressources humaines à [email protected] .

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiD'autre travail

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss