Postdoctoral Fellow (m/f/d) in Immunology, Genetics, Precision Medicine-Vienna, Austria

Autriche
Posted 11 months ago

To strengthen our excellent research team, which is focused on the development and research of innovative approaches for the treatment of childhood cancer, we are looking for a postdoctoral researcher (m/f/d). In this responsible role, you will have the unique opportunity to be part of a multidisciplinary competence center for pediatric oncology, and to have a direct influence on the development of new cancer therapies.

Kaan Boztug, a leading expert in research on immune deficiencies and bone marrow failure syndromes and PI of an ERC Consolidator grant (“iDysChart”), acts as Scientific Director of the St. Anna Children’s Cancer Research Institute (https://science.ccri.at/research/research-areas/immunology/immune-deficiency-cancer-predisposition-precision-oncology/). The group works at the interface of inborn immune disorders and inherited predisposition to childhood tumors, aiming to understand fundamental mechanisms of immune surveillance relevant to pediatric oncology and immunotherapy approaches. In close collaboration with several other groups at the institute and the St. Anna Children’s Hospital next door, they aim to translate the molecular understanding of childhood cancer (predisposition) to specific pathway modulations for the identification of targeted treatment approaches for pediatric cancer patients.

The successful candidate would join one of the following projects:

Project 1: Deciphering the molecular basis of autoimmunity and autoinflammation

The central challenge for the human immune system is the efficient recognition of and protection against foreign antigen. Disorders in the protection system can lead to autoimmunity and/or autoinflammation, as observed in many diseases. Previous studies of inborn immune defects have enabled discovery of novel disease entities and key biological mechanisms of immune homeostasis (e.g. Salzer et al Nat Immunol 2016; Ozen et al NEJM 2017; Somekh et al Blood 2019; Serwas et al Nat Commun 2019; Ghosh et al Blood 2020; Salzer et al Science Immunol 2020).

The project will investigate the key mechanisms of new monogenic defects causing immunodeficiency with predominant autoimmunity/autoinflammation, including network approaches, detailed dissection of disease mechanisms, and  chemical and genetic screens to complement human disease gene discovery and investigating potential routes for therapeutic modulation.

Project 2: Identifying and understanding inherited bone marrow failure syndromes including ribosomopathies

Ribosomopathies are a group of rare diseases characterized by an impaired synthesis or function of ribosomes, caused by inherited genetic mutations. These diseases result in a failure of the bone marrow to properly produce blood cells. As part of a European consortium (RiboEurope), and building on prior experience with other bone marrow failure syndromes including congenital neutropenia (Boztug et al NEJM 2009; Boztug et al Nat Genet 2014), the group of Kaan Boztug studies known and novel genetic defects causing Diamond-Blackfan anemia (DBA) and related disorders, which are characterized by an elevated risk of progression to malignant disease (e.g. acute myeloid leukemia, AML).

As a Postdoc, you will

·        Pursue meaningful research at the highest level in an inspiring and international working environment

·        Be part of the next generation of scientist who shape the future of medicine

·        Collaborate with scientists and physicians within the CCRI, the St. Anna Children’s Hospital, and neighboring institutions

·        Contribute to the supervision of junior group members

Your profile

·        PhD (respectively DVM/MD or equivalent) in a relevant life sciences subject

·        Strong background in immunology, genetics, medicine, network biology or molecular biology

·        At least one first-author publication in a leading, international peer-reviewed scientific journal (IF>10)

·        Excellent verbal and written communication skills in English (German not required)

·        Proactive and independent thinker

·        Enthusiasm, self-motivation, creativity, and a proactive approach to solving problems and developing new ideas

·        Connect different scientific disciplines and think outside the box

Our offer

·      A meaningful, inspiring, and international environment

·      An outstanding working atmosphere in a strong team with excellent research and development opportunities

·      Access to state-of-the-art infrastructure

·      Flexible working hours, discounted lunch in our canteen and other great benefits

·      Great location in the center of Vienna, a capital of biomedical research in Europe with excellent quality of life

·      A fair and attractive salary package according to salary scheme of the Austrian Science Fund FWF (https://www.fwf.ac.at/en/research-funding/personnel-costs/)

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss

Chercheur postdoctoral (h / f / d) en immunologie, génétique, médecine de précision

Autriche
Publié il y a 10 mois

Pour renforcer notre excellente équipe de recherche, qui se concentre sur le développement et la recherche d’approches innovantes pour le traitement du cancer de l’enfant, nous recherchons un chercheur postdoctoral (h / f / d). Dans ce rôle responsable, vous aurez l’opportunité unique de faire partie d’un centre de compétences multidisciplinaire en oncologie pédiatrique et d’avoir une influence directe sur le développement de nouvelles thérapies contre le cancer.

