FDA Advancing Pathogen Reduction Technologies Fellowship

USA
Posted 2 months ago

Three research opportunities are currently available in the Office of Blood Research and Review (OBRR) at the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in Silver Spring, Maryland.

Transfusion-transmitted infections (TTIs), while rare, remain a significant risk of blood transfusion. Although advances in donor screening and laboratory testing have decreased this risk, emerging transfusion-transmitted infections remain a threat to the safety and availability of the blood supply. One approach to address the risk of TTIs is the use of pathogen reduction technologies that can inactivate potential infectious agents. While pathogen reduction technologies for blood components have been investigated and, in some components, approved for use, pathogen reduction technologies may be associated with several limitations including, inadequate inactivation of certain pathogens, suboptimal recovery of treated products, or impaired product effectiveness after transfusion. Current technologies also largely target pathogens in individual blood components (such as platelets or plasma). A more attractive, and potentially more broadly applicable approach would be to apply pathogen reduction to whole blood and then separate the parent unit into components. However, to date, there remain significant technical and scientific challenges that have limited successful use of this approach.

To address these challenges, the OBRR is establishing a research program in pathogen reduction of whole blood. This program is expected to both advance existing technologies and develop novel technologies that can be used in the manufacturing of blood components for transfusion.

The pathogen reduction technologies (PRT) research program at CBER aims to both:

    1. further characterize and advance existing technologies for pathogen reduction of whole blood, and
    2. to develop novel approaches to pathogen reduction of whole blood

The participant will contribute substantially to aim (1) by:

    • applying current technologies to whole blood under various experimental conditions, and
    • examining the effects of pathogen reduction on in vitro parameters of component quality (such as platelet function testing, coagulation function testing, and assays of RBC function and viability) and the ability of pathogen reduction technologies to inactivate model pathogens (such as parasites and hepatitis viruses)

Upon completion of the first phase of the project, the participant will have the opportunity to extend their appointment and apply the scientific knowledge gained and experimental protocols developed in aim (1) to aim (2). In aim (2), the participant would transition research to the laboratory of newly established investigators at CBER/OBRR to further assess how novel approaches to pathogen reduction, including novel devices and novel biochemical approaches, are able to inactivate pathogens and how these impact the quality of subsequent components such as red blood cells, platelets, and plasma.

Anticipated Appointment Start Date: August 2021; start date is flexible

This program, administered by ORAU through its contract with the U.S. Department of Energy to manage the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, was established through an interagency agreement between DOE and FDA. The initial appointment is for one year, but may be renewed upon recommendation of FDA contingent on the availability of funds. The participant will receive a monthly stipend commensurate with educational level and experience. Proof of health insurance is required for participation in this program. The appointment is full-time at FDA in the Silver Spring, Maryland, area. Participants do not become employees of FDADOE or the program administrator, and there are no employment-related benefits.

If you have questions, send an email to ORISE.FDA[email protected]. Please include the reference code for this opportunity (FDACBER-2021-0034) in your email.

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryInternship and training

Apply Online

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss

Bourse de la FDA pour l’avancement des technologies de réduction des agents pathogènes

USA
Publié il y a 2 mois

Trois possibilités de recherche sont actuellement disponibles au Bureau de la recherche et de l’examen du sang ( OBRR ) du Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research ( CBER ), Food and Drug Administration ( FDA ) à Silver Spring, Maryland.

Les infections transmises par transfusion (ITT), bien que rares, restent un risque important de transfusion sanguine. Bien que les progrès dans le dépistage des donneurs et les tests de laboratoire aient réduit ce risque, les infections émergentes transmises par transfusion restent une menace pour la sécurité et la disponibilité de l’approvisionnement en sang. Une approche pour lutter contre le risque de TTI est l’utilisation de technologies de réduction des agents pathogènes qui peuvent inactiver les agents infectieux potentiels. Bien que les technologies de réduction des agents pathogènes pour les composants sanguins aient été étudiées et, dans certains composants, approuvées pour utilisation, les technologies de réduction des agents pathogènes peuvent être associées à plusieurs limitations, notamment une inactivation inadéquate de certains agents pathogènes, une récupération sous-optimale des produits traités ou une efficacité réduite des produits après la transfusion. Les technologies actuelles ciblent également largement les agents pathogènes dans les composants sanguins individuels (tels que les plaquettes ou le plasma). Une approche plus attrayante et potentiellement plus largement applicable consisterait à appliquer la réduction des agents pathogènes au sang total, puis à séparer l’unité mère en composants. Cependant, à ce jour, il reste des défis techniques et scientifiques importants qui ont limité l’utilisation réussie de cette approche.

Pour relever ces défis, l’OBRR met en place un programme de recherche sur la réduction des pathogènes dans le sang total. Ce programme devrait à la fois faire progresser les technologies existantes et développer de nouvelles technologies pouvant être utilisées dans la fabrication de composants sanguins destinés à la transfusion.

Le programme de recherche sur les technologies de réduction des agents pathogènes ( PRT ) du CBER vise à la fois à :

    1. caractériser davantage et faire progresser les technologies existantes pour la réduction des agents pathogènes du sang total, et
    2. développer de nouvelles approches pour la réduction des agents pathogènes du sang total

Le participant contribuera substantiellement à l’objectif (1) en :

    • appliquer les technologies actuelles au sang total dans diverses conditions expérimentales, et
    • examiner les effets de la réduction des agents pathogènes sur les paramètres in vitro de la qualité des composants (tels que les tests de la fonction plaquettaire, les tests de la fonction de coagulation et les tests de la fonction et de la viabilité des globules rouges) et la capacité des technologies de réduction des agents pathogènes à inactiver les agents pathogènes modèles (tels que les parasites et les virus de l’hépatite )

À l’issue de la première phase du projet, le participant aura la possibilité de prolonger son rendez-vous et d’appliquer les connaissances scientifiques acquises et les protocoles expérimentaux développés dans l’objectif (1) à l’objectif (2). Dans l’objectif (2), le participant transférerait la recherche au laboratoire d’enquêteurs nouvellement établis au CBER / OBRR pour évaluer davantage comment de nouvelles approches de réduction des agents pathogènes, y compris de nouveaux dispositifs et de nouvelles approches biochimiques, sont capables d’inactiver les agents pathogènes et comment ceux-ci ont un impact sur le qualité des composants ultérieurs tels que les globules rouges, les plaquettes et le plasma.

Date de début de nomination prévue : août 2021 ; la date de début est flexible

Ce programme, administré par l’ ORAU dans le cadre de son contrat avec le département américain de l’Énergie pour gérer l’Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, a été établi dans le cadre d’un accord interinstitutions entre le DOE et la FDA . La nomination initiale est d’un an, mais peut être renouvelée sur recommandation de la FDA en fonction de la disponibilité des fonds. Le participant recevra une allocation mensuelle proportionnelle au niveau d’éducation et à l’expérience. Une preuve d’assurance maladie est requise pour participer à ce programme. Le rendez-vous est à temps plein à la FDA dans la région de Silver Spring, Maryland. Les participants ne deviennent pas des employés de la FDA , du DOE ou l’administrateur du programme, et il n’y a pas d’avantages liés à l’emploi.

Si vous avez des questions, envoyez un e-mail à ORISE . FDA [email protected] . Veuillez inclure le code de référence de cette opportunité ( FDA – CBER -2021-0034) dans votre e-mail.

Merci de postuler via le site du recruteur.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiStage et Formation

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss