1- The cursed blades of Muramasa

Fans of Japanese history will no doubt recognize the name of Muramasa, a famous blacksmith who has gone down in legend thanks to the quality of his work and the dark reputation of his weapons. In historical texts, he is often put in duality with Masamune, generally considered to be the greatest blacksmith in the history of Japan.
Apart from their rather unique model and excellent quality, the reputation of Muramasa weapons comes from a folklore that has developed over time. His creations are often described in legends as cursed blades, which incited violence and bloodlust in the samurai who used them.

This reputation is due to the popularity of these blades in parts of Japan in the 16th and 17th centuries, where they were used in several bloody conflicts, accidents and even suicides. These tragedies were picked up by the theater and fed into folklore writings, which gradually gave Muramasa’s creations a reputation as cursed blades.

Many weapons forged by Muramasa are still in excellent condition today and are sometimes displayed to the public in major Japanese museums.

2- Zulfikar: sword of ali ibn abi talib

This saber belonged to the prophet Mohamed who also had 6 or 8 sabers. Each sword had a name, it was called Dhul Fikar which means  “two-pointed sword”, “Sharp spine” or “the one that distinguishes good from evil”.

At the time, the sword was the symbol of holy war where courageous soldiers protected the message of Islam.

During the Battle of Uhud, Ali smashed his saber on an opponent’s helmet. Mahomet wore two sabers on his belt. He gave his Zulfikar sword to his son-in-law Ali.

This sentence :

“There are no heroes like Ali, There is no sword like Zulfikar”

is a common slogan. It happens that the order of the two independent propositions are reversed.

3- La Joyeuse, the sword of the French monarchy

This saber is one of the oldest historical artifacts of the French monarchy. According to experts, the Joyeuse has been used for the coronation of new monarchs since the 12th century.

This sword is surrounded by several myths. Certain religious writings report in particular that an earlier version of the Joyeuse would have belonged to the emperor Charlemagne in person and that it would have been forged from the lance which would have pierced the body of Jesus Christ.
Although these legends are arguably much closer to myth than reality, the true journey of this sword remains fascinating. From monarch to monarch, it survived the French Revolution to then be used during Napoleon’s coronation. Its various components have been modified over the centuries, which also testifies in a way to the great history of France.

Since the French Revolution, the Louvre has been responsible for the maintenance of this legendary blade, and it is sometimes possible to see it at exhibitions.

4- Simón Bolívar’s sword

Venezuelan general, Simón Bolívar was also president of several Latin American countries in the 19th century and is recognized as one of the great leaders of the movement that led to the independence of these former Spanish colonies. While his sword is certainly not as old as the other blades mentioned so far, it does have a fascinating history.

This legendary weapon is indeed almost as legendary as its owner; she always accompanies him on his portraits or on the many statues bearing his effigy, and she was by his side until his death in 1830. More than a simple sword, it has become a symbol of liberation for several countries of the world. Latin America, starting with Colombia.

After his death, his sword was kept in his former residence in Bogota, until it was stolen in 1974 by the Colombian revolutionary group M-19. The sword was reportedly returned to the Colombian government in 1991, after it was owned by drug trafficker Pablo Escobar, but doubts remain as to its authenticity.

In 2010, the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC) claimed to have the relic in their possession, but the Colombian government quickly denied the veracity of this statement before again claiming to be in possession of Simón’s real sword. Bolívar.

5- Sword of Alexander the Great

Alexander III of Macedon, better known as Alexander the Great, was King of Macedon from 336 BC until his death and is recognized as one of the most prominent military leaders in history, by his conquest of the Achaemenid Empire. Alexander had indeed conquered the Persian Empire, including Anatolia, Syria, Phenicia, Judea, Gaza, Egypt, Bactria and Mesopotamia, he extended the borders of Macedonia to the Punjab region. . Before his death, Alexander had planned to return to the West and conquer Europe in addition to wanting to continue expanding to the East and find the end of the world, an idea that his childhood guardian, Aristotle, told him. instilled in telling stories about a place where the Earth ended and the Great Outer Sea began.

6- Sword “Tizona” and Sword “Colada”

They belonged to the castellan knight Rodrigo Díaz de Vivar, known as “El Cid Campeador”, faithful vasalle who participated with king Alfonso VI in the conquest of Toledo and, later, he conquered the kingdom of Valencia, which was in the hands of the Arabs. .

7- Richard the Lionheart Sword

Famous King of England between 1189 and 1199, being the third son of King Henry II of England and Eleanor of Aquitaine. He was also Duke of Normandy and Aquitaine and Conte d’Anjou, noble Crusader Knight, recognized for his courage and valor in battles. Richard received the title of Coeur de Lion in the Crusades, being compared to Philippe d’Orléans as a lamb and Richard as a lion. His personal worth in battle inspired many poets and literary people.

8- King Arthur’s Excalibur Sword

Its story belongs mainly to legend and early 15th century literature, although it is still doubtful whether Arthur, or a similar figure sure that the legend was based, actually existed. Legend and history mingled during several subsequent centuries and appear to be intimately united to the Knights of the Round Table and the mysterious “Excalibur”.

According to had announced the mage Merlin, only who will get to withdraw the sword from the rock, would be King. Arthur achieved this feat and kneeling before the stone, he extracted the blade with the usual ease, he supported the sword on his head and then he entered the cathedral and laid it on the altar. Arthur was anointed with holy oil in the presence of all the Barons and the common people, he solemnly swore to be a loyal king for his subjects and to defend truth and justice every day of his life.

9- Sword of William Wallace (1270-1305)

He was a valiant Scottish warrior who led his country against the English occupation and against King Edward I of England in the Scottish Wars of Independence. He was brought up in an abbey in which his paternal uncle resided, for this he was well educated for the models of the time, and spoke French, Latin, Gaelic and English.

10- Haft  (Arabic:  الحتف , “the ruin” or “the death”) 

Is a sword that King David would have forged himself after God taught him ironwork and weapon-making as a reward for slaying the giant Goliath. He would have taken as a model  Al-Battar , the sword of Goliath, making a wide blade 112  cm  long. The weapon was allegedly taken by Muhammad as booty during his victory over the Jewish tribe of Banu Qaynuqa, since then part of the nine swords known as Muhammad. A sword presented as such is now in the Topkapi Museum in Istanbul

Tagged in:

1- Les lames maudites de Muramasa

Les passionnés d’histoire du Japon reconnaîtront sans doute le nom de Muramasa, un célèbre forgeron qui est entré dans la légende grâce à la qualité de son travail et à la sombre réputation de ses armes. Dans les textes historiques, il est souvent mis en dualité avec Masamune, généralement considéré comme le plus grand forgeron de l’histoire du Japon.
En dehors de leur modèle assez unique et de leur excellente qualité, la réputation des armes Muramasa provient d’un folklore qui s’est développé au fil du temps. Ses créations sont souvent décrites dans les légendes comme des lames maudites, qui incitaient à la violence et à la soif de sang chez les samouraïs qui les utilisaient.

Cette réputation s’explique par la popularité de ces lames dans certaines régions du Japon aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, où elles ont été utilisées dans plusieurs conflits sanglants, accidents et même suicides. Ces tragédies ont été reprises par le théâtre et ont alimenté les écrits folkloriques, ce qui a donné peu à peu une réputation de lames maudites aux créations de Muramasa.

De nombreuses armes forgées par Muramasa sont toujours en excellent état aujourd’hui et sont parfois exposées au public dans les grands musées japonais.

2- Zulfikar : epée de ali ibn abi talib

Ce sabre  appartenait au prophète Mohamed  qui avait lui aussi 6 ou 8 sabres. Chaque sabre portait un nom, celui ci s’appelait Dhul Fikar ce qui signifie « épée à deux pointes », « Tranchant l’échine » ou « celle qui distingue le bien du mal ».

A l’époque, le sabre était le symbole de la guerre sainte où les soldats courageux protégeaient le message de l’Islam.

Lors de la bataille de Uhud, Ali a brisé son sabre sur le casque d’un adversaire. Mahomet portait à la ceinture deux sabres. Il donna son sabre Zulfikar à son gendre Ali.

Cette phrase :

« Il n’y a pas de héros comme Ali, Il n’y a pas d’épée comme Zulfikar »

est un slogan courant. Il arrive que l’ordre des deux propositions indépendantes soient inversés.

3- La Joyeuse, l’épée de la monarchie française

Ce sabre est l’un des plus anciens artefacts historiques de la monarchie française. Selon les experts, la Joyeuse a été utilisée pour le couronnement de nouveaux monarques depuis le 12e siècle.

Cette épée est entourée de plusieurs mythes. Certains écrits religieux rapportent notamment qu’une version antérieure de la Joyeuse aurait appartenu à l’empereur Charlemagne en personne et qu’elle aurait été forgée à partir de la lance qui aurait transpercé le corps de Jésus-Christ.
Même si ces légendes sont sans doute beaucoup plus proches du mythe que de la réalité, le véritable parcours de cette épée reste fascinant. De monarque en monarque, elle a survécu à la Révolution française pour être ensuite utilisée lors du couronnement de Napoléon. Ses différentes composantes ont été modifiées au fil des siècles, ce qui témoigne aussi en quelque sorte de la grande histoire de la France.

Depuis la Révolution française, le musée du Louvre est responsable de l’entretien de cette lame légendaire, et il est parfois possible de la voir lors d’expositions.

4- L’épée de Simón Bolívar

Général vénézuélien, Simón Bolívar a également été président de plusieurs pays d’Amérique latine au XIXe siècle et est reconnu comme l’un des grands leaders du mouvement qui a mené à l’indépendance de ces anciennes colonies espagnoles. Même si son épée n’est certainement pas aussi ancienne que les autres lames citées jusqu’à présent, elle a une histoire fascinante.

Cette arme légendaire est en effet presque aussi légendaire que son propriétaire ; elle l’accompagne toujours sur ses portraits ou sur les nombreuses statues à son effigie, et elle a été à ses côtés jusqu’à sa mort en 1830. Plus qu’une simple épée, elle est devenue un symbole de libération pour plusieurs pays d’Amérique latine, à commencer par la Colombie.

Après son décès, son épée a été gardée dans son ancienne résidence à Bogota, jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit volée en 1974 par le groupe colombien révolutionnaire M-19. Le sabre aurait été rendu au gouvernement colombien en 1991, après avoir été la propriété du trafiquant de drogue Pablo Escobar, mais des doutes subsistent quant à son authenticité.

En 2010, les Forces armées révolutionnaires de Colombie (FARC) ont prétendu avoir la relique en leur possession, mais le gouvernement colombien a rapidement nié la véracité de cette déclaration avant de prétendre à nouveau être en possession de la véritable épée de Simón. Bolívar.

5- Épée d’Alexandre le Grand

Alexandre III de Macédoine, plus connu sous le nom d’Alexandre le Grand, a été le roi de Macédoine de 336 avant JC jusqu’à sa mort et est reconnu comme l’un des chefs militaires les plus marquants de l’histoire, par sa conquête de l’Empire achéménide. Alexandre avait en effet conquis l’Empire perse, y compris l’Anatolie, la Syrie, la Phénicie, la Judée, Gaza, l’Egypte, la Bactriane et la Mésopotamie, il a étendu les frontières de la Macédoine à la région du Pendjab. Avant sa mort, Alexandre avait prévu de retourner à l’Ouest et de conquérir l’Europe en plus de vouloir poursuivre l’expansion vers l’Est et trouver la fin du monde, une idée que son gardien d’enfance, Aristote, lui a inculquée en racontant des histoires sur un endroit où la Terre s’est terminée et la Grande Mer extérieure a commencé.

6- Épée “Tizona” et Épée “Colada”

Elles appartenaient au chevalier castellan Rodrigo Díaz de Vivar, connu comme “El Cid Campeador”, fidèle vasalle qui participait avec le roi Alfonso VI dans la conquête de Tolède et, postérieurement, il conquistait le royaume de Valencia, qui était entre les mains des arabes.

7- Épée de Richard Coeur de Lion

Fameux roi d’Angleterre entre 1189 et 1199, étant le troisième fils du Roi Henri II d’angleterre et de Aliénor d’Aquitaine. Il était aussi duc de Normandie et d’aquitaine et Conte d’Anjou, noble Chevalier Croisé, reconnu pour son courage et valeur dans les batailles. Richard recevait le titre de Coeur de Lion dans les croisades, étant comparer à Philippe d’Orléans comme un agneau et Richard comme un lion. Sa valeur personnel dans la bataille inspirait à de nombreux poètes et littéraires.

8- Épée Excalibur du Roi Arthur

Son histoire appartient principalement à la légende et à la littérature des débuts du XVe siècle, même si on doute encore si Arthur, ou un personnage similaire sûr lequel ce serait basée la légende, avait réelment éxisté. Légende et histoire se mélangeaient durant plusieurs siècles postérieurs et apparaissent intimement unies Aux Chevaliers de la Table Ronde et la mistérieuse “Excalibur”.

Selon avait annoncé le mage Merlin, seulement qui arrivera à retiré l’épée de la roche, serait Roi. Arthur réalisait cette exploit et agenouillé devant la pierre, il a extrait la lame avec la facilité habituelle, il a soutenue l’épée sur sa tête et ensuite il entrait dans la cathédrale et la déposait sur l’autel. Arthur a été oindre avec l’huile sainte en présence de tous les Barons et du petit peuple, il jurait solennellement être un roi loyal pour ses sujets et défendre la vérité et la justice tous les jours de sa vie.

9- Épée de William Wallace (1270-1305)

C’était un vaillant guerrier écossais qui dirigeait à son pays contre l’occupation anglaise et contre le Roi Édouard Ier d’Angleterre dans les guerres de l’indépendance de l’Écosse. Il était élevé dans une abbaye dans laquelle résidait son oncle paternel, pour cela il était bien éduqué pour les modèles de l’époque, et parlait français, latin, gaélique et anglais.

10- Haft (arabe : الحتف, « la ruine » ou « la mort ») 

Est une épée que le roi David se serait forgé lui-même après que Dieu lui aurait appris le travail du fer et la fabrication des armes comme récompense pour avoir terrassé le géant Goliath. Il aurait pris pour modèle Al-Battar, l’épée de Goliath, réalisant une lame large de 112 cm de long. L’arme aurait été prise par Mahomet comme butin lors de sa victoire sur la tribu juive des Banu Qaynuqa, faisant depuis lors partie des neuf épées dites de Mahomet. Une épée présentée comme telle est aujourd’hui au Musée Topkapi à Istanbul

Étiqueté dans :