Scholarship in Europe

Three quantitative multidisciplinary postdoctoral fellowships (2 years) – Umeå University (UmU)

Umeå University is one of Sweden’s largest institutions of higher education with over 36,000 students and 4,100 faculty and staff. We are characterised by world-leading research in several scientific fields and a multitude of educations ranked highly in international comparison. Umeå University is also the site of the pioneering discovery of the CRISPR-Cas9 genetic scissors – a revolution in genetic engineering that has been awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. We welcome your application!

The Integrated Science Lab (IceLab) (https://icelab.se/) jointly with several departments at Umeå University and the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) offer three postdoctoral scholarships that will be affiliated with one of six possible multidisciplinary projects.

The ideal postdocs will have mathematical and computational modeling expertise and a deep interest in working with empirical researchers.

The six projects are:

A. Semantic analysis of single-cell data

Modern single-cell analysis produces enormous high-dimensional datasets that humans struggle to analyze. In this project we will apply generative models for language processing
text analysis to greatly speed up research and diagnostics using this cutting-edge technology. This project is offered by Associate professor Johanna Björklund, Dept of Computing Science (johanna.bjorklund@umu.se) and Dr. Johan Henriksson, Dept of Molecular Biology and Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS) (johan.henriksson@umu.se).

B. Expulsion events as drivers of evolution in endosymbiotic systems

Symbioses can be critical to the survival of ecosystems and when they break down the consequences can be dramatic. In this project we emphasize the role and dynamics of expulsion events using coral bleaching as a model system, developing and applying a novel mathematical modelling paradigm based on symmetry methods for differential equations. This project is offered by Professor Nick Kamenos, Dept. Ecology and Environmental Sciences / Umeå Marine Science Centre, nick.kamenos@umu.se and Associate professor Fredrik Ohlsson, Dept. Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, fredrik.ohlsson@umu.se.

C. Modelling forest carbon sequestration in a dynamic world

The aim of this project is to improve upon current steady-state modelling approaches by developing a novel, dynamic model of forest canopy carbon uptake, that considers the natural fluctuations of light intensity over and within the canopy, as well as the dynamic response of photosynthesis to these light fluctuations. This project is offered by Dr. Zsofia Reka Stangl, Dept of Forest Ecology and Management, SLU (zsofia.reka.stangl@slu.se), and Associate professor Eric Libby, Dept of Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics (eric.libby@umu.se).

D. Statistical learning for Chronosilviculture

This project explores the growth of trees with altered light perception and circadian clock function in space and time. The aim is to analyse and model environmental control of growth, benefiting future breeding of healthy and productive trees. This project is offered by Maria E. Eriksson, Associate professor, Department Plant Physiology (maria.eriksson@umu.se), and Jun Yu, Professor, Department of Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics (jun.yu@umu.se).

E. Modeling artic soil-pore networks undergoing environmental-induced structural changes

Arctic ecosystems store a tremendous amount of organic matter. Unleashing this pool as greenhouse gases will likely affect the Earth’s atmospheric composition and disturb the heat radiation balance causing rising temperatures. This mechanism represents a self-reinforcing cycle as higher temperatures stimulate more gas emissions. This project aims to offer a new perspective on this soil-global warming feedback loop by using mathematical modeling and applying methods from complex network theory. This project is offered by Ludvig Lizana, Associate Professor, Department of Physics, ludvig.lizana@umu.se and Jonatan Klaminder, Professor, Department of Ecology and Environmental Sciences, Jonatan.klaminder@umu.se.

F. Intelligent wearable sensors for in-the-field individual assessment and feedback for improved movement control after knee injury

Our interdisciplinary research team performs advanced measurements in special movement and brain imaging laboratories for diagnosis and evaluation of people’s movement ability following injury or illness. The specific project concerns evaluation of movement control in persons who have suffered an injury to their anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) and where many do not go back into sports, are afraid of getting new injuries and where the risk is very high of injuring themselves again, especially if being afraid which affects the movement pattern. We aim to develop machine learning methods to evaluate movement control and provide feedback for individualised training by means of intelligent embedded sensors that will be able to transfer the technology beyond the laboratory domain into the patient’s everyday environment, e.g., at home or on the sports field. This project is offered by Professor Charlotte Häger, Dept of Community Medicine and Rehabilitation; physiotherapy (charlotte.hager@umu.se), and Professor Tomas Nordström, Dept of Applied Physics and Electronics (tomas.nordstrom@umu.se).

Detailed information on each project is available on https://www.umu.se/en/work-with-us/postdoctoral-scholarships/7-1336-22/.

The IceLab Multidisciplinary Postdoctoral Program

The under-explored terrain between traditional disciplines is full of fascinating and impactful research questions. At IceLab, we promote and facilitate transdisciplinary collaborations – with a focus on cutting-edge research that integrates theoretical, computational, and empirical work.

We will welcome you to IceLab with genuine support by creative researchers working on a multitude of interdisciplinary problems. You will participate in both professionally and personally rewarding and entertaining activities aimed at training a new kind of researcher. A multidisciplinary team of researchers with complementary expertise will supervise each postdoc.

The two-year postdoc fellowships are financed by the Kempe foundations and are part of the IceLab Multidisciplinary Postdoctoral Program. A fellowship amounts to 2 years funding: 27,500 SEK per month in year one and 28,000 SEK per month in year two. The scholarships is tax-free. Application deadline September 20, 2022. Start winter/spring 2023 (exact start date according to agreement).

Formal qualifications

Specific qualifications are described separately for each project on the application page. In addition, to formally qualify for a fellowship, the candidate should have a PhD degree, or a foreign degree that is deemed equivalent, in one of the fields listed for each project, for example computing or data science, mathematics, physics, bioinformatics, mathematical statistics.

Priority should be given to candidates who have completed their doctoral degree no more than three years before the closing date of the application. A candidate who has completed their degree prior to this may be considered if special circumstances exist. Special circumstances include absence due to illness, parental leave or clinical practice, appointments of trust in trade unions or similar circumstances.

In general, candidates should have experience in computational and quantitative modeling, along with excellent skills in modern computer programming languages (e.g. C++, Python, MATLAB or R).

Personal qualities such as collaboration, communication, strong drive and motivation, critical thinking abilities, creativity and analytical skills are essential. You should be able to perform research independently and as part of a team. Good knowledge of oral and written English is required.

Application

A full application should include:

    1. A cover letter clearly stating which project or projects you are particularly interested in and summarizing your qualifications, your scientific interests, and your motives for applying (max 2 pages),
    2. A curriculum vitae (CV) with publication list,
    3. Certified copy of doctoral degree certificate,
    4. Certified copies of other diplomas, list of completed academic courses and grades,
    5. Copy of doctoral thesis,
    6. Copies of relevant publications,
    7. Contact information for at least two reference persons,
    8. Other documents that the applicant wishes to claim.

Submit your application as a PDF marked with the reference number FS 2.1.7-1336-22, both in the file name and in the subject field of the email, to medel@diarie.umu.se. The application can be written in English or Swedish. Application deadline is 20 September 2022.

We look forward to receiving your application!

More about us

At Umeå University, everything is nearby. Our cohesive campus environment makes it easy to meet, collaborate and exchange knowledge, which promotes a dynamic and open culture where we rejoice in each other’s successes. If you are interested in knowing about Umeå University as a workplace, read more at: https://www.umu.se/en/work-with-us/.

Umeå University also offers a strong postdoc community with the Umeå Postdoc Society (UPS) which fosters networking amongst postdocs, organises social and career development events and works towards improving the postdoc experience at Umea campus. Check out their website: https://umeapostdocsociety.se/ and do not hesitate to get in contact with them early on!

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Bourse d'études en Europe

Trois bourses postdoctorales multidisciplinaires quantitatives (2 ans), Suède

L’Université d’Umeå est l’un des plus grands établissements d’enseignement supérieur de Suède avec plus de 36 000 étudiants et 4 100 professeurs et membres du personnel. Nous nous caractérisons par une recherche de pointe dans plusieurs domaines scientifiques et une multitude de formations hautement classées en comparaison internationale. L’Université d’Umeå est également le site de la découverte pionnière des ciseaux génétiques CRISPR -Cas9 – une révolution dans le génie génétique qui a reçu le prix Nobel de chimie 2020. Nous accueillons votre candidature!

Le laboratoire scientifique intégré (IceLab) ( https://icelab.se/ ) conjointement avec plusieurs départements de l’Université d’Umeå et de l’Université suédoise des sciences agricoles ( SLU ) offre trois bourses postdoctorales qui seront affiliées à l’un des six projets multidisciplinaires possibles.

Les post-doctorants idéaux auront une expertise en modélisation mathématique et informatique et un profond intérêt à travailler avec des chercheurs empiriques.

Les six projets sont :

A. Analyse sémantique des données unicellulaires

L’analyse unicellulaire moderne produit d’énormes ensembles de données de grande dimension que les humains ont du mal à analyser. Dans ce projet, nous appliquerons des modèles génératifs pour l’
analyse de texte de traitement du langage afin d’accélérer considérablement la recherche et les diagnostics à l’aide de cette technologie de pointe. Ce projet est proposé par la professeure associée Johanna Björklund, Dept of Computing Science ( johanna.bjorklund@umu.se ) et le Dr Johan Henriksson, Dept of Molecular Biology and Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden ( MIMS ) ( johan.henriksson@umu.se ) .

B. Les événements d’expulsion comme moteurs de l’évolution dans les systèmes endosymbiotiques

Les symbioses peuvent être essentielles à la survie des écosystèmes et lorsqu’elles se décomposent, les conséquences peuvent être dramatiques. Dans ce projet, nous mettons l’accent sur le rôle et la dynamique des événements d’expulsion en utilisant le blanchissement des coraux comme système modèle, en développant et en appliquant un nouveau paradigme de modélisation mathématique basé sur des méthodes de symétrie pour les équations différentielles. Ce projet est proposé par le professeur Nick Kamenos, Dept. Ecology and Environmental Sciences / Umeå Marine Science Centre, nick.kamenos@umu.se et le professeur agrégé Fredrik Ohlsson, Dept. Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, fredrik.ohlsson@umu.se .

C. Modélisation de la séquestration du carbone forestier dans un monde dynamique

L’objectif de ce projet est d’améliorer les approches actuelles de modélisation de l’état d’équilibre en développant un nouveau modèle dynamique d’absorption de carbone par le couvert forestier, qui tient compte des fluctuations naturelles de l’intensité lumineuse au-dessus et à l’intérieur du couvert, ainsi que de la réponse dynamique de la photosynthèse. à ces fluctuations lumineuses. Ce projet est proposé par le Dr Zsofia Reka Stangl, Dept of Forest Ecology and Management, SLU ( zsofia.reka.stangl@slu.se ), et le professeur associé Eric Libby, Dept of Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics ( eric.libby@umu. se ).

D. Apprentissage statistique pour la chronosylviculture

Ce projet explore la croissance des arbres avec une perception de la lumière altérée et une fonction d’horloge circadienne dans l’espace et le temps. L’objectif est d’analyser et de modéliser le contrôle environnemental de la croissance, au profit de la sélection future d’arbres sains et productifs. Ce projet est proposé par Maria E. Eriksson, professeure agrégée, Département de physiologie végétale ( maria.eriksson@umu.se ), et Jun Yu, professeur, Département de mathématiques et de statistiques mathématiques ( jun.yu@umu.se ).

E. Modélisation des réseaux de pores du sol arctique subissant des changements structurels induits par l’environnement

Les écosystèmes de l’Arctique stockent une énorme quantité de matière organique. La libération de ce bassin sous forme de gaz à effet de serre affectera probablement la composition atmosphérique de la Terre et perturbera l’équilibre du rayonnement thermique, provoquant une augmentation des températures. Ce mécanisme représente un cycle d’auto-renforcement car des températures plus élevées stimulent plus d’émissions de gaz. Ce projet vise à offrir une nouvelle perspective sur cette boucle de rétroaction sol-réchauffement climatique en utilisant la modélisation mathématique et en appliquant des méthodes issues de la théorie des réseaux complexes. Ce projet est proposé par Ludvig Lizana, professeur associé, Département de physique, ludvig.lizana@umu.se et Jonatan Klaminder, professeur, Département d’écologie et des sciences de l’environnement, Jonatan.klaminder@umu.se .

F. Capteurs portables intelligents pour une évaluation individuelle sur le terrain et un retour d’information pour un meilleur contrôle des mouvements après une blessure au genou

Notre équipe de recherche interdisciplinaire effectue des mesures avancées dans des laboratoires spéciaux d’imagerie du mouvement et du cerveau pour le diagnostic et l’évaluation de la capacité de mouvement des personnes suite à une blessure ou une maladie. Le projet spécifique concerne l’évaluation du contrôle des mouvements chez les personnes ayant subi une lésion du ligament croisé antérieur ( LCA) et où beaucoup ne se remettent pas au sport, ont peur de se blesser à nouveau et où le risque est très élevé de se blesser à nouveau, surtout si la peur affecte le schéma de mouvement. Nous visons à développer des méthodes d’apprentissage automatique pour évaluer le contrôle des mouvements et fournir un retour d’information pour un entraînement individualisé au moyen de capteurs intégrés intelligents qui pourront transférer la technologie au-delà du domaine du laboratoire dans l’environnement quotidien du patient, par exemple à la maison ou sur le terrain de sport. . Ce projet est offert par la professeure Charlotte Häger, Dept of Community Medicine and Rehabilitation; physiothérapie ( charlotte.hager@umu.se ) et le professeur Tomas Nordström, Département de physique appliquée et d’électronique ( tomas.nordstrom@umu.se ).

Des informations détaillées sur chaque projet sont disponibles sur https://www.umu.se/en/work-with-us/postdoctoral-scholarships/7-1336-22/ .

Le programme postdoctoral multidisciplinaire IceLab

Le terrain sous-exploré entre les disciplines traditionnelles regorge de questions de recherche fascinantes et percutantes. Chez IceLab , nous encourageons et facilitons les collaborations transdisciplinaires – en mettant l’accent sur la recherche de pointe qui intègre des travaux théoriques, informatiques et empiriques.

Nous vous accueillerons à IceLab avec un véritable soutien de chercheurs créatifs travaillant sur une multitude de problèmes interdisciplinaires. Vous participerez à des activités professionnelles et personnelles enrichissantes et divertissantes visant à former un nouveau type de chercheur. Une équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs aux expertises complémentaires encadrera chaque postdoc.

Les bourses postdoctorales de deux ans sont financées par les fondations Kempe et font partie du programme postdoctoral multidisciplinaire IceLab. Une bourse équivaut à un financement de 2 ans : 27 500 SEK par mois la première année et 28 000 SEK par mois la deuxième année. Les bourses sont exemptes d’impôt. Date limite de candidature 20 septembre 2022. Début hiver/printemps 2023 (date de début exacte selon accord).

Des qualifications formelles

Les qualifications spécifiques sont décrites séparément pour chaque projet sur la page de candidature. En outre, pour être officiellement admissible à une bourse, le candidat doit être titulaire d’un doctorat, ou d’un diplôme étranger jugé équivalent, dans l’un des domaines énumérés pour chaque projet, par exemple l’informatique ou la science des données, les mathématiques, la physique, la bioinformatique, statistiques mathématiques.

La priorité doit être donnée aux candidats qui ont terminé leur doctorat pas plus de trois ans avant la date de clôture de la candidature. Un candidat qui a obtenu son diplôme avant cela peut être considéré si des circonstances particulières existent. Les circonstances particulières comprennent l’absence pour cause de maladie, le congé parental ou la pratique clinique, les nominations de confiance dans les syndicats ou des circonstances similaires.

En général, les candidats doivent avoir une expérience en modélisation informatique et quantitative, ainsi que d’excellentes compétences dans les langages de programmation informatique modernes (par exemple, C++, Python, MATLAB ou R).

Des qualités personnelles telles que la collaboration, la communication, un dynamisme et une motivation forts, des capacités de réflexion critique, la créativité et des compétences analytiques sont essentielles. Vous devez être capable d’effectuer des recherches de manière indépendante et en équipe. Une bonne connaissance de l’anglais oral et écrit est requise.

Application

Une demande complète doit inclure :

    1. Une lettre de motivation précisant clairement le ou les projets qui vous intéressent particulièrement et résumant vos qualifications, vos intérêts scientifiques et vos motivations pour postuler (max 2 pages),
    2. Un curriculum vitae (CV) avec liste de publications,
    3. Copie certifiée conforme du diplôme de doctorat,
    4. Copies certifiées conformes d’autres diplômes, liste des cours académiques suivis et des notes,
    5. Copie de la thèse de doctorat,
    6. Copies des publications pertinentes,
    7. Coordonnées d’au moins deux personnes de référence,
    8. Autres documents que le demandeur souhaite réclamer.

Soumettez votre candidature au format PDF marqué du numéro de référence FS 2.1.7-1336-22 , à la fois dans le nom du fichier et dans le champ objet de l’e-mail, à medel@diarie.umu.se . La candidature peut être rédigée en anglais ou en suédois. La date limite de candidature est le 20 septembre 2022 .

Nous avons hâte de recevoir votre candidature!

En savoir plus sur nous

A l’université d’Umeå, tout est à proximité . Notre environnement de campus cohésif facilite les rencontres, la collaboration et l’échange de connaissances, ce qui favorise une culture dynamique et ouverte où nous nous réjouissons des succès de chacun. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur l’Université d’Umeå en tant que lieu de travail, lisez plus sur : https://www.umu.se/en/work-with-us/ .

L’Université d’Umeå offre également une solide communauté postdoctorale avec la Umeå Postdoc Society ( UPS ) qui favorise le réseautage entre postdoctorants, organise des événements sociaux et de développement de carrière et s’efforce d’améliorer l’expérience postdoctorale sur le campus d’Umea. Consultez leur site Web : https://umeapostdocsociety.se/ et n’hésitez pas à les contacter dès que possible !

About the author

jeunes

Laissez un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

You cannot copy content of this page