Canada
Posted 2 weeks ago

A postdoctoral fellowship is available at the University of British Columbia (UBC), Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

The successful applicant will become a member of the Collaboration for Outcomes Research and Evaluation or CORE at UBC—an academic research group whose mission is to improve health‐care related outcomes through the application of the best in research, education and practice enhancement strategies. The Fellow will work under the supervision of Dr Fawziah Lalji, a Professor in the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Her program of research focuses on the use of antibiotics at the population level as well as appropriateness of use. Within CORE, there are a host of other post-doctoral fellows, PhD and undergraduate students whom the fellow can interact with on a daily basis.

The successful candidate will be involved in an exciting British Columbia-Ontario collaboration on a project involving appropriateness of antimicrobial use, a study funded by the Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR). This work uses large administrative health datasets, requiring strengths in biostatistics and epidemiology. The Fellow will be conducting data management and analysis, interpretation, and presentation of findings (publications, reports, presentations). There will also be opportunities to expand or explore applications to health economics and economic evaluation. The successful candidate will also help to mentor and supervise graduate students who are working on this (or related) project(s).

This full-time position is available for a period of one year, starting as soon as possible, with the possibility of renewal for a second year, contingent on satisfactory performance and funding availability. The fellow will be expected to seek external postdoctoral funding through sources such asCIHR and MSFHR. The yearly salary ranges between $55,000-65,000, dependent on qualifications and experience, with some extended health benefits, university office space, use of appropriate computational services, and full access to university libraries.

Qualifications:

  • PhD or PhD-equivalent in epidemiology, biostatistics, health services research, or a related field
  • Experience with using a variety of statistical software (e.g., SASSTATA, R) and in advanced multivariable modeling techniques.
  • A high level of proficiency in statistical analyses with large administrative health datasets is essential
  • A background in vaccine epidemiology is an asset
  • Strong competencies in MS Office software
  • Excellent written and verbal communication skills
  • Strong interpersonal skills and demonstrated abilities as a team player
  • Ability to independently organize workload, set goals and work effectively towards deadlines

Duties and responsibilities:

  • Prepare detailed analytic plans
  • Prepare data for analysis (e.g. cleaning, linking, and recoding)
  • Establish/manage data files and undertake metadata documentation
  • Analyze data using basic and advanced statistical methods such as multivariable, multilevel, and time series approaches
  • Data visualization (e.g. generating tables, graphs, and charts) for publication and presentation
  • Interpret and clearly communicate results verbally and in writing
  • Write and edit methodological and statistical content for manuscripts and abstracts
  • Assist with grant writing

Based in CORE, the Fellow will have a unique opportunity to be supervised and mentored by leading researchers, clinicians, and policy makers with expertise in methods, immunization-related research, and large dataset-related research. The research environment at CORE will provide opportunities for the successful applicant to be become involved in multiple projects, integrate data from these projects to address novel questions, and take a leadership role on specific projects.

Preferred start date is as soon as possible but is negotiable, and the position will remain open until filled. Please send a curriculum vitae (4 pages maximum), a cover letter describing your research experience and most significant research accomplishments, a statement of your research interests, and the contact information for three referees via email to:

Dr. Fawziah Lalji
Collaboration for Outcomes Research and Evaluation
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of British Columbia
Email: fawziah.lalji@ubc.ca

This posting is for the UBC Vancouver campus.

Please refer to reference number NC-54304 during correspondence about this position.

Equity and diversity are essential to academic excellence. An open and diverse community fosters the inclusion of voices that have been underrepresented or discouraged. We encourage applications from members of groups that have been marginalized on any grounds enumerated under the B.C. Human Rights Code, including sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, racialization, disability, political belief, religion, marital or family status, age, and/or status as a First Nation, Metis, Inuit, or Indigenous person.

All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however Canadians and permanent residents will be given priority.

About UBC
The University of British Columbia is a global centre for research and teaching, consistently ranked among the top 20 public universities in the world. Since 1915, UBC’s entrepreneurial spirit has embraced innovation and challenged the status quo. UBC encourages its students, staff and faculty to challenge convention, lead discovery and explore new ways of learning. At UBC, bold thinking is given a place to develop into ideas that can change the world.

About UBC’s Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Graduate students and postdoctoral fellows at UBC’s Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences work at the exciting and ever-expanding edges of the field of pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences. This includes conducting precedent-setting research with real and tangible impact in areas such as discovering and developing new drugs, improving the quality of patient care and treatment outcomes, and developing the practice of pharmacy. Ranked #18 worldwide and #2 in Canada (2020 QS World University Rankings, Pharmacy & Pharmacology) the Faculty’s research focuses on four themes: health outcomes, molecular & systems pharmacology, nanomedicine, and pharmacy education.

Job Features

Job CategoryStage et Formation

Apply Online

Canada
Publié il y a 2 mois

Une bourse postdoctorale est disponible à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique ( UBC ), Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, Canada

Le candidat retenu deviendra membre de la Collaboration for Outcomes Research and Evaluation ou CORE at UBC, un groupe de recherche universitaire dont la mission est d’améliorer les résultats liés aux soins de santé grâce à l’application des meilleures stratégies de recherche, d’éducation et d’amélioration de la pratique. Le boursier travaillera sous la supervision du Dr Fawziah Lalji, professeur à la Faculté des sciences pharmaceutiques. Son programme de recherche porte sur l’utilisation des antibiotiques au niveau de la population ainsi que sur la pertinence de leur utilisation. Au sein de CORE , il y a une foule d’autres boursiers postdoctoraux, doctorants et étudiants de premier cycle avec lesquels le boursier peut interagir quotidiennement.

Le candidat retenu participera à une collaboration passionnante entre la Colombie-Britannique et l’Ontario sur un projet portant sur la pertinence de l’utilisation des antimicrobiens, une étude financée par l’Institut canadien de recherche en santé ( IRSC ). Ce travail utilise de grands ensembles de données administratives sur la santé, nécessitant des atouts en biostatistique et en épidémiologie. Le boursier mènera la gestion et l’analyse des données, l’interprétation et la présentation des résultats (publications, rapports, présentations). Il y aura également des possibilités d’élargir ou d’explorer des applications à l’économie de la santé et à l’évaluation économique. Le candidat retenu aidera également à encadrer et à superviser les étudiants diplômés qui travaillent sur ce ou ces projets (ou connexes).

Ce poste à temps plein est disponible pour une période d’un an, commençant le plus tôt possible, avec possibilité de renouvellement pour une deuxième année, sous réserve de performances satisfaisantes et de disponibilité de financement. Le boursier devra rechercher un financement postdoctoral externe auprès de sources telles que les IRSC et MSFHR . Le salaire annuel varie entre 55 000 et 65 000 $, en fonction des qualifications et de l’expérience, avec des prestations de santé supplémentaires, des locaux pour les bureaux universitaires, l’utilisation de services informatiques appropriés et un accès complet aux bibliothèques universitaires.

Qualifications:

  • Doctorat ou équivalent au doctorat en épidémiologie, biostatistique, recherche sur les services de santé ou dans un domaine connexe
  • Expérience de l’utilisation de divers logiciels statistiques (p. Ex. SAS , STATA , R) et des techniques avancées de modélisation multivariée.
  • Un haut niveau de maîtrise des analyses statistiques avec de grands ensembles de données administratives sur la santé est essentiel
  • Une formation en épidémiologie vaccinale est un atout
  • Solides compétences dans les logiciels MS Office
  • Excellentes compétences de communication écrite et verbale
  • Solides compétences interpersonnelles et capacités démontrées en tant que joueur d’équipe
  • Capacité d’organiser indépendamment la charge de travail, de fixer des objectifs et de travailler efficacement dans le respect des délais

Devoirs et responsabilités:

  • Préparer des plans analytiques détaillés
  • Préparer les données pour l’analyse (par exemple, nettoyage, liaison et recodage)
  • Établir / gérer des fichiers de données et entreprendre la documentation des métadonnées
  • Analyser les données à l’aide de méthodes statistiques de base et avancées telles que les approches à plusieurs variables, à plusieurs niveaux et à séries chronologiques
  • Visualisation des données (par exemple, générer des tableaux, des graphiques et des graphiques) pour publication et présentation
  • Interpréter et communiquer clairement les résultats verbalement et par écrit
  • Rédiger et éditer le contenu méthodologique et statistique des manuscrits et des résumés
  • Aider à la rédaction des subventions

Basé à CORE , le boursier aura une occasion unique d’être supervisé et encadré par des chercheurs, des cliniciens et des décideurs de premier plan ayant une expertise dans les méthodes, la recherche liée à la vaccination et la recherche sur un vaste ensemble de données. L’environnement de recherche de CORE offrira au candidat retenu la possibilité de s’impliquer dans plusieurs projets, d’intégrer les données de ces projets pour répondre à de nouvelles questions et d’assumer un rôle de leadership sur des projets spécifiques.

La date de début préférée est le plus tôt possible mais est négociable, et le poste restera ouvert jusqu’à ce qu’il soit pourvu. Veuillez envoyer un curriculum vitae (4 pages maximum), une lettre de présentation décrivant votre expérience de recherche et les réalisations les plus importantes en recherche, un énoncé de vos intérêts de recherche et les coordonnées de trois

répondants par courriel à: Dr Fawziah Lalji
Collaboration for Outcomes Research et évaluation
Faculté des sciences pharmaceutiques
Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Courriel:  fawziah.lalji@ubc.ca

Cet affichage est pour le campus de UBC Vancouver .

Veuillez vous référer au numéro de référence NC-54304 lors de la correspondance concernant ce poste.

L’équité et la diversité sont essentielles à l’excellence académique. Une communauté ouverte et diversifiée favorise l’inclusion des voix qui ont été sous-représentées ou découragées. Nous encourageons les candidatures de membres de groupes qui ont été marginalisés pour tous les motifs énumérés dans le Code des droits de la personne de la Colombie-Britannique, y compris le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité ou l’expression de genre, la racialisation, le handicap, les convictions politiques, la religion, l’état matrimonial ou familial, l’âge et / ou le statut de personne de Première Nation, de Métis, d’Inuit ou d’Autochtone.

Tous les candidats qualifiés sont encouragés à postuler; cependant, les Canadiens et les résidents permanents auront la priorité.

À propos de l’ UBC
L’Université de la Colombie-Britannique est un centre mondial de recherche et d’enseignement, régulièrement classé parmi les 20 meilleures universités publiques au monde. Depuis 1915, l’esprit d’entreprise de l’UBC a embrassé l’innovation et remis en question le statu quo. L’UBC encourage ses étudiants, son personnel et ses professeurs à contester la convention, à mener des découvertes et à explorer de nouvelles façons d’apprendre. À l’ Université de la Colombie – Britannique , la pensée audacieuse a une place pour se développer en idées qui peuvent changer le monde.

À propos de la Faculté des sciences pharmaceutiques de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique Les
étudiants diplômés et les boursiers postdoctoraux de la Faculté des sciences pharmaceutiques de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique travaillent à la périphérie passionnante et en constante expansion du domaine de la pharmacie et des sciences pharmaceutiques. Cela comprend la réalisation de recherches établissant des précédents ayant un impact réel et tangible dans des domaines tels que la découverte et le développement de nouveaux médicaments, l’amélioration de la qualité des soins aux patients et des résultats des traitements et le développement de la pratique de la pharmacie. Classée au 18e rang mondial et au deuxième rang au Canada (classement mondial des universités QS 2020, pharmacie et pharmacologie), la recherche de la Faculté se concentre sur quatre thèmes: les résultats pour la santé, la pharmacologie moléculaire et systémique, la nanomédecine et la formation en pharmacie.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiStage et Formation

Postuler en ligne