Postdoctoral Fellow in Education International Policy and Innovation Impact Laboratory HSE University Moscow, Russia

Russie
Posted 3 years ago

The Higher School of Economics International Policy and Innovation Impact Laboratory in Moscow, Russia, invites applications for postdoctoral research positions in the field of education / economics / sociology.

We are looking for a specialist with an academic background in economics or sociology and with passion for qualitative or quantitative research. We welcome candidates with strong analytical skills, especially those that have worked with STATA and R.

All Laboratory research fellows have an amazing opportunity to carry out research in the field of educational policy and publish obtained results in highly recognized international journals, to participate in international meetings and workshops, and to teach courses at the Institute of Education master programs.

The Laboratory is a friendly team of devoted scholars who provide a basis for evidence-based education policy in Russia and other countries. In doing so, the Laboratory widely collaborates with third-party organizations (governments, corporations, non-profits, research institutes) to evaluate its innovative products (for example in EdTech). We also work with international studies data such as TIMSS, PISA, PIRLS, ICILS to learn from schooling policies and teachers’ practices in other countries.

Our research partners include Stanford’s Center for Education Policy Analysis, Harvard’s Center for Education Policy Research, and the Center for Benefit-Cost Studies of Education at Teachers College, Columbia University. In our study, we are focused on high-quality large-scale survey data collection as well as large-scale policy and program impact evaluation studies (e.g. experimental and quasi-experimental studies).

The role of the Laboratory is to help decision-makers in education to improve and equalize students’ educational outcomes.

About HSE University

The Higher School of Economics (HSE University) is a young, dynamic and fast-growing Russian research university. Over the past 25 years, HSE University has become a leader in Russian education, while also being recognized globally.

For instance, we were the first state-run university in Russia to begin recruiting on the international academic market. We aim at being a university with a highly attuned approach to training new professionals. Therefore, we are eager to hire people with real experience, as well as basic and applied knowledge. Committed to high-quality research, HSE University now has more than 100 research institutes and centers and over 30 international research laboratories collaborating with international specialists from all over the world.

Requirements

The general requirements for the postdoctoral fellowship positions are the following:

  • Candidates must hold a recent PhD in the field of economics or sociology or related areas which was awarded over the last 5 years or received before starting work at HSE in a relevant field by an internationally recognized university and has been assessed by external reviewers as having the potential to pursue research that is publishable in leading peer-reviewed journals;
  • Candidates should have a strong background in economics or sociology and with passion for qualitative or quantitative research, ability to work in team
  • Fluent English is an obligatory condition as research and other activities are conducted in English. Knowledge of Russian is not required;
  • Relevant experience will be an asset although not required.

The position involves:

  • working under the direct supervision of Professor Prashant Loyalka, Laboratory Director, PhD;
  • participants are encouraged to pursue their own research along with working on Laboratory’s research projects such as:
    • How can we cost-effectively integrate education technology or EdTech into students’ lives? As part of this, we will examine the potential impacts that a host of EdTech tools (e.g. computer assistant learning, dual-teacher long-distance learning platforms, AI-assisted intelligent tutors, online courses (MOOCs), and the like) can have on students’ cognitive and non-cognitive outcomes. We will need to analyze the role of EdTech at different stages of integration: from the short-term in which EdTech is new to students, parents, and teachers to the long-term in which students, parents, and teachers are used to the EdTech. We will also study the role of EdTech at various ages and levels of education (from primary to high school to college).
    • Are we getting students ready for the new global economy and digital age? As a complement to evaluating the use of EdTech in students’ lives, the Laboratory will also focus its attention on evaluating programs and policies which can help students become digitally literate, acquire technical skills, and build modern skills they will need in the future economy. We will continue studying heterogeneity of these effects for students of different social class, gender, and ability level to see how these types of policies and programs affect inequality in educational outcomes.
  • writing research papers for international peer-reviewed journals in co-authorship with the members of Laboratory;
  • participation in the events of the Laboratory and other contribution to the Lab’s development;
  • public presentations of candidate’s own research to the academic community;
  • some teaching is encouraged, though not required.

Conditions

Appointments are normally made for one year. Postdoctoral fellows have an opportunity of renewal of the contract (no more than two times).

HSE University offers postdoctoral fellows a competitive salary, the standard medical insurance plan, a working space equipped with a computer and free Internet access at the University.

The Laboratory offers access to its databases and analytical software, as well as options for collecting additional data if necessary for research

Application Process

Applications must be submitted online. Please provide a CVa statement of research interest and a recent research paper submitted via an online application form. At least two letters of recommendation should be sent directly to the International Faculty Recruitment Office at fellowship@hse.ru before the application deadline. Please note that direct applications to the hiring International Policy and Innovation Impact Laboratory may not be reviewed.

Read more about the application process here.

The deadline for the applications is February 9, 2020.

Apply Now

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Postes de recherche postdoctorale en éducation Laboratoire de politique internationale et d’impact de l’innovation Université HSE Moscou, Russie

Russie
Publié il y a 2 ans

Le laboratoire de politique internationale et d’impact de l’innovation de l’École supérieure d’économie de Moscou, en Russie, lance un appel à candidatures pour des postes de recherche postdoctorale dans le domaine de l’éducation / économie / sociologie.

Nous recherchons un spécialiste de formation académique en économie ou sociologie et passionné de recherche qualitative ou quantitative. Nous accueillons les candidats ayant de solides compétences analytiques, en particulier ceux qui ont travaillé avec STATA et R.

Tous les boursiers de recherche en laboratoire ont une opportunité incroyable de mener des recherches dans le domaine de la politique éducative et de publier les résultats obtenus dans des revues internationales hautement reconnues, de participer à des réunions et ateliers internationaux et d’enseigner des cours dans les programmes de master de l’Institut d’éducation.

Le Laboratoire est une équipe amicale de chercheurs dévoués qui fournissent une base pour une politique d’éducation fondée sur des preuves en Russie et dans d’autres pays. Ce faisant, le Laboratoire collabore largement avec des organisations tierces (gouvernements, entreprises, organisations à but non lucratif, instituts de recherche) pour évaluer ses produits innovants (par exemple dans EdTech). Nous travaillons également avec des données d’études internationales telles que TIMSS, PISA, PIRLS, ICILS pour apprendre des politiques de scolarisation et des pratiques des enseignants dans d’autres pays.

Nos partenaires de recherche comprennent le Center for Education Policy Analysis de Stanford, le Center for Education Policy Research de Harvard et le Center for Benefit-Cost Studies of Education au Teachers College, Columbia University. Dans notre étude, nous nous concentrons sur la collecte de données d’enquêtes à grande échelle de haute qualité ainsi que sur des études d’évaluation d’impact sur les politiques et les programmes à grande échelle (par exemple, des études expérimentales et quasi expérimentales).

Le rôle du Laboratoire est d’aider les décideurs en éducation à améliorer et à égaliser les résultats scolaires des étudiants.

À propos de l’Université HSE

L’École supérieure d’économie (Université HSE) est une université de recherche russe jeune, dynamique et à croissance rapide. Au cours des 25 dernières années, l’Université HSE est devenue un leader de l’éducation russe, tout en étant reconnue mondialement.

Par exemple, nous avons été la première université d’État en Russie à commencer à recruter sur le marché universitaire international. Nous visons à être une université avec une approche très adaptée à la formation de nouveaux professionnels. Par conséquent, nous sommes impatients d’embaucher des personnes ayant une expérience réelle, ainsi que des connaissances de base et appliquées. Engagée dans la recherche de haute qualité, l’Université HSE compte désormais plus de 100 instituts et centres de recherche et plus de 30 laboratoires de recherche internationaux qui collaborent avec des spécialistes internationaux du monde entier.

Exigences

Les exigences générales pour les postes de boursiers postdoctoraux sont les suivantes:

  • Les candidats doivent être titulaires d’ un doctorat récent dans le domaine de l’économie ou de la sociologie ou dans des domaines connexes qui a été décerné au cours des 5 dernières années ou reçu avant de commencer à travailler à HSE dans un domaine pertinent par une université reconnue internationalement et qui a été évalué par les examinateurs externes comme ayant le possibilité de poursuivre des recherches pouvant être publiées dans les principales revues à comité de lecture;
  • Les candidats doivent avoir une solide expérience en économie ou en sociologie et avec une passion pour la recherche qualitative ou quantitative, la capacité de travailler en équipe
  • L’anglais courant est une condition obligatoire car la recherche et les autres activités sont menées en anglais. La connaissance du russe n’est pas requise;
  • Une expérience pertinente sera un atout bien qu’elle ne soit pas requise.

Le poste implique:

  • travaillant sous la supervision directe du professeur Prashant Loyalka, directeur de laboratoire, PhD;
  • les participants sont encouragés à poursuivre leurs propres recherches tout en travaillant sur des projets de recherche du laboratoire tels que:
    • Comment pouvons-nous intégrer de manière rentable la technologie de l’éducation ou EdTech dans la vie des étudiants? Dans le cadre de cela, nous examinerons les impacts potentiels que peuvent avoir une multitude d’outils EdTech (par exemple l’apprentissage des assistants informatiques, les plates-formes d’apprentissage à distance à deux enseignants, les tuteurs intelligents assistés par l’IA, les cours en ligne (MOOC), etc.). sur les résultats cognitifs et non cognitifs des élèves. Nous devrons analyser le rôle d’EdTech à différents stades d’intégration: du court terme dans lequel EdTech est nouveau pour les élèves, les parents et les enseignants au long terme dans lequel les élèves, les parents et les enseignants sont habitués à l’EdTech. . Nous étudierons également le rôle d’EdTech à différents âges et niveaux d’enseignement (du primaire au lycée et au collège).
    • Sommes-nous en train de préparer les étudiants à la nouvelle économie mondiale et à l’ère numérique? En complément de l’évaluation de l’utilisation d’EdTech dans la vie des étudiants, le Laboratoire concentrera également son attention sur l’évaluation des programmes et des politiques qui peuvent aider les étudiants à acquérir des compétences numériques, à acquérir des compétences techniques et à développer les compétences modernes dont ils auront besoin dans la future économie. Nous continuerons d’étudier l’hétérogénéité de ces effets pour des étudiants de classe sociale, de sexe et de niveau de capacité différents afin de voir comment ces types de politiques et de programmes affectent l’inégalité des résultats scolaires.
  • rédiger des articles de recherche pour des revues internationales à comité de lecture en collaboration avec les membres du laboratoire;
  • participation aux événements du laboratoire et autre contribution au développement du laboratoire;
  • présentations publiques de la recherche du candidat à la communauté universitaire;
  • certains enseignements sont encouragés, mais pas obligatoires.

Conditions

Les nominations sont normalement faites pour un an. Les stagiaires postdoctoraux ont la possibilité de renouveler le contrat (pas plus de deux fois).

L’Université HSE offre aux stagiaires postdoctoraux un salaire compétitif, le régime d’assurance médicale standard, un espace de travail équipé d’un ordinateur et un accès Internet gratuit à l’Université.

Le laboratoire offre un accès à ses bases de données et logiciels d’analyse, ainsi qu’à des options de collecte de données supplémentaires si nécessaire pour la recherche

Processus de demande

L’équipe de medjouel.com vous informe que les candidatures doivent être soumises en ligne. Veuillez fournir un CV , une déclaration d’intérêt pour la recherche et un document de recherche récent soumis via un formulaire de candidature en ligne. Au moins deux lettres de recommandation doivent être envoyées directement au Bureau international de recrutement des professeurs à [email protected] avant la date limite de candidature. Veuillez noter que les candidatures directes au laboratoire d’embauche de politiques internationales et d’impact sur l’innovation peuvent ne pas être examinées.

En savoir plus sur le processus de candidature ici .

La date limite de dépôt des candidatures est le 9 février 2020 .

Appliquer maintenant

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost