Three faculty positions in Biological and Earth System Sciences, Falkland Islands

îles Falkland
Posted 6 months ago

The Department of Earth System Science (https://www.urosario.edu.co/Ciencias-del-Sistema-Tierra/Inicio/) and the Department of Biology (https://www.urosario.edu.co/Programa-de-Biologia/inicio/), Faculty of Natural Sciences (FNC) at the Universidad del Rosario (Bogotá, Colombia) seeks applicants for three (3) full-time tenure track faculty positions, in the following areas:

1.      Hydrology/Oceanography 

Candidates are expected to have a PhD in Hydrology and Water Resources, Oceanography or other related disciplines. We look for candidates with a strong publication record, research and teaching experience in subjects such as Hydrology, Oceanography, Water Management, Limnology, River Basins, Groundwater dynamics, among others. Postdoctoral experience, extensive interdisciplinary research and project management background, teaching experience, teamwork skills, student mentoring, fostering student/faculty interactions, and success with extramural funding are also highly valued. The successful candidate is expected to engage in scholarly activities, mentor graduate and undergraduate students, and set-up a line or research group with trans- and multidisciplinary research projects. It is also anticipated that the candidate will establish collaborations with professors and students from the programs inside the Faculty of Natural Sciences, and with other academic units at Universidad del Rosario. The position involves about 40% research, 20% academic service and 40% teaching (about four courses per year).

2.   Vertebrate evolution 

Candidates are expected to have a PhD in Vertebrates including Organismal Biology and Evolutionary Biology aspects. We seek candidates with a strong publication record working in vertebrate evolution on any vertebrate group, whose work emphasizes field-based studies within an evolutionary context. Possible research areas include (but are not limited to) phylogenetics, biogeography, adaptation, speciation, evolutionary genetics, genomics, and comparative morphology. Postdoctoral experience, success in obtaining third party research funding, training in collections and teaching experience will be of added value. The successful candidate is expected to engage in scholarly activities, mentor graduate and undergraduate students, investigate broad questions related to the origin and diversification of vertebrates, and lead research projects. The position involves about 40% research, 20% academic service and 40% teaching, which will include about two courses per semester, including an undergraduate course on Vertebrate Zoology. It is also anticipated that the candidates will establish collaborations with professors and students from across the Biology Department and the Earth System Sciences program, and with other academic units at Universidad del Rosario.

3.   Socio-Ecological Systems 

Candidates are expected to have a PhD in environmental sciences, geography, biology, ecology, or other disciplines related to the analysis of socio-ecological systems (SES). We are looking for candidates with a strong publication record and research experience in subjects such as modeling of SES, integrated assessment, ecosystem services, decision-support systems, complexity theory, urban ecosystems, resilience, vulnerability studies and/or valuation, among others. Postdoctoral experience, success in obtaining third party research funding, deep knowledge of statistical treatment of data and teaching experience will be of importance. The successful candidate is expected to engage in scholarly activities, mentor graduate and undergraduate students, investigate broad questions related to SES, and lead trans- and multidisciplinary research projects. The position involves about 40% research, 20% academic service and 40% teaching, which will include about two courses per semester, including Socio-ecological Systems. It is also anticipated that the candidates will establish collaborations with professors and students from across the Biology Department and the Earth System Sciences program, and with other academic units at Universidad del Rosario.

Applications must be written in English and include: 1) a detailed CV with a complete list of publications and funding awarded; 2) reprints of three selected papers; 3) a Research Statement summarizing the candidate’s experience, interests and an outline of the research plan that can be potentially developed at Universidad del Rosario (2 pages); 4) a Teaching Statement describing teaching experience and philosophy as well as pedagogic strategies (4–5 min video in Spanish); and 5) contact details of two (2) academic references.

Monthly salary is competitive for both Colombian and international standards and will be determined by a University-wide point system, based on research and teaching experience. Publications in high-ranking journals are yearly recognized following the University financial incentives policy. Non-native speakers are encouraged to apply and will be given two years to strengthen their Spanish communication skills and take an exam at the Multicultural and Multilingual Center at Universidad del Rosario, or take an international DELE B2 exam. Non-native speakers who have obtained the BSc, MSc or PhD in Spanish speaking countries are exempt from these exams.

The starting date is January 2023, but other dates can be arranged. Please send your application by e-mail at f.cn@urosario.edu.co no later than September 15th, 2022, indicating the position you are applying for.

For questions about the position in Hydrology/Oceanography and life in Colombia please contact Prof. Edwin Cadena (edwin.cadena@urosario.edu.co). For questions about the position in Vertebrate Evolution and life in Colombia please contact Prof. Camilo Salazar (camilo.salazar@urosario.edu.co). For questions about the position in Socio-Ecological Systems and life in Colombia please contact Prof. Nicola Clerici (nicola.clerici@urosario.edu.co).

Universidad del Rosario is a prestigious Colombian University that typically ranks in the top five universities in the country and in the top 50 in Latin America. It was founded in 1653 and has a long tradition in the areas of Medicine, Law, Economics and, Social and Political Sciences. The Faculty of Natural Sciences (FNC) was founded in 2008, with the goal of creating strong undergraduate and graduate programs that excel in both teaching and research. At present, the FNC has 25 full time faculty members and incorporates the undergraduate programs of Earth System Science and Biology, a Master, and PhD Program in Natural Sciences. The FCN has a vigorous and growing research agenda and published over 90 international peer-reviewed articles in 2021 (https://www.urosario.edu.co/facultad-ciencias-naturales/Inicio/).

Job Features

Job CategoryEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

Trois postes de professeurs en sciences biologiques et du système terrestre, îles Falkland

îles Falkland
Publié il y a 2 mois

Le Département des sciences du système terrestre ( https://www.urosario.edu.co/Ciencias-del-Sistema-Tierra/Inicio/ ) et le Département de biologiehttps://www.urosario.edu.co/Programa- de-Biologia/inicio/ ), la Faculté des sciences naturellesFNC ) de l’Universidad del Rosario (Bogotá, Colombie) recherche des candidats pour trois (3) postes à temps plein menant à la permanence, dans les domaines suivants :

1. Hydrologie/Océanographie 

Les candidats doivent avoir un doctorat en hydrologie et ressources en eau, en océanographie ou dans d’autres disciplines connexes. Nous recherchons des candidats ayant un solide dossier de publication, une expérience de recherche et d’enseignement dans des domaines tels que l’hydrologie, l’océanographie, la gestion de l’eau, la limnologie, les bassins fluviaux, la dynamique des eaux souterraines, entre autres. Une expérience postdoctorale, une vaste expérience en recherche interdisciplinaire et en gestion de projet, une expérience d’enseignement, des compétences en travail d’équipe, le mentorat d’étudiants, la promotion d’interactions étudiants / professeurs et le succès avec un financement extra-muros sont également très appréciés. Le candidat retenu devrait s’engager dans des activités savantes, encadrer des étudiants diplômés et de premier cycle et mettre en place une ligne ou un groupe de recherche avec des projets de recherche trans et multidisciplinaires. Il est également prévu que le candidat établira des collaborations avec des professeurs et des étudiants des programmes de la Faculté des sciences naturelles et avec d’autres unités académiques de l’Universidad del Rosario. Le poste implique environ 40% de recherche, 20% de service académique et 40% d’enseignement (environ quatre cours par an).

2. Évolution des vertébrés 

Les candidats doivent avoir un doctorat en vertébrés, y compris les aspects de biologie des organismes et de biologie évolutive. Nous recherchons des candidats avec un solide dossier de publication travaillant sur l’évolution des vertébrés sur n’importe quel groupe de vertébrés, dont le travail met l’accent sur les études sur le terrain dans un contexte évolutif. Les domaines de recherche possibles incluent (mais ne sont pas limités à) la phylogénétique, la biogéographie, l’adaptation, la spéciation, la génétique évolutive, la génomique et la morphologie comparée. L’expérience postdoctorale, le succès dans l’obtention de financements de recherche par des tiers, la formation en collections et l’expérience en enseignement seront d’une valeur ajoutée. Le candidat retenu devra s’engager dans des activités savantes, encadrer des étudiants diplômés et de premier cycle, enquêter sur des questions générales liées à l’origine et à la diversification des vertébrés et diriger des projets de recherche. Le poste implique environ 40% de recherche, 20% de service académique et 40% d’enseignement, qui comprendra environ deux cours par semestre, dont un cours de premier cycle sur la zoologie des vertébrés. Il est également prévu que les candidats établiront des collaborations avec des professeurs et des étudiants du département de biologie et du programme des sciences du système terrestre, ainsi qu’avec d’autres unités universitaires de l’Universidad del Rosario.

3. Systèmes socio-écologiques 

Les candidats doivent détenir un doctorat en sciences de l’environnement, en géographie, en biologie, en écologie ou dans d’autres disciplines liées à l’analyse des systèmes socio-écologiques ( SES ). Nous recherchons des candidats ayant un solide dossier de publication et une expérience de recherche dans des sujets tels que la modélisation du SES, évaluation intégrée, services écosystémiques, systèmes d’aide à la décision, théorie de la complexité, écosystèmes urbains, résilience, études de vulnérabilité et/ou évaluation, entre autres. L’expérience postdoctorale, le succès dans l’obtention de financements de recherche par des tiers, une connaissance approfondie du traitement statistique des données et une expérience en enseignement seront importants. Le candidat retenu devrait s’engager dans des activités savantes, encadrer des étudiants diplômés et de premier cycle, enquêter sur des questions générales liées au SSE, et mener des projets de recherche trans et pluridisciplinaires. Le poste implique environ 40% de recherche, 20% de service académique et 40% d’enseignement, qui comprendra environ deux cours par semestre, y compris les systèmes socio-écologiques. Il est également prévu que les candidats établiront des collaborations avec des professeurs et des étudiants du département de biologie et du programme des sciences du système terrestre, ainsi qu’avec d’autres unités universitaires de l’Universidad del Rosario.

Les candidatures doivent être rédigées en anglais et inclure : 1) un CV détaillé avec une liste complète des publications et des financements accordés ; 2) réimpressions de trois articles sélectionnés ; 3) une déclaration de recherche résumant l’expérience du candidat, ses intérêts et un aperçu du plan de recherche pouvant être potentiellement développé à l’Universidad del Rosario (2 pages); 4) une déclaration d’enseignement décrivant l’expérience d’enseignement et la philosophie ainsi que les stratégies pédagogiques (vidéo de 4 à 5 minutes en espagnol); et 5) les coordonnées de deux (2) références académiques.

Le salaire mensuel est compétitif pour les normes colombiennes et internationales et sera déterminé par un système de points à l’échelle de l’université, basé sur l’expérience de recherche et d’enseignement. Les publications dans des revues de haut niveau sont reconnues chaque année conformément à la politique d’incitation financière de l’Université. Les locuteurs non natifs sont encouragés à postuler et auront deux ans pour renforcer leurs compétences en communication en espagnol et passer un examen au Centre multiculturel et multilingue de l’Universidad del Rosario, ou passer un examen international DELE B2. Les locuteurs non natifs qui ont obtenu le BSc, MSc ou PhD dans les pays hispanophones sont exemptés de ces examens.

La date de début est janvier 2023, mais d’autres dates peuvent être convenues. Veuillez envoyer votre candidature par e-mail à f.cn@urosario.edu.co au plus tard le 15 septembre 2022, en indiquant le poste pour lequel vous postulez.

Pour toute question concernant le poste en hydrologie/océanographie et la vie en Colombie, veuillez contacter le professeur Edwin Cadena ( edwin.cadena@urosario.edu.co ). Pour toute question concernant le poste en évolution des vertébrés et la vie en Colombie, veuillez contacter le professeur Camilo Salazar ( camilo.salazar@urosario.edu.co ). Pour toute question sur le poste dans les systèmes socio-écologiques et la vie en Colombie, veuillez contacter le professeur Nicola Clerici ( nicola.clerici@urosario.edu.co ).

L’Universidad del Rosario est une prestigieuse université colombienne qui se classe généralement parmi les cinq meilleures universités du pays et parmi les 50 meilleures d’Amérique latine. Elle a été fondée en 1653 et a une longue tradition dans les domaines de la médecine, du droit, de l’économie et des sciences sociales et politiques. La Faculté des sciences naturellesFNC ) a été fondée en 2008 dans le but de créer de solides programmes de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs qui excellent tant dans l’enseignement que dans la recherche. À l’heure actuelle, le FNC compte 25 membres du corps professoral à temps plein et intègre les programmes de premier cycle en sciences et biologie du système terrestre, une maîtrise et un programme de doctorat en sciences naturelles. Le FCN a un programme de recherche vigoureux et croissant et a publié plus de 90 articles internationaux évalués par des pairs en 2021 (https://www.urosario.edu.co/facultad-ciencias-naturales/Inicio/ ).

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page