One or More Postdocs in Optimization and Algorithm Design, Denmark

Danemark
Posted 5 months ago

At the Faculty of Engineering and Science, Department of Materials and Production one or more Postdoc positions in the area of Optimization and Algorithm Design are open for appointment from October 1 2022 or soon thereafter. The positions are available for a period of 3 years.  Department of Materials and Production (MP) has a wide-ranging research and educational environment at Aalborg University. The Department’s mission is to meet the future’s demands for new materials and production systems by directing the whole value chain from basic material understanding, materials’ applications in mechanical constructions, industrial production and management. The department has several strong, international and innovative research groups which comprise everything from basic science to strategic and applicable research. The activities encompass research as well as education within materials, mechanics, physics, production technique, and industrial management and innovation. Of them, exoskeleton is one of the strategic research areas that benefit the industry and society through interdisciplinary co-operations and the state-of-the-art technologies.  Thereby, as an employee at the Department you will become a part of an international research environment, where focus is on innovation, knowledge sharing/building and interdisciplinary collaborations.

JOB DESCRIPTION

The position is within the Operations Research (OR) group at Aalborg University and the research is in a highly synergic cooperation with leading Danish and European companies and international academic partners. The OR group focuses on solving complex problems, which require high-level modelling, data analysis and management capabilities as well as developing solution algorithms applying mathematical and computational approaches. The group have a particular interest in autonomous cyber-physical systems and decisions related to these systems. The application area of the work covers a wide range of autonomous systems spanning AGV, UAVs, USVs, satellites, and many others.

We are looking for candidates with a strong interest in interdisciplinary research at the intersection of Computer Science, Operations Research, and Mathematics. Backgrounds in machine learning or computational optimization will be an advantage. The candidate is expected to contribute to ongoing research projects as well as participate in activities supporting future research projects and initiatives.

As a successful applicant you will participate in research projects with world-leading industry partners in the area of manufacturing, transportation and defense. You will also contribute to education, academic and collaborative research activities in the group and with external partners. The successful application will have demonstrated research experience in mathematical modeling of optimization and decision-making problems and developing optimization algorithms. Besides this, good programming skills in, e.g., Java, C, C++ and Python are a strong benefit.

The candidate should be able to highlight research activities in the form of ISI’s Web of Science publications and the preferred candidate will also be able to demonstrate application of research in practice. Appropriate candidates should have a master’s and PhD degree in Computer Science, Operations Research, Applied Mathematics or a related field. Experience with software or algorithm implementation in cloud environments will be considered an advantage.

The applicant with very strong English skills will be preferred. Some minor teaching activities within the Global Business Engineering and Operations and Supply Chain Management engineering programs, as well as in other study programs at the university, can be expected. The positions primarily target to support ongoing and incoming research projects with external partners.

Interested applicants may obtain further professional information from Professor MSO Izabela Nielsen at  izabela@mp.aau.dk

Qualification requirements:

Appointment as Postdoc presupposes scientific qualifications at PhD–level or similar scientific qualifications. The research potential of each applicant will be emphasized in the overall assessment. Appointment as a Postdoc cannot exceed a period of four years in total at Aalborg University.

The application must contain the following:

  • A motivated text wherein the reasons for applying, qualifications in relation to the position, and intentions and visions for the position are stated.
  • A current curriculum vitae.
  • Copies of relevant diplomas (Master of Science and PhD). On request you could be asked for an official English translation.
  • Scientific qualifications. A complete list of publications must be attached with an indication of the works the applicant wishes to be considered. You may attach up to 5 publications.
  • Dissemination qualifications, including participation on committees or boards, participation in organisations and the like.
  • Additional qualifications in relation to the position. References/recommendations.
  • Personal data.

The applications are only to be submitted online by using the “Apply online” button below.
Shortlisting will be applied. After the review of any objections regarding the assessment committee, the head of department, with assistance from the chair of the assessment committee, selects the candidates to be assessed. All applicants will be informed as to whether they will advance to assessment or not.

AAU wishes to reflect the diversity of society and welcomes applications from all qualified candidates regardless of personal background or belief.

For further information concerning the application procedure please contact Mathilde Vestergaard Nielsen by mail est-ef-hr@adm.aau.dk. Information regarding guidelines, ministerial circular in force and procedures can be seen here

AGREEMENT

Employment is in accordance with the Ministerial Order on the Appointment of Academic Staff at Universities (the Appointment Order) and the Ministry of Finance’s current Job Structure for Academic Staff at Universities. Employment and salary are in accordance with the collective agreement for state-employed academics.

VACANCY NUMBER

2022-224-04779

DEADLINE

Wed Aug 31 00:00:00 CEST 2022

Job Features

Job CategoryPost doc

Apply Online

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Un ou plusieurs post-doctorants en optimisation et conception d’algorithmes, Danemark

Danemark
Publié il y a 5 mois

À la Faculté de génie et des sciences, Département des matériaux et de la production, un ou plusieurs postes de postdoc dans le domaine de l’optimisation et de la conception d’algorithmes sont ouverts aux nominations à partir du 1er octobre 2022 ou peu de temps après. Les postes sont disponibles pour une durée de 3 ans. Le Département des matériaux et de la production (MP) dispose d’un vaste environnement de recherche et d’enseignement à l’Université d’Aalborg. La mission du Département est de répondre aux demandes futures de nouveaux matériaux et systèmes de production en dirigeant l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur depuis la compréhension de base des matériaux, les applications des matériaux dans les constructions mécaniques, la production industrielle et la gestion. Le département compte plusieurs groupes de recherche solides, internationaux et innovants qui comprennent tout, de la science fondamentale à la recherche stratégique et applicable. Les activités englobent la recherche ainsi que l’enseignement dans les domaines des matériaux, de la mécanique, de la physique, des techniques de production, de la gestion industrielle et de l’innovation. Parmi eux, l’exosquelette est l’un des domaines de recherche stratégiques qui profite à l’industrie et à la société grâce à des coopérations interdisciplinaires et des technologies de pointe. Ainsi, en tant qu’employé du Département, vous ferez partie d’un environnement de recherche international, où l’accent est mis sur l’innovation, le partage/la construction de connaissances et les collaborations interdisciplinaires.

DESCRIPTION DE L’EMPLOI

Le poste se situe au sein du groupe de recherche opérationnelle (OR) de l’Université d’Aalborg et la recherche est en coopération hautement synergique avec des entreprises danoises et européennes de premier plan et des partenaires universitaires internationaux. Le groupe OR se concentre sur la résolution de problèmes complexes, qui nécessitent des capacités de modélisation, d’analyse de données et de gestion de haut niveau, ainsi que sur le développement d’algorithmes de solution appliquant des approches mathématiques et informatiques. Le groupe s’intéresse particulièrement aux systèmes cyber-physiques autonomes et aux décisions liées à ces systèmes. Le domaine d’application des travaux couvre un large éventail de systèmes autonomes couvrant les AGV, les UAV, les USV, les satellites et bien d’autres.

Nous recherchons des candidats ayant un fort intérêt pour la recherche interdisciplinaire à l’intersection de l’informatique, de la recherche opérationnelle et des mathématiques. Une expérience en apprentissage automatique ou en optimisation informatique sera un avantage. On s’attend à ce que le candidat contribue aux projets de recherche en cours et participe aux activités soutenant les futurs projets et initiatives de recherche.

En tant que candidat retenu, vous participerez à des projets de recherche avec des partenaires industriels de renommée mondiale dans les domaines de la fabrication, du transport et de la défense. Vous contribuerez également aux activités de formation, académiques et de recherche collaborative au sein du groupe et avec des partenaires externes. La candidature retenue aura démontré une expérience de recherche dans la modélisation mathématique des problèmes d’optimisation et de prise de décision et dans le développement d’algorithmes d’optimisation. En plus de cela, de bonnes compétences en programmation, par exemple, Java, C, C++ et Python sont un atout majeur.

Le candidat doit être en mesure de mettre en évidence les activités de recherche sous la forme de publications Web of Science de l’ISI et le candidat préféré sera également en mesure de démontrer l’application de la recherche dans la pratique. Les candidats appropriés doivent être titulaires d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat en informatique, en recherche opérationnelle, en mathématiques appliquées ou dans un domaine connexe. Une expérience de la mise en œuvre de logiciels ou d’algorithmes dans des environnements cloud sera considérée comme un avantage.

Le candidat ayant de très bonnes compétences en anglais sera préféré. Certaines activités mineures d’enseignement au sein des programmes d’ingénierie Global Business Engineering et Operations et Supply Chain Management, ainsi que dans d’autres programmes d’études à l’université, peuvent être envisagées. Les postes visent principalement à soutenir les projets de recherche en cours et à venir avec des partenaires externes.

Les candidats intéressés peuvent obtenir de plus amples informations professionnelles auprès du professeur MSO Izabela Nielsen à  izabela@mp.aau.dk

Les exigences de qualification:

La nomination en tant que Postdoc présuppose des qualifications scientifiques de niveau doctorat ou des qualifications scientifiques similaires. Le potentiel de recherche de chaque candidat sera souligné dans l’évaluation globale. La nomination en tant que postdoc ne peut excéder une période de quatre ans au total à l’Université d’Aalborg.

La demande doit contenir les éléments suivants :

  • Un texte motivé dans lequel les raisons de postuler, les qualifications par rapport au poste, les intentions et les visions du poste sont énoncées.
  • Un curriculum vitae à jour.
  • Copies des diplômes pertinents (Master of Science et PhD). Sur demande, une traduction officielle en anglais peut vous être demandée.
  • Diplômes scientifiques. Une liste complète des publications doit être jointe avec une indication des travaux que le candidat souhaite voir considérés. Vous pouvez joindre jusqu’à 5 publications.
  • Qualifications en matière de diffusion, y compris la participation à des comités ou à des conseils, la participation à des organisations, etc.
  • Qualifications supplémentaires en rapport avec le poste. Références/recommandations.
  • Données personnelles.

Les candidatures doivent être soumises uniquement en ligne en utilisant le bouton « Postuler en ligne » ci-dessous.
Une présélection sera appliquée. Après examen des éventuelles contestations concernant la commission d’évaluation, le chef de département, assisté du président de la commission d’évaluation, sélectionne les candidats à évaluer. Tous les candidats seront informés s’ils passeront ou non à l’évaluation.

L’AUA souhaite refléter la diversité de la société et accueille les candidatures de tous les candidats qualifiés, indépendamment de leurs antécédents personnels ou de leurs convictions.

Pour plus d’informations concernant la procédure de candidature, veuillez contacter Mathilde Vestergaard Nielsen par courrier électronique est-ef-hr@adm.aau.dk . Les informations concernant les directives, la circulaire ministérielle en vigueur et les procédures peuvent être consultées ici

ACCORD

L’emploi est conforme à l’arrêté ministériel sur la nomination du personnel académique dans les universités (l’arrêté de nomination) et à la structure actuelle des emplois du ministère des Finances pour le personnel académique dans les universités. L’emploi et le salaire sont conformes à la convention collective des universitaires de l’État.

NUMÉRO DE POSTE VACANT

2022-224-04779

DATE LIMITE

mer. 31 août 00:00:00 CEST 2022

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPost doc

Postuler en ligne

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.