Postdoctoral Chemical Biologist – Chemoproteomics and Mass Spectrometry

Royaume-Uni
Posted 3 months ago

This is a full-time, fixed term (4 year) position on Crick terms and conditions of employment

Chemical Biology – Chemoproteomics
The successful candidate will be part of a dynamic, multi-disciplinary team working to develop a Systems Chemical Biology approach to biomedical research through combination of chemoproteomics, high-content screening, reactive fragments and cutting-edge genomics in disease relevant biological systems. Resulting full matrix datasets will be interrogated using bioinformatics and machine learning technologies to accelerate the selection of new drug targets. The candidate will be expected to lead their own projects. This is a multi-faceted project with a strongly interdisciplinary focus. The project will be co-supervised by Crick and GSK scientists and has considerable scope to evolve.

Scientific Computing and Crick-GSK LinkLabs
This Crick–GSK LinkLabs collaboration is aimed at developing a Systems Chemical Biology platform to enable simultaneous identification of disease-associated proteins and functional chemical probes. The project is funded by an EPSRC Prosperity Partnership award that brings together multiple research groups at the Crick and GSK to pioneer reactive fragments and high-content screening technologies in cells (https://www.crick.ac.uk/news/2021-04-02_francis-crick-institute-and-gsk-to-pioneer-reactive-fragment-screening-in-drug-discovery and https://www.crick.ac.uk/news/2019-02-08_benefits-of-moving-in-together ).

Summary
This is an exciting opportunity to join one of the world’s leading research institutes as part of the Crick-GSK LinkLabs collaboration at a crucial time in its evolution and play a definitive role in shaping it for the future. We seek a talented, highly motivated chemical biologist with experience in chemoproteomics and mass spectrometry.

The role will reside in Proteomics STP within the Francis Crick Institute, led by Mark Skehel, and will work closely with the Crick-GSK LinkLabs team, including chemists, biologists and ‘omics scientists, bioinformatians and machine learning engineers. The successful candidate will be responsible for i) driving the expansion of the ligandable proteome through chemoproteomics analysis of reactive fragment libraries and ii) chemoproteomics analysis of hits from phenotypic screens to generate insights into disease biology to identify targets, pathways and compounds offering therapeutic potential.

Key responsibilities
These include but are not limited to:

Drive the implementation of state-of-the-art mass spectrometric chemoproteomics techniques to profile reactive fragments in cells to identify fragment-protein interactions in across the proteome.
Optimise the data processing of raw chemoproteomics data to maximise the insights into fragment-protein interaction.
Contribute to the strategy for the Systems Chemical Biology Platform being developed within the GSK-Crick LinkLab partnership, in particular with respect to the deployment and interpretation of MS-chemoproteomics to guide reactive fragment library design and deconvolution of phenotypic screens.
Perform integrative analyses of large chemoproteomic data in the context of data from high-content ‘omics screens and phenotypic screens to maximise insights from probe the relationship between molecule, protein, gene and phenotype to interrogate biological systems in the context of disease biology.
Work closely with Crick and GSK researchers (e.g.chemistry, high-content screening, biology, data and machine learning) to guide experimental design and drive the interpretation of outcomes.
Analyse, assimilate, and communicate complex scientific data clearly and concisely to members of the team and the broader scientific community.
Key qualifications, experience and competencies
The post holder should embody and demonstrate our core Crick values: bold, imaginative, open, dynamic and collegial, in addition to the following:

Essential

First class or 2:1 degree in chemistry or biochemistry.
Completion of a PhD in the field of chemical biology, chemoproteomics or mass spectrometry.
A broad and deep knowledge of contemporary chemical biology techniques in relation to small molecule drug discovery, including with respect to target identification, validation, tractability and engagement
A track record of high productivity working across the chemistry-biology interface, supported by publications in peer-reviewed journals.
Able to work effectively without close supervision, working successfully and collaboratively in multidisciplinary teams.
Excellent communication skills, with the ability to build effective relationships at all levels and the ability to communicate technical concepts to a non-technical audience
Highly motivated, self-starter and committed to learning and personal improvement
Desirable

Experience of knowledge in any of the following areas would be beneficial:

Qualifications, experience and competencies:

Experience of analysing large biological datasets to support biomedical sciences, in particular from ‘omics experiments (proteomics, genomics, metabolomics).
Knowledge of and experience with common bioinformatics databases, resources and tools, including pathway and network methods.
Chemistry awareness/familiarity with the following concepts: SMILES, InChI Keys, Tanimoto similarity, etc.
Find out what benefits the Crick has to offer:

For more information on our great pay and benefits package please click here: https://www.crick.ac.uk/careers-and-study/life-at-the-crick/pay-and-benefits

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion:

We welcome applications from all backgrounds. We are committed to providing equal employment opportunities, regardless of ethnicity, nationality, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, pregnancy, age, disability, or civil partnership, marital or family status. We particularly welcome applications from people who are Minority Ethnic as they are currently underrepresented in the Crick at this level.

Diversity is essential to excellence in scientific endeavour. It increases breadth and perspective, leading to more innovation and creativity. We want the Crick to be a place where everyone feels valued and where diversity is celebrated and seen as part of the foundation for our Institute’s success.

The Crick is committed to creating equality of opportunity and promoting diversity and inclusivity. We all share in the responsibility to actively promote dignity, respect, inclusivity and equal treatment and it is our aim to ensure that these principles are reflected and implemented in all strategies, policies and practices.

Read more on our website: https://www.crick.ac.uk/careers-and-study/life-at-the-crick/equality-diversity-and-inclusion

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryPost doc

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Biologiste chimiste postdoctoral – Chimioprotéomique et spectrométrie de masse, UK

Royaume-Uni
Publié il y a 3 mois

Il s’agit d’un poste à temps plein, à durée déterminée (4 ans) selon les conditions d’emploi de Crick

Biologie chimique – Chimioprotéomique
Le candidat retenu fera partie d’une équipe dynamique et multidisciplinaire travaillant à développer une approche de biologie chimique des systèmes pour la recherche biomédicale en combinant la chimioprotéomique, le criblage à haut contenu, les fragments réactifs et la génomique de pointe dans les systèmes biologiques pertinents pour les maladies. Les ensembles de données matriciels complets résultants seront interrogés à l’aide de technologies bioinformatiques et d’apprentissage automatique pour accélérer la sélection de nouvelles cibles médicamenteuses. Le candidat devra mener ses propres projets. Il s’agit d’un projet à multiples facettes avec une orientation fortement interdisciplinaire. Le projet sera co-supervisé par les scientifiques de Crick et de GSK et a une marge d’évolution considérable.

Calcul scientifique et Crick – GSK LinkLabs
Cette collaboration Crick-GSK LinkLabs vise à développer une plate-forme de biologie chimique des systèmes pour permettre l’identification simultanée de protéines associées à la maladie et de sondes chimiques fonctionnelles. Le projet est financé par un prix EPSRC Prosperity Partnership qui rassemble plusieurs groupes de recherche du Crick et de GSK pour lancer des fragments réactifs et des technologies de criblage à haut contenu dans les cellules ( https://www.crick.ac.uk/news/2021- 04-02_francis-crick-institute-and-gsk-to-pioneer-reactive-fragment-screening-in-drug-discovery et https://www.crick.ac.uk/news/2019-02-08_benefits-of- emménager ensemble ).

Sommaire
Il s’agit d’une opportunité passionnante de rejoindre l’un des principaux instituts de recherche au monde dans le cadre de la collaboration Crick- GSK LinkLabs à un moment crucial de son évolution et de jouer un rôle déterminant dans sa formation pour l’avenir. Nous recherchons un biologiste chimiste talentueux et très motivé avec une expérience en chimioprotéomique et en spectrométrie de masse.

Le rôle résidera dans la protéomique STP au sein du Francis Crick Institute, dirigé par Mark Skehel, et travaillera en étroite collaboration avec le Crick- GSKL’équipe LinkLabs, comprenant des chimistes, des biologistes et des scientifiques en ‘omique, des bioinformaticiens et des ingénieurs en apprentissage automatique. Le candidat retenu sera responsable de i) conduire l’expansion du protéome ligandable grâce à l’analyse chimioprotéomique des bibliothèques de fragments réactifs et ii) l’analyse chimioprotéomique des résultats des criblages phénotypiques pour générer des informations sur la biologie de la maladie afin d’identifier les cibles, les voies et les composés offrant un potentiel thérapeutique.

