Postdoctoral fellowship in bioinformatics/neuroimaging – large-scale brain imaging in common brain disorders

Norvège
Posted 3 months ago

The Division of Mental health and Addiction, Psychosis Research Unit, Oslo University Hospital and Centre of Excellence The Norwegian Centre for Mental Disorders Research (NORMENT) offer a three year postdoctoral fellowship position. The work can be conducted either in Oslo, Norway, or remotely from another country.

NORMENT runs a multicenter study involving hospital departments in Oslo and several research groups at the University of Oslo. The purpose of the programme is to study how biological/genetic, psychological and environmental factors contribute to mental and other brain disorders.

In the present project, we will employ novel magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)-based tools to investigate the structure of individual thalamic and brainstem nuclei in a large in-house multi-site sample of healthy controls (HCs; N>38,000) and participants with common brain disorders (N>5,900), including schizophrenia (SCZ; N>1,100) and bipolar disorders (BD; N>450). To determine how the thalamic and brainstem nuclei alterations affect cortical functioning, we will obtain electroencephalography (EEG)-based indices of cortical synaptic function and cortical oscillatory activity from patients and HCs with MRI (N>650). The overall goal of the study is to advance our understanding of 1) whether individual thalamic and brainstem nuclei are altered in common brain disorders, 2) how the nuclei alterations affect cortical functioning, and 3) if these alterations link to clinically relevant subgroups. The successful candidate will analyze and publish already collected MRI data. The present work builds upon our previously published studies of the brainstem (Elvsashagen, Kaufmann et al. Nature Communications 2020) and the thalamus (Elvsashagen, Kaufmann et al. Nature Communications 2021).

Requirements and Qualifications

– The applicant must hold a PhD degree in bioinformatics, neuroscience, or equivalent.

– The successful candidate should have experience from bioinformatics and/or neuroimaging-based research.

– Strong analytical and problem solving skills and attention to details are desirable.

– Personal skills will be emphasized. Especially, the candidate should be able to work independently and interactively in a team setting, be motivated and responsible, and also have a great work capacity and enthusiasm for research.

We offer

– An exciting research environment with a multidisciplinary profile and large opportunities for academic development

– Pay grade according to qualifications

– Favorable pension arrangements

– Attractive welfare arrangements

Application

The application must include:

– Application letter

– CV (summarizing education, positions, scientific publications and other relevant activity)

– A complete list of any publications and academic work

– Copies of educational certificates and transcripts of records

– Contact details of 2 referees (name, relation to candidate, e-mail and phone number)

Please remember that all documents should be in English or a Scandinavian language.

Any questions can be directed to PI Torbjorn Elvsashagen (drtorbjorn@hotmail.com; +4799155282).

Job Features

Job CategoryPost doc

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stage postdoctoral en bioinformatique/neuroimagerie – imagerie cérébrale à grande échelle dans les troubles cérébraux courants

Norvège
Publié il y a 4 jours

La Division de la santé mentale et de la toxicomanie, Unité de recherche sur la psychose, Hôpital universitaire d’Oslo et Centre d’excellence Le Centre norvégien de recherche sur les troubles mentaux ( NORMENT ) offre un poste de bourse postdoctorale de trois ans. Le travail peut être effectué soit à Oslo, en Norvège, soit à distance depuis un autre pays.

NORMENT dirige une étude multicentrique impliquant des départements hospitaliers d’Oslo et plusieurs groupes de recherche de l’Université d’Oslo. Le but du programme est d’étudier comment les facteurs biologiques/génétiques, psychologiques et environnementaux contribuent aux troubles mentaux et autres troubles cérébraux.

Dans le présent projet, nous utiliserons de nouveaux outils basés sur l’imagerie par résonance magnétique ( IRM ) pour étudier la structure des noyaux thalamiques et du tronc cérébral dans un grand échantillon interne multisite de témoins sains (HC; N> 38 000) et de participants. atteints de troubles cérébraux courants (N>5 900), y compris la schizophrénie ( SCZ ; N>1 100) et les troubles bipolaires (BD ; N>450). Pour déterminer comment les altérations des noyaux thalamiques et du tronc cérébral affectent le fonctionnement cortical, nous obtiendrons des indices basés sur l’électroencéphalographie ( EEG ) de la fonction synaptique corticale et de l’activité oscillatoire corticale des patients et des HC avec IRM(N>650). L’objectif global de l’étude est de faire progresser notre compréhension de 1) si les noyaux thalamiques et du tronc cérébral individuels sont altérés dans les troubles cérébraux courants, 2) comment les altérations des noyaux affectent le fonctionnement cortical et 3) si ces altérations sont liées à des sous-groupes cliniquement pertinents. Le candidat retenu analysera et publiera les données IRM déjà collectées . Le présent travail s’appuie sur nos études précédemment publiées sur le tronc cérébral (Elvsashagen, Kaufmann et al. Nature Communications 2020) et le thalamus (Elvsashagen, Kaufmann et al. Nature Communications 2021).

Exigences et qualifications

– Le candidat doit être titulaire d’un doctorat en bioinformatique, neurosciences ou équivalent.

– Le candidat retenu doit avoir une expérience de la recherche basée sur la bioinformatique et/ou la neuroimagerie.

– De solides compétences en analyse et en résolution de problèmes et une attention aux détails sont souhaitables.

– Les compétences personnelles seront mises en avant. En particulier, le candidat doit être capable de travailler de manière autonome et interactive dans un environnement d’équipe, être motivé et responsable, et également avoir une grande capacité de travail et un enthousiasme pour la recherche.

Nous offrons

– Un environnement de recherche passionnant avec un profil multidisciplinaire et de grandes opportunités de développement académique

– Échelon de rémunération selon les qualifications

– Régimes de retraite avantageux

– Des dispositifs sociaux attractifs

Application

La demande doit comprendre :

– Lettre de candidature

– CV (résumant la formation, les postes, les publications scientifiques et toute autre activité pertinente)

– Une liste complète de toutes les publications et travaux académiques

– Copies des certificats d’études et des relevés de notes

– Coordonnées de 2 répondants (nom, relation avec le candidat, e-mail et numéro de téléphone)

N’oubliez pas que tous les documents doivent être en anglais ou dans une langue scandinave.

Toutes les questions peuvent être adressées à PI Torbjorn Elvsashagen ( drtorbjorn@hotmail.com ; +4799155282).

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPost doc

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page