Medicine and Health Sciences – Faculty Positions (Indigenous Health Scholarship), Canada

Canada
Posted 2 years ago

McGill University

Location: Quebec
Date posted: 2022-03-16
Advertised until: 2022-04-15

The McGill University Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences (FMHS) is seeking to strengthen its links to Indigenous communities and expand its leadership, research and teaching capacity in areas relevant to Indigenous health through the recruitment of new faculty members. These opportunities are aligned with McGill University’s overall commitment to increase the number of Indigenous professors over the next decade, one component of the University’s support of Indigenous success and reconciliation, summarized in its 52 Calls to Action. These new academic positions also align with the ongoing commitments of the FMHS to expand access to Health Professions education for Indigenous students, decolonize curricula, and include Indigenous ways of knowing and respect for Indigenous identities in clinical care, research, teaching, and service to the wider community. In line with these commitments, preference will be given to candidates who identify as First Nations, Inuit, Métis, Native American, Alaskan Native or Native Hawaiian.

Recognizing the importance of critical mass to the success of new faculty members, the FMHS seeks to hire for several positions in the following units:

  • the Ingram School of Nursing
  • the Department of Family Medicine
  • the School of Population and Global Health

Selected candidates will be offered an appropriate academic position as a member of the Contract Academic Staff group. A tenure track position may be offered to suitable candidates.

Job Duties
Faculty members hired in these roles will contribute to the academic mission in areas such as Indigenous health research or clinical innovation, course development addressing Indigenous health priorities and ways of knowing for health professional or graduate students, or curricular reform. Successful candidates who take up research-intensive positions will be expected to develop an independent research program and to contribute to undergraduate and graduate teaching for our diverse student body.

McGill faculty members are expected to contribute to service activities within their units, the University, and the wider scholarly community. A demonstrated commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion is also expected.

Qualifications and Education Requirements
As part of this cluster hiring initiative, the FMHS welcomes applications from candidates with expertise relevant to Indigenous health gained outside traditional academic career paths. This could include health-relevant roles as leaders or advocates in Indigenous communities, or in private enterprise, governmental or non-governmental organizations. Full-time or part- time academic positions may be available for selected candidates with such backgrounds.

Candidates who wish to be considered for a tenure track position must have a PhD, or equivalent advanced training or experience, in a relevant field.

Salary: Salary will be commensurate with qualifications and experience

Job Status: Full-time or Part-time

Interested applicants should submit their application electronically at the following website: https://mcgill.wd3.myworkdayjobs.com/en-US/McGill_Careers/job/3605-de-la- Montagne/Indigenous-Health-Scholarship–Faculty-of-Medicine-and-Health-Sciences– Open-Rank–Contract-Academic-Staff–Research–or-Tenure-Track_JR0000023710?

The following supporting documents are required:

  • Cover letter indicating the departments that particularly align with your interests and curriculum vitae
  • Statement of scholarly intention
  • Names and contact information of three referees

Use a personal email address when creating an account in Workday to submit your application. Do not use @mail.mcgill.ca  or @mcgill.ca email accounts to apply.

McGill University is committed to equity and diversity within its community and values academic rigour and excellence. We welcome and encourage applications from racialized persons/visible minorities, women, Indigenous persons, persons with disabilities, ethnic minorities, and persons of minority sexual orientations and gender identities, as well as from all qualified candidates with the skills and knowledge to engage productively with diverse communities.

At McGill, research that reflects diverse intellectual traditions, methodologies, and modes of dissemination and translation is valued and encouraged. Candidates are invited to demonstrate their research impact both within and across academic disciplines and in other sectors, such as government, communities, or industry.

McGill further recognizes and fairly considers the impact of leaves (e.g., family care or health-related) that may contribute to career interruptions or slowdowns. Candidates are encouraged to signal any leave that affected productivity, or that may have had an effect on their career path. This information will be considered to ensure the equitable assessment of the candidate’s record.

McGill implements an employment equity program and encourages members of designated equity groups to self-identify. It further seeks to ensure the equitable treatment and full inclusion of persons with disabilities by striving for the implementation of universal design principles transversally, across all facets of the
University community, and through accommodation policies and procedures. Persons with disabilities who anticipate needing accommodations for any part of the application process may contact, in confidence, this email or phone at 514-398-2477.

All qualified applicants are encouraged to apply; however, in accordance with Canadian immigration requirements, Canadians and permanent residents will be given priority.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research

Apply Online

Check Also

Discovery of Plastic Particles in Human Testicles: A Threat to Male Fertility

Introduction Scientists have discovered significant concentrations of microplastics in human testicular tissues, raising concerns about …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Médecine et sciences de la santé – Postes professoraux (bourse d’études en santé autochtone), Canada

Canada
Publié il y a 2 ans

McGill University

Location: Quebec
Date de publication : 2022-03-16
Publié jusqu’au : 2022-04-15

La Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé (FMHS) de l’Université McGill cherche à renforcer ses liens avec les communautés autochtones et à élargir sa capacité de leadership, de recherche et d’enseignement dans des domaines pertinents à la santé autochtone grâce au recrutement de nouveaux membres du corps professoral. Ces opportunités sont alignées sur l’ engagement global de l’Université McGill d’augmenter le nombre de professeurs autochtones au cours de la prochaine décennie, une composante du soutien de l’Université à la réussite et à la réconciliation des Autochtones, résumée dans ses 52 appels à l’ action . Ces nouveaux postes universitaires s’alignent également sur les engagements en coursde la FMHS pour élargir l’accès à l’éducation aux professions de la santé pour les étudiants autochtones, décoloniser les programmes d’études et inclure les façons autochtones de connaître et de respecter les identités autochtones dans les soins cliniques, la recherche, l’enseignement et les services à la communauté au sens large. Conformément à ces engagements, la préférence sera accordée aux candidats qui s’identifient comme membres des Premières nations, inuits, métis, amérindiens, autochtones de l’Alaska ou hawaïens autochtones.

Reconnaissant l’importance de la masse critique pour le succès des nouveaux membres du corps professoral, la FMHS cherche à embaucher pour plusieurs postes dans les unités suivantes :

  • l’école d’infirmières Ingram
  • le Département de médecine familiale
  • l’École de la population et de la santé mondiale

Les candidats sélectionnés se verront offrir un poste académique approprié en tant que membre du groupe du personnel académique contractuel. Un poste menant à la permanence peut être proposé aux candidats appropriés.

Les
membres du corps professoral embauchés dans ces rôles contribueront à la mission académique dans des domaines tels que la recherche en santé autochtone ou l’innovation clinique, l’élaboration de cours traitant des priorités et des moyens de savoir en santé autochtone pour les professionnels de la santé ou les étudiants diplômés, ou la réforme des programmes. Les candidats retenus qui occupent des postes à forte intensité de recherche devront développer un programme de recherche indépendant et contribuer à l’enseignement de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs pour notre corps étudiant diversifié.

On s’attend à ce que les membres du corps professoral de McGill contribuent aux activités de service au sein de leurs unités, de l’Université et de la communauté universitaire au sens large. Un engagement démontré envers l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion est également attendu.

Qualifications et exigences en matière d’éducation
Dans le cadre de cette initiative d’embauche de grappes, la FMHS accueille les candidatures de candidats ayant une expertise pertinente en santé autochtone acquise en dehors des cheminements de carrière universitaires traditionnels. Cela pourrait inclure des rôles liés à la santé en tant que leaders ou défenseurs dans les communautés autochtones, ou dans des entreprises privées, des organisations gouvernementales ou non gouvernementales. Des postes universitaires à temps plein ou à temps partiel peuvent être disponibles pour les candidats sélectionnés ayant de tels antécédents.

Les candidats qui souhaitent être considérés pour un poste menant à la permanence doivent avoir un doctorat, ou une formation ou une expérience avancée équivalente, dans un domaine pertinent.

Salaire : Le salaire sera proportionnel aux qualifications et à l’expérience

Statut du poste : temps plein ou temps partiel

Les candidats intéressés doivent soumettre leur candidature par voie électronique sur le site Web suivant : https://mcgill.wd3.myworkdayjobs.com/en-US/McGill_Careers/job/3605-de-la-Montagne/Indigenous-Health-Scholarship–Faculty-of -Médecine-et-sciences-de-la-santé– Open-Rank–Contract-Academic-Staff–Research–or-Tenure-Track_JR0000023710 ?

Les pièces justificatives suivantes sont requises :

  • Lettre de motivation indiquant les départements qui correspondent particulièrement à vos intérêts et curriculum vitae
  • Déclaration d’intention scientifique
  • Noms et coordonnées de trois arbitres

Utilisez une adresse e-mail personnelle lors de la création d’un compte dans Workday pour soumettre votre candidature. N’utilisez pas les comptes de messagerie @mail.mcgill.ca ou @mcgill.ca pour postuler.

L’Université McGill est attachée à l’équité et à la diversité au sein de sa communauté et valorise la rigueur académique et l’excellence. Nous accueillons et encourageons les candidatures de personnes racialisées / minorités visibles, de femmes, d’Autochtones, de personnes handicapées, de minorités ethniques et de personnes d’orientations sexuelles et d’identités de genre minoritaires, ainsi que de tous les candidats qualifiés possédant les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour s’engager de manière productive avec communautés diverses.

À McGill, la recherche qui reflète diverses traditions intellectuelles, méthodologies et modes de diffusion et de traduction est valorisée et encouragée. Les candidats sont invités à démontrer l’impact de leur recherche à la fois dans et entre les disciplines universitaires et dans d’autres secteurs, tels que le gouvernement, les communautés ou l’industrie.

McGill reconnaît en outre et considère équitablement l’impact des congés (p. ex., pour soins familiaux ou liés à la santé) qui peuvent contribuer à des interruptions ou à des ralentissements de carrière. Les candidats sont encouragés à signaler tout congé qui a affecté la productivité ou qui a pu avoir un effet sur leur cheminement de carrière. Ces informations seront prises en compte pour assurer une évaluation équitable du dossier du candidat.

McGill met en œuvre un programme d’équité en matière d’emploi et encourage les membres des groupes d’équité désignés à s’auto-identifier. Il cherche en outre à assurer le traitement équitable et la pleine inclusion des personnes handicapées en s’efforçant de mettre en œuvre les principes de conception universelle de manière transversale, dans toutes les facettes de la
communauté universitaire, et par le biais de politiques et de procédures d’adaptation . Les personnes handicapées qui prévoient avoir besoin d’aménagements pour n’importe quelle partie du processus de demande peuvent contacter, en toute confidentialité, ce courriel ou téléphoner au 514-398-2477.

Tous les candidats qualifiés sont encouragés à postuler; cependant, conformément aux exigences canadiennes en matière d’immigration, les Canadiens et les résidents permanents auront la priorité.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourses de l’Université de Mannheim – Allemagne

Domaine d’études Divers Niveau MSc Pays Allemagne Admissibilité Cela dépend de votre programme Exigences Conditions …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *