PhD Position in Modeling of Induced Seismicity

Espagne
Posted 3 years ago
  • ORGANISATION/COMPANY
    Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research (IDÆA-CSIC)
  • RESEARCH FIELD
    Engineering › Civil engineering
    Environmental science › Earth science
    Geosciences › Hydrology
    Physics › Applied physics
  • RESEARCHER PROFILE
    First Stage Researcher (R1)
  • APPLICATION DEADLINE
    29/02/2020 23:00 – Europe/Brussels
  • LOCATION
    Spain › Barcelona
  • TYPE OF CONTRACT
    Temporary
  • JOB STATUS
    Full-time
  • HOURS PER WEEK
    40
  • OFFER STARTING DATE
    01/06/2020
  • EU RESEARCH FRAMEWORK PROGRAMME
    H2020 / ERC
  • REFERENCE NUMBER
    801809

 

Fed up with polluted skies? Lookingforward to sunny days? Contribute with your research to address one of the major challenges of the XXI century: achieving zero emissions to enjoy the blue sky again.

We offer a 3-year PhD position for modeling induced post-injection seismicity as a result of fluid injection/extraction related to geothermal energy, geologic carbon storage and subsurface energy storage. The position is related to the ERC-StG project GEoREST (predictinG EaRthquakES induced by fluid injecTion) (http://www.georest.eu), funded by the European Research Council (ERC, https://erc.europa.eu). The candidate will perform her/his research at the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) in a collaborative and enthusiastic environment.

QUALIFICATIONS

We are looking for highly motivated, perseverant and creative individuals with strong analytical and problem solving skills willing to leave their footprint on science. Candidates should hold a MSc in Engineering or Physics obtained within the last 3 years and have good knowledge on geomechanics and/or geotechnical engineering and hydrogeology. Experience in numerical modeling and programming will be appreciated. Additionally, we will value scientific publications in international journals and participations in conferences. The candidate will be integrated into an international team, so good communication skills and team working capabilities are required. Excellent level of English, both written and oral, is a requirement.

APPLICATIONS

If you are interested, please send an application, including CV, English certificate, a cover letter describing interests and qualifications related to the position and contact details of two reference people, to Victor Vilarrasa, erc.georest@gmail.com, before 29th of February,  Selection will be performed on the basis of the excellence of the CV and motivation.

REQUIREMENTS

Offer Requirements

  • REQUIRED LANGUAGES
    ENGLISH: Excellent

Skills/Qualifications

We are looking for highly motivated, perseverant and creative

individuals with strong analytical and problem solving skills willing to leave

their footprint on science. Candidates should hold a MSc in Engineering or

Physics obtained within the last 3 years and have good knowledge on

geomechanics and/or geotechnical engineering and hydrogeology. Experience in numerical

modeling and programming will be appreciated. Additionally, we will value scientific

publications in international journals and participations in conferences. The

candidate will be integrated into an international team, so good communication

skills and team working capabilities are required. Excellent level of English,

both written and oral, is a requirement.

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Position du doctorant dans la modélisation de la sismicité induite

Espagne
Publié il y a 2 ans

Nous proposons un poste de doctorat de 3 ans pour la modélisation de la sismicité post-injection induite résultant de l’injection / extraction de fluide liée à l’énergie géothermique, au stockage géologique du carbone et au stockage d’énergie souterraine. Le poste est lié au projet ERC-StG GEoREST (Prévision des EaRthquakES induits par l’injection de fluides) ( http://www.georest.eu ), financé par le Conseil européen de la recherche (ERC, https://erc.europa.eu ) . Le candidat effectuera ses recherches au Conseil national espagnol de la recherche (CSIC) dans un environnement collaboratif et enthousiaste.

QUALIFICATIONS

Nous recherchons des individus hautement motivés, persévérants et créatifs avec de solides compétences analytiques et de résolution de problèmes prêts à laisser leur empreinte sur la science. Les candidats doivent être titulaires d’une maîtrise en génie ou en physique obtenue au cours des 3 dernières années et avoir une bonne connaissance de la géomécanique et / ou du génie géotechnique et de l’hydrogéologie. Une expérience en modélisation numérique et en programmation sera appréciée. De plus, nous valoriserons les publications scientifiques dans des revues internationales et les participations à des conférences. Le candidat sera intégré dans une équipe internationale, donc de bonnes compétences en communication et des capacités de travail en équipe sont nécessaires. Un excellent niveau d’anglais, écrit et oral, est une exigence.

APPLICATIONS

Si vous êtes intéressé, s’il vous plaît envoyer une demande, y compris CV, certificat anglais, une lettre de motivation décrivant les intérêts et les qualifications relatives à la position et les coordonnées de deux personnes de référence, à Victor Vilarrasa, [email protected] , avant le 29 e Février, la sélection sera effectuée sur la base de l’excellence du CV et de la motivation.

EXIGENCES

Exigences de l’offre

  • LANGUES REQUISES
    ANGLAIS: Excellent

Compétences / Qualifications

Nous recherchons des personnes très motivées, persévérantes et créatives

les personnes ayant de solides compétences en analyse et en résolution de problèmes sont prêtes à partir

leur empreinte sur la science. Les candidats doivent détenir un MSc en ingénierie ou

Physique obtenue au cours des 3 dernières années et ayant une bonne connaissance

géomécanique et / ou géotechnique et hydrogéologie. Expérience en numérique

la modélisation et la programmation seront appréciées. De plus, nous valoriserons la science

publications dans des revues internationales et participations à des conférences. le

le candidat sera intégré dans une équipe internationale, donc une bonne communication

des compétences et des capacités de travail en équipe sont requises. Excellent niveau d’anglais,

à la fois écrite et orale, est une exigence.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss