PhD Student – Vakgroep Groene Chemie en Technologie

Belgique
Posted 3 years ago

Ghent University (Belgium) is internationally one of the leading institutes in resource recovery and renewable resources. It is home to the BioRefine Cluster Europe (www.biorefine.eu), a network of international research and development projects with the dedicated focus of guiding innovation towards applied market implementation. As part of the AgRefine program, a Marie Skłodowska Curie -European Training Network, we are recruiting a junior expert for a Ph.D. degree at Ghent University (Belgium). The AgRefine integrated training program will facilitate the amelioration of Europe’s agri-sector competitiveness and environmental sustainability challenges by creating new and optimizing current agri-resource and agri-waste valorization pathways. The goals of the network will be achieved by a unique combination of “hands-on” research training, non-academic placements, and workshops on research-related and transferable skills.

Research content

This research focuses on the assessment of variability in bio-based fertilizers, on-line sensory technology (e.g. operational reliability of NIR sensors), and blending strategies to obtain optimal NPK ratios. The candidate will investigate mass flows of both major and minor nutrients as well as organic carbon in the downstream processing of digestates, a cascade of recovery techniques that will allow production of multiple refined organo-mineral fertilizers, soil enhancers, and growth substrates. The aspirant will investigate the recovery and re-use of macro- and micronutrients from different fractions of digestate, taking into account crop-specific requirements. Product assessment will consist of both scrutinizing the availability of recovered nutrients to the plant as well as assessing the product’s microbial, organic- and inorganic-pollutant contents. Special attention to the GHG emissions and carbon footprint modelling during the process will be taken. The candidate will also examine the regulatory aspects governing the use of digestates.

We offer

– Full-time employment for a period of 3 years

– with possibility of 1 year extension

– Being embedded in a team of young, dynamic experts on nitrogen and phosphorus recovery from academia and industry

– Involvement in a world-class consortium with experts from five European Universities (with expertise in biorefinery technology, engineering, life cycle assessment, economics), one applied research institute, eight industry partners (from engineering, AD and biorefinery industries), one regulatory body and one industry network representing six countries – Possibility of mobility across partner countries to visit innovative nutrient recovery processes at practical industrial scale

– An innovative and hot-topic research scope with clear, practical applications

– Close supervision and guidance in the conducting of the planned research

– The possibility to develop a broad network

– Stimulation to self-improvement by encouraging participation in summer schools, workshops, and conferences

– Career option (to be discussed with the selected candidate based on mobility/travel interests and research opportunities): for short or longer stays at partner organizations and the possibility to obtain Dual Degree Ph.D. from both institutes as a result of such an exchange.

Functieprofiel

– You are interested in and motivated by the research topic, as well as in obtaining a Ph.D. degree

– You have mastered the English language, both in writing skills and oral presentations

– You have the required communicative skills to interact independently with the scientific community, business community, and farming community

– You are keen to learn about industrial lab practices

– You have a relevant degree

– Master level in applied biological sciences (agriculture, environmental technology, microbial engineering…)

Solliciteren

Send (I) CV and (II) motivation letter to ana.roblesaguilar@ugent.be before February 14 , 17h (Central European Time) (put „AgRefine“ in the email title). Selected candidates will be invited for an interview in the second half of February. Documents to be provided: (A) Professional résumé (CV) (B) motivation letter

Required Research Experiences

  • RESEARCH FIELD
    Agricultural sciences
  • YEARS OF RESEARCH EXPERIENCE
    1 – 4
  • RESEARCH FIELD
    Biological sciences
  • YEARS OF RESEARCH EXPERIENCE
    1 – 4
  • RESEARCH FIELD
    Chemistry
  • YEARS OF RESEARCH EXPERIENCE
    1 – 4
  • RESEARCH FIELD
    Engineering
  • YEARS OF RESEARCH EXPERIENCE
    1 – 4
  • RESEARCH FIELD
    Environmental science
  • YEARS OF RESEARCH EXPERIENCE
    1 – 4
  • RESEARCH FIELD
    Technology
  • YEARS OF RESEARCH EXPERIENCE
    1 – 4

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Doctorant – Vakgroep Groene Chemie en Technologie

Belgique
Publié il y a 2 ans

L’Université de Gand (Belgique) est internationalement l’un des principaux instituts de récupération des ressources et des ressources renouvelables. Il abrite le BioRefine Cluster Europe ( www.biorefine.eu), un réseau de projets internationaux de recherche et développement ayant pour objectif principal d’orienter l’innovation vers la mise en œuvre appliquée du marché. Dans le cadre du programme AgRefine, un réseau de formation Marie Skłodowska Curie -European, nous recrutons un expert junior pour un doctorat. diplôme à l’Université de Gand (Belgique). Le programme de formation intégré AgRefine facilitera l’amélioration des défis de compétitivité et de durabilité environnementale du secteur agroalimentaire européen en créant de nouvelles voies d’optimisation des ressources agricoles et des déchets agricoles. Les objectifs du réseau seront atteints grâce à une combinaison unique de formation à la recherche «pratique», de stages non universitaires et d’ateliers sur les compétences liées à la recherche et transférables.

