Several postdoctoral opportunities in Genomic Epidemiology or Molecular Epidemiology

France
Posted 3 months ago

The Genomic Epidemiology Branch (GEM) and the Nutrition and Metabolism Branch (NME) investigate lifestyle, metabolic and genetic factors involved in cancer in diverse populations, with the aim of contributing to primary prevention of cancer. This is done by conducting large multidisciplinary projects that involve collaboration with leading international academic, research and clinical centres.

Several postdoctoral opportunities in Genomic Epidemiology or Molecular Epidemiology are immediately available within these branches to contribute to the DISCERN project – “Discovering the causes of three poorly understood cancers in Europe” – newly funded by the European Commission. DISCERN is a collaborative international study that will combine a large-scale biorepository including biological samples and extensive epidemiological and exposure data from large European cohorts and cancer patients. It will involve state-of-the-art genomic technologies (e.g. RNA sequencing, duplex DNA sequencing, single cell multi-omics and spatial proteomics), metabolomic techniques and geographical mapping to explore the role of known and novel risk factors for three cancers across Europe – renal, pancreas and colorectal cancer. The successful candidate(s) will be supervised by Dr Paul Brennan (head of the Genomic Epidemiology branch) and Dr Marc Gunter (head of the Nutrition and Metabolism Branch) as well as other relevant Scientists in the Branches. They will conduct integrative analyses focusing on joint interpretation of omics data generated by the project and epidemiological information together with a multidisciplinary team of international collaborators.

Essential or desired selection criteria include:

·        A recent PhD in related fields such as: genomic epidemiology, molecular epidemiology, biological data, bioinformatics, biostatistics and genetics.

·        Strong background in the analysis of biological data, epidemiology, bioinformatics, or biostatistics.

·        Strong communication skills, with the ability to undertake activities with collaborators but also independently.

·        Strong English language skills both spoken and written.

·        Willingness to learn new skills and techniques.

·        Bring new ideas and be enthusiastic about cancer genomic and molecular epidemiology research.

·        Prior experience manipulating multi-omics, epidemiological and clinical data using statistical methods.

·        Strong background within statistical or scripting languages such a R or Python.

These postdoctoral opportunities are initially for one year with the expectation of renewal and is for candidates who have completed a Ph.D. The IARC stipend is currently €2,820 per month (net). The cost of travel for the postdoc, and in certain circumstances for dependants, will be met. Dependence and health insurance allowances will be paid, if applicable. Applications from nationals from low and middle-income countries are encouraged. IARC welcomes around 40 postdoctoral scientists, at any one time.

The postdoctoral scientist will be in an innovative and scientifically stimulating environment in a new building due to open in early 2023 and will have opportunities to interact and collaborate with colleagues from IARC and its worldwide networks. For more information about postdoctoral stays at IARC, please read the Postdoctoral charter here

Applicants should send a CV, including list of publications and a description of previous research experience, as well as a motivation letter and the names and addresses of two academic referees, by email to:  discern@iarc.who.int (please mention in the title of your email “Postdoctoral opportunity – DISCERN – IARC”)

To the attention of: Dr Paul Brennan and Dr Marc Gunter

Job Features

Job CategoryPost doc

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

Plusieurs opportunités postdoctorales en épidémiologie génomique ou en épidémiologie moléculaire sont immédiatement disponibles, France

France
Publié il y a 4 semaines

La Direction de l’épidémiologie génomique ( GEM ) et la Direction de la nutrition et du métabolisme ( NME ) étudient le mode de vie, les facteurs métaboliques et génétiques impliqués dans le cancer dans diverses populations, dans le but de contribuer à la prévention primaire du cancer. Cela se fait en menant de grands projets multidisciplinaires qui impliquent une collaboration avec des centres universitaires, de recherche et cliniques internationaux de premier plan.

Plusieurs opportunités postdoctorales en épidémiologie génomique ou en épidémiologie moléculaire sont immédiatement disponibles au sein de ces branches pour contribuer au projet DISCERN – « Découvrir les causes de trois cancers mal compris en Europe » – nouvellement financé par la Commission européenne. DISCERN est une étude internationale collaborative qui combinera un biodépôt à grande échelle comprenant des échantillons biologiques et de nombreuses données épidémiologiques et d’exposition provenant de grandes cohortes européennes et de patients atteints de cancer. Il impliquera des technologies génomiques de pointe (par exemple , séquençage d’ARN , duplex d’ADNséquençage, multi-omique unicellulaire et protéomique spatiale), techniques métabolomiques et cartographie géographique pour explorer le rôle des facteurs de risque connus et nouveaux pour trois cancers en Europe – cancer du rein, du pancréas et colorectal. Le ou les candidats retenus seront supervisés par le Dr Paul Brennan (chef de la branche d’épidémiologie génomique) et le Dr Marc Gunter (chef de la branche Nutrition et métabolisme) ainsi que d’autres scientifiques concernés dans les branches. Ils mèneront des analyses intégratives axées sur l’interprétation conjointe des données omiques générées par le projet et des informations épidémiologiques avec une équipe multidisciplinaire de collaborateurs internationaux.

Les critères de sélection essentiels ou souhaités comprennent :

· Un doctorat récent dans des domaines connexes tels que : l’épidémiologie génomique, l’épidémiologie moléculaire, les données biologiques, la bioinformatique, la biostatistique et la génétique.

· Solide expérience dans l’analyse de données biologiques, l’épidémiologie, la bioinformatique ou la biostatistique.

· Solides compétences en communication, avec la capacité d’entreprendre des activités avec des collaborateurs mais aussi de manière indépendante.

· Solides compétences en anglais tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit.

· Volonté d’apprendre de nouvelles compétences et techniques.

· Apporter de nouvelles idées et s’enthousiasmer pour la recherche en génomique et en épidémiologie moléculaire du cancer.

· Expérience préalable dans la manipulation de données multi-omiques, épidémiologiques et cliniques à l’aide de méthodes statistiques.

· Solide expérience dans les langages statistiques ou de script tels que R ou Python.

Ces opportunités postdoctorales sont initialement d’une durée d’un an avec possibilité de renouvellement et s’adressent aux candidats qui ont terminé un doctorat. L’ allocation du CIRC est actuellement de 2 820 € par mois (net). Les frais de déplacement du postdoc et, dans certaines circonstances, des personnes à charge, seront pris en charge. Des allocations dépendance et assurance maladie seront versées, le cas échéant. Les candidatures de ressortissants de pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire sont encouragées. Le CIRC accueille environ 40 scientifiques postdoctoraux, à tout moment.

Le chercheur postdoctoral sera dans un environnement innovant et scientifiquement stimulant dans un nouveau bâtiment qui doit ouvrir ses portes au début de 2023 et aura l’occasion d’interagir et de collaborer avec des collègues du CIRC et de ses réseaux mondiaux. Pour plus d’informations sur les séjours postdoctoraux au CIRC , veuillez consulter la Charte du postdoctoral ici

Les candidats doivent envoyer un CV, y compris la liste des publications et une description de l’expérience de recherche antérieure, ainsi qu’une lettre de motivation et les noms et adresses de deux arbitres universitaires, par courrier électronique à:   discern@iarc.who.int (veuillez mentionner dans le titre de votre email « Opportunité postdoctorale – DISCERN – IARC »)

A l’attention de : Dr Paul Brennan et Dr Marc Gunter

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPost doc

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.