Université

COVID-19: ONE WEEK AFTER RESUMPTION, UNIVERSITY CANCELS PRESENTIAL

The move follows an increase in positive coronavirus cases among college students. It is believed that life off campus is the main cause of this increased contamination.
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC) – one of the most reputable in the United States – officially decided on Monday to switch to virtual classes for nearly 20,000 of its students, after the detection of dozens of cases positive coronavirus the week of the start of the school year.

A total of 177 students from UNC Chapel Hill have tested positive and placed in isolation. The percentage of positivity of tests performed on campus also fell from 2.8% to 13.6% last week compared to the previous week, the public university said. 349 students have been quarantined.

Distance education for undergraduates
Only 60% of the university premises were occupied for the start of the school year and 30% of the students were physically present in class, however the university management said that from Wednesday, all undergraduate students (undergraduate, first four years) would move on to distance education. According to the UNC website, this concerns more than 19,000 students.

On the other hand, more advanced students, in master’s, doctorate and professional programs, that is to say more than 10,000 individuals, will be able to continue to attend the university in person.

“We are aware of the fear and anger these changes will engender in many students and parents,” wrote UNC President Chapel Hill, Kevin Guskiewicz, and Rector Robert Blouin. “But we believe that the current data presents an unacceptable situation”.
Off-campus life at stake
For months, Chapel Hill had worked to find a way to reconcile the pandemic and the comeback. She had distributed kits containing masks, hydroalcoholic gel, a thermometer and a contactless key. Classes had been spaced 30 minutes apart. The mask was mandatory and the class configuration had been arranged to allow distance. Gatherings of more than 10 people indoors are also prohibited.

But it appears that life off campus has been beyond the reach of university administrators. Outbreaks have broken out in several residences and in a fraternity house, reports the student newspaper Daily Tar Heel. In early August, the university wrote to members of fraternities and sororities criticizing them for their disregard for the instructions and organization of the parties, going so far as to threaten them with expulsion from the university.

A distance start in many universities
Chapel Hill’s decision echoes that of hundreds of other universities which have chosen to focus on distance education or have decided to opt for a hybrid start. According to statistics compiled by the College Crisis Initiative, of nearly 3,000 institutions of higher education in the United States, 30% chose to teach primarily or completely online, 15% a hybrid model and 23% mainly or completely online. no one. Other universities have yet to announce the format.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Cette mesure fait suite à une augmentation des cas de coronavirus positifs parmi les étudiants. On estime que la vie en dehors du campus est la principale cause de cette aggravation de la contamination.
L’université de Caroline du Nord à Chapel Hill (UNC) – l’une des plus réputées des États-Unis – a officiellement décidé lundi de passer aux cours virtuels pour près de 20 000 de ses étudiants, après la détection de dizaines de cas de coronavirus positifs la semaine de la rentrée.

Au total, 177 étudiants de l’UNC Chapel Hill ont été testés positifs et mis en isolement. Le pourcentage de positivité des tests réalisés sur le campus est également passé de 2,8% à 13,6% la semaine dernière par rapport à la semaine précédente, a indiqué l’université publique. 349 étudiants ont été mis en quarantaine.

Formation à distance pour les étudiants de premier cycle
Seuls 60 % des locaux de l’université étaient occupés pour la rentrée et 30 % des étudiants étaient physiquement présents en classe, cependant la direction de l’université a déclaré qu’à partir de mercredi, tous les étudiants de premier cycle (premier cycle, les quatre premières années) passeraient à l’enseignement à distance. Selon le site de l’UNC, cela concerne plus de 19 000 étudiants.

Par contre, les étudiants plus avancés, en master, doctorat et programmes professionnels, soit plus de 10.000 individus, pourront continuer à fréquenter l’université en personne.

” Nous sommes conscients de la crainte et de la colère que ces changements engendreront chez de nombreux étudiants et parents “, ont écrit le président de l’UNC Chapel Hill, Kevin Guskiewicz, et le recteur Robert Blouin. “Mais nous croyons que les données actuelles présentent une situation inacceptable”.
La vie hors campus en jeu
Depuis des mois, Chapel Hill avait travaillé pour trouver un moyen de concilier la pandémie et le retour en force. Elle avait distribué des kits contenant des masques, du gel hydroalcoolique, un thermomètre et une clé sans contact. Les cours avaient été espacés de 30 minutes. Le masque était obligatoire et la configuration des classes avait été arrangée pour permettre la distance. Les rassemblements de plus de 10 personnes à l’intérieur sont également interdits.

Mais il semble que la vie en dehors du campus ait été hors de portée des administrateurs de l’université. Des foyers ont éclaté dans plusieurs résidences et dans une maison de fraternité, rapporte le journal étudiant Daily Tar Heel . Au début du mois d’août, l’université a écrit aux membres des fraternités et des sororités pour leur reprocher leur mépris des instructions et de l’organisation des fêtes, allant jusqu’à les menacer d’expulsion de l’université.

Un départ à distance dans de nombreuses universités
La décision de Chapel Hill fait écho à celle de centaines d’autres universités qui ont fait le choix de se focaliser sur l’enseignement à distance ou ont décidé d’opter pour une rentrée hybride. Selon les statistiques établies par la College Crisis Initiative, sur près de 3 000 établissements d’enseignement supérieur aux États-Unis, 30 % ont choisi l’enseignement principalement ou totalement en ligne, 15 % un modèle hybride et 23 % principalement ou totalement en personne. Les autres universités n’ont pas encore annoncé le format.