USA
Posted 2 months ago

Kilachand Postdoctoral Fellowship, Multicellular Design Program, Biological Design Center, Boston University

At the Biological Design Center at Boston University, we are working to build an interactive and collaborative environment across disciplines in the newly funded Multicellular Design Program (MDP; see https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/). The mission of the MDP, which is funded through the Rajen Kilachand Fund, is to understand the underlying design, assembly, and control principles governing multicellular systems, and to take advantage of these principles for the development of new technologies and therapies.

The research community has developed a deep understanding of cells, their inner workings, and how they function as individuals; however, in nature, many cells function as part of complex, multicellular systems. Cells in our own tissue and organ systems, the bacteria that live in our gut or cause infections, and even cancers operate in coordinated communities with emergent properties that are not present in isolated cells. Exploiting its unique combination of strengths in Synthetic Biology, Microbial Engineering, Tissue Engineering, Data Science, and Biophysics, Boston University is uniquely poised to address this major gap by establishing a new Multicellular Design Program. The Multicellular Design Program will establish a physical and organizational infrastructure that stewards a self-sustaining, vibrant community of Boston University scientists to pioneer this critical new field. Specifically, the MDP will provide:

1) a platform for scientists across Boston University to bring to bear their expertises from computing, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, and medicine into a major integrated effort to understand the design principles of multicellular systems,

2) a new training ground for students and fellows at these interfaces, and

3) a new science that researchers across the globe can participate in.

This program will shepherd in a new era in engineering biology with major societal impacts and demonstrate these impacts through creating synthetic multicellular communities for the rational design of smart medical therapies.

Kilachand Fellows will form the foundation of our interdisciplinary community and will help catalyze new directions in our science. Fellows will play a key role in integrating strengths of BU in new ways, combining theory, data sciences, synthetic biology, microbiology, immunology, tissue engineering, and regenerative medicine, amongst others. These fellows are expected to be active participants in future Multicellular Design Program seminars and workshops, and they will have the opportunity to help shape this emerging field and its foundations here at Boston University.

Qualifications:

●      Candidates with a Ph.D. in biology, biomedical engineering, computational biology, computer science, physics, chemistry, or related fields may apply. M.D.-Ph.D.s are also welcome to apply.

●      Applicants must have substantial track records of demonstrated productivity, success, and leadership.

Skills:

●      Strong quantitative analysis skills

●      Knowledge of challenges and opportunities in the multicellular design research space

●      Strong writing and verbal communication skills

Additional Information:

Appointment will be for one year, with option for competitive renewal. Fellows should identify a primary mentor and co-mentor from the MDP faculty (see https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/team/) and secure a commitment from them to mentor the fellow for the entire Fellowship period. BU offers competitive salary and excellent benefits to its community of postdoctoral researchers. For more information on the benefits available to postdoctoral associates at BU, visit https://www.bu.edu/postdocs/

Please submit the following materials to https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/apply/ by March 26, 2021:

1)    A current curriculum vitae, which includes names and contact information of your three references.

2)    A two-page proposal including Significance, Aims, and Approach sections.

In addition, letters of reference from each of your three references (i.e., three letters) must be submitted through the separate Letters Portal (https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/kilachand-fellow-portal-for-support-letters/) and a single letter of support from the mentor and co-mentor must be emailed to the program administrator at davepool@bu.edu by March 26, 2021.

Contact Email: davepool@bu.edu

Equal Opportunity Employer:

We are an equal opportunity employer, and all qualified applicants will receive consideration for employment without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability status, protected veteran status, gender identity, sexual orientation, pregnancy and pregnancy-related conditions or any other characteristic protected by law.

Maximum number of references required: 3

Maximum number of references allowed: 3

Contact: Biological Design Center, Boston University

Online App Form: https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/apply/

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Bourse postdoctorale, programme de conception multicellulaire, Université de Boston

USA
Publié il y a 4 mois

Bourse postdoctorale Kilachand, programme de conception multicellulaire, centre de conception biologique, Université de Boston

Au Biological Design Center de l’Université de Boston, nous travaillons à créer un environnement interactif et collaboratif dans toutes les disciplines dans le cadre du programme de conception multicellulaire récemment financé   ( MDP ; voir  https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/ ). La mission du MDP , qui est financé par le Rajen Kilachand Fund, est de comprendre les principes sous-jacents de conception, d’assemblage et de contrôle régissant les systèmes multicellulaires, et de tirer parti de ces principes pour le développement de nouvelles technologies et thérapies.

