Université

The University of Nantes said it detected 250 student cheaters during the end-of-semester exams organized remotely

Distance examinations have opened the door to cheating at the University of Nantes. In a press release, she regrets “an increase in the rate of fraud” during exams for this semester marked by an unprecedented health crisis. Several students have been suspected of plagiarism during their distance exams.

During the coronavirus crisis, the University of Nantes set up a distance education and assessment system. To communicate lessons to students, teachers used the Madoc educational platform, which they used before the pandemic. This platform was also requisitioned for the end of semester exams. Files, tests, multiple choice questions… Students had to log in to gain access to their subjects.

And for the few students who did not have an Internet network to be able to work, the university set up the “SOS Connection” device, ensuring them access to 4G keys. No more excuses to be able to connect to the platform and write the requested assignments.

Antiplagiarism software
But performed remotely, these assessments lacked control. In its press release, the University of Nantes declares that it “has a very strict policy in the fight against fraud”. She therefore acquired software specialized in the detection of plagiarism, Magister de Compilatio. It allows you to locate the “copy and paste” and to find the sources of the plagiarized document.

This software has thus enabled the university to detect the cheating of several of its students, belonging to different UFR (training and research unit).

Sanctions will be applied
According to the regional daily Ouest-France, more than 250 students cheated, among the 38,000 students to have taken their end-of-semester exams remotely. Thus, 0.65% of them would have opted for the facility: fraud. However, the university is not yet able to confirm the number of students concerned, nor the penalties that will be applied. The sanction will be systematic but will depend on the content of the fraud as well as on the decision of the UFR concerned.

The university specifies that it is a “usual cheating”. Home examinations have led to an increase in this fraud, but it was already present before. However, according to the university, “these isolated cases in no way reflect reality”.

Laissez un commentaire

Les examens à distance ont permis d’ouvrir la porte à la tricherie à l’Université de Nantes. Dans un communiqué de presse, elle regrette “une augmentation du taux de fraude” lors des examens de ce semestre marqué par une crise sanitaire sans précédent. Plusieurs étudiants ont été soupçonnés de plagiat lors de leurs examens à distance.

Lors de la crise du coronavirus, l’Université de Nantes a mis en place un système d’enseignement et d’évaluation à distance. Pour communiquer les leçons aux élèves, les enseignants ont fait appel à la plateforme pédagogique Madoc, qu’ils utilisaient déjà avant la pandémie. Cette plate-forme a également été réquisitionnée pour les examens de fin de semestre. Dossiers, tests, questions à choix multiples … Les étudiants devaient se connecter pour avoir accès à leurs sujets.

Et pour les quelques étudiants qui ne disposaient pas d’un réseau internet pour pouvoir travailler, l’université a mis en place le dispositif “SOS Connection”, leur assurant l’accès aux clés 4G. Plus d’excuses pour pouvoir se connecter à la plateforme et rédiger les devoirs demandés.

Logiciel antiplagiat
Mais effectuées à distance, ces évaluations manquaient de contrôle. Dans son communiqué de presse, l’Université de Nantes déclare qu’elle “mène une politique très stricte en matière de lutte contre la fraude”. Elle a donc acquis un logiciel spécialisé dans la détection du plagiat, Magister de Compilatio. Il permet de repérer le “copier-coller” et de trouver les sources du document plagié.

Ce logiciel a ainsi permis à l’université de détecter la tricherie de plusieurs de ses étudiants, appartenant à différentes UFR (unité de formation et de recherche).

Des sanctions seront appliquées
Selon le quotidien régional Ouest-France, plus de 250 étudiants ont triché, parmi les 38 000 étudiants à avoir passé leurs examens de fin de semestre à distance. Ainsi, 0,65% d’entre eux auraient opté pour la facilité : la fraude. Toutefois, l’université n’est pas encore en mesure de confirmer le nombre d’étudiants concernés, ni les pénalités qui seront appliquées. La sanction sera systématique mais dépendra du contenu de la fraude ainsi que de la décision de l’UFR concernée.

L’université précise qu’il s’agit d’une “tricherie habituelle”. Les examens à domicile ont entraîné une augmentation de cette fraude, mais elle était déjà présente auparavant. Cependant, selon l’université, “ces cas isolés ne reflètent en aucun cas la réalité”.

source : lefigaro