Kaan Boztug, un expert de premier plan dans la recherche sur les déficiences immunitaires et les syndromes d’insuffisance de la moelle osseuse et chercheur principal d’une subvention ERC Consolidator («iDysChart»), agit en tant que directeur scientifique du St. Anna Children’s Cancer Research Institute ( https: //science.ccri .at / recherche / domaines-de-recherche / immunologie / immuno-déficience-prédisposition-cancer-précision-oncologie /). Le groupe travaille à l’interface des troubles immunitaires innés et de la prédisposition héréditaire aux tumeurs infantiles, dans le but de comprendre les mécanismes fondamentaux de la surveillance immunitaire pertinents aux approches d’oncologie pédiatrique et d’immunothérapie. En étroite collaboration avec plusieurs autres groupes de l’institut et de l’hôpital pour enfants St.Anna voisin, ils visent à traduire la compréhension moléculaire du cancer de l’enfant (prédisposition) en modulations de voies spécifiques pour l’identification d’approches de traitement ciblées pour les patients atteints de cancer pédiatrique.

Le candidat retenu rejoindrait l’un des projets suivants:

Projet 1: Déchiffrer les bases moléculaires de l’auto-immunité et de l’auto-inflammation

Le défi central pour le système immunitaire humain est la reconnaissance efficace et la protection contre l’antigène étranger. Les troubles du système de protection peuvent entraîner une auto-immunité et / ou une auto-inflammation, comme cela est observé dans de nombreuses maladies. Des études antérieures sur les anomalies immunitaires innées ont permis la découverte de nouvelles entités pathologiques et de mécanismes biologiques clés de l’homéostasie immunitaire (par exemple Salzer et al Nat Immunol 2016; Ozen et al NEJM 2017; Somekh et al Blood 2019; Serwas et al Nat Commun 2019; Ghosh et al Blood 2020; Salzer et al Science Immunol 2020).

Le projet étudiera les mécanismes clés des nouveaux défauts monogéniques provoquant une immunodéficience avec auto-immunité / auto-inflammation prédominante, y compris des approches en réseau, une dissection détaillée des mécanismes de la maladie et des criblages chimiques et génétiques pour compléter la découverte de gènes de maladies humaines et étudier les voies potentielles de modulation thérapeutique.

Projet 2: Identifier et comprendre les syndromes d’insuffisance médullaire héréditaire, y compris les ribosomopathies

Les ribosomopathies sont un groupe de maladies rares caractérisées par une altération de la synthèse ou de la fonction des ribosomes, causée par des mutations génétiques héréditaires. Ces maladies entraînent une incapacité de la moelle osseuse à produire correctement les cellules sanguines. Dans le cadre d’un consortium européen (RiboEurope), et en s’appuyant sur l’expérience antérieure avec d’autres syndromes d’insuffisance médullaire, y compris la neutropénie congénitale (Boztug et al NEJM 2009; Boztug et al Nat Genet 2014), le groupe d’études Kaan Boztug sur les anomalies génétiques connues et nouvelles provoquant une anémie de Diamond-Blackfan ( DBA ) et des troubles associés, qui sont caractérisés par un risque élevé de progression vers une maladie maligne (par exemple, leucémie myéloïde aiguë, LMA ).

En tant que post-doctorant, vous

· Poursuivre des recherches significatives au plus haut niveau dans un environnement de travail inspirant et international

· Faites partie de la prochaine génération de scientifiques qui façonnent l’avenir de la médecine

· Collaborer avec des scientifiques et des médecins du CCRI , du St. Anna Children’s Hospital et des établissements voisins

· Contribuer à l’encadrement des membres juniors du groupe

Votre profil

· Doctorat (respectivement DVM / MD ou équivalent) dans une matière pertinente des sciences de la vie

· Solide expérience en immunologie, génétique, médecine, biologie de réseau ou biologie moléculaire

· Au moins une publication de premier auteur dans une revue scientifique internationale de premier plan à comité de lecture (IF> 10)

· Excellentes compétences en communication verbale et écrite en anglais (allemand non requis)

· Penseur proactif et indépendant

· Enthousiasme, motivation personnelle, créativité et approche proactive pour résoudre les problèmes et développer de nouvelles idées

· Connectez différentes disciplines scientifiques et sortez des sentiers battus

Notre offre

· Un environnement significatif, inspirant et international

· Une atmosphère de travail exceptionnelle dans une équipe solide avec d’excellentes opportunités de recherche et développement

· Accès à une infrastructure de pointe

· Heures de travail flexibles, déjeuner à prix réduit dans notre cantine et autres avantages intéressants

· Très bien situé dans le centre de Vienne, capitale de la recherche biomédicale en Europe avec une excellente qualité de vie

· Un package salarial équitable et attractif selon le plan salarial du Fonds scientifique autrichien FWF ( https://www.fwf.ac.at/en/research-funding/personnel-costs/ )

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss