Two PhD positions in “Internet Measurement and Cybersecurity

Pays-Bas
Posted 2 months ago

The Internet as we know it is largely a black box: a myriad of operational decisions is taken without end-users knowing how their data is treated in transit, what security the operators on an Internet path provide against attacks, what dependencies operators have on other operators, or what jurisdictions traffic passes. The Responsible Internet is an extension of current Internet technology that provides three vital properties for operators and users: transparency, accountability, and controllability.

The positions advertised here are two of seven PhD positions in the CATRIN project, a national effort funded by the Dutch Research Council (NWO) as part of the national research agenda.

Your research with us
We are advertising for two PhD positions that work on closely related aspects of the technical realization of the Responsible Internet, concretely the so-called Network Information Plane and the Network Control Plane:

  • The research of one PhD student will focus on the data structures and algorithms required to capture and disseminate measurement results and the determined properties of networks and systems at Internet scale.
  • The objective of the second PhD project is to investigate, design, prototype, and evaluate scalable network-level mechanisms that address the balance between transparency and security.

The PhD students are also expected to work with PhD students from other sciences in the context of this project.

Supervision
The prospective PhD candidates will be supervised by Assoc Prof Dr Ralph Holz, Prof Cristian Hesselman, and Asst Prof Dr Mattijs Jonker. The candidates will be appointed for a period of four years, at the end of which they will deliver their PhD theses. During this period, the PhD students will have the opportunity to broaden their knowledge by joining international exchange programmes, following courses (30 EC in total) as part of the UT’s doctoral education program, to participate in national and international conferences and workshops, and to visit other research institutes and universities world-wide.

Starting date
As soon as possible.

We are an equal opportunity employer and value diversity and inclusion. We encourage applications regardless of personal background.

Your profile

  • You have an MSc degree (or comparable) in computer science, electrical engineering, or similar; applications from students who are about to finish their MSc degree studies will be considered as well;
  • You have a background in Internet security and/or Internet measurement, or you have the background to acquire the relevant knowledge independently;
  • You are interested in empirical work;
  • You have a creative mindset and excellent analytical and communication skills;
  • You have good team spirit and like to work in an interdisciplinary and internationally oriented environment;
  • You are proficient in English (C1 or better);
  • Of advantage: experience working with researchers from other disciplines (e.g., social sciences, economics) and an ability to express your thinking for audiences outside of computer science.

Our offer

  • As a PhD student at UT, you will be appointed to a full-time position for four years, with a qualifier in the first year, within a very stimulating and exciting scientific environment;
  • The University offers a dynamic ecosystem with enthusiastic colleagues;
  • Your salary and associated conditions are in accordance with the collective labour agreement for Dutch universities (CAO-NU);
  • You will receive a gross monthly salary ranging from € 2.443,- (first year) to € 3.122,- (fourth year);
  • There are excellent benefits including a holiday allowance of 8% of the gross annual salary, an end-of-year bonus of 8.3%, and a solid pension scheme;
  • A family-friendly institution that offers parental leave (both paid and unpaid);
  • You will have a training programme as part of the Twente Graduate School where you and your supervisors will determine a plan for a suitable education and supervision;
  • We encourage a high degree of responsibility and independence while collaborating closely with colleagues and other researchers nationally and internationally.

Information and application

Are you interested in being part of our team and kick-starting the Responsible Internet? Please submit your application no later than 14 August 2022 23:59 CET via the ‘Apply now’ button below and include:

  • A short motivation letter (1-2 pages), emphasizing your specific interest and motivation to apply. Please indicate which of the positions you are applying for. It is possible to apply for both simultaneously.
  • A detailed CV, including any publications if applicable, academic awards, and your working experience.
  • An academic transcript of your BSc and MSc education (or equivalent), including grades.
  • A short description (1/2 page) of your MSc thesis/final project and a link to the thesis work/project report.

Our process: after assessing all applications, we may request the long-listed candidates to upload a 2-minute video, in which candidates are expected to provide their background and motivation for applying. Next, short-listed candidates will be invited to two interviews, one of which is a scientific presentation on their work.

For further questions, please contact Assoc Prof Dr Ralph Holz at r.holz@utwente.nl.

About the organization

The faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS) uses mathematics, electronics and computer technology to contribute to the development of Information and Communication Technology (ICT). With ICT present in almost every device and product we use nowadays, we embrace our role as contributors to a broad range of societal activities and as pioneers of tomorrow’s digital society. As part of a people-first tech university that aims to shape society, individuals and connections, our faculty works together intensively with industrial partners and researchers in the Netherlands and abroad, and conducts extensive research for external commissioning parties and funders. Our research has a high profile both in the Netherlands and internationally. It has been accommodated in three multidisciplinary UT research institutes: Mesa+ Institute, TechMed Centre and Digital Society Institute.

Job Features

Job CategoryDoctorat

Apply Online

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Deux doctorats en « Mesure de l’Internet et cybersécurité, Pays- Bas

Pays-Bas
Publié il y a 2 mois

L’Internet tel que nous le connaissons est en grande partie une boîte noire : une myriade de décisions opérationnelles sont prises sans que les utilisateurs finaux sachent comment leurs données sont traitées en transit, quelle sécurité les opérateurs sur un chemin Internet assurent contre les attaques, quelles dépendances les opérateurs avoir sur d’autres opérateurs, ou quelles juridictions le trafic passe. L’Internet responsable est une extension de la technologie Internet actuelle qui offre trois propriétés vitales aux opérateurs et aux utilisateurs : la transparence, la responsabilité et la contrôlabilité.

Les postes annoncés ici sont deux des sept postes de doctorat du projet CATRIN, un effort national financé par le Conseil néerlandais de la recherche (NWO) dans le cadre du programme de recherche national.

Votre recherche avec nous
Nous proposons deux postes de doctorat qui travaillent sur des aspects étroitement liés de la réalisation technique de l’Internet responsable, concrètement le soi-disant plan d’information du réseau et le plan de contrôle du réseau :

  • La recherche d’un doctorant portera sur les structures de données et les algorithmes nécessaires pour capturer et diffuser les résultats de mesure et les propriétés déterminées des réseaux et des systèmes à l’échelle d’Internet.
  • L’objectif du deuxième projet de doctorat est d’étudier, de concevoir, de prototyper et d’évaluer des mécanismes évolutifs au niveau du réseau qui traitent de l’équilibre entre transparence et sécurité.

Les doctorants sont également appelés à travailler avec des doctorants d’autres sciences dans le cadre de ce projet.

Supervision
Les futurs doctorants seront supervisés par le professeur Assoc Dr Ralph Holz, le professeur Cristian Hesselman et le professeur adjoint Dr Mattijs Jonker. Les candidats seront nommés pour une période de quatre ans, au terme de laquelle ils remettront leur thèse de doctorat. Durant cette période, les doctorants auront l’opportunité d’approfondir leurs connaissances en rejoignant des programmes d’échanges internationaux, en suivant des cours (30 EC au total) dans le cadre de la formation doctorale de l’UT, en participant à des conférences et ateliers nationaux et internationaux, et en visiter d’autres instituts de recherche et universités du monde entier.

Date
de début Dès que possible.

Nous sommes un employeur garantissant l’égalité des chances et valorisons la diversité et l’inclusion. Nous encourageons les candidatures indépendamment des antécédents personnels.

Votre profil

  • Vous êtes titulaire d’un diplôme de maîtrise (ou équivalent) en informatique, en génie électrique ou similaire ; les candidatures d’étudiants qui sont sur le point de terminer leurs études de maîtrise seront également prises en compte;
  • Vous avez une formation en sécurité Internet et/ou en mesure Internet, ou vous avez la formation nécessaire pour acquérir les connaissances pertinentes de manière indépendante ;
  • Vous êtes intéressé par les travaux empiriques ;
  • Vous avez un esprit créatif et d’excellentes capacités d’analyse et de communication ;
  • Vous avez un bon esprit d’équipe et aimez travailler dans un environnement interdisciplinaire et tourné vers l’international ;
  • Vous maîtrisez l’anglais (C1 ou mieux);
  • Avantage : expérience de travail avec des chercheurs d’autres disciplines (p. ex., sciences sociales, économie) et capacité d’exprimer votre pensée à des publics autres que l’informatique.

Notre offre

  • En tant que doctorant à l’UT, vous serez nommé à un poste à temps plein pendant quatre ans, avec une qualification en première année, dans un environnement scientifique très stimulant et passionnant;
  • L’Université offre un écosystème dynamique avec des collègues enthousiastes ;
  • Votre salaire et les conditions associées sont conformes à la convention collective de travail des universités néerlandaises (CAO-NU);
  • Vous recevrez un salaire mensuel brut allant de € 2.443,- (première année) à € 3.122,- (quatrième année);
  • Il y a d’excellents avantages dont une indemnité de vacances de 8% du salaire annuel brut, une prime de fin d’année de 8,3% et un régime de retraite solide;
  • Une institution familiale qui offre un congé parental (rémunéré et non rémunéré);
  • Vous suivrez un programme de formation dans le cadre de la Twente Graduate School où vous et vos superviseurs déterminerez un plan pour une éducation et une supervision appropriées ;
  • Nous encourageons un degré élevé de responsabilité et d’indépendance tout en collaborant étroitement avec des collègues et d’autres chercheurs à l’échelle nationale et internationale.

Informations et candidature

Êtes-vous intéressé à faire partie de notre équipe et à lancer l’Internet responsable? Veuillez soumettre votre candidature au plus tard le 14 août 2022 à 23h59 CET via le bouton « Postuler maintenant » ci-dessous et inclure :

  • Une courte lettre de motivation (1-2 pages), soulignant votre intérêt spécifique et votre motivation à postuler. Veuillez indiquer pour quels postes vous postulez. Il est possible de postuler pour les deux simultanément.
  • Un CV détaillé, y compris les publications le cas échéant, les récompenses académiques et votre expérience de travail.
  • Un relevé de notes académique de votre formation BSc et MSc (ou équivalent), y compris les notes.
  • Une brève description (1/2 page) de votre thèse de maîtrise/projet final et un lien vers le travail de thèse/rapport de projet.

Notre processus : après avoir évalué toutes les candidatures, nous pouvons demander aux candidats présélectionnés de télécharger une vidéo de 2 minutes, dans laquelle les candidats doivent fournir leurs antécédents et leur motivation pour postuler. Ensuite, les candidats présélectionnés seront invités à deux entretiens, dont l’un est une présentation scientifique de leur travail.

Pour toute autre question, veuillez contacter Assoc Prof Dr Ralph Holz à r.holz@utwente.nl .

À propos de l’organisation

La faculté de génie électrique, mathématiques et informatique (EEMCS) utilise les mathématiques, l’électronique et l’informatique pour contribuer au développement des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC). Les TIC étant présentes dans presque tous les appareils et produits que nous utilisons aujourd’hui, nous assumons notre rôle de contributeurs à un large éventail d’activités sociétales et de pionniers de la société numérique de demain. Dans le cadre d’une université technologique axée sur les personnes qui vise à façonner la société, les individus et les relations, notre faculté travaille en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires industriels et des chercheurs aux Pays-Bas et à l’étranger, et mène des recherches approfondies pour des commanditaires et des bailleurs de fonds externes. Notre recherche a une grande visibilité tant aux Pays-Bas qu’à l’étranger. Il a été hébergé dans trois instituts de recherche pluridisciplinaires de l’UT :

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiDoctorat

Postuler en ligne

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page