PhD Student or Postdoc (f/m/d) “Quality of Service and Quality of Experience in Audiovisual Communication via Social eXtended Reality (XR)”

Germany
Posted 1 year ago

At the Audiovisual Technology Group, Institute for Media Technology, Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, Ilmenau Interactive Immersive Technologies Center, we are looking to hire a full-time

PhD Student or Postdoc (f/m/d)

“Quality of Service and Quality of Experience in Audiovisual

Communication via Social eXtended Reality (XR)”

for an initial period of 1,5 – 2 years (depending on start), with possibility for extension.

The Audiovisual Technology Group at the Institute of Media Technology is a growing international, interdisciplinary university research team working on topics related to auditory, visual and audiovisual technology and perception, AR/VR/MR, multimedia networks, Quality of Experience and HCI. The AVT group is also part of the newly established I3TC (Ilmenau Interactive Immersive Technologies Center, www.tu-ilmenau.de/i3tc). Our research ranges from basic research on multimedia and AR/VR/MR/XR technologies, network engineering and human perception and experience to applied research in collaboration with industry partners.
The position is part of publicly funded projects with partners from academia and industry. In the considered Social XR (eXtended Reality) services, conversation participants are represented as volumetric visual information. Different types of displays will be used in this context, ranging from classical screens,head-mounted displays (HMDs) to holographic displays. Moreover, spatial audio may be used with communication partners or conference participants represented in an audiovisual Mixed Reality (MR) environment. In this context, the Audiovisual Technology Group at TU Ilmenau, together with other partners from academia and industry, are developing concepts for measuring Quality of Service, Quality of Experience and User Experience for Social XR communication.

Your tasks

In your research, you will investigate user perception of Social XR communication over current and future networks. For this purpose, you will conduct a series of user studies and investigate human experience based on usage data, network parameters, and multimedia signals. These data will help to develop first concepts for an automated monitoring of the quality of such future Social XR media applications, together with the project partners. Considering its research character, the project work is sought to form part of your possible PhD thesis.

Your profile

For being part of the selection process is needed:

  • Completed academic university studies (Master/ Diploma) in one of the fields of media technology or corresponding engineering or natural science subjects, such as computer science, neuroinformatics, computational linguistics, human-computer interaction, or physics.
  • Practical experience in one or preferably more of the following fields: audio/video/multimedia technology, telecommunications/network technology, digital audio or video signal processing, speech communication, statistical analysis methods, conducting/evaluating empirical studies.
  • Very good knowledge in at least one of the languages or tools: Python/C/C++/R/Unity/Unreal Engine.
  • Knowledge in areas such as pattern recognition, machine learning or modeling of perception and/or cognition is a plus.
  • Very good knowledge of English and German in writing and communication.

Following competences are desirable:

  • Interest in interdisciplinary topics at the interface between technology and humans.
  • Very good communication skills, commitment, enthusiasm, ability to work independently, as well as initiative and ability to work in a team.

What we offer you:

  • attractive remuneration according to collective agreement (as per TV-L) incl. granting of a special annual payment
  • vacation entitlement of 30 days in the calendar year and additional days off on 24 / 31 December.
  • flexible working time model
  • VBL – pension scheme in the public sector

From individual advancement with a wide range of continuing education opportunities to a variety of health and recreational offerings, you can expect an appreciative working environment at a renowned university at TU Ilmenau. In addition to an attractive, family friendly working hour’s model, you will also benefit from advantages such as the use of the dining halls of the Studentenwerk Thüringen, as well as participation in several attractive sport offers from the university owned sport centrum.

Job Features

Job CategoryDoctorat

Apply Online

Check Also

How Your Sleep Can Reveal Your Health: Warning Signs to Watch For

Your sleep is a valuable indicator of your overall health. Experts warn against certain nighttime …

Doctorant ou Postdoc (f/m/d) « Qualité de Service et Qualité d’Expérience dans la Communication Audiovisuelle via Social eXtended Reality (XR) » – Ilmenau , Allemagne

Allemagne
Publié il y a 11 mois

Au Groupe de technologie audiovisuelle, Institut de technologie des médias, Département de génie électrique et de technologie de l’information, Centre de technologies immersives interactives d’Ilmenau, nous cherchons à embaucher un

Doctorant ou Postdoc (f/m/d)

« Qualité de service et qualité d’expérience dans l’audiovisuel

Communication via la réalité sociale étendue (XR) »

pour une période initiale de 1,5 à 2 ans (selon le début), avec possibilité de prolongation.

Le groupe de technologie audiovisuelle de l’Institute of Media Technology est une équipe de recherche universitaire internationale et interdisciplinaire en pleine croissance travaillant sur des sujets liés à la technologie et à la perception auditives, visuelles et audiovisuelles, AR/VR/MR, réseaux multimédias, qualité d’expérience et HCI. Le groupe AVT fait également partie du nouveau I3TC (Ilmenau Interactive Immersive Technologies Center, www.tu-ilmenau.de/i3tc ). Nos recherches vont de la recherche fondamentale sur les technologies multimédias et AR/VR/MR/XR, l’ingénierie des réseaux et la perception et l’expérience humaines à la recherche appliquée en collaboration avec des partenaires de l’industrie.
Le poste fait partie de projets financés par des fonds publics avec des partenaires du milieu universitaire et de l’industrie. Dans les services Social XR (eXtended Reality) considérés, les participants à la conversation sont représentés comme des informations visuelles volumétriques. Différents types d’affichages seront utilisés dans ce contexte, allant des écrans classiques, des visiocasques (HMD) aux affichages holographiques. De plus, l’audio spatial peut être utilisé avec des partenaires de communication ou des participants à une conférence représentés dans un environnement audiovisuel de réalité mixte (MR). Dans ce contexte, le groupe de technologie audiovisuelle de la TU Ilmenau, en collaboration avec d’autres partenaires du monde universitaire et de l’industrie, développe des concepts pour mesurer la qualité de service, la qualité de l’expérience et l’expérience utilisateur pour la communication sociale XR.

Vos tâches

Dans votre recherche, vous étudierez la perception des utilisateurs de la communication Social XR sur les réseaux actuels et futurs. À cette fin, vous mènerez une série d’études sur les utilisateurs et enquêterez sur l’expérience humaine en fonction des données d’utilisation, des paramètres du réseau et des signaux multimédias. Ces données aideront à développer les premiers concepts pour une surveillance automatisée de la qualité de ces futures applications médiatiques Social XR, en collaboration avec les partenaires du projet. Compte tenu de son caractère de recherche, le travail de projet est recherché pour faire partie de votre éventuelle thèse de doctorat.

Votre profil

Pour faire partie du processus de sélection, il faut :

  • Études universitaires universitaires terminées (maîtrise/diplôme) dans l’un des domaines de la technologie des médias ou dans les matières correspondantes de l’ingénierie ou des sciences naturelles, telles que l’informatique, la neuroinformatique, la linguistique informatique, l’interaction homme-ordinateur ou la physique.
  • Expérience pratique dans un ou de préférence plusieurs des domaines suivants : technologie audio/vidéo/multimédia, technologie des télécommunications/réseaux, traitement numérique du signal audio ou vidéo, communication vocale, méthodes d’analyse statistique, réalisation/évaluation d’études empiriques.
  • Très bonne connaissance d’au moins un des langages ou outils : Python/C/C++/R/Unity/Unreal Engine.
  • Des connaissances dans des domaines tels que la reconnaissance de formes, l’apprentissage automatique ou la modélisation de la perception et/ou de la cognition sont un plus.
  • Très bonne connaissance de l’anglais et de l’allemand en rédaction et en communication.

Les compétences suivantes sont souhaitables :

  • Intérêt pour les sujets interdisciplinaires à l’interface entre la technologie et l’humain.
  • Très bonnes capacités de communication, engagement, enthousiasme, capacité à travailler de manière autonome, ainsi qu’initiative et capacité à travailler en équipe.

Ce que nous vous proposons :

  • rémunération attractive selon convention collective (selon TV-L) incl. l’octroi d’un paiement annuel spécial
  • droit à 30 jours de vacances dans l’année civile et jours de repos supplémentaires les 24 et 31 décembre.
  • modèle de temps de travail flexible
  • VBL – régime de pension du secteur public

De l’avancement individuel avec un large éventail de possibilités de formation continue à une variété d’offres de santé et de loisirs, vous pouvez vous attendre à un environnement de travail appréciable dans une université renommée de TU Ilmenau. En plus d’un modèle d’heure de travail attrayant et familial, vous bénéficierez également d’avantages tels que l’utilisation des salles à manger du Studentenwerk Thüringen, ainsi que la participation à plusieurs offres sportives attrayantes du centre sportif universitaire.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiDoctorat

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

bourse Harvard LEAD 2024-2025 pour la promotion des femmes dans les applications de santé mondiale

La bourse LEAD 2024-2025, une bourse d’un an conçue pour développer les compétences en leadership …