Santé

Russian vaccine against coronavirus: WHO reacts

On Tuesday, August 11, 2020, Vladimir Putin announced that the Russian Federation had created the “first” vaccine against the new coronavirus. According to the Russian president, the vaccine gives “lasting immunity” and one of his daughters has been immunized. Its Minister of Health Mikhail Murashko indicated that “clinical experiments on several thousand people will continue”. A statement that the WHO commented on during a press video conference: “We are in direct contact with the Russians and the debates are continuing. The prequalification of any vaccine is subject to rigorous processes, ”said Tarik Jasarevic, spokesperson for the WHO (World Health Organization). “Prequalification involves the review and evaluation of all required data on safety and efficacy collected during clinical trials,” he recalled, stressing that the process would be the same for any candidate for vaccination. . .

“Prequalification procedure” and “quality guarantee
In addition to the approvals granted in each country by the national agencies,” WHO has set up a prequalification process for vaccines but also for drugs. The laboratories are asking for WHO prequalification because it is a sort of quality guarantee ”, he insisted. To date, Russia has yet to release a specific study of the results of its trials to determine the effectiveness of the products it says it has developed. Last week, the WHO cast doubts when Russia said its vaccine was almost ready, recalling that any pharmaceutical product must “go through all the different trials and tests before being approved for deployment”, and not “a pharmaceutical product”.

WHO lists 26 vaccine candidates in clinical trials
For now, “it is essential to apply public health measures that work. We must continue to invest in the development of vaccines and treatments that will help us reduce transmission in the future, ”the door also said. – spoke, saying “encouraged by the speed with which certain vaccine candidates are being developed”. “We hope that some of these vaccines will prove to be safe and effective,” continued Tarik Jasarevic. According to the WHO, 26 candidate vaccines are in the clinical trial phase (tested on humans) around the world and 139 in the preclinical evaluation phase. Of these 26, six had reached phase 3 of their development by the end of July. The one developed by the Russian Gamaleïa center was registered in phase 1.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Le mardi 11 août 2020, Vladimir Poutine a annoncé que la Fédération de Russie avait créé le “premier” vaccin contre le nouveau coronavirus. Selon le président russe, le vaccin donne une “immunité durable” et une de ses filles a été immunisée. Son ministre de la Santé Mikhaïl Mourachko a indiqué que “les expérimentations cliniques sur plusieurs milliers de personnes vont se poursuivre”. Une déclaration que l’OMS a commentée lors d’une vidéoconférence de presse : “Nous sommes en contact direct avec les Russes et les débats se poursuivent. La préqualification de tout vaccin est soumise à des processus rigoureux”, a précisé Tarik Jasarevic, le porte-parole de l’OMS (Organisation mondiale de la santé). “La préqualification implique l’examen et l’évaluation de toutes les données requises sur la sécurité et l’efficacité collectées lors des essais cliniques”, a-t-il rappelé, soulignant que le procédé serait le même pour tout candidat à la vaccination. .

” Procédure de préqualification ” et ” garantie de qualité
En plus des agréments accordés dans chaque pays par les agences nationales, “l’OMS a mis en place un processus de préqualification pour les vaccins mais aussi pour les médicaments. Les laboratoires demandent la préqualification de l’OMS parce que c’est une sorte de garantie de qualité”, a-t-il insisté. A ce jour, la Russie n’a pas encore publié une étude précise des résultats de ses essais pour déterminer l’efficacité des produits qu’elle dit avoir élaborés. La semaine dernière, l’OMS a émis des doutes lorsque la Russie a affirmé que son vaccin était pratiquement prêt, rappelant que tout produit pharmaceutique doit “être assujetti à tous les différents essais et tests avant d’être approuvé pour le déploiement”, et non pas “un produit pharmaceutique”.

L’OMS liste 26 candidats vaccins en cours d’essais cliniques
Pour l’instant, “il est essentiel d’appliquer des mesures de santé publique qui marchent. Nous devons continuer à investir dans le développement de vaccins et de traitements qui nous aideront à réduire la transmission à l’avenir”, a également déclaré la porte. – s’est exprimée, en disant “encouragée par la rapidité avec laquelle certains candidats vaccins sont développés” . “Nous espérons que certains de ces vaccins s’avéreront sûrs et efficaces”, a poursuivi Tarik Jasarevic. Selon l’OMS, 26 vaccins candidats sont en phase d’essai clinique (testés sur des humains) dans le monde et 139 en phase d’évaluation préclinique. Sur ces 26, six avaient atteint la phase 3 de leur développement à la fin du mois de juillet. Celui développé par le centre russe Gamaleïa a été inscrit en phase 1.