Belgique
Posted 3 months ago

Introduction The Institute of Tropical Medicine (ITM) in Antwerp aims at the advancement and spread of science that contributes to tropical medicine and to public health in low- and middle income countries, inclusive of their global dimensions. ITM provides fundamental, translational and applied scientific research, delivers advanced education and provides medical, scientific and societal expert services.

ITM’s Department of Clinical Sciences strives for optimal diagnosis and treatment of tropical and globalized infectious diseases. The department has an important expertise in dealing with epidemics and clinical trials (treatment, vaccine, diagnosis) in low-resource settings supported by the ITM clinical trials unit. ITM hosts a travel clinic accommodating over 20,000 travelers a year and implemented a travel app (Wanda.be) which opens up avenues for research during travel.

The department is opening up a position for a professor Travel Medicine to conduct research on the prevention and management of travel-related diseases, including drug and vaccine trials. The position also has responsibilities as a reference for travel health in Belgium. This research position is in the department of Clinical Sciences but will be expected to work collaboratively across the department of public health and the department of biomedical sciences.

Assignment

• Setting up competitive research in the field of Travel Medicine in Belgium and drug/vaccine studies in the travel clinic and in low & middle-income countries

• Interdisciplinary collaboration with researchers at ITM, nationally and internationally on prevention of travel-related disease, including behavioural research.

• Attracting external research funding and strengthening the visibility of research in the department/ITM

• Teaching in the field of travel medicine at post-initial master’s and PhD level, as well as various specialized short courses.

• Participate in the clinical services at ITM

• Play an international reference role in the field of Travel Medicine and represent ITM in the superior Health Council and the study group on Travel Medicine in Belgium

• Executing line management duties as head of the unit

• Reporting to the head of the department of clinical sciences

• Contributing to the departmental and institutional policy development

Profile

We are looking for an outstanding academic in the field of travel medicine to perform advanced clinical studies on vaccine preventable travel related diseases and to conduct clinical trials on medicines to prevent or treat tropical diseases among travelers.

The candidate must be an MD, specialized in infectious diseases, certified to practice in Belgium. Experience in travel medicine and in working in a resource-limited environment are assets. The candidate must be a holder of a PhD, have a strong academic track record of grant writing, project management and scientific output. She or he is fluent in Dutch, English and French, quality-oriented, and has a team-focused emphatic personality.

The ITM is an open and international campus where staff, students and researchers work on new international health challenges. We strive for excellence, integrity, specificity and efficiency. Your assignment contributes to our mission. We value human dignity and diversity, academic creativity and a critical spirit, solidarity and cooperation, and the well-being of employees, students, patients and clients. Together we ensure a pleasant working atmosphere with attention to work-life balance and opportunities for training. We offer you:

• A full-time tenured appointment. Depending on your record and qualifications, you will be appointed to or tenured in one of the grades of the senior academic staff: assistant professor, associate professor, professor or full professor.

• A salary set according to the pay scales of ITM and the Flemish universities and to your work experience with supplementary benefits: a public transport subscription and/or bicycle fee, private pension scheme and meal voucher subscription.

• An immigration and relocation assistance package.

• If you do not master Dutch, the administrative language of ITM, you should be willing to obtain a CEFR B2 level of proficiency in Dutch. ITM offers international staff members tailor-made language coaching.

Excited about this role?

For more information about this position, please contact HR (recruitment@itg.be). Send your CV together with your letter of motivation to recruitment@itg.be before December 15th 2020.

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Professeur de médecine des voyages – Département des sciences cliniques

Belgique
Publié il y a 6 mois

Introduction L’Institut de Médecine Tropicale ( ITM ) d’Anvers vise à l’avancement et à la diffusion de la science qui contribue à la médecine tropicale et à la santé publique dans les pays à revenu faible et intermédiaire, y compris leurs dimensions mondiales. ITM fournit des recherches scientifiques fondamentales, translationnelles et appliquées, offre une formation avancée et fournit des services d’experts médicaux, scientifiques et sociétaux.

