Doctoral Position (gn) to study the effects of medicinal plant extracts on bacterium-host interaction in uropathogenic Escherichia coli

Germany
Posted 1 month ago

The Institute of Hygiene, Section Microbial Genome Plasticity at the University of Muenster, Germany has an opening limited to 3 years for a

Doctoral Position (gn*)
to study the effects of medicinal plant extracts on bacterium-host interaction in uropathogenic Escherichia coli
Reference Number 06438
Part-Time with 65%
Scholarship with a monthly remuneration of 1.600 €

(*gn = gender neutral)

Our group focuses on the characterization of virulence- and fitness traits of extraintestinal pathogenic Escherichia coli (UPEC). We employ functional genomics-based approaches to study pathogen-host interaction.

A variety of plants is successfully used in traditional medicine to treat urinary tract infection. The relevant therapeutically active compounds and their mechanisms of action have often not been analyzed in great detail. In close cooperation with the Institute of Pharmaceutical Biology and Phytochemistry of the University of Münster, the successful applicant will study the impact of such plant extracts and different fractions thereof on UPEC and host cell gene expression. Additionally, the effect of medicinal plant extracts on pathogen-host interaction and on chromatin dynamics involved in reprogramming host innate immunity will be investigated.

The major emphasis will be on (i) the analysis of bacterial and host cell gene expression in response to medicinal plant extracts in vitro and during urinary tract infection, (ii) profiling of DNA methylation, histone acetylation and microRNA expression to study the role of chromatin dynamics in influencing host innate immunity, and (iii) phenotypic analyses in response to medicinal plant extracts.

The applicant should have a strong background in microbiology, molecular biology, and pharmaceutical chemistry. In addition, knowledge in experimental urinary tract infection models, bioinformatics, epigenetics and interest in bacterial pathogenesis is beneficial.

Please direct any questions to Prof. Dr. Ulrich Dobrindt, T +49 251 83 35406, [email protected]

Website: https://www.medizin.uni-muenster.de/hygiene/forschung/forschungsgebiete-und-arbeitsgruppen/mikrobielle-genomplastizitaet.html

Please send applications including a short letter of motivation, a brief statement of research experience, CV and publication list, copies of relevant documents and contact information of academic references as a single PDF-file with the reference number until 15.10.2021 via email to [email protected].

Applications of women are specifically invited. In the case of similar qualifications, competence, and specific achievements, women will be considered on preferential terms within the framework of the legal possibilities. Handicapped candidates with equivalent qualifications will be given preference.

The University Hospital of Münster is one of the leading hospitals in Germany. Such a position cannot be achieved by size and medical successes alone. The individual commitment counts above all. We need your commitment so that even with little things we can achieve great things for our patients. There are many possibilities open for you so that you may develop with them.

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryInternship and training

Apply Online

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost

Doctorat (gn) pour étudier les effets d’extraits de plantes médicinales sur l’interaction bactérie-hôte chez Escherichia coli uropathogène

Allemagne
Publié il y a 2 semaines

L’Institute of Hygiene, Section Microbial Genome Plasticity à l’Université de Münster, Allemagne a une ouverture limitée à 3 ans pour un

poste de doctorat (gn*)
pour étudier les effets d’extraits de plantes médicinales sur l’interaction bactérie-hôte dans Escherichia coli uropathogène
Numéro de référence 06438
à temps partiel avec une
bourse de 65% avec une rémunération mensuelle de 1.600 €

(*gn = genre neutre)

Notre groupe se concentre sur la caractérisation des traits de virulence et de fitness d’Escherichia coli pathogène extra-intestinal ( UPEC ). Nous utilisons des approches basées sur la génomique fonctionnelle pour étudier l’interaction agent pathogène-hôte.

Une variété de plantes est utilisée avec succès en médecine traditionnelle pour traiter les infections des voies urinaires. Les composés thérapeutiquement actifs pertinents et leurs mécanismes d’action n’ont souvent pas été analysés en détail. En étroite coopération avec l’Institut de biologie pharmaceutique et de phytochimie de l’Université de Münster, le candidat retenu étudiera l’impact de ces extraits de plantes et de leurs différentes fractions sur l’ UPEC et l’expression des gènes de la cellule hôte. De plus, l’effet des extraits de plantes médicinales sur l’interaction pathogène-hôte et sur la dynamique de la chromatine impliquée dans la reprogrammation de l’immunité innée de l’hôte sera étudié.

L’accent sera mis sur (i) l’analyse de l’expression des gènes des bactéries et des cellules hôtes en réponse à des extraits de plantes médicinales in vitro et lors d’infections urinaires, (ii) le profilage de la méthylation de l’ ADN , de l’acétylation des histones et de l’expression des microARN pour étudier le rôle de la dynamique de la chromatine pour influencer l’immunité innée de l’hôte, et (iii) les analyses phénotypiques en réponse aux extraits de plantes médicinales.

Le candidat doit avoir une solide expérience en microbiologie, biologie moléculaire et chimie pharmaceutique. De plus, les connaissances sur les modèles expérimentaux d’infection des voies urinaires, la bioinformatique, l’épigénétique et l’intérêt pour la pathogenèse bactérienne sont bénéfiques.

Veuillez adresser vos questions au Prof. Dr. Ulrich Dobrindt, T +49 251 83 35406, [email protected]

Site Web : https://www.medizin.uni-muenster.de/hygiene/forschung/forschungsgebiete-und-arbeitsgruppen/mikrobielle-genomplastizitaet.html

Veuillez envoyer des candidatures comprenant une courte lettre de motivation, une brève déclaration d’expérience de recherche, un CV et liste des publications, copies des documents pertinents et coordonnées des références académiques dans un seul fichier PDF avec le numéro de référence jusqu’au 15.10.2021 par e-mail à [email protected] .

Les candidatures féminines sont spécifiquement sollicitées. Dans le cas de qualifications, de compétences et d’acquis spécifiques similaires, les femmes seront considérées à des conditions préférentielles dans le cadre des possibilités légales. Les candidats handicapés ayant des qualifications équivalentes seront privilégiés.

L’hôpital universitaire de Münster est l’un des principaux hôpitaux d’Allemagne. Une telle position ne peut être atteinte uniquement par la taille et les succès médicaux. L’engagement individuel compte avant tout. Nous avons besoin de votre engagement pour que même avec de petites choses, nous puissions réaliser de grandes choses pour nos patients. De nombreuses possibilités s’offrent à vous afin que vous puissiez évoluer avec eux.

Merci de postuler via le site du recruteur.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiStage et Formation

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost