Postdoctoral fellow in Ziaei group – Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

Norway
Posted 1 month ago

About the position

Dr Ziaei group at the Kavli Institute for System Neuroscience (KISN) explores the structural and functional neural networks underlying social and emotional processing in aging. We are seeking a motivated and enthusiastic post-doctoral fellow to join the lab in Fall 2021 to help better understand the emotional and brain changes that occur in aging.

 

More specifically, Dr Ziaei’s group aims to explore how individual differences in cognitive functions and biological markers influence brain networks involved in processing social and emotional cues in the environment. We are running a multi-component, longitudinal, comprehensive study to explore biological, neural, and behavioral responses to social and emotional cues. Additionally, we are interested to investigate if these factors contribute to mental health among older adults.

Duties of the position

The post-doctoral fellow will be involved in different aspects of this project, including the design of the project, data collection (fMRI and behavioral testing), data analysis and writing publications. Additionally, there is an opportunity for the postdoc to work on the existing dataset or generate new project, within the scope of the lab.

Required selection criteria

Postdoctoral fellow:

A postdoctoral research fellowships is a qualification position in which the main objective is qualification for work in academic positions. You must have completed a Norwegian doctoral degree in psychology, neuroscience, biomedical sciences, or related fields or corresponding foreign doctoral degree recognized as equivalent to a Norwegian doctoral degree is required.

If, for any reason, you have taken a career break or have had an atypical career and wish to disclose this in your application, the selection committee will take this into account, recognizing that the quantity of your research may be reduced as a result.

—————————

The appointment is to be made in accordance with the regulations in force concerning State Employees and Civil Servants and national guidelines for appointment as PhD, post doctor and research assistant.

Required

1.       A PhD in psychology, neuroscience, biomedical sciences, or related fields

2.       Expertise in design and analyses of fMRI data (preferably task-based fMRI data)

3.       Expertise in univariate analyses (e.g., SPMFSL) and programming (e.g., R and Matlab)

4.       Experience in multivariate analyses and network analyses

5.       Excellent academic record with scientific publication in relevant fields

 

Desirable

1.       Experience in machine learning

2.       Experience in analyzing large MRI dataset

3.       Familiarity with analyses of structural MRI data (volumetric and/or DTI analyses)

4.       Research experience with older adults’ population

Personal characteristics

  • Independent
  • Good communicator
  • Ability to work in a team
  • Highly motivated

We offer

Salary and conditions

Postdoctoral fellowship:
The employment period is 2-3 years

Postdoctoral candidates are placed in code 1352, and are normally remunerated at gross from NOK 545 300 per annum before tax, depending on qualifications and seniority. From the salary, 2% is deducted as a contribution to the Norwegian Public Service Pension Fund.

————————————————

The engagement is to be made in accordance with the regulations in force concerning State Employees and Civil Servants, and the acts relating to Control of the Export of Strategic Goods, Services and Technology. Candidates who by assessment of the application and attachment are seen to conflict with the criteria in the latter law will be prohibited from recruitment to NTNU. After the appointment you must assume that there may be changes in the area of work.

The position is subject to external funding

It is a prerequisite you can be present at and accessible to the institution daily.

About the application

The working environment in KISN provide great opportunities for ambitious postdocs to be able to design translational research and generate collaborative ideas across disciplines. The newly established centre, K. G. Jebsen Centre for Alzheimer’s Disease, provides a great platform for postdocs who would like to gain clinical experiences!

Employees have access to cutting-edge science and infrastructure across the KISN and NTNU. Additionally, we provide opportunities for postdocs to attend workshops and conferences in the field of imaging, neuroscience, and aging. We also encourage postdocs to upskill themselves with interpersonal skills crucial for next stages of career’s path. These include effective collaboration and communication, public speaking, preparation for job interviews, management skills, and translation of research for industrial settings.

Please submit the following documents to Maryam Ziaei if you are interested to apply for this position:

  • A statement of interest including your research plan
  • Your resume including your under-preparation publications
  • Two first authored papers (published or in press)
  • The name of two referees who are familiar with your science and communication background

In the evaluation of which candidate is best qualified, emphasis will be placed on education, experience and personal suitability.

NTNU is committed to following evaluation criteria for research quality according to The San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment – DORA.

General information

Working at NTNU

A good work environment is characterized by diversity. We encourage qualified candidates to apply, regardless of their gender, functional capacity or cultural background.

————————-

The city of Trondheim is a modern European city with a rich cultural scene. Trondheim is the innovation capital of Norway with a population of 200,000. The Norwegian welfare state, including healthcare, schools, kindergartens and overall equality, is probably the best of its kind in the world. Professional subsidized day-care for children is easily available. Furthermore, Trondheim offers great opportunities for education (including international schools) and possibilities to enjoy nature, culture and family life and has low crime rates and clean air quality.

———————————

As an employee at NTNU, you must at all times adhere to the changes that the development in the subject entails and the organizational changes that are adopted.

Information Act (Offentleglova), your name, age, position and municipality may be made public even if you have requested not to have your name entered on the list of applicants.

If you have any questions about the position, please contact Dr. Maryam Ziaei, email [email protected] / [email protected]

If you have any questions about the recruitment process, please contact Ole Kristian Indergård, e-mail: [email protected]

Please submit your application electronically via jobbnorge.no with your CV, diplomas and certificates. Applications submitted elsewhere will not be considered. Diploma Supplement is required to attach for European Master Diplomas outside Norway. Chinese applicants are required to provide confirmation of Master Diploma from China Credentials Verification (CHSI).

If you are invited for interview you must include certified copies of transcripts and reference letters.

Application deadline: 05.10.2021

NTNU – knowledge for a better world
The Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) creates knowledge for a better world and solutions that can change everyday life.

The Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience is part of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences at NTNU. It was established as a Centre of Excellence in 2002, and designated as a Kavli Foundation Institute in 2007 (www.kavlifoundation.org). The scientific goal of the Institute is to increase the understanding of neural circuits and systems along with their role in generating psychological functions.

Today, the Institute consists of the Centre for Neuronal Computation (CNC) as well as the Egil and Pauline Braathen and Fred Kavli Centre for Cortical Microcircuits. In 2014, the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to two of the Institute’s professors, Edvard Moser and May-Britt Moser. The Institute is responsible for an international master’s programme and is affiliated with a doctoral programme in medicine. Through our widespread network of international collaboration, we offer unique career opportunities. For further information, see: www.ntnu.edu/kavli.

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryInternship and training

Apply Online

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost

Stagiaire postdoctoral dans le groupe Ziaei – Université norvégienne des sciences et de la technologie (NTNU)

Norvège
Publié il y a 3 semaines

Chez NTNU , créer des connaissances pour un monde meilleur est la vision qui unit nos 7 400 employés et 42 000 étudiants. Nous recherchons des employés dévoués pour nous rejoindre. Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur le travail chez NTNU et le processus de candidature  ici.

A propos du poste

Le groupe du Dr Ziaei du Kavli Institute for System Neuroscience ( KISN ) explore les réseaux neuronaux structurels et fonctionnels qui sous-tendent le traitement social et émotionnel du vieillissement. Nous recherchons un stagiaire postdoctoral motivé et enthousiaste pour rejoindre le laboratoire à l’automne 2021 afin de mieux comprendre les changements émotionnels et cérébraux qui surviennent avec le vieillissement.

Plus précisément, le groupe du Dr Ziaei vise à explorer comment les différences individuelles dans les fonctions cognitives et les marqueurs biologiques influencent les réseaux cérébraux impliqués dans le traitement des signaux sociaux et émotionnels dans l’environnement. Nous menons une étude longitudinale à plusieurs composantes pour explorer les réponses biologiques, neurales et comportementales aux signaux sociaux et émotionnels. De plus, nous sommes intéressés à déterminer si ces facteurs contribuent à la santé mentale chez les personnes âgées.

Les devoirs du poste

Le boursier postdoctoral sera impliqué dans différents aspects de ce projet, notamment la conception du projet, la collecte de données (IRMf et tests comportementaux), l’analyse des données et la rédaction de publications. De plus, le postdoc a la possibilité de travailler sur l’ensemble de données existant ou de générer un nouveau projet, dans le cadre du laboratoire.

Critères de sélection requis

Boursier postdoctoral :

Une bourse de recherche postdoctorale est un poste de qualification dont l’objectif principal est la qualification pour travailler dans des postes universitaires. Vous devez avoir obtenu un doctorat norvégien en psychologie, neurosciences, sciences biomédicales ou dans des domaines connexes ou un doctorat étranger correspondant reconnu comme équivalent à un doctorat norvégien est requis.

Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, vous avez fait une interruption de carrière ou avez eu une carrière atypique et que vous souhaitez le signaler dans votre candidature, le comité de sélection en tiendra compte, reconnaissant que la quantité de votre recherche peut en être réduite.

—————————

La nomination se fait conformément à la réglementation en vigueur concernant les  agents et fonctionnaires de l’Etat et les directives nationales pour la nomination en tant que docteur, post-doctorant et assistant de recherche .

Obligatoire

1. Un doctorat en psychologie, neurosciences, sciences biomédicales ou dans des domaines connexes

2. Expertise dans la conception et l’analyse des données d’IRMf (de préférence des données d’IRMf basées sur des tâches)

3. Expertise en analyses univariées (ex. SPM , FSL ) et en programmation (ex. R et Matlab)

4. Expérience dans les analyses multivariées et les analyses de réseau

5. Excellent dossier académique avec publication scientifique dans des domaines pertinents

Souhaitable

1. Expérience en apprentissage automatique

2. Expérience dans l’analyse de grands ensembles de données IRM

3. Familiarité avec les analyses de données IRM structurelles ( analyses volumétriques et/ou DTI )

4. Expérience de recherche auprès de la population des personnes âgées

Caractéristiques personnelles

  • Indépendant
  • Bon communicateur
  • Capacité de travailler en équipe
  • Très motivé

Nous offrons

Salaire et conditions

Bourse postdoctorale :
La période d’emploi est de 2 à 3 ans. Les

candidats postdoctoraux sont placés sous le code 1352, et sont normalement rémunérés au montant brut de 545 300 NOK par an avant impôts, en fonction des qualifications et de l’ancienneté. Sur le salaire, 2% sont déduits en tant que cotisation au Fonds de pension de la fonction publique norvégienne.

—————————————————

L’engagement est à effectuer conformément à la réglementation en vigueur concernant les agents de l’Etat et les fonctionnaires, et les actes relatifs au contrôle des exportations de biens, services et technologies stratégiques. Les candidats qui, d’après l’évaluation de la candidature et de la pièce jointe, sont perçus comme étant en conflit avec les critères de cette dernière loi se verront interdire le recrutement à NTNU . Après le rendez-vous, vous devez supposer qu’il peut y avoir des changements dans le domaine de travail.

Le poste est soumis à un financement externe

C’est une condition préalable à laquelle vous pouvez être présent et accessible à l’institution au quotidien.

À propos de l’application

L’environnement de travail au KISN offre de grandes opportunités aux post-doctorants ambitieux pour pouvoir concevoir une recherche translationnelle et générer des idées collaboratives dans toutes les disciplines. Le centre nouvellement créé, le KG Jebsen Center for Alzheimer’s Disease, offre une excellente plate-forme pour les post-doctorants qui souhaitent acquérir des expériences cliniques !

Les employés ont accès à une science et à une infrastructure de pointe à travers le KISN et NTNU . De plus, nous offrons aux post-doctorants la possibilité d’assister à des ateliers et à des conférences dans le domaine de l’imagerie, des neurosciences et du vieillissement. Nous encourageons également les post-doctorants à se perfectionner avec des compétences interpersonnelles cruciales pour les prochaines étapes de leur cheminement de carrière. Il s’agit notamment d’une collaboration et d’une communication efficaces, de la prise de parole en public, de la préparation aux entretiens d’embauche, des compétences en gestion et de la traduction de la recherche en milieu industriel.

Veuillez soumettre les documents suivants à Maryam Ziaei si vous êtes intéressé à postuler pour ce poste :

  • Une déclaration d’intérêt incluant votre plan de recherche
  • Votre CV incluant vos publications en cours de préparation
  • Deux premiers articles écrits (publiés ou sous presse)
  • Le nom de deux arbitres qui connaissent votre formation en sciences et en communication

Dans l’évaluation du candidat le plus qualifié, l’accent sera mis sur l’éducation, l’expérience et les qualités personnelles.

NTNU s’engage à suivre les critères d’évaluation de la qualité de la recherche conformément à  la Déclaration de San Francisco sur l’évaluation de la recherche – DORA .

informations générales

Travailler chez NTNU

Un bon environnement de travail se caractérise par la diversité. Nous encourageons les candidats qualifiés à postuler, quels que soient leur sexe, leur capacité fonctionnelle ou leur origine culturelle.

————————-

La ville de Trondheim  est une ville européenne moderne avec une scène culturelle riche. Trondheim est la capitale de l’innovation de la Norvège avec une population de 200 000 habitants. L’État-providence norvégien, y compris les soins de santé, les écoles, les jardins d’enfants et l’égalité globale, est probablement le meilleur du genre au monde. Une garderie professionnelle subventionnée pour les enfants est facilement disponible. En outre, Trondheim offre d’excellentes opportunités d’éducation (y compris des écoles internationales) et des possibilités de profiter de la nature, de la culture et de la vie de famille et a un faible taux de criminalité et une qualité de l’air propre.

————————————

En tant qu’employé de NTNU, vous devez à tout moment adhérer aux changements que l’évolution du sujet implique et aux changements organisationnels qui sont adoptés.

Information Act (Offentleglova), votre nom, âge, fonction et municipalité peuvent être rendus publics même si vous avez demandé que votre nom ne soit pas inscrit sur la liste des candidats.

Si vous avez des questions sur le poste, veuillez contacter le Dr Maryam Ziaei, par courrier électronique à [email protected] / [email protected]

Si vous avez des questions sur le processus de recrutement, veuillez contacter Ole Kristian Indergård, e-mail : [email protected]

Veuillez soumettre votre candidature par voie électronique via jobbnorge.no avec votre CV, diplômes et certificats. Les candidatures soumises ailleurs ne seront pas prises en considération. Un supplément au diplôme est requis pour les diplômes de master européens en dehors de la Norvège. Les candidats chinois sont tenus de fournir une confirmation du diplôme de Master de  China Credentials Verification ( CHSI ) .

Si vous êtes invité à un entretien, vous devez inclure des copies certifiées conformes des relevés de notes et des lettres de référence.

Date limite de candidature : 05.10.2021

NTNU – des connaissances pour un monde meilleur
L’Université norvégienne des sciences et technologies ( NTNU ) crée des connaissances pour un monde meilleur et des solutions qui peuvent changer la vie de tous les jours.

L’Institut Kavli pour les neurosciences des systèmes fait partie de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de la NTNU . Il a été créé en tant que centre d’excellence en 2002 et désigné comme institut de la Fondation Kavli en 2007 ( www.kavlifoundation.org ). L’objectif scientifique de l’Institut est d’accroître la compréhension des circuits et systèmes neuronaux ainsi que leur rôle dans la génération de fonctions psychologiques.

Aujourd’hui, l’Institut comprend le Centre de calcul neuronal ( CNC ) ainsi que le Centre Egil et Pauline Braathen et Fred Kavli pour les microcircuits corticaux. En 2014, le prix Nobel de physiologie ou médecine a été décerné à deux des professeurs de l’Institut, Edvard Moser et May-Britt Moser. L’Institut est responsable d’un programme de master international et est affilié à un programme de doctorat en médecine. Grâce à notre vaste réseau de collaboration internationale, nous offrons des opportunités de carrière uniques. Pour plus d’informations, voir : www.ntnu.edu/kavli .

Merci de postuler via le site du recruteur.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiStage et Formation

Postuler en ligne

Related Posts

Next Post

Discussion about this jobpost