UNITED NATIONS SSDSN YOUTH LOCAL PATHWAYS FELLOWSHIP 2024 FOR YOUNG EMERGING LEADERS

SDSN Youth is excited to unveil the call for applications for the 2024 Local Pathways Fellowship (LPF) program, commencing on Wednesday, December 18, 2023. The LPF program presents an exclusive opportunity for emerging leaders deeply committed to sustainable urban development to contribute significantly to realizing the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The Local Pathways Fellowship serves as a platform for these young leaders to translate their passion for sustainability into tangible action, catalyzing progress toward the SDGs in their communities and beyond. As we approach Agenda 2030, the Local Pathways Fellowship endeavours to empower the youth, who are formidable change agents, in spearheading the development of sustainable and inclusive cities.

The LPF program, initiated by the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network – Youth Initiative (SDSN Youth), is meticulously crafted to empower and mobilize young individuals to actively localize the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the UN 2030 Agenda within their localities. This fellowship equips them with the knowledge, skills, and networks necessary to address intricate urban challenges and drive positive change locally and globally. For aspiring urban leaders dedicated to Sustainable Development Goal 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities, the Local Pathways Fellowship ranks among the world’s premier research and training programs. The primary reason is that fellows receive comprehensive and immersive training throughout the lifecycle of their chosen projects, spanning from community initiatives to startup ventures and even policy reforms. To implement this program, a multitude of partners, including MIT Solve, World Urban Campaign, Milan Urban Food Policy Act, and UN-Habitat, offer their support, consultation, critical and creative analysis, and prospective opportunities.

The Local Pathways Fellowship encompasses an online course, facilitates peer-to-peer connections among young changemakers, and provides mentorship from experts worldwide. The program has enjoyed a successful run with six cohorts to date, evolving into a robust knowledge repository. In the last cohort alone, 100 fellows were dispersed across 80 cities worldwide. The selected fellows will become part of a dynamic global community of young leaders, collaborating to transform their cities into more sustainable and resilient environments for all. The Local Pathways Fellowship program is rooted in extensive research. It translates it into real-world impact, guided by young urban enthusiasts who have an opportunity to showcase their work at a global level.

The fellowship targets young leaders aged 18-30, extending invitations to both early-career professionals and students who share a fervour for urban sustainable development. Successful applicants should exhibit at least one year of experience, be it academic or professional, in relevant fields such as urban planning, advocacy, community initiatives, and more. The fellowship requires 4-6 hours per week from February to November 2024. Candidates must demonstrate a profound dedication to sustainable urban development and exhibit the motivation and skills to drive positive change within their local communities. They should also possess a well-defined project idea or initiative aligned with the SDGs.

Applications for the 2024 Local Pathways Fellowship will be accepted from December 18, 2023, to January 22, 2024, until 11:59 PM (Eastern Standard Time). Successful applicants will be notified by January 28, 2024, and the fellowship will commence on March 1, 2024.

Check Also

Up to $100,000 available under Amahoro Fellowship Program (Africa)

Amahoro’s program is tailored to reflect Africa’s socio-economic context to cultivate the acumen in entrepreneurship …

BOURSE DES NATIONS UNIES SSDSN YOUTH LOCAL PATHWAYS 2024 POUR LES JEUNES LEADERS ÉMERGENTS

SDSN Youth est ravi de dévoiler l’appel à candidatures pour le programme Local Pathways Fellowship (LPF) 2024, qui débutera le mercredi 18 décembre 2023. Le programme LPF offre une opportunité exclusive aux leaders émergents profondément engagés dans le développement urbain durable de contribuer de manière significative à réaliser les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) des Nations Unies. La bourse Local Pathways sert de plate-forme à ces jeunes leaders pour traduire leur passion pour le développement durable en actions tangibles, catalysant les progrès vers les ODD dans leurs communautés et au-delà. À l’approche de l’Agenda 2030, la Local Pathways Fellowship s’efforce de responsabiliser les jeunes, qui sont de formidables agents de changement, en étant le fer de lance du développement de villes durables et inclusives.

Le programme LPF, initié par le Réseau de solutions de développement durable des Nations Unies – Initiative jeunesse (SDSN Youth), est méticuleusement conçu pour responsabiliser et mobiliser les jeunes afin qu’ils localisent activement les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) et l’Agenda 2030 des Nations Unies dans leurs localités. Cette bourse leur donne les connaissances, les compétences et les réseaux nécessaires pour relever des défis urbains complexes et susciter des changements positifs aux niveaux local et mondial. Destinée aux aspirants dirigeants urbains qui se consacrent à l’Objectif de développement durable 11 : Villes et communautés durables, la bourse Local Pathways se classe parmi les meilleurs programmes de recherche et de formation au monde. La raison principale est que les boursiers reçoivent une formation complète et immersive tout au long du cycle de vie des projets qu’ils ont choisis, allant des initiatives communautaires aux startups et même aux réformes politiques. Pour mettre en œuvre ce programme, une multitude de partenaires, dont MIT Solve, World Urban Campaign, Milan Urban Food Policy Act et ONU-Habitat, offrent leur soutien, leurs consultations, leurs analyses critiques et créatives et leurs opportunités prospectives.

La bourse Local Pathways comprend un cours en ligne, facilite les relations entre pairs entre les jeunes acteurs du changement et offre le mentorat d’experts du monde entier. Le programme a connu un succès avec six cohortes à ce jour, évoluant vers un solide référentiel de connaissances. Rien que dans la dernière cohorte, 100 boursiers étaient répartis dans 80 villes du monde. Les boursiers sélectionnés feront partie d’une communauté mondiale dynamique de jeunes leaders, collaborant pour transformer leurs villes en environnements plus durables et résilients pour tous. Le programme Local Pathways Fellowship est ancré dans des recherches approfondies. Il le traduit en impact concret, guidé par de jeunes passionnés urbains qui ont l’opportunité de présenter leur travail à l’échelle mondiale.

La bourse s’adresse aux jeunes leaders âgés de 18 à 30 ans et invite à la fois les professionnels en début de carrière et les étudiants qui partagent une ferveur pour le développement urbain durable. Les candidats retenus doivent démontrer au moins un an d’expérience, qu’elle soit académique ou professionnelle, dans des domaines pertinents tels que l’urbanisme, le plaidoyer, les initiatives communautaires, etc. La bourse nécessite 4 à 6 heures par semaine de février à novembre 2024. Les candidats doivent démontrer un profond dévouement au développement urbain durable et faire preuve de la motivation et des compétences nécessaires pour susciter un changement positif au sein de leurs communautés locales. Ils doivent également posséder une idée de projet ou une initiative bien définie et alignée sur les ODD.

Les candidatures pour la bourse Local Pathways 2024 seront acceptées du 18 décembre 2023 au 22 janvier 2024, jusqu’à 23 h 59 (heure normale de l’Est). Les candidats retenus seront informés avant le 28 janvier 2024 et la bourse débutera le 1er mars 2024.

Check Also

Jusqu’à 100 000 $ disponibles dans le cadre du programme de bourses Amahoro (Afrique)

Le programme de bourses Amahoro cible des personnes exceptionnelles ayant une expérience vécue en tant …