Postdoctoral Fellow Positions for Translational Research, USA

USA
Posted 2 months ago

The STAR Center is a world-class, multi-disciplinary research and educational center focusing on critical care and organ support, resuscitation, surgical outcomes, patient safety and injury prevention. We are currently seeking highly trained and motivated postdoctoral fellows to join our Translational Research Program to investigates the role of extracellular (ex) vesicles (EVs) and ex-microRNA-mediated innate immune signaling in 1) acute lung injury in sepsis, 2) brain inflammation and cognitive impairment in sepsis, 3) coagulopathy in sepsis and non-hemorrhagic polytrauma, and 4) cardiac ischemia injury. These highly translational projects are funded by NIGMSNINDSNHLBINSF, US Air Force, and involve both humans and rodent animals.

The interested candidates can review the recent publications: Wang et al. iScience 2021 (PMID: 34877498); Xu et al. J Immunol 2018 (PMID: 30355788); Chen et al. J Am Heart Assoc 2014 (PMID: 24390148); Williams et al. J Thromb Haemost 2019( PMID: 31211901); Zou et al. Brain Behav Immun 2021 (PMID: 34808293);

Lopez, et al. Shock 2021 (PMID: 33394971)

Program Project:

https://www.medschool.umaryland.edu/Anesthesiology/Research/Wei-Chao-MD-PhD/Projects/

What is required:

  • The candidates with PhD or MD degree in molecular/cell biology, immunology or related field are encouraged to apply.
  • The following experimental expertise are required
  • qRT-PCR, genotyping, Western blot;
  • flow cytometry, cell isolation, cell culture;
  • Good written and oral communication skills and independent ability to design and execute experiments;
  • Ability to skillfully multi-task, good organization, problem-solving skills, and ability to develop novel techniques
  • Candidate with additional expertise in EV characterization, animal handling, studies related to lung, heart, coagulopathy, in bioinformatics analysis and machining learning are strongly encouraged to apply.

What you will gain:

The Translational Research Program of the STAR Center will provide additional training on certain critical techniques, critical thinking and analytical ability to solve scientific question, and grantsmanship at the senior stage. In addition, postdoc fellows will be provided ample opportunities to present research findings at local, national and international conferences, write manuscripts, and contribute to grant application preparation to advance scientific and career growth.

How to apply:

Interested candidates should send the following materials to Lin Zou, MD, PhD (lzou@som.umaryland.edu)

  • Cover letter with a brief description of your research interest and career goal
  • CV

The University of Maryland, Baltimore is an Equal Opportunity/ Affirmative Action Employer. Minorities, women, individuals with disabilities, and protected veterans are encouraged to apply.

Job Features

Job CategoryPost doc

Apply Online

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Programme de recherche translationnelle du Centre STAR, USA

USA
Publié il y a 5 mois

Le STAR Center est un centre de recherche et d’enseignement multidisciplinaire de classe mondiale axé sur les soins intensifs et le soutien des organes, la réanimation, les résultats chirurgicaux, la sécurité des patients et la prévention des blessures. Nous recherchons actuellement des stagiaires postdoctoraux hautement qualifiés et motivés pour rejoindre notre programme de recherche translationnelle afin d’étudier le rôle des (ex) vésicules extracellulaires (VE) et de la signalisation immunitaire innée médiée par les ex-microARN dans 1) les lésions pulmonaires aiguës dans la septicémie, 2) le cerveau inflammation et troubles cognitifs dans le sepsis, 3) coagulopathie dans le sepsis et polytraumatisme non hémorragique, et 4) lésion d’ischémie cardiaque. Ces projets hautement translationnels sont financés par NIGMS , NINDS , NHLBI , NSF, US Air Force, et impliquent à la fois des humains et des rongeurs.

Les candidats intéressés peuvent consulter les publications récentes : Wang et al. iScience 2021 ( PMID : 34877498 ); Xu et al. J Immunol 2018 ( PMID : 30355788 ); Chen et al. J Am Heart Assoc 2014 ( PMID : 24390148 ); Williams et al. J Thromb Haemost 2019( PMID : 31211901 ) ; Zou et al. Brain Behav Immun 2021 ( PMID : 34808293 );

Lopez, et al. Choc 2021 ( PMID : 33394971 )

Projet de programme :

https://www.medschool.umaryland.edu/Anesthesiology/Research/Wei-Chao-MD-PhD/Projects/

Ce qui est requis:

  • Les candidats titulaires d’un doctorat ou d’un diplôme de médecine en biologie moléculaire / cellulaire, en immunologie ou dans un domaine connexe sont encouragés à postuler.
  • L’expertise expérimentale suivante est requise
  • qRT – PCR , génotypage, Western blot ;
  • cytométrie en flux, isolement cellulaire, culture cellulaire;
  • Bonnes compétences en communication écrite et orale et capacité indépendante à concevoir et à exécuter des expériences ;
  • Capacité à effectuer habilement plusieurs tâches à la fois, bonne organisation, compétences en résolution de problèmes et capacité à développer de nouvelles techniques
  • Les candidats ayant une expertise supplémentaire en caractérisation des véhicules électriques, en manipulation d’animaux, en études liées aux poumons, au cœur, à la coagulopathie, en analyse bioinformatique et en apprentissage de l’usinage sont fortement encouragés à postuler.

Ce que vous gagnerez :

Le programme de recherche translationnelle du Centre STAR fournira une formation supplémentaire sur certaines techniques critiques, la pensée critique et la capacité d’analyse pour résoudre des questions scientifiques, et des bourses au stade supérieur. De plus, les boursiers postdoctoraux auront de nombreuses occasions de présenter les résultats de la recherche lors de conférences locales, nationales et internationales, de rédiger des manuscrits et de contribuer à la préparation des demandes de subvention pour faire progresser la croissance scientifique et professionnelle.

Comment s’inscrire:

Les candidats intéressés doivent envoyer les documents suivants à Lin Zou, MD, PhD ( lzou@som.umaryland.edu )

  • Lettre de motivation avec une brève description de votre intérêt de recherche et de votre objectif de carrière
  • CV

L’Université du Maryland, Baltimore est un employeur d’égalité des chances / d’action positive. Les minorités, les femmes, les personnes handicapées et les anciens combattants protégés sont encouragés à postuler.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPost doc

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.