Meeting on Saturday in Geneva, the World Health Organization (WHO) warned that the coronavirus pandemic was undoubtedly going to be “very long”. The organization’s Emergency Council, which met for the fourth time since Friday to reassess the pandemic, “said it will certainly last very long,” the WHO said in a statement.

“The WHO continues to judge that the risk posed by Covid-19 is very high,” the statement added. “The emergency council” (made up of 18 members and 12 advisers) “affirmed the need for a response that must be national, regional and global” in the face of the pandemic. The coronavirus has affected at least 17.6 million people worldwide and killed more than 680,000, according to a census carried out by AFP from official sources.

Speed ​​up research
The emergency council called on WHO to give all countries pragmatic guidance on how to deal with the pandemic, “to decrease the risk of weakening responses to the epidemic, in a framework of socio-economic pressures ”. The council also recommended to the WHO to strengthen research on the still unknown points of the virus, in particular its animal origin and its possible modes of propagation by animal route. It also recommends that points such as “the modes of transmission [of the virus], its possible mutations, immunity and correlates of protection” be clarified.

The committee meeting, which lasted six hours, took place at WHO headquarters in Geneva, with a few participants being linked by video. It is planned to meet again in three months. “We are facing a health crisis such as the one we have only known for a century and its effects will be felt for decades,” said WHO Director General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus on Friday. “Many scientific questions have been resolved, many are still waiting to be resolved,” he added. “Most people on the planet can be affected, even those who do not live in hard-hit areas”.

Réunie samedi à Genève, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a averti que la pandémie de coronavirus allait sans doute être “très longue”. Le Conseil d’urgence de l’organisation, réuni pour la quatrième fois depuis vendredi pour réévaluer la pandémie, “a précisé que sa durée allait certainement être très longue”, a déclaré l’OMS dans un communiqué.

“L’OMS persiste à juger que le risque posé par le Covid-19 est très élevé”, ajoute la déclaration. “Le conseil d’urgence” (composé de 18 membres et 12 conseillers) “a affirmé la nécessité d’une réaction qui doit être nationale, régionale et mondiale” face à la pandémie. Le coronavirus a touché au moins 17,6 millions de personnes dans le monde et en a tué plus de 680 000, selon un recensement réalisé par l’AFP à partir de sources officielles.

Accélérer les recherches
Le conseil d’urgence a demandé à l’OMS de donner à tous les pays des orientations pragmatiques sur la manière de faire face à la pandémie, “pour diminuer le risque d’affaiblissement des réponses à l’épidémie, dans un cadre de pressions socio-économiques”. Le conseil a également recommandé à l’OMS de renforcer la recherche sur les points encore méconnus du virus, en particulier son origine animale et ses éventuels modes de propagation par voie animale. Il recommande également que des points tels que “les modes de transmission [du virus], ses mutations éventuelles, l’immunité et les corrélats de protection” soient clarifiés.

La réunion du comité, qui a duré six heures, s’est déroulée au siège de l’OMS à Genève, quelques participants étant reliés par vidéo. Il est envisagé de se réunir à nouveau dans trois mois. ” Nous sommes confrontés à une crise sanitaire telle que celle que nous ne connaissons que depuis un siècle et ses effets se feront sentir pendant des décennies “, a souligné vendredi le directeur général de l’OMS, Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus. “De nombreuses questions scientifiques ont été résolues, beaucoup attendent encore d’être résolues”, a-t-il ajouté. “La plupart des gens sur la planète peuvent être affectés, même ceux qui ne vivent pas dans des zones durement touchées”.