La communauté de recherche a développé une compréhension approfondie des cellules, de leur fonctionnement interne et de leur fonctionnement en tant qu’individus; cependant, dans la nature, de nombreuses cellules fonctionnent dans le cadre de systèmes multicellulaires complexes. Les cellules de nos propres tissus et systèmes organiques, les bactéries qui vivent dans nos intestins ou provoquent des infections, et même des cancers opèrent en communautés coordonnées avec des propriétés émergentes qui ne sont pas présentes dans les cellules isolées. En exploitant sa combinaison unique de forces en biologie synthétique, génie microbien, génie tissulaire, science des données et biophysique, l’Université de Boston est particulièrement bien placée pour combler cette lacune majeure en établissant un nouveau programme de conception multicellulaire. Le programme de conception multicellulaire établira une infrastructure physique et organisationnelle qui gérera une communauté dynamique de scientifiques de l’Université de Boston pour être le pionnier de ce nouveau domaine critique. Plus précisément, leMDP fournira:

1) une plate-forme permettant aux scientifiques de l’Université de Boston de mettre à profit leurs expertises en informatique, physique, mathématiques, ingénierie, biologie et médecine dans un effort intégré majeur pour comprendre les principes de conception des systèmes multicellulaires,

2) un nouveau terrain de formation pour étudiants et boursiers à ces interfaces, et

3) une nouvelle science à laquelle les chercheurs du monde entier peuvent participer.

Ce programme ouvrira une nouvelle ère de la biologie de l’ingénierie avec des impacts sociétaux majeurs et démontrera ces impacts en créant des communautés multicellulaires synthétiques pour la conception rationnelle de thérapies médicales intelligentes.

Les Kilachand Fellows formeront la base de notre communauté interdisciplinaire et aideront à catalyser de nouvelles directions dans notre science. Les boursiers joueront un rôle clé dans l’intégration des forces de l’UB de nouvelles manières, combinant la théorie, les sciences des données, la biologie synthétique, la microbiologie, l’immunologie, l’ingénierie tissulaire et la médecine régénérative, entre autres. On s’attend à ce que ces boursiers soient des participants actifs aux futurs séminaires et ateliers du programme de conception multicellulaire, et ils auront l’occasion de contribuer à façonner ce domaine émergent et ses fondations ici à l’Université de Boston.

Qualifications:

● Candidats titulaires d’un doctorat. en biologie, en génie biomédical, en biologie computationnelle, en informatique, en physique, en chimie ou dans des domaines connexes peuvent s’appliquer. Les MD-Ph.D sont également invités à postuler.

● Les candidats doivent avoir des antécédents substantiels de productivité, de réussite et de leadership démontrés.

Compétences:

● Solides compétences en analyse quantitative

● Connaissance des défis et opportunités dans l’espace de recherche en conception multicellulaire

● Solides compétences en rédaction et en communication verbale

Information additionnelle:

Le rendez-vous sera pour un an, avec option de renouvellement concurrentiel. Les boursiers doivent identifier un mentor principal et un co-mentor de la faculté MDP (voir  https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/team/ ) et obtenir un engagement de leur part à encadrer le boursier pendant toute la durée de la bourse. BU offre un salaire compétitif et d’excellents avantages à sa communauté de chercheurs postdoctoraux. Pour plus d’informations sur les avantages offerts aux associés postdoctoraux de la BU, visitez  https://www.bu.edu/postdocs/

Veuillez soumettre les documents suivants à  https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/apply/  avant  le 26 mars 2021 :

1) Un curriculum vitae à jour, qui comprend les noms et les coordonnées de vos trois références.

2) Une proposition de deux pages comprenant les sections Signification, Objectifs et Approche.

En outre, les lettres de référence de chacune de vos trois références (c’est-à-dire trois lettres) doivent être soumises via le portail des lettres séparé ( https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/kilachand-fellow-portal-for-support-letters / ) et une seule lettre de soutien du mentor et du co-mentor doit être envoyée par courriel à l’administrateur du programme à  [email protected]  avant  le 26 mars 2021 .

Courriel de contact:  [email protected]

Employeur d’égalité des chances:

Nous sommes un employeur garantissant l’égalité des chances et tous les candidats qualifiés recevront une considération pour un emploi sans égard à la race, la couleur, la religion, le sexe, l’origine nationale, le statut d’invalidité, le statut de vétéran protégé, l’identité de genre, l’orientation sexuelle, la grossesse et les conditions liées à la grossesse ou toute autre caractéristique protégée par la loi.

Nombre maximum de références requises: 3

Nombre maximum de références autorisées: 3

Contact: Centre de conception biologique, Université de Boston

Formulaire d’application en ligne:  https://sites.bu.edu/mdp/apply/

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss