3 Fully Funded PhD positions in Advanced Data Management

Switzerland
Posted 1 year ago

The Databases and Information Systems (dbis.dmi.unibas.ch) research group at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Basel solicits applications for 3 Fully Funded PhD positions in Advanced Data Management (100%)  for four years.

The positions are to be filled at the earliest possible date. The advertisement will remain open until all positions have been taken.

Context: Polypheny is a novel and innovative multi-model database system following the concept of an advanced polystore system. It integrates several data models (relational, graph, document) and query languages and provides polyglot access to heterogeneous data stores. It is embedded into the Polypheny-DDI (Distributed Data Infrastructure) project that focuses on providing support for Data Science applications and that is founded by the Swiss National Science Foundation.
Research and prototype development in one of the areas listed below; contribution to teaching and university self-administration.

  • MSc degree in Computer science or related discipline, experience in software development
  • Interest in scientific work for pursuing a PhD in one of the following topics:
  • Multi-model data management
  • Data streams
  • Temporal and multi-version data management
  • Multimedia data management and retrieval
  • You have theoretical and practical experience in at least one of the following areas, ranging from conceptual analysis of systems up to the contribution to the development of software systems:
  • Databases
  • Multimedia data management
  • Information retrieval
  • Good level of both English (mandatory). German language skills are not mandatory, but welcome
  • Ability to work in a team

You are committed to open source software development.

The contribution to the Polypheny software stack during the application process is not mandatory, but a plus.
The University of Basel, founded in 1460, is the oldest university in Switzerland. The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science (http://www.dmi.unibas.ch) is located in a modern building in the center of the city, close to the river Rhine and to many other departments and facilities. With its about 100 members from all over the world, it offers a friendly atmosphere and a pleasant working environment. The research foci of the Databases and Information Systems group are in Big Data management and access, Big Data search and retrieval, and Big Data processing and analytics. The DBIS group is a young, dynamic, and open international team of nine PostDocs and PhD students with an excellent research infrastructure. It possesses a well-established award-winning open source stack and has participated several times at Google Summer of Code.

Basel is an attractive, green city located on the river Rhine, at the border between Switzerland, France and Germany. Its position makes it a lively, international, multi-cultural center. The city, with its large variety of high class museums, makes it one of the most attractive cultural areas in Switzerland.

Salaries for Ph.D. students are defined by the Swiss National Science Foundation. The salary in the first year is 47k CHF, with a moderate increase in years two and three.
Application / Contact

Candidates should submit their application including a motivation letter, CV, all relevant documents (MSc diploma, transcript of records), the name of at least one referee, a summary of their software development experience and, if available, their github handle via our online recruiting platform (see button below). If you have any questions, please contact Prof. Heiko Schuldt at dbis-cs@unibas.ch.

Job Features

Job CategoryDoctorat

Apply Online

Check Also

International Fellowship positions at the Wellcome Sanger Institute  

International Fellowship positions at the Wellcome Sanger Institute   The Wellcome Sanger Institute is seeking exceptional …

3 postes de doctorat entièrement financés en gestion avancée des données

Suisse
Publié il y a 1 an

Le groupe de recherche Bases de données et systèmes d’information (dbis.dmi.unibas.ch) du Département de mathématiques et d’informatique de l’Université de Bâle sollicite des candidatures pour 3 postes de doctorat entièrement financés en gestion avancée des données (100%) pendant quatre ans.

Les postes sont à pourvoir le plus tôt possible. L’annonce restera ouverte jusqu’à ce que toutes les positions aient été prises.

Contexte:Polypheny est un nouveau système de base de données multi-modèle innovant suivant le concept d’un système polystore avancé. Il intègre plusieurs modèles de données (relationnel, graphique, document) et langages de requête et fournit un accès polyglotte à des magasins de données hétérogènes. Il est intégré au projet Polypheny-DDI (Distributed Data Infrastructure) qui se concentre sur le support des applications Data Science et qui est fondé par le Fonds National Suisse.
Recherche et développement de prototypes dans l’un des domaines énumérés ci-dessous ; contribution à l’enseignement et à l’autonomie universitaire.

  • Diplôme de maîtrise en informatique ou dans une discipline connexe, expérience en développement de logiciels
  • Intérêt pour le travail scientifique pour poursuivre un doctorat dans l’un des sujets suivants:
  • Gestion des données multi-modèles
  • Flux de données
  • Gestion des données temporelles et multi-versions
  • Gestion et récupération de données multimédia
  • Vous avez une expérience théorique et pratique dans au moins un des domaines suivants, allant de l’analyse conceptuelle de systèmes jusqu’à la contribution au développement de systèmes logiciels :
  • Bases de données
  • Gestion des données multimédia
  • Récupération de l’information
  • Bon niveau d’anglais (obligatoire). Les compétences en allemand ne sont pas obligatoires, mais bienvenues
  • Capacité de travailler en équipe

Vous êtes engagé dans le développement de logiciels open source.

La contribution à la pile logicielle Polypheny lors du processus de candidature n’est pas obligatoire, mais un plus.
L’Université de Bâle, fondée en 1460, est la plus ancienne université de Suisse. Le Département de Mathématiques et Informatique ( http://www.dmi.unibas.ch) est situé dans un bâtiment moderne au centre de la ville, à proximité du Rhin et de nombreux autres services et installations. Avec ses quelque 100 membres venus du monde entier, elle offre une ambiance conviviale et un cadre de travail agréable. Les axes de recherche du groupe Bases de données et systèmes d’information portent sur la gestion et l’accès au Big Data, la recherche et la récupération de Big Data, et le traitement et l’analyse de Big Data. Le groupe DBIS est une équipe internationale jeune, dynamique et ouverte de neuf post-doctorants et doctorants avec une excellente infrastructure de recherche. Il possède une pile open source primée bien établie et a participé à plusieurs reprises au Google Summer of Code.

Bâle est une jolie ville verte située sur le Rhin, à la frontière entre la Suisse, la France et l’Allemagne. Sa position en fait un centre vivant, international et multiculturel. La ville, avec sa grande variété de musées de grande classe, en fait l’un des quartiers culturels les plus attractifs de Suisse.

Salaires pour un doctorat les étudiants sont définis par le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique. Le salaire la première année est de 47 000 CHF, avec une augmentation modérée les deuxième et troisième années.
Candidature / Contact

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur candidature comprenant une lettre de motivation, un CV, tous les documents pertinents (diplôme de maîtrise, relevé de notes), le nom d’au moins un arbitre, un résumé de leur expérience de développement de logiciels et, le cas échéant, leur identifiant github via notre ligne. plateforme de recrutement (voir bouton ci-dessous). Si vous avez des questions, veuillez contacter Prof. Heiko Schuldt à dbis-cs@unibas.ch .

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiDoctorat

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

bourse Harvard LEAD 2024-2025 pour la promotion des femmes dans les applications de santé mondiale

La bourse LEAD 2024-2025, une bourse d’un an conçue pour développer les compétences en leadership …