Contenu de la recherche

Cette recherche se concentre sur l’évaluation de la variabilité des engrais biosourcés, la technologie sensorielle en ligne (par exemple, la fiabilité opérationnelle des capteurs NIR) et les stratégies de mélange pour obtenir des ratios NPK optimaux. Le candidat étudiera les flux massiques de nutriments majeurs et mineurs ainsi que de carbone organique dans le traitement en aval des digestats, une cascade de techniques de récupération qui permettra la production de plusieurs engrais organo-minéraux raffinés, de rehausseurs de sol et de substrats de croissance. L’aspirant étudiera la récupération et la réutilisation des macro et micronutriments de différentes fractions de digestat, en tenant compte des besoins spécifiques des cultures. L’évaluation du produit consistera à la fois à examiner la disponibilité des éléments nutritifs récupérés pour la plante ainsi qu’à évaluer les microbes du produit, teneur en polluants organiques et inorganiques. Une attention particulière sera portée aux émissions de GES et à la modélisation de l’empreinte carbone au cours du processus. Le candidat examinera également les aspects réglementaires régissant l’utilisation des digestats.

Nous offrons

– Emploi à temps plein pour une période de 3 ans

– avec possibilité de prolongation d’un an

– Être intégré dans une équipe de jeunes experts dynamiques sur la récupération de l’azote et du phosphore dans les universités et l’industrie

– Implication dans un consortium de classe mondiale avec des experts de cinq universités européennes (avec une expertise en technologie de bioraffinage, ingénierie, analyse du cycle de vie, économie), un institut de recherche appliquée, huit partenaires industriels (issus des industries de l’ingénierie, de la DA et des bioraffineries), un réglementaire organisme et un réseau industriel représentant six pays – Possibilité de mobilité entre les pays partenaires pour visiter des processus innovants de récupération des nutriments à l’échelle industrielle pratique

– Un champ de recherche innovant et d’actualité avec des applications claires et pratiques

– Supervision et orientation étroites dans la conduite des recherches prévues

– La possibilité de développer un large réseau

– Stimulation à l’auto-amélioration en encourageant la participation aux écoles d’été, aux ateliers et aux conférences

– Option de carrière (à discuter avec le candidat sélectionné en fonction des intérêts de mobilité / voyage et des opportunités de recherche): pour des séjours courts ou plus longs dans des organisations partenaires et la possibilité d’obtenir un doctorat en double diplôme. des deux instituts à la suite d’un tel échange.

Function

– Vous êtes intéressé et motivé par le sujet de recherche, ainsi que par l’obtention d’un doctorat. degré

– Vous maîtrisez la langue anglaise, tant en rédaction qu’en présentations orales

– Vous avez les compétences communicatives requises pour interagir de manière indépendante avec la communauté scientifique, le monde des affaires et la communauté agricole

– Vous souhaitez découvrir les pratiques des laboratoires industriels

– Vous avez un diplôme pertinent

– Master en sciences biologiques appliquées (agriculture, écotechnologie, génie microbien…)

Application

Envoyez (I) CV et (II) lettre de motivation à [email protected] avant le 14 février 17h (heure d’Europe centrale) (mettez « AgRefine » dans le titre de l’e-mail). Les candidats sélectionnés seront invités à un entretien dans la seconde moitié de février. Documents à fournir: (A) CV professionnel (CV) (B) lettre de motivation

Expériences de recherche requises

  • DOMAINE DE RECHERCHE
    Sciences agronomiques
  • ANNÉES D’EXPÉRIENCE DE RECHERCHE
    1 – 4
  • DOMAINE DE RECHERCHE
    Sciences Biologiques
  • ANNÉES D’EXPÉRIENCE DE RECHERCHE
    1 – 4
  • DOMAINE DE RECHERCHE
    Chimie
  • ANNÉES D’EXPÉRIENCE DE RECHERCHE
    1 – 4
  • DOMAINE DE RECHERCHE
    Ingénierie
  • ANNÉES D’EXPÉRIENCE DE RECHERCHE
    1 – 4
  • DOMAINE DE RECHERCHE
    Sciences de l’environnement
  • ANNÉES D’EXPÉRIENCE DE RECHERCHE
    1 – 4
  • DOMAINE DE RECHERCHE
    La technologie
  • ANNÉES D’EXPÉRIENCE DE RECHERCHE
    1 – 4

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss