1-3 Senior Lecturers, Engineering: Software Engineering / Data Science

Finland
Posted 11 months ago

The Faculty of Information Technology is seeking for 1-3 SENIOR LECTURERS in Engineering: Software Engineering / Data Science

The position is fixed-term starting September 1, 2023, or as soon as possible thereafter and ending July 31, 2026.

Qualifications we are looking for

The University of Jyväskylä is launching a modern strategic educational cooperation in software engineering and data science with companies, in association with its Bachelor of Science and Master of Science programmes. The central idea is to systematically enable students to work and do internships in partner companies during their studies.

The duties of a Senior Lecturer hired for this joint activity include producing the online teaching materials needed for education, developing training cooperation with companies, teaching duties related to this cooperation, and other tasks agreed with the supervisor. The task is teaching-oriented. In addition, the recruited person will be expected to participate in a research project with Education Sciences to collect data on the development of students’ academic understanding in a business context.

Senior Lecturer is required to have an applicable doctoral degree, professional skills in software engineering or data science, evidence of independent scientific research, the ability to provide high-quality research-based teaching, and to supervise theses and dissertations. Fluency in English is required. We value good collaboration skills, a track record of developing teaching and producing teaching materials, varied experience of working with businesses or other stakeholders, and research in computer science education such as automated feedback or the use of language models in e-learning.

The duties, qualification requirements, and language skills of a Senior Lecturer are stipulated by the University of Jyväskylä Regulations and language skills guidelines.

What does the University of Jyväskylä offer as an employer?

The University of Jyväskylä is actively developing its education and research to meet current challenges, building on its tradition as an impressive university of civilisation. The multidisciplinary university community educates people to build the future of society in close cooperation with internationally renowned research.

Launched in the autumn 2021, the information and software engineering education at the university combines IT technology, human sciences, and mathematical and logical reasoning. The university actively seeks and develops new and creative solutions for engineering education in a multidisciplinary collaboration to develop students’ academic and professional understanding. The Faculty of Information Technology offers the opportunity to work in a forward-looking team that creates new approaches to education. In cooperation with companies, the group develops online material of high quality in terms of content and pedagogy, which is used both in degree courses and in continuous learning. We offer the opportunity to make an impact in a professionally stimulating environment.

Our university’s leadership is based on openness, trust, and creating the conditions for success. Digital tools enable flexible working and access to services, allowing some work to be done remotely.

The task is at level 6 of the university pay scale for teaching and research staff. A personal salary supplement is also paid, based on skills and previous experience. A trial period of six months will be used.

To find useful information about the University of Jyväskylä, the City of Jyväskylä, and living in Finland, see the University’s International Staff Guide.

How to apply

The application should include:

  1. Application / Motivation letter
  2. Curriculum vitae (CV), including the applicant’s ORCID ID, composed according to good scientific practice and considering the template for researcher´s curriculum vitae by The Finnish Advisory Board on Research Integrity.
  3. A numbered list of all scientific and other publications with which the applicant wishes to demonstrate their competence and merit for the position.
  4. A short (2-3 pages) description of the applicant’s pedagogical training and teaching merits, teaching portfolio.
  5. A short (1-2 pages) written summary of your research and scientific merits
  6. Up to five (5) most important publications, which must be numbered according to the list of publications (one pdf file).
  7. Qualification certificates

Further information: Professor Tommi Mikkonen, tommi.j.mikkonen@jyu.fi, +358503117999

Upon the consent of the applicant, a background check can be made on the person to be appointed (Security Clearance Act 726/2014). For more information on the background check and the rights of the subject of the check, see: https://supo.fi/en

The University is committed to fairness, consistency, and transparency in selection decisions, and undertakes the recommendations for the responsible evaluation of a researcher in Finland.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research

Apply Online

Check Also

J-PAL’s MENA Scholars Fellowship

The MENA Scholars Fellowship creates a pathway for MENA region-based researchers to build skills and …

1-3 Maîtres de Conférences, Ingénierie : Génie Logiciel / Science des Données

Finlande
Publié il y a 11 mois

La  Faculté des technologies de l’information  recherche  1 à 3 CONFÉRENCIERS SÉNIORS en ingénierie : génie logiciel / science des données

Le poste est à durée déterminée commençant le 1er septembre 2023, ou dès que possible par la suite et se terminant le 31 juillet 2026.

Qualifications que nous recherchons

L’Université de Jyväskylä lance une coopération éducative stratégique moderne en génie logiciel et en science des données avec les entreprises, en association avec ses programmes de licence et de maîtrise en sciences. L’idée centrale est de permettre systématiquement aux étudiants de travailler et de faire des stages dans des entreprises partenaires au cours de leurs études.

Les tâches d’un maître de conférences engagé pour cette activité conjointe comprennent la production des supports pédagogiques en ligne nécessaires à l’enseignement, le développement de la coopération de formation avec les entreprises, les tâches d’enseignement liées à cette coopération et d’autres tâches convenues avec le superviseur. La tâche est axée sur l’enseignement. De plus, la personne recrutée devra participer à un projet de recherche avec les sciences de l’éducation pour collecter des données sur le développement de la compréhension académique des étudiants dans un contexte d’entreprise.

Le maître de conférences doit avoir un doctorat applicable, des compétences professionnelles en génie logiciel ou en science des données, des preuves de recherche scientifique indépendante, la capacité de fournir un enseignement de haute qualité basé sur la recherche et de superviser des thèses et des mémoires. La maîtrise de l’anglais est requise. Nous apprécions de bonnes compétences de collaboration, une expérience dans le développement et la production de matériel pédagogique, une expérience variée de travail avec des entreprises ou d’autres parties prenantes, et la recherche dans l’enseignement de l’informatique comme la rétroaction automatisée ou l’utilisation de modèles linguistiques dans l’apprentissage en ligne.

Les tâches, les exigences de qualification et les compétences linguistiques d’un maître de conférences sont stipulées par les  règlements et les directives sur les compétences linguistiques de l’Université de Jyväskylä .

Que propose l’Université de Jyväskylä en tant qu’employeur ?

L’Université de Jyväskylä développe activement son enseignement et sa recherche pour relever les défis actuels, en s’appuyant sur sa tradition d’impressionnante université de civilisation. La communauté universitaire pluridisciplinaire forme les gens à construire l’avenir de la société en étroite collaboration avec une recherche de renommée internationale.

Lancé à l’automne 2021, l’enseignement de l’informatique et du génie logiciel à l’université combine l’informatique, les sciences humaines et le raisonnement mathématique et logique. L’université recherche et développe activement des solutions nouvelles et créatives pour la formation en ingénierie dans le cadre d’une collaboration multidisciplinaire afin de développer la compréhension académique et professionnelle des étudiants. La Faculté des technologies de l’information offre la possibilité de travailler dans une équipe tournée vers l’avenir qui crée de nouvelles approches de l’éducation. En coopération avec les entreprises, le groupe développe du matériel en ligne de haute qualité en termes de contenu et de pédagogie, qui est utilisé aussi bien dans les cursus diplômants qu’en formation continue. Nous offrons la possibilité d’avoir un impact dans un environnement professionnellement stimulant.

Le leadership de notre université repose sur l’ouverture, la confiance et la création des conditions de réussite. Les outils numériques permettent un travail flexible et un accès aux services, permettant d’effectuer certains travaux à distance.

La tâche se situe au niveau 6 de la grille salariale universitaire du personnel enseignant et de recherche. Un complément de salaire personnel est également versé, en fonction des compétences et de l’expérience antérieure. Une période d’essai de six mois sera utilisée.

Pour trouver des informations utiles sur l’Université de Jyväskylä, la ville de Jyväskylä et la vie en Finlande, consultez le  Guide du personnel international de l’Université .

comment s’inscrire

La demande doit comprendre :

  1. Candidature / Lettre de motivation
  2. Curriculum vitae (CV), y compris l’ID ORCID du candidat, rédigé conformément aux bonnes pratiques scientifiques et en tenant compte du modèle de curriculum vitae du chercheur par  le Conseil consultatif finlandais sur l’intégrité de la recherche .
  3. Une liste numérotée de toutes les publications scientifiques et autres avec lesquelles le candidat souhaite démontrer sa compétence et son mérite pour le poste.
  4. Une courte description (2-3 pages) de la formation pédagogique et des mérites pédagogiques du candidat, portfolio d’enseignement .
  5. Un court résumé écrit (1-2 pages) de votre recherche et de vos mérites scientifiques
  6. Jusqu’à cinq (5) publications les plus importantes, qui doivent être numérotées selon la liste des publications (un fichier pdf).
  7. Certificats de qualification

Informations complémentaires : Professeur Tommi Mikkonen, tommi.j.mikkonen@jyu.fi, +358503117999

Avec le consentement du demandeur, une vérification des antécédents de la personne à nommer peut être effectuée (Security Clearance Act 726/2014). Pour plus d’informations sur la vérification des antécédents et les droits du sujet de la vérification, voir :  https://supo.fi/en

L’Université s’engage à l’équité, à la cohérence et à la transparence dans les décisions de sélection et entreprend les recommandations pour l’évaluation responsable d’un chercheur en Finlande .

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

bourse Harvard LEAD 2024-2025 pour la promotion des femmes dans les applications de santé mondiale

La bourse LEAD 2024-2025, une bourse d’un an conçue pour développer les compétences en leadership …