Principales responsabilités
Celles-ci incluent, mais sans s’y limiter :

Piloter la mise en œuvre de techniques de chimioprotéomique par spectrométrie de masse de pointe pour profiler les fragments réactifs dans les cellules afin d’identifier les interactions fragment-protéine à travers le protéome.
Optimisez le traitement des données de chimioprotéomique brutes pour maximiser les informations sur l’interaction fragment-protéine.
Contribuer à la stratégie de la plate-forme de biologie chimique des systèmes en cours de développement au sein du partenariat GSK -Crick LinkLab, en particulier en ce qui concerne le déploiement et l’interprétation de la chimioprotéomique MS pour guider la conception de bibliothèques de fragments réactifs et la déconvolution des cribles phénotypiques.
Effectuez des analyses intégratives de grandes données chimioprotéomiques dans le contexte de données provenant d’écrans omiques à haut contenu et d’écrans phénotypiques pour maximiser les informations provenant de la sonde de la relation entre molécule, protéine, gène et phénotype pour interroger les systèmes biologiques dans le contexte de la biologie de la maladie.
Travailler en étroite collaboration avec Crick et GSKchercheurs (par exemple, chimie, criblage à haut contenu, biologie, données et apprentissage automatique) pour guider la conception expérimentale et conduire l’interprétation des résultats.
Analyser, assimiler et communiquer des données scientifiques complexes de manière claire et concise aux membres de l’équipe et à la communauté scientifique au sens large.
Qualifications, expérience et compétences clés
Le titulaire du poste doit incarner et démontrer nos valeurs fondamentales de Crick : audacieux, imaginatif, ouvert, dynamique et collégial, en plus des éléments suivants :

Essentiel

Première classe ou diplôme 2: 1 en chimie ou biochimie.
Achèvement d’un doctorat dans le domaine de la biologie chimique, de la chimioprotéomique ou de la spectrométrie de masse.
Une connaissance large et approfondie des techniques de biologie chimique contemporaines en relation avec la découverte de médicaments à petites molécules, y compris en ce qui concerne l’identification, la validation, la traçabilité et l’engagement des cibles
Un bilan de productivité élevée travaillant à travers l’interface chimie-biologie, soutenu par des publications revues commentées.
Capable de travailler efficacement sans supervision étroite, de travailler avec succès et en collaboration au sein d’équipes multidisciplinaires.
Excellentes compétences en communication, avec la capacité d’établir des relations efficaces à tous les niveaux et la capacité de communiquer des concepts techniques à un public non technique
Très motivé, autonome et engagé dans l’apprentissage et l’amélioration personnelle
Souhaitable

Une expérience de connaissances dans l’un des domaines suivants serait bénéfique :

Qualifications, expérience et compétences :

Expérience de l’analyse de grands ensembles de données biologiques pour soutenir les sciences biomédicales, en particulier à partir d’expériences en omiques (protéomique, génomique, métabolomique).
Connaissance et expérience des bases de données, des ressources et des outils bioinformatiques communs, y compris les méthodes de cheminement et de réseau.
Sensibilisation à la chimie/familiarité avec les concepts suivants : SMILES , InChI Keys, similarité Tanimoto, etc. .ac.uk/careers-and-study/life-at-the-crick/pay-and-benefits

Égalité, diversité et inclusion :

nous accueillons les candidatures de tous horizons. Nous nous engageons à offrir des opportunités d’emploi égales, indépendamment de l’origine ethnique, de la nationalité, du sexe, de l’orientation sexuelle, de l’identité de genre, de la religion, de la grossesse, de l’âge, du handicap ou du partenariat civil, de l’état matrimonial ou familial. Nous accueillons particulièrement les candidatures de personnes appartenant à une minorité ethnique car elles sont actuellement sous-représentées dans le Crick à ce niveau.

La diversité est essentielle à l’excellence dans l’entreprise scientifique. Cela augmente l’étendue et la perspective, ce qui conduit à plus d’innovation et de créativité. Nous voulons que le Crick soit un endroit où chacun se sent valorisé et où la diversité est célébrée et considérée comme faisant partie des fondements du succès de notre Institut.

Le Crick s’engage à créer l’égalité des chances et à promouvoir la diversité et l’inclusivité. Nous partageons tous la responsabilité de promouvoir activement la dignité, le respect, l’inclusivité et l’égalité de traitement et notre objectif est de veiller à ce que ces principes soient reflétés et mis en œuvre dans toutes les stratégies, politiques et pratiques.

En savoir plus sur notre site Web : https://www.crick.ac.uk/careers-and-study/life-at-the-crick/equality-diversity-and-inclusion

Veuillez postuler via le site Web du recruteur.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPost doc

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.