Two PhD positions in materials science, France

Posted 2 months ago

Opening of two PhD positions

All-cellulose composites and phase-change materials for insulation

(CELLPHI)

The CELLPHI project aims at developing all-cellulose composites comprising phase change materials for insulation purposes. These materials will be biobased and biodegradable. Their aim is to harvest low grade thermal energy, which enables real energy economies when used for building insulation. The CELLPHI project will be carried out in two laboratories (LCS and LOMC), each laboratory bringing its own expertise.

The first laboratory (LOMC, Le Havre Normandy University) will focus on the manufacturing of cellulosic materials called all-cellulose composites, in which a phase change material will be added. The composites will ultimately be manufactured in the form of filaments by the wet-spinning method, similarly to the mass-produced viscose fibers. The microstructure of the dope, gel and of the final dry materials will be analyzed by X-ray diffraction, small-angle X-ray scattering (SAXS), Atomic Force Microscopy in immersion, and polarized optical microscopy under thermally regulated environments.

The second laboratory taking part in this project is the LCS (Caen Normandy University/ENSICAEN) and the work conducted there will be centered around the use of advanced spectroscopy techniques and thermal analysis. Machine learning will be used to assess the relationships between structure, properties and processing. Diffusion RMN will be used to assess the diffusive aspects of the phase-change material in the cellulosic matrix early on in the process, when it is still in the semi-dilute or anisotropic states. The thermal performances of the materials through heating/cooling cycles will be scrutinized using a combined IR-DSC operando technique.

The two laboratories are therefore expecting two PhD positions: one will be essentially localized at the LOMC, and the other at the LCS. These two thesis will nevertheless strongly interact and this interaction will be paramount for the success of the project. As an example, the diffusive aspects of the materials during processing will be analyzed using two complementary techniques: SAXS and diffusion RMN. The candidates will therefore need a good knowledge in polymer physical chemistry and/or any of the above-mentioned analytical techniques. They will also need to be good communicants. This project is funded by the laboratory of excellence LABEX EMC3 (Energy Materials Clean Combustion Center), and trips to international conferences are forecasted. The project will start in September 2022. The grants will cover 36 months of work for each thesis.

LOMC PhD position:

The candidate will have a Master degree or equivalent and will have a basic knowledge in polymer physical chemistry, crystallography or materials engineering. He or She will prepare samples and implement crystallographic techniques (SAXS and WAXD). More specific skills in one of these fields will be an asset, as well as preliminary knowledge on the Python programming language.

Location: The position is based at Le Havre University (Le Havre, Normandy, France), with frequent travels to ENSICAEN.

Funding: LABEX EMC3

Starting date of the thesis : September 2022

Contact: Please send your CV – including the contact details of at least two references – and cover letter to : Benoît Duchemin benoit.duchemin@univ-lehavre.fr (02.35.21.71.54)

LCS PhD position:

The candidate will have a Master degree or equivalent and will have a basic knowledge in physical chemistry and in spectroscopy. He or She will implement spectroscopic characterization techniques (in particular FTIR and NMR) and multivariate data analysis using python or matlab codes. More specific skills in one of these fields will be an asset.

Location: The position is based at ENSICAEN (Caen, Normandy, France).

Funding: LABEX EMC3

Starting date of the thesis : September 2022

Contact: Please send your CV – including the contact details of at least two references – and cover letter to : Arnaud TRAVERT – arnaud.travert@ensicaen.fr

 Attachments

PhD offers (French/English)  (432.16 KB)

Job Features

Job CategoryDoctorat

Apply Online

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Deux doctorats en science des matériaux, France

Publié il y a 2 mois

Ouverture de deux postes de doctorat

Composites tout cellulose et matériaux à changement de phase pour l’isolation

(CELLPHI)

Le projet CELLPHI vise à développer des composites tout cellulose comprenant des matériaux à changement de phase à des fins d’isolation. Ces matériaux seront biosourcés et biodégradables. Leur objectif est de récupérer une énergie thermique de faible qualité, qui permet de réelles économies d’énergie lorsqu’elle est utilisée pour l’isolation des bâtiments. Le projet CELLPHI sera mené dans deux laboratoires (LCS et LOMC), chaque laboratoire apportant sa propre expertise.

Le premier laboratoire (LOMC, Université Le Havre Normandie) se concentrera sur la fabrication de matériaux cellulosiques dits composites tout cellulose, dans lesquels un matériau à changement de phase sera ajouté. Les composites seront finalement fabriqués sous forme de filaments par la méthode du filage humide, à l’instar des fibres de viscose produites en série. La microstructure du dope, du gel et des matériaux secs finaux sera analysée par diffraction des rayons X, diffusion des rayons X aux petits angles (SAXS), microscopie à force atomique en immersion et microscopie optique polarisée dans des environnements thermiquement régulés.

Le deuxième laboratoire participant à ce projet est le LCS (Université Caen Normandie/ENSICAEN) et les travaux qui y seront menés seront centrés sur l’utilisation de techniques avancées de spectroscopie et d’analyse thermique. L’apprentissage automatique sera utilisé pour évaluer les relations entre la structure, les propriétés et le traitement. La diffusion RMN sera utilisée pour évaluer les aspects diffusifs du matériau à changement de phase dans la matrice cellulosique en début de procédé, lorsqu’il est encore à l’état semi-dilué ou anisotrope. Les performances thermiques des matériaux à travers des cycles de chauffage/refroidissement seront examinées à l’aide d’une technique combinée IR-DSC operando.

Les deux laboratoires attendent donc deux postes de doctorants : l’un sera essentiellement localisé au LOMC, et l’autre au LCS. Ces deux thèses vont néanmoins fortement interagir et cette interaction sera primordiale pour la réussite du projet. A titre d’exemple, les aspects diffusifs des matériaux lors du traitement seront analysés à l’aide de deux techniques complémentaires : SAXS et diffusion RMN. Les candidats devront donc avoir de bonnes connaissances en chimie physique des polymères et/ou l’une des techniques analytiques susmentionnées. Ils devront également être de bons communicants. Ce projet est financé par le laboratoire d’excellence LABEX EMC3 (Energy Materials Clean Combustion Center), et des déplacements vers des conférences internationales sont prévus. Le projet débutera en septembre 2022. Les bourses couvriront 36 mois de travail pour chaque thèse.

Poste de doctorat LOMC :

Le candidat sera titulaire d’un Master ou équivalent et aura des connaissances de base en physico-chimie des polymères, en cristallographie ou en génie des matériaux. Il ou elle préparera des échantillons et mettra en œuvre des techniques cristallographiques (SAXS et WAXD). Des compétences plus spécifiques dans l’un de ces domaines seront un atout, ainsi que des connaissances préalables sur le langage de programmation Python.

Localisation : Le poste est basé à l’Université du Havre (Le Havre, Normandie, France), avec des déplacements fréquents à l’ENSICAEN.

Financement : LABEX EMC3

Date de début de thèse : Septembre 2022

Contact : Merci d’adresser votre CV – incluant les coordonnées d’au moins deux références – et lettre de motivation à : Benoît Duchemin benoit.duchemin@univ-lehavre.fr (02.35.21.71.54)

Doctorat au LCS :

Le candidat sera titulaire d’un Master ou équivalent et aura des connaissances de base en chimie physique et en spectroscopie. Il ou elle mettra en œuvre des techniques de caractérisation spectroscopique (en particulier FTIR et RMN) et d’analyse de données multivariées à l’aide de codes python ou matlab. Des compétences plus spécifiques dans l’un de ces domaines seront un atout.

Localisation : Le poste est basé à l’ENSICAEN (Caen, Normandie, France).

Financement : LABEX EMC3

Date de début de thèse : Septembre 2022

Contact : Merci d’adresser votre CV – comprenant les coordonnées d’au moins deux références – et lettre de motivation à : Arnaud TRAVERT – arnaud.travert@ensicaen.fr

 Pièces jointes

Offres doctorales (français/anglais)  (432.16 KB)

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiDoctorat

Postuler en ligne

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page