PHD : Multi-periodic insertion device, Bures-sur-Yvette, France

Posted 2 months ago

SOLEIL is the French national synchrotron facility, located on the Saclay Plateau near Paris. It is a multi-disciplinary instrument and a research laboratory, whose mission is to run research programs using synchrotron radiation, to develop state-of-the-art instrumentation on the beamlines, and to make those available to the scientific community. SOLEIL, a unique tool for both academic research and industrial applications across a wide range of disciplines including physics, biology, chemistry etc., is used by over 5 000 researchers coming from France and abroad. The facility is a “public” company employing about 500 people, founded by the CNRS and the CEA, and partner of the Paris-Saclay University.

Context of the thesis

SOLEIL is a light source which is in operation since 2006 at Saint Aubin in the Southwest of Paris in France. The facility provides photons of high intensity covering a wide spectral range extending from Infrared to hard X-rays and serves an international community in many fields of science including physics, material science, chemistry and biology. The radiation is produced by 2.75 GeV electrons buckets crossing bending magnets and periodic magnetic devices called insertion devices made of electromagnets or in most cases of permanents magnets. To cover a wide spectral domain in particular in the Soft X-Rays, most of the beamlines are equipped with two insertion devices. The increasing demand of photon brightness has pushed most of the present Synchrotrons in the world to propose new light sources or to upgrade their own storage rings. In 2017, SOLEIL started an Upgrade project of the accelerators and beamlines. The Synchrotron is presently in phase of studying the feasibility to decrease the horizontal emittance with the objective to reach a gain of two orders of magnitude in photon brightness with a very compact new storage ring. However, the increase of the number of guiding magnets has led to a reduction of the space dedicated to insertion (between 30 % and 50 %) and to deliver wide spectral range to insertion beam lines, innovative solutions have been undertaken. The Magnetism and Insertion Device Group of SOLEIL is presently studying the capability of building large spectral domain insertion devices. In the VUV domain, a 5 meter long with large period undulator long will be studied and prototyped whereas in the soft X-Ray two technical solutions are considered. On the one hand, DUAL insertion device made of two independent insertion devices used alternatively by means of a mobile platform. On the other, SOLEIL has also planned to study a magnetic system capable to switch from one magnetic periodicity to its triple value. Both solutions aim at providing photons in a large spectral range.

PhD thesis work

The selected candidate will join the Magnetism and Insertion Device Group and will be trained on magnetic measurements of insertion devices, the use of specific magnetic (RADIA code or TOSCA3D) and radiation (SRW or SPECTRA) softwares.

Insertion device for VUV polarized photons

He/She will focus his/her work in a first step on the study of an undulator dedicated for the DESIRS beamline operating between 5 eV and 40 eV. The candidate will propose a magnetic design in accordance with the experimental needs (spectral range, radiated power, polarization rate) and will evaluate the magnetic, optical performance and the impact on the electron beam dynamics, in particular the additional focusing/defocusing acting on electron bunches, betatron coupling and beta beating. He/She will take in charge a prototype of the undulator be involved in the mechanical studies, specifically by estimating the magnetic forces acting between magnetic arrays which generate mechanical deformation of frame and girders and by evaluating the performance of motors to move arrays to change the photon energy or polarization.

Insertion device for Soft X-Rays polarized photons

Insertion device dedicated for soft X-Rays polarized photons are foreseen to be installed in 4.2 m long straight section (7 meters on present SOLEIL Synchrotron). To continue covering the present spectral range and wider with shorter insertion devices, two period insertion device are to be studied: DUAL undulators and bi-periodic undulators.

DUAL undulator

DUAL undulators are made of two conventional independent insertion device which can be switched from one to the other by a lateral position change. The main challenge remains in the accuracy of the positioning of each insertion device which may impact the magnetic performance of the system. In accordance with the experimental needs and technical constraints, the candidate will propose a magnetic design by defining the period value, the number of periods, the magnetic field and will evaluate the flux in the required spectral and polarization rate. The candidate will also estimate the magnetic forces, the mechanical deformation and the impact on the magnetic field and optical performances. A prototype using present 1.6-meter long carriage is in phase of construction with the objective of checking the accuracy of lateral position and evaluating the impact of mispositioning on the optical performances and on the beam dynamics. He/She will measure and propose magnetic corrections with a dedicated bench. After qualifying the prototype will be follow by a full-scale study and construction.

Bi-periodic undulator

Bi-periodic undulators are unique devices made of a special magnet arrangement enabling to switch the magnetic periodicity from one period value to its triple value by means of longitudinal displacement of magnet arrays. This undulator is a compact and innovative insertion device well adapted to spatially limited straight section and can operate alternatively with two magnetic periodicities to extend the spectral range. The candidate will propose a magnetic conception and will evaluate the magnetic performance, the impact on the beam dynamics, the spectral performance.

He/She will compare magnetic and optical performance to a mono-periodic insertion device one and to a DUAL undulator. He/She will take into account the realistic technical constraints related to the operation such as the amount of power caught by vacuum chamber or storage ring equipment or effect on the electron beam. He/she will measure and correct both systems with a dedicated bench with the objective of qualification which will be followed by the construction of a full-scale insertion device which will be operated for dedicated beamline.

Magnetic bench

The undulator proposed for DESIRS beamline and Soft X-Ray beamlines are a new insertion devices, very compact, without any lateral access to measure the magnetic field. These Insertion devices cannot be measured with the present benches used in the laboratory. The candidate will propose and study a magnetic bench capable to measure field in tiny space.

Dates

November, 1rst 2022 – October 30th 2025

Contact

Dr. Olivier Marcouillé

Olivier.marcouille@synchrotron-soleil.fr

Job Features

Job CategoryDoctorat

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

PHD : Dispositif d’insertion multi-périodique, Bures-sur-Yvette , France

Publié il y a 2 mois

SOLEIL est le synchrotron national français, situé sur le plateau de Saclay près de Paris. C’est un instrument pluridisciplinaire et un laboratoire de recherche, dont la mission est de conduire des programmes de recherche utilisant le rayonnement synchrotron, de développer une instrumentation de pointe sur les lignes de lumière, et de les mettre à disposition de la communauté scientifique. SOLEIL, outil unique à la fois pour la recherche académique et les applications industrielles dans un large éventail de disciplines telles que la physique, la biologie, la chimie, etc., est utilisé par plus de 5 000 chercheurs français et étrangers. L’établissement est une entreprise « publique » employant environ 500 personnes, fondée par le CNRS et le CEA, et partenaire de l’Université Paris-Saclay.

Contexte de la thèse

SOLEIL est une source lumineuse qui est en opération depuis 2006 à Saint Aubin dans le sud-ouest de Paris en France. L’installation fournit des photons de haute intensité couvrant une large gamme spectrale allant de l’infrarouge aux rayons X durs et dessert une communauté internationale dans de nombreux domaines scientifiques, notamment la physique, la science des matériaux, la chimie et la biologie. Le rayonnement est produit par des seaux d’électrons de 2,75 GeV traversant des aimants de courbure et des dispositifs magnétiques périodiques appelés dispositifs d’insertion constitués d’électroaimants ou le plus souvent d’aimants permanents. Pour couvrir un large domaine spectral notamment dans les Rayons X Mous, la plupart des lignes de lumière sont équipées de deux dispositifs d’insertion. La demande croissante de luminosité photonique a poussé la plupart des Synchrotrons présents dans le monde à proposer de nouvelles sources lumineuses ou à faire évoluer leurs propres anneaux de stockage. En 2017, SOLEIL a lancé un projet de mise à niveau des accélérateurs et des lignes de lumière. Le Synchrotron est actuellement en phase d’étude de faisabilité pour diminuer l’émittance horizontale avec l’objectif d’atteindre un gain de deux ordres de grandeur en luminosité photonique avec un nouvel anneau de stockage très compact. Cependant, l’augmentation du nombre d’aimants de guidage a conduit à une réduction de l’espace dédié à l’insertion (entre 30 % et 50 %) et pour délivrer une large gamme spectrale aux lignes de faisceau d’insertion, des solutions innovantes ont été entreprises. Le Groupe Magnétisme et Dispositifs d’Insertion de SOLEIL étudie actuellement la possibilité de construire des dispositifs d’insertion à large domaine spectral. Dans le domaine VUV, un onduleur de 5 mètres de long à grande période sera étudié et prototypé alors que dans le domaine des X mous deux solutions techniques sont envisagées. D’un côté, Dispositif d’insertion DUAL composé de deux dispositifs d’insertion indépendants utilisés alternativement au moyen d’une plate-forme mobile. D’autre part, SOLEIL a également prévu d’étudier un système magnétique capable de passer d’une périodicité magnétique à sa triple valeur. Les deux solutions visent à fournir des photons dans une large gamme spectrale.

Travail de thèse de doctorat

Le candidat retenu rejoindra le Groupe Magnétisme et Dispositifs d’Insertion et sera formé sur les mesures magnétiques des dispositifs d’insertion, l’utilisation de logiciels spécifiques magnétiques (code RADIA ou TOSCA3D) et de rayonnement (SRW ou SPECTRA).

Dispositif d’insertion pour photons polarisés VUV

Il/Elle concentrera ses travaux dans un premier temps sur l’étude d’un onduleur dédié à la ligne de lumière DESIRS fonctionnant entre 5 eV et 40 eV. Le candidat proposera une conception magnétique en accord avec les besoins expérimentaux (gamme spectrale, puissance rayonnée, taux de polarisation) et évaluera les performances magnétiques, optiques et l’impact sur la dynamique du faisceau d’électrons, en particulier la focalisation/défocalisation supplémentaire agissant sur l’électron paquets, couplage bêtatron et battement bêta. Il/Elle prendra en charge un prototype de l’onduleur sera impliqué dans les études mécaniques, notamment en estimant les forces magnétiques agissant entre les réseaux magnétiques qui génèrent des déformations mécaniques du cadre et des poutres et en évaluant les performances des moteurs pour déplacer les réseaux afin de modifier le énergie photonique ou polarisation.

Dispositif d’insertion pour Soft X-Rays photons polarisés

Des dispositifs d’insertion dédiés aux photons polarisés des rayons X mous sont prévus pour être installés dans une section droite de 4,2 m de long (7 mètres sur le synchrotron SOLEIL actuel). Pour continuer à couvrir la gamme spectrale actuelle et plus large avec des dispositifs d’insertion plus courts, des dispositifs d’insertion à deux périodes sont à étudier : les onduleurs DUAL et les onduleurs bi-périodiques.

DOUBLE onduleur

Les onduleurs DUAL sont constitués de deux dispositifs d’insertion indépendants conventionnels qui peuvent être commutés de l’un à l’autre par un changement de position latéral. Le principal défi reste la précision du positionnement de chaque dispositif d’insertion qui peut impacter les performances magnétiques du système. En fonction des besoins expérimentaux et des contraintes techniques, le candidat proposera une conception magnétique en définissant la valeur de la période, le nombre de périodes, le champ magnétique et évaluera le flux dans le spectre et le taux de polarisation requis. Le candidat estimera également les forces magnétiques, la déformation mécanique et l’impact sur le champ magnétique et les performances optiques. Un prototype utilisant le présent 1. Un chariot de 6 mètres de long est en phase de construction avec pour objectif de vérifier la précision de la position latérale et d’évaluer l’impact d’un mauvais positionnement sur les performances optiques et sur la dynamique du faisceau. Il/Elle mesurera et proposera des corrections magnétiques avec un banc dédié. Après qualification, le prototype sera suivi d’une étude et d’une construction à grande échelle.

Ondulateur bi-périodique

Les onduleurs bi-périodiques sont des dispositifs uniques constitués d’un agencement d’aimants spécial permettant de commuter la périodicité magnétique d’une valeur de période à sa valeur triple au moyen du déplacement longitudinal des réseaux d’aimants. Cet onduleur est un dispositif d’insertion compact et innovant bien adapté aux sections rectilignes spatialement limitées et pouvant fonctionner alternativement avec deux périodicités magnétiques pour étendre le domaine spectral. Le candidat proposera une conception magnétique et évaluera les performances magnétiques, l’impact sur la dynamique du faisceau, les performances spectrales.

Il/Elle comparera les performances magnétiques et optiques d’un dispositif d’insertion mono-périodique et d’un onduleur DUAL. Il/Elle prendra en compte les contraintes techniques réalistes liées à l’opération telles que la quantité de puissance captée par l’équipement de la chambre à vide ou de l’anneau de stockage ou l’effet sur le faisceau d’électrons. Il/elle mesurera et corrigera les deux systèmes avec un banc dédié avec un objectif de qualification qui sera suivi par la construction d’un dispositif d’insertion grandeur nature qui sera exploité pour une ligne de lumière dédiée.

Banc magnétique

L’onduleur proposé pour les lignes de lumière DESIRS et Soft X-Ray est un nouveau dispositif d’insertion, très compact, sans aucun accès latéral pour mesurer le champ magnétique. Ces dispositifs d’insertion ne peuvent pas être mesurés avec les bancs actuels utilisés au laboratoire. Le candidat proposera et étudiera un banc magnétique capable de mesurer un champ dans un espace réduit.

Rendez-vous

1er novembre 2022 – 30 octobre 2025

Contact

Dr Olivier Marcouillé

Olivier.marcouille@synchrotron-soleil.fr

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiDoctorat

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page