America scholarship

Peace Scholar Fellowship Program

USIP’s Peace Scholar Fellowship program awards non-residential fellowships to PhD candidates enrolled in U.S. universities who are writing doctoral dissertations on topics broadly related to conflict management, peacebuilding and relevant security studies. Since 1988, the program has supported the dissertations of 371 young scholars, many of whom have gone on to distinguished careers in research, higher education, and policy making.

The 2023-24 Peace Scholar Fellowship competition opened on Thursday, September 1, 2022.

This program partners with the Minerva Research Initiative to support additional fellowships relating to topics on peace and security studies. Currently, the program awards up to 18 scholarships per year, and awards support both research and writing stages of work on dissertations.

Applications from members of groups traditionally under-represented in the field of international relations, peace and conflict studies, security studies, and other related academic disciplines, as well as diplomacy and international policymaking, are strongly encouraged.

2023-2024 Request for Applications

USIP seeks applications from Ph.D. candidates with high-quality, policy relevant research that will deepen understanding about conflict management, peacebuilding and other applicable security-related studies. USIP strongly prefers applications closely related to the USIP Issue Areas and/or research priorities of the Minerva Research Initiative.

Special consideration will be given to proposed research in the following areas*

  • Strategic rivalry
  • Violence and extremism in fragile states
  • Global shocks
  • American peacebuilding

*See the USIP FY’23 Congressional Budget Justification for more information about the Institute’s key priorities and initiatives.

Registration and Application Process

Applying for the Peace Scholar Fellowship competition is a two-step process.

REGISTRATION: All applicants must register for this competition even if you have registered previously for another USIP competition. Register for an account here.

APPLICATION: After completing the registration, applicants must prepare and submit a complete application. Further instructions on completing the application are included in USIP’s online application system FLUXX. USIP does not provide status updates on submitted applications at any time.

Important Dates

  • Registration opened: Thursday, September 1, 2022
  • Registration closes: Thursday, October 6, 2022 at 4:00PM EDT
  • Application deadline: Tuesday, October 18, 2022 at 4:00PM EDT
  • Letters of reference due: Tuesday, October 25, 2022 at 4:00PM EDT

Application Requirements

Applications will be selected based on the strength of the proposed research and its potential to make original contributions to the field by addressing one of the key initiatives or research priorities listed in the links above.

Applications that are not relevant to the priorities or issue areas of USIP or the Minerva Research Initiative will not be considered for the competition.

Peace Scholar Fellowship Details

USIP funds up to 18 Peace Scholars for a 10-month, non-residential fellowship. Peace Scholars receive stipends of up to $20,000 for the academic year, paid directly to the individual in three tranches. Peace Scholar awards may not be deferred.

Peace Scholars are required to participate in an annual workshop. When their dissertation is completed and approved by their committee, the Peace Scholar is required to submit a copy to USIP at PeaceScholarFellows@usip.org.

For more information, see the Peace Scholar Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). Please direct questions about usage of USIP’s online application system to PeaceScholarFellows@usip.org.

Online Application

All application materials must be submitted online. The application for the 2023-24 Fellowship can be accessed via the FLUXX online portal.

The application includes the following sections:

  • A confirmation of your eligibility, must be a Ph.D. candidate
  • Your personal and contact information
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Bibliography
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Optional links to publications

1 Comment

Laissez un commentaire

Bourse d'études en Amerique

Programme de bourses d’études pour la paix de l’USIP aux États-Unis

Le programme Peace Scholar Fellowship de l’USIP attribue des bourses non résidentielles à des doctorants inscrits dans des universités américaines qui rédigent des thèses de doctorat sur des sujets largement liés à la gestion des conflits, à la consolidation de la paix et aux études de sécurité pertinentes. Depuis 1988, le programme a soutenu les thèses de 371 jeunes universitaires, dont beaucoup ont poursuivi des carrières distinguées dans la recherche, l’enseignement supérieur et l’élaboration des politiques.

Le concours 2023-24 Peace Scholar Fellowship s’est ouvert le jeudi 1er septembre 2022.Ce programme s’associe à la Minerva Research Initiative pour soutenir des bourses supplémentaires liées à des sujets sur les études sur la paix et la sécurité. Actuellement, le programme attribue jusqu’à 18 bourses par an, et les bourses soutiennent à la fois les étapes de recherche et de rédaction des travaux sur les thèses.

Les candidatures de membres de groupes traditionnellement sous-représentés dans le domaine des relations internationales, des études sur la paix et les conflits, des études sur la sécurité et d’autres disciplines universitaires connexes, ainsi que de la diplomatie et de l’élaboration des politiques internationales, sont fortement encouragées.

Appel de candidatures 2023-2024

 

L’USIP recherche des candidatures de doctorat. candidats avec des recherches de haute qualité et pertinentes pour les politiques qui permettront d’approfondir la compréhension de la gestion des conflits, de la consolidation de la paix et d’autres études applicables liées à la sécurité. L’USIP préfère fortement les candidatures étroitement liées aux domaines thématiques de l’USIP et/ou aux priorités de recherche de l’ Initiative de recherche Minerva .

Une attention particulière sera accordée aux projets de recherche dans les domaines suivants*

  • Rivalité stratégique
  • Violence et extrémisme dans les États fragiles
  • Chocs mondiaux
  • Consolidation de la paix américaine

*Voir la justification du budget du Congrès de l’exercice fiscal 2023 de l’USIP pour plus d’informations sur les principales priorités et initiatives de l’Institut.

Processus d’inscription et de demande

La candidature au concours Peace Scholar Fellowship est un processus en deux étapes.

INSCRIPTION : Tous les candidats doivent s’inscrire à ce concours même si vous vous êtes déjà inscrit à un autre concours USIP. Créez un compte ici .

CANDIDATURE : Après avoir terminé l’inscription, les candidats doivent préparer et soumettre une candidature complète. Des instructions supplémentaires sur la façon de remplir la demande sont incluses dans le système de demande en ligne de l’USIP FLUXX . L’USIP ne fournit à aucun moment des mises à jour sur l’état des demandes soumises.

Rendez-vous importants

  • Ouverture des inscriptions : jeudi 1er septembre 2022
  • Clôture des inscriptions :  jeudi 6 octobre 2022 à 16h00 HAE
  • Date limite de candidature :  mardi 18 octobre 2022 à 16h00 HAE
  • Lettres de recommandation dues : mardi 25 octobre 2022 à 16h00 HAE

Exigences de candidature

Les candidatures seront sélectionnées en fonction de la force de la recherche proposée et de son potentiel à apporter des contributions originales au domaine en abordant l’une des principales initiatives ou priorités de recherche répertoriées dans les liens ci-dessus.

Les candidatures qui ne sont pas pertinentes pour les priorités ou les domaines d’intérêt de l’USIP ou de l’Initiative de recherche Minerva ne seront pas prises en compte pour le concours.

Détails de la bourse d’études pour la paix

L’USIP finance jusqu’à 18 boursiers de la paix pour une bourse non résidentielle de 10 mois. Les boursiers de la paix reçoivent des allocations allant jusqu’à 20 000 $ pour l’année universitaire, versées directement à l’individu en trois tranches. Les bourses d’études pour la paix ne peuvent pas être différées.

Les boursiers de la paix sont tenus de participer à un atelier annuel. Lorsque leur thèse est terminée et approuvée par leur comité, le boursier de la paix est tenu d’en soumettre une copie à l’USIP à PeaceScholarFellows@usip.org .

Pour plus d’informations, consultez la foire aux questions (FAQ) de Peace Scholar. Veuillez adresser vos questions sur l’utilisation du système de candidature en ligne de l’USIP à PeaceScholarFellows@usip.org .

Candidature en ligne

 

Tous les documents de candidature doivent être soumis en ligne. La demande de bourse 2023-24 est accessible via le portail en ligne FLUXX .

L’application comprend les sections suivantes :

  • Une confirmation de votre admissibilité doit être un doctorat. candidat
  • Vos informations personnelles et de contact
  • Lettre de recommandation
  • Bibliographie
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Liens facultatifs vers des publications

1 Comment

Laissez un commentaire