Operational Research – Assistant Professor

Canada
Posted 5 months ago

Montreal university

Location: Quebec
Date posted: 2022-09-02
Advertised until: 2022-11-01

Montrealer by its roots, international by vocation, the Universite de Montreal is one of the 100 best employers in Canada. Like the city whose name it bears, it is effervescent and multicultural. 

UdeM raises more than half a billion dollars in research funds each year, which places it among the top three poles of Canadian university research. It also ranks in the top 100 universities in the world and is in the group of the top five French-language universities. 

Through the achievements of the members of its community, UdeM participates in the construction of today’s world. And by training students from all over, it prepares for tomorrow.

Assistant Professor in Operational Research
Department of Computer Science and Operational Research, Faculty of Arts and Science

Position Description
The Department of Computer Science and Operations Research invites applications for a full-time professor position at the assistant level in the field of operations research (including, for example, combinatorial optimization, nonlinear optimization, stochastic optimization, robust optimization and simulation).

Functions
The successful candidate will be called upon to teach at the three cycles, to supervise graduate students, to pursue research, publication and outreach activities as well as to contribute to the activities of the institution.

Requirements

  • PhD in Computer Science, Operations Research or related field.
  • Excellent publication record, demonstrating the ability to publish research results in the best forums in the field.
  • Demonstrated ability to deliver high quality university education.
  • Ability to work in a multidisciplinary environment.
  • Expertise in stochastic modeling, simulation and optimization will be considered a strong asset.
  • Have sufficient knowledge of the French language or be determined to learn it once in post through the French language learning support program offered by UdeM, under the language policy of the University of Montreal .

How to submit your application

The application file must consist of the following documents:

  • A cover letter ; To comply with Government of Canada requirements, please include in your cover letter one of the following statements: “I am a citizen/permanent resident of Canada” or “I am not a citizen/ permanent resident of Canada”;
  • One course of life;
  • Up to three (3) copies of recent papers that demonstrate the individual’s ability to perform at the highest levels in operations research;
  • A statement on the teaching philosophy (maximum one page);
  • A statement on the research program (maximum two pages).
  • The file must also include three letters of recommendation. These must be sent directly by their author to the management of the Department.

The application file and the letters of recommendation must be sent by email no later than October 31, 2022 to:

Sylvie Hamel, Director
Department of Computer Science and Operational Research
Faculty of Arts and Sciences, University of Montreal
Email: director-or@iro.umontreal.ca
Website: www.diro.umontreal.ca

More information about the position

Posting  number: FAS 09-22/1
Posting period  : Until October 31, 2022 inclusively
Salary  : The Université de Montréal offers a competitive salary combined with a full range of benefits
Date of taking office  : On or after June 1, 2023

UdeM places the values ​​of diversity, equity and inclusion at the heart of each of its missions. Through its program for equal access to employment (PAÉE), the Université de Montréal invites women, Aboriginals, visible minorities, ethnic minorities and people with disabilities to apply. During recruitment, our selection tools can be adapted in complete confidentiality according to the needs of people living with limitations who request it.

The University adopts a broad and inclusive definition of diversity that goes beyond applicable laws and encourages all qualified individuals, regardless of their characteristics, to apply. In accordance with Canadian immigration requirements, please note that priority will be given to Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

In order to measure the scope of its EDI actions, UdeM collects data on applicants according to their identification with one of the groups covered by the law on equal access to employment, women, aboriginals, visible minorities, ethnic minorities and people with disabilities. To this end, we thank you for answering this self-identification questionnaire . The information provided is confidential and will be shared only with those in charge of the PAÉE. If you wish, you can also indicate that you belong to a targeted group in your cover letter, which the selection committee and the assembly of peers will take note of when evaluating your file.

According to the nomination procedures in effect at UdeM, members of the Assembly of Professors can consult all application files. If you would like your application to remain confidential until the recruitment shortlist is drawn up, please mention this.

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

Recherche opérationnelle – Professeur adjoint ou professeure adjointe

Canada
Publié il y a 3 mois

Université de Montréal

Location: Quebec
Date posted: 2022-09-02
Advertised until: 2022-11-01

Montréalaise par ses racines, internationale par vocation, l’Universite de Montreal compte parmi les 100 meilleurs employeurs du Canada. A l’image de la ville dont elle porte le nom, elle est effervescente et multiculturelle. 

L’UdeM récolte annuellement plus d’un demi-milliard de dollars en fonds de recherche, ce qui la positionne parmi les trois premiers poles de recherche universitaire canadiens. Elle se classe egalement dans les 100 meilleures universites du monde et figure dans le groupe des cinq meilleures universites de langue française. 

A travers les realisations des membres de sa communaute, l’UdeM participe a la construction du monde d’aujourd’hui. Et en formant des etudiants venus de partout, elle prepare celui de demain.

Professeur adjoint ou professeure adjointe en recherche opérationnelle
Département d’informatique et de recherche opérationnelle, Faculté des arts et des sciences

Description du poste
Le Département d’informatique et de recherche opérationnelle sollicite des candidatures pour un poste de professeure ou de professeur à temps plein au rang d’adjoint dans le domaine de la recherche opérationnelle (incluant, par exemple, l’optimisation combinatoire, l’optimisation non linéaire, l’optimisation stochastique, l’optimisation robuste et la simulation).

Fonctions
La personne retenue sera appelée à enseigner aux trois cycles, à encadrer des étudiants aux études supérieures, à poursuivre des activités de recherche, de publication et de rayonnement ainsi qu’à contribuer aux activités de l’institution.

Exigences

  • Doctorat en informatique, en recherche opérationnelle ou dans un domaine connexe.
  • Excellent dossier de publications, démontrant la capacité de publier ses résultats de recherche dans les meilleurs forums du domaine.
  • Aptitude démontrée pour offrir un enseignement universitaire de grande qualité́.
  • Capacité à travailler dans un environnement multidisciplinaire.
  • Une expertise en modélisation, simulation et optimisation stochastiques sera considérée comme un atout important.
  • Avoir une connaissance suffisante de la langue française ou être déterminé à l’apprendre une fois en poste par l’entremise du programme de soutien à l’apprentissage de la langue française offert par l’UdeM, en vertu de la Politique linguistique de l’Université de Montréal.

Comment soumettre votre candidature

Le dossier de candidature doit être constitué des documents suivants :

  • Une lettre de motivation ; pour nous conformer aux exigences du gouvernement du Canada, nous vous prions d’inclure dans votre lettre de motivation l’une ou l’autre des mentions suivantes : «je suis citoyen/résident permanent du Canada» ou «je ne suis pas citoyen/résident permanent du Canada»;
  • Un curriculum vitæ ;
  • Jusqu’à trois (3) copies d’articles récents qui démontrent la capacité de la personne à performer aux plus hauts niveaux en recherche opérationnelle;
  • Un exposé sur la philosophie d’enseignement (au plus une page);
  • Un exposé sur le programme de recherche (au plus deux pages).
  • Le dossier doit également comporter trois lettres de recommandation. Celles-ci doivent être transmises directement par leur auteur ou autrice à la direction du Département.

Le dossier de candidature et les lettres de recommandation doivent parvenir par courriel au plus tard le 31 octobre 2022 à :

Sylvie Hamel, Directrice
Département d’informatique et de recherche opérationnelle
Faculté des arts et des sciences, Université de Montréal
Courriel : directeur-or@iro.umontreal.ca
Site web : www.diro.umontreal.ca

Plus d’information sur le poste

No d’affichage : FAS 09-22/1
Période d’affichage : Jusqu’au 31 octobre 2022 inclusivement
Traitement : L’Université de Montréal offre un salaire concurrentiel jumelé à une gamme complète d’avantages sociaux
Date d’entrée en fonction : Le ou après le 1er juin 2023

L’UdeM met les valeurs de diversité, d’équité et d’inclusion au coeur de chacune de ses missions. Par l’entremise de son programme d’accès à l’égalité en emploi (PAÉE), l’Université de Montréal invite les femmes, les Autochtones, les minorités visibles, les minorités ethniques et les personnes ayant des limitations à soumettre leur candidature. Lors du recrutement, nos outils de sélection peuvent être adaptés en toute confidentialité selon les besoins des personnes vivant avec des limitations qui en font la demande.

L’Université adopte une définition large et inclusive de la diversité allant au-delà des lois applicables et encourage toutes les personnes qualifiées, peu importe leurs caractéristiques, à poser leur candidature. Conformément aux exigences sur l’immigration en vigueur au Canada, notez que la priorité sera accordée aux citoyennes et citoyens canadiens et aux résidentes et résidents permanents.

Afin de mesurer la portée de ses actions en matière d’EDI, l’UdeM recueille des données sur les postulantes et postulants selon leur identification à l’un des groupes visés par la loi sur l’accès à l’égalité en emploi, les femmes, les Autochtones, les minorités visibles, les minorités ethniques et les personnes ayant des limitations. À cette fin, nous vous remercions de répondre à ce questionnaire d’auto-identification. L’information fournie est confidentielle et sera partagée uniquement avec les responsables du PAÉE. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez aussi indiquer votre appartenance à un groupe visé dans votre lettre de présentation dont prendra connaissance le comité de sélection et l’assemblée des pairs lors de l’évaluation de votre dossier.

Selon les procédures de nomination en vigueur à l’UdeM, les membres de l’Assemblée des professeures et professeurs peuvent consulter tous les dossiers de candidature. Si vous souhaitez que votre candidature demeure confidentielle jusqu’à l’établissement de la liste restreinte de recrutement, veuillez le mentionner.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.