MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FACULTY POSITIONS – OPEN RANK UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA CHAMPAIGN

USA
Posted 4 months ago

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MatSE) at the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign is seeking to fill two full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty positions at any rank, one in Biomaterials and Soft Matter and one open to broader areas of materials science and engineering with an emphasis on the emerging areas of Energy, Sustainability, Quantum Science, Data Science, and/or Manufacturing. All qualified junior and outstanding senior candidates will be considered. Candidates from under-represented groups are strongly encouraged to apply. Faculty members in the department are expected to initiate and sustain a vigorous research program. The Department of Materials Science and Engineering is committed to building a culturally diverse educational environment. Successful candidates are expected to demonstrate a strong commitment to undergraduate and graduate teaching, and to diversity, equity, and inclusion through research, teaching, and/or service endeavors.

Qualified senior candidates may also be considered for tenured Associate Professor and Full Professor positions as part of the Grainger Engineering Breakthroughs Initiative. Over the next few years, more than 35 new endowed professorships and chairs will be established in areas of strategic interest to The Grainger College of Engineering. Such areas include, but are not limited to, bioengineering, big data, quantum information, robotics, and machine learning. More information regarding the Grainger Initiative can be found at grainger.illinois.edu/research/initiatives/gebi

To apply, please create a candidate profile at jobs.illinois.edu. The application package should include a statement of teaching interests, statement of research interests, statement on commitment to diversity, a curriculum vitae, and a publication list. The statement on diversity should address past and/or potential contributions to diversity, equity, and inclusion through research, teaching, and/or service. Examples of such statements and guidance can be found at grainger.illinois.edu/about/diversity/guidelines. Candidates for tenure-track positions must provide names and contact information for three letters of reference in the application file. Candidates for tenured positions must have achieved national and international recognition for their scholarship; selected senior candidates will be contacted to provide references.

The Department of MatSE at Illinois has a long tradition of excellence in materials research, teaching, and service. The department currently has 25 core faculty and approximately 310 undergraduate and 213 graduate students, with highly ranked graduate and undergraduate programs. The research portfolio covers hard and soft materials, biomaterials, and computational materials science. Extensive state-of-the-art characterization and nanofabrication facilities are housed on campus in the Materials Research Laboratory, the Holonyak Micro & Nanotechnology Lab, and the Beckman Institute. The Materials Research Laboratory recently completed a major infrastructure renovation and instrument acquisitions. The campus also hosts exceptional computational facilities, including the National Center for Supercomputing Applications and the National Petascale Computing Facility.

At the time of appointment, applicants must hold an earned doctorate in an appropriate field. Salary and rank will be commensurate with qualifications. The expected start date is August 16, 2023, but this is negotiable.

To ensure full consideration, applications must be received by December 15, 2022. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled. Early applications are strongly encouraged as interviews may take place during the application period, but a hiring decision will not be made until after the closing date.

For any questions concerning the application process, please send an email to matse@illinois.edu.

We have an active and successful dual-career partner placement program and a strong commitment to work-life balance and family-friendly programs for faculty and staff (provost.illinois.edu/faculty-affairs/work-life-balance).

The University of Illinois System is an equal opportunity employer, including but not limited to disability and/or veteran status, and complies with all applicable state and federal employment mandates. Please visit Required Employment Notices and Posters to view our non-discrimination statement and find additional information about required background checks, sexual harassment/misconduct disclosures, COVID-19 vaccination requirement, and employment eligibility review through E-Verify.

Applicants with disabilities are encouraged to apply and may request a reasonable accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act (2008) to complete the application and/or interview process. Requests may be submitted through the reasonable accommodations portal, or by contacting the Accessibility & Accommodations Division of the Office for Access and Equity at 217-333-0885, or by emailing accessibility@illinois.edu.

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

POSTES DE FACULTÉ EN SCIENCES ET GÉNIE DES MATÉRIAUX – OPEN RANK UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA CHAMPAIGN

USA
Publié il y a 2 mois

Le Département de science et génie des matériaux (MatSE) de l’Université de l’Illinois Urbana Champaign cherche à pourvoir deux postes de professeurs permanents ou menant à la permanence à n’importe quel rang, un en biomatériaux et matière molle et un ouvert à des domaines plus larges de matériaux science et ingénierie en mettant l’accent sur les domaines émergents de l’énergie, de la durabilité, de la science quantique, de la science des données et / ou de la fabrication. Tous les candidats juniors et seniors exceptionnels qualifiés seront considérés. Les candidats issus de groupes sous-représentés sont fortement encouragés à postuler. On s’attend à ce que les membres du corps professoral du département lancent et maintiennent un programme de recherche vigoureux. Le Département de science et génie des matériaux s’engage à créer un environnement éducatif culturellement diversifié.

Les candidats seniors qualifiés peuvent également être considérés pour des postes permanents de professeur agrégé et de professeur titulaire dans le cadre de l’initiative Grainger Engineering Breakthroughs. Au cours des prochaines années, plus de 35 nouvelles chaires et chaires seront créées dans des domaines d’intérêt stratégique pour le Grainger College of Engineering. Ces domaines comprennent, mais sans s’y limiter, la bio-ingénierie, les mégadonnées, l’information quantique, la robotique et l’apprentissage automatique. Pour plus d’informations sur l’Initiative Grainger, rendez-vous sur grainger.illinois.edu/research/initiatives/gebi

Pour postuler, veuillez créer un profil de candidat sur jobs.illinois.edu . Le dossier de candidature doit inclure une déclaration d’intérêts pédagogiques, une déclaration d’intérêts de recherche, une déclaration d’engagement envers la diversité, un curriculum vitae et une liste de publications. La déclaration sur la diversité doit aborder les contributions passées et/ou potentielles à la diversité, à l’équité et à l’inclusion par la recherche, l’enseignement et/ou les services. Des exemples de telles déclarations et conseils peuvent être trouvés sur grainger.illinois.edu/about/diversity/guidelines. Les candidats aux postes menant à la permanence doivent fournir les noms et les coordonnées de trois lettres de référence dans le dossier de candidature. Les candidats à des postes permanents doivent avoir obtenu une reconnaissance nationale et internationale pour leur bourse; les candidats seniors sélectionnés seront contactés pour fournir des références.

Le département MatSE de l’Illinois a une longue tradition d’excellence dans la recherche, l’enseignement et le service des matériaux. Le département compte actuellement 25 professeurs principaux et environ 310 étudiants de premier cycle et 213 étudiants des cycles supérieurs, avec des programmes d’études supérieures et de premier cycle hautement classés. Le portefeuille de recherche couvre les matériaux durs et mous, les biomatériaux et la science computationnelle des matériaux. De vastes installations de caractérisation et de nanofabrication à la pointe de la technologie sont hébergées sur le campus dans le laboratoire de recherche sur les matériaux, le laboratoire de micro et nanotechnologie Holonyak et l’Institut Beckman. Le Laboratoire de recherche sur les matériaux a récemment terminé une rénovation majeure de l’infrastructure et des acquisitions d’instruments. Le campus abrite également des installations informatiques exceptionnelles,

Au moment de la nomination, les candidats doivent détenir un doctorat acquis dans un domaine approprié. Le salaire et le rang seront proportionnels aux qualifications. La date de début prévue est le 16 août 2023, mais cela est négociable.

Pour garantir un examen complet, les candidatures doivent être reçues au plus tard le 15 décembre 2022 . Les candidatures seront acceptées jusqu’à ce que le poste soit pourvu. Les candidatures anticipées sont fortement encouragées car des entretiens peuvent avoir lieu pendant la période de candidature, mais une décision d’embauche ne sera prise qu’après la date de clôture.

Pour toute question concernant le processus de candidature, veuillez envoyer un e-mail à matse@illinois.edu .

Nous avons un programme actif et réussi de placement de partenaires à double carrière et un engagement fort envers l’équilibre travail-vie personnelle et des programmes favorables à la famille pour les professeurs et le personnel ( provost.illinois.edu/faculty-affairs/work-life-balance ).

Le système de l’Université de l’Illinois est un employeur garantissant l’égalité des chances, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, le statut d’invalidité et / ou d’ancien combattant, et se conforme à tous les mandats d’emploi fédéraux et étatiques applicables. Veuillez visiter Avis et affiches d’emploi requis pour consulter notre déclaration de non-discrimination et trouver des informations supplémentaires sur les vérifications d’antécédents requises, les divulgations de harcèlement sexuel/d’inconduite, l’exigence de vaccination COVID -19 et l’examen de l’éligibilité à l’emploi via E-Verify .

Les candidats handicapés sont encouragés à postuler et peuvent demander un aménagement raisonnable en vertu de l’Americans with Disabilities Act (2008) pour compléter le processus de candidature et / ou d’entretien. Les demandes peuvent être soumises via le portail des aménagements raisonnables , ou en contactant la Division de l’accessibilité et des aménagements du Bureau pour l’accès et l’équité au 217-333-0885, ou en envoyant un e-mail àaccessibility@illinois.edu .

Veuillez postuler via le site Web du recruteur

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.