Le département des sciences cliniques de l’ITM s’efforce d’assurer un diagnostic et un traitement optimaux des maladies infectieuses tropicales et mondialisées. Le département possède une expertise importante dans la gestion des épidémies et des essais cliniques (traitement, vaccin, diagnostic) dans des milieux à faibles ressources soutenus par l’ unité d’essais cliniques de l’ ITM . ITMhéberge une clinique de voyage accueillant plus de 20 000 voyageurs par an et a mis en place une application de voyage (Wanda.be) qui ouvre des pistes de recherche lors des voyages.

Le département ouvre un poste à un professeur de médecine du voyage pour mener des recherches sur la prévention et la gestion des maladies liées aux voyages, y compris des essais de médicaments et de vaccins. Le poste a également des responsabilités de référence pour la santé des voyageurs en Belgique. Ce poste de recherche est dans le département des sciences cliniques, mais devrait travailler en collaboration entre le département de la santé publique et le département des sciences biomédicales.

Affectation

• Mise en place d’une recherche compétitive dans le domaine de la médecine du voyage en Belgique et des études de médicaments / vaccins en clinique du voyage et dans les pays à revenu faible et intermédiaire

• Collaboration interdisciplinaire avec des chercheurs de l’ IMT , aux niveaux national et international sur la prévention des maladies liées aux voyages, y compris la recherche comportementale.

• Attirer des financements externes pour la recherche et renforcer la visibilité de la recherche dans le département / ITM

• Enseignement dans le domaine de la médecine du voyage au niveau post-initial de maîtrise et de doctorat, ainsi que divers cours de courte durée spécialisés.

• Participer aux services cliniques de l’ ITM

• Jouer un rôle de référence internationale dans le domaine de la médecine des voyages et représenter l’ ITM au Conseil supérieur de la santé et au groupe d’étude sur la médecine des voyages en Belgique

• Exécution des tâches de hiérarchie en tant que chef de l’unité

• Rattaché au chef du département des sciences cliniques

• Contribuer au profil d’ élaboration de politiques ministérielles et institutionnelles

Nous recherchons un universitaire exceptionnel dans le domaine de la médecine du voyage pour effectuer des études cliniques avancées sur les maladies liées aux voyages évitables par la vaccination et pour mener des essais cliniques sur des médicaments pour prévenir ou traiter les maladies tropicales chez les voyageurs.

Le candidat doit être un médecin, spécialisé dans les maladies infectieuses, certifié pour exercer en Belgique. Expérience en médecine du voyage et travail dans un environnement aux ressources limitées sont des atouts. Le candidat doit être titulaire d’un doctorat, avoir de solides antécédents académiques en matière de rédaction de subventions, de gestion de projet et de production scientifique. Il ou elle parle couramment le néerlandais, l’anglais et le français, est axé sur la qualité et a une personnalité emphatique axée sur l’équipe.

L’ ITMest un campus ouvert et international où le personnel, les étudiants et les chercheurs travaillent sur les nouveaux défis internationaux en matière de santé. Nous visons l’excellence, l’intégrité, la spécificité et l’efficacité. Votre mission contribue à notre mission. Nous valorisons la dignité humaine et la diversité, la créativité académique et l’esprit critique, la solidarité et la coopération, ainsi que le bien-être des employés, des étudiants, des patients et des clients. Ensemble, nous garantissons une atmosphère de travail agréable avec une attention à l’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et vie privée et aux possibilités de formation. Nous vous proposons:

• Un rendez-vous permanent à temps plein. En fonction de votre dossier et de vos qualifications, vous serez nommé ou titulaire dans l’un des grades du personnel académique supérieur: professeur adjoint, professeur agrégé, professeur ou professeur titulaire.

• Un salaire fixé en fonction des échelles salariales de l’ ITM et des universités flamandes et à votre expérience professionnelle avec des avantages complémentaires: abonnement aux transports publics et / ou redevance vélo, prévoyance privée et abonnement chèque-repas.

• Un package d’aide à l’immigration et à la réinstallation.

• Si vous ne maîtrisez pas le néerlandais, la langue administrative de l’ ITM , vous devez être prêt à obtenir un niveau CECR B2 de maîtrise du néerlandais. ITM propose aux collaborateurs internationaux un coaching linguistique sur mesure.

Excité par ce rôle?

Pour plus d’informations sur ce poste, veuillez contacter les RH ( [email protected] ). Envoyez votre CV accompagné de votre lettre de motivation à [email protected] avant le 15 décembre 2020.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost




Recommended

Don't Miss