PhD candidate: New generation of Cooling Nano-devices ANR Project GELATO

France
Posted 2 months ago
Rate this jobpost

Nanoscale miniaturization of semiconductor devices has led to major advances in opto/nanoelectronics. However, this device downscaling also brought technological issues. Among them, one of the most detrimental is the self-heating effect due to the thermalization of hot carriers generated by high electric fields.  This self-heating effect results in significant reduction in performance and lifetimes of the devices. On the other hand, the refrigeration of the entire systems is extremely power consuming. The development of efficient cooling is then one of the major scientific and environmental issues.

The aim of the PhD thesis is then to conceive, based on quantum transport simulations, a new generation of cooling nano-devices. The student will focus on multibarrier semiconductor heterostructures since we recently demonstrated that an asymmetric double barrier GaAs-AlGaAs device (Fig.1-a)) can act on the electronic and phononic bath’s refrigeration [1-3]. In this structure, “cold” electrons are injected into the quantum well (QW) via a resonant tunneling effect through a thin potential barrier. “Hot” electrons are extracted from the QW through a thermionic process above the thick AlGaAs alloy. As a result, the lattice of the QW cools and the one of the right region heats. We have shown that such a low-energy-injection/high-energy-extraction device can induce an electron cooling thanks to an evaporative effect [2] (See Fig.1-b)). In particular, Fig.1-c) shows the electron temperature in the QW is reduced from room temperature by as much as 50 K.

The PhD student will develop and use an “in-house” quantum transport atomistic code based on the non-equilibrium Green’s Function (NEGF) formalism. We implemented a numerically efficient method to treat electron-phonon and phonon-phonon interactions [4], which led to a NEGF quantum simulations able to calculate all the physical properties of the system, including the temperature profiles of both electrons and phonons.

Collaboration with the LIMMS-University of Tokyo, ENS-Paris, IPVF-Saclay:

This PhD grant is part of the ANR GELATO project which involves four partners: IM2NP, LIMMS-UTokyo, LPENS and IPVF.

The PhD student will be enrolled at the Aix-Marseille University in the Nanodevice Quantum Simulation group of the IM2NP laboratory (www.im2np.fr). He/she will be in charge of the theoretical/simulation part of the project and will benefit from cutting edge computational facilities with a local cluster of more than 600 cores. Moreover, he/she will be in close interactions with the members of Prof. Hirakawa’s group at the LIMMS-UTokyo (https://thz.iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp/en/), in charge of the experimental part. Biannual travels between France and Japan will be also scheduled to strengthen the interactions.

Eligibility criteria of the applicants:

Applicants must hold a master degree in physics, material science or electrical engineering. Experience in programming would be appreciated.

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Marc Bescond

IM2NP UMR-CNRS 7334 at the Aix-Marseille University.

e-mail: marc.bescond@im2np.fr

References :

  1. M. Bescond, D. Logoteta, F. Michelini, N. Cavassilas, T. Yan, A. Yangui, M. Lannoo, H.  Hirakawa, “Thermionic cooling devices based on resonant-tunneling AlGaAs/GaAs heterostructure,” J. Phys.: Condens. Matter, 30, 064005 (2018).
  2. A. Yangui, M. Bescond, T. Yan, N. Nagai, and K. Hirakawa, “Evaporative electron cooling in asymmetric double barrier semiconductor heterostructures,” Nature Commun. 10, 4504 (2019).
  3. M. Bescond and K. Hirakawa, “High performance thermionic cooling devices based on tilted-barrier semiconductor heterostructures”, Phys. Rev. Appl., 14, 064022 (2020).
  4. Y. Guo, M. Bescond, Z. Zhang, M. Luisier, M. Nomura, and S. Volz, “Quantum mechanical modeling of anharmonic phonon-phonon scattering in nanostructures”, Phys. Rev. B, 102, 195412 (2020).

Job Features

Job CategoryInternship and training

Apply Online

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost

error: Alert: Content is protected !!

Doctorant : Nouvelle génération de nano-dispositifs de refroidissement Projet ANR GELATO – Marseille, France

France
Publié il y a 6 jours

La miniaturisation à l’échelle nanométrique des dispositifs semi-conducteurs a conduit à des avancées majeures en opto/nanoélectronique. Cependant, cette réduction d’échelle de l’appareil a également entraîné des problèmes technologiques. Parmi eux, l’un des plus néfastes est l’effet d’auto-échauffement dû à la thermalisation des porteurs chauds générés par les champs électriques élevés. Cet effet d’auto-échauffement entraîne une réduction significative des performances et de la durée de vie des appareils. D’autre part, la réfrigération de l’ensemble des systèmes est extrêmement consommatrice d’énergie. Le développement d’un refroidissement efficace est alors l’un des enjeux scientifiques et environnementaux majeurs.

L’objectif de la thèse est alors de concevoir, à partir de simulations de transport quantique, une nouvelle génération de nano-dispositifs de refroidissement . L’étudiant se concentrera sur les hétérostructures semi-conductrices multibarrières puisque nous avons récemment démontré qu’un dispositif asymétrique à double barrière GaAs-AlGaAs (Fig.1-a)) peut agir sur la réfrigération du bain électronique et phononique [1-3]. Dans cette structure, des électrons « froids » sont injectés dans le puits quantique (QW) via un effet tunnel résonant à travers une mince barrière de potentiel. Les électrons « chauds » sont extraits du QW par un processus thermoionique au-dessus de l’alliage épais d’AlGaAs. En conséquence, le réseau du QW se refroidit et celui de la bonne région se réchauffe. Nous avons montré qu’un tel dispositif d’injection à basse énergie/extraction à haute énergie peut induire un refroidissement des électrons grâce à un effet évaporatif [2] (Voir Fig.1-b)). En particulier, la figure 1-c) montre que la température des électrons dans le QW est réduite de 50 K par rapport à la température ambiante .

Le doctorant développera et utilisera un code atomistique de transport quantique « interne » basé sur le formalisme de la fonction de Green hors équilibre (NEGF). Nous avons mis en œuvre une méthode numériquement efficace pour traiter les interactions électron-phonon et phonon-phonon [4], qui a conduit à des simulations quantiques NEGF capables de calculer toutes les propriétés physiques du système, y compris les profils de température des électrons et des phonons.

Collaboration avec le LIMMS-Université de Tokyo, ENS-Paris, IPVF-Saclay :

Cette bourse de doctorat fait partie du projet ANR GELATO qui implique quatre partenaires : IM2NP, LIMMS-UTokyo, LPENS et IPVF.

Le doctorant sera inscrit à Aix-Marseille Université dans l’équipe Nanodevice Quantum Simulation du laboratoire IM2NP ( www.im2np.fr ). Il/elle sera en charge de la partie théorique/simulation du projet et bénéficiera de moyens de calcul de pointe avec un cluster local de plus de 600 cœurs. De plus, il/elle sera en interaction étroite avec les membres du groupe du Pr Hirakawa au LIMMS-UTokyo ( https://thz.iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp/en/ ), en charge de la partie expérimentale . Des déplacements semestriels entre la France et le Japon seront également programmés pour renforcer les interactions.

Critères d’éligibilité des candidats :

Les candidats doivent être titulaires d’un master en physique, science des matériaux ou génie électrique. Une expérience en programmation serait appréciée.

Pour plus d’informations , veuillez contacter :

Dr Marc Bescond

IM2NP UMR-CNRS 7334 à l’Université d’Aix-Marseille.

e-mail : [email protected]

Les références :

  1. M. Bescond, D. Logoteta, F. Michelini, N. Cavassilas, T. Yan, A. Yangui, M. Lannoo, H. Hirakawa, « Dispositifs de refroidissement thermoioniques basés sur l’hétérostructure AlGaAs/GaAs à tunnel résonant », J. Phys .: Condens. Matière , 30 , 064005 (2018).
  2. A. Yangui, M. Bescond, T. Yan, N. Nagai et K. Hirakawa, « Refroidissement par évaporation des électrons dans les hétérostructures semi-conductrices asymétriques à double barrière », Nature Commun. 10 , 4504 (2019).
  3. M. Bescond et K. Hirakawa, « Dispositifs de refroidissement thermoioniques haute performance basés sur des hétérostructures semi-conductrices à barrière inclinée », Phys. Rév. Appl. , 14 , 064022 (2020).
  4. Y. Guo, M. Bescond, Z. Zhang, M. Luisier, M. Nomura et S. Volz, « Modélisation mécanique quantique de la diffusion phonon-phonon anharmonique dans les nanostructures », Phys. Rév. B , 102 , 195412 (2020).

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiStage et Formation

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost

error: Alert: Content